Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's up with Guinness?

• 03-12-2024 01:23PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭

I'll cut to the chase in this one. Living in co Clare and absolutely struggling to get a decent pint in my local village. Only one pub out of three is selling a good pint. Surrounding villages not much better, actually out of ten pubs in the greater area there's only two with a good pint. The other two used to do a great trade in creamy pints but they recently installed new cooling systems and the pint has gone to shite. Not creamy at all and the consistency of water. But there's no issue with their other beers. Apparently the new cooling systems were part paid for by Guinness themselves. Is this happening a lot around the country? Are publicans getting their kegs directly from st James gate, or do they have other options which may not be as good quality? Heard rumours of kegs coming down from the North as they could be cheaper. IMO the pint has gone up in price too much to be accepting less than decent quality. I've seen the Guinness quality teams at these pubs lately but nothing seems to change. Anything else experiencing this?? ( Btw I know this isn't a super important topic giving what's going on in the world but I just wanted to ask anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭POBox19

Very important to get a good pint. Try talking to Guinness customer service. They take this kind of thing seriously, because if there are kegs being imported from the UK they won't be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Contacted them already. Didn't want to name pubs as I was afraid it would get back to the publican. Quality team was seen a few days later, but no improvement. If anything the pint has gotten softer.... Whole thing is bizarre as these pubs were well known for serving great pints in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭mayo londoner

Yes OP, also living in Co. Clare, 4 pubs in my village and only of them serving what I'd call a decent pint of Guinness. Similarily in my home place in Mayo, about 15 pubs and I wouldn't give any of them above an 8/10 over the course of the last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭crusd

The continued and ongoing goal of Guinness has been to make it as tasteless as possible. To make it a catch all drink that people take for the image and not becasue the like the actual drink

To be fair, in the pub I always frequented every weekend, the Guinness was always exceptional. It's only literally since around May that's things have taken a change for the worse. Kegs are delivered via a white van. I always assumed a Guinness truck would deliver? Or maybe I'm wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,366 ✭✭✭crusd

Guinness Extra stout is an exceptional beer in my opinion, best served about 15degress (cellar temp). The nitrogen softens it on the pallet but much of the flavour is maintained, just smoother. The addition of the cooled version eliminated a lot of the taste. Older pubs used to keep a keg behind the bar for traditional drinkers who actually enjoyed the taste. Still a very nice drink cooled to 6 degrees though. The supercooled version though may as well be water. I wonder are they trying to make the regular version taste the same as 0.0 through cooling it so much as to eliminate taste?

You could be right but I've no idea. If the Guinness quality team can't fix it what hope had anyone else ? I've heard every excuse from the keg being too far from the tap to its not cold enough/ it's too cold......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭L Grey

I don't drink that Ascendancy pish.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Could be as simple as the glass washer needing a servicing/cleaning. That resolved the issue in my local a few years ago.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,557 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

There is 1 pub in my local village with decent Guinness. The 3 others are average. I find the best pints of Guinness are in Dublin.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

This is the likely answer.

The Guinness which is delivered in the keg, and comes out of the tap is the same the world over. It's one of the most quality controlled pints there is.

A dirty glass, bad washer, lazy barman, will all contribute to a "bad" pint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭sugarman20

Maybe I'm an aul bollix but I think it's served too cold these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,574 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

The Guinness sold in NI comes from James's Gate; it's the same product as is sold in RoI. This has always been true.

If Guiness is being sold into NI is being smuggled back into RoI, this won't greatly alarm Guiness; it has no reputational implications for them. It would greatly bother the Revenue, though, since the usual reason for smuggling from NI is to avoid Irish excise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Guinness closed their London Park Royal brewery years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,574 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

And, even when it was open, it didn't serve NI. Or, indeed, much of GB.

Park Royal served the south of England and South Wales. The rest of GB was supplied from James's Gate — beer was bulk ferried from Dublin to Runcorn (near Manchester) and packaged and distibuted from there.

Around 2006/7: tanking station went from 50 to 104 tankers a day to cope with the extra UK capacity coming to James's. This was 10 beyond it's projected limit. The amazing thing was how much that decreased over the coming years, as sales slipped.

Diageo is always tinkering with the specs, of it's beers. They make minuscule changes over time. Now each change is not noticeable, at all, to 99% of people but, when you change several things, someone who has not had a pint in a while comes back they get the full effect of all the changes in one blast. Smithwick's was a victim of this quite often

Also the internal taste panel are sycophants and rate every sample (unless absolutely tainted) as a 4.0 or 4.5 out of 5.

1. Muck and would return to publican
    2. Drinkable but would not order another
    3. Good pint and would enjoy having more
    4. Fantastic pint, one of the best you had
    5. Best pint ever

Everything gets scored between 4 and 5. If you try to score it as 3 which, if following the scoring chart, most should hit you get absolutely quizzed on your audacity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭orourkeda1

I havent had a bad pint in years that wasn't the bar mans fault. If the lines are maintained and the pint is pulled properly then bad pints shouldnt really happen

https://www.orourkeda.blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Fallout2022

Even just giving her a week off could make all the difference.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Unfortunately, he's 6'4", 20 stone and doesn't take kindly to being told what to do!😎

Genealogy Forum Mod

The "pull" has feck all to do with taste.

Glass cleaning (correct detergent, clean water, glass drying etc) is far more an issue than "draw", and beer lines are generally very clean these days. BUT you will still see pubs with manky glass cleaning practices.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

But how come that in the one pub the Murphy's can be almost perfect and the Guinness consistently 5/10. If it was a dishwasher problem shouldn't all glasses be affected?

It still has nothing to do with the pouring technique, it has nothing to do with taste.

Could be aged stock, oxygenation, or (yes) an issue with the specific line to that tap. Are they getting their lines cleaned by Heineken but not Diageo? Are they cleaning the lines themselves?

Guinness quality team have been in to my local twice in the last six weeks. No improvement. Maybe it is the glass cleaning? Method is a quick rinse under cold water tap and then in to a hot water dishwasher. No idea if that's a good way or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

The few glaswashers I've come across are filled in morning and the same water is used all day. How that is even allowed is beyond me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

Sorry, I wasn't putting it down to pouring technique. Just curious as to how the Murphy's is consistantly excellent while the Guinness is to be perfectly honest, poor enough. Diageo clean the lines. Shouldn't be aged stock(busy pub)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

What type of pub are you going to that doesn't have a glass washing machine? I have never seen a glass washer that reuses the same water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

They do have a glasswashing machines. The machines are known as glasswashers maybe I should have explained better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,448 ✭✭✭halkar

Agree with OP. It's very difficult get decent pint of Guinness. 20-30 years ago 90% of pubs I visited had the same Guinness. Nowadays the tastes vary from pub to pub. Cans used to taste better too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,575 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Switch to Murphys .Solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭celt262

White van man getting blame for bad Guinness now.