Newstalk: Off The Ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭FazyLucker

And even if they did, they can't exactly offer the content for free today if I just signed up for a years subscription yesterday. Nobody knows how well or badly it is doing and anyone who says they know its doing badly is talking through their hole.

They could have huge overseas subscriber numbers where people can't listen to the radio 7-10pm or AM but like their content. Or the subscribers to Golf Weekly kept their subscription (a typically wealthy demograph of society these people are, so maybe they said "Grand, €8.33 a month, €3.33 extra a month - sign me up for the year"). That podcast had a lot of subscribers on Patreon I think it was when I tried it for a month……I think they had something like 8k subscribers @ €5 a month - retain even 1k of these = 100k per year.

Tack on advertising revenue on the show, and the numbers might not be as bad as the misery porn merchants on here wish it to be……Bauer Media might be just happy it is ticking along nicely.

I like some of the interviews and loved The Sunday Paper Review and the new defunct Slight Tangent but 75% of the content is just not sports I am overly interested in, partly because I have enough free content available if I do want to hear something.

But if I was a big rugby and soccer fan and wanted it all, then maybe I would sign up. But I'm passing interest levels in both so there's just not enough there for me in the rest.

And if they are making a good go of it, then best of luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Tuned in tonight for the first time in ages, only to hear Ryle Nugent discussing the upcoming rugby international with Australia. It sounded like he might be a regular now. Is this the case? If it is, could someone enlighten me , why OTB would choose to have him as rugby pundit. I always thought him an annoying commentator, who quite often misseed stuff in games. That aside, isn't it a bit odd to have a former commentator as a pundit? Rtaher than an ex-player or coach?

Ryle walked away from RTE with a massive pay-off I'm told, and was on money the OTB lads could only dream of;but why hand this mediocrity a spot? Is he doing it for free? There's loads of retired players they could call on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

He'll always be the man who pushed John Giles out of RTE to me.

I don't want to hear a single word he has to say about anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

Don't worry Giles proves every Thursday it was RTEs loss 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

As bad as he is, I'd rather listen to the meanderings of an all time legend that the jumped-up assertions of an obnoxious prck like Nugent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Butson

The rugby content is just overkill. I know we are in the middle of this international window but it's pretty non stop all year. Top billing each time. Minority sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,494 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

But what do you really think?

I don't get the hate for Nugent. He was a grand commentator. And commentators can occasionally bring insight as a pundit (if it's a rare event) - George Hamilton is very good too the odd time.

And with regards to Giles, he should have stepped down from TV before he did, he should have stepped down from radio long ago too, it's quite sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Murdoc90

Agreed. I'm not a big rugby fan but usually can get on board with any sport if the person discussing has a bit of personality and sells it to you. James Treacy and Quinlan are woeful, they just dont have the personality for punditry, usually turn off for them. Same discussions every day. It really isn't that interesting to warrant the coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭fire_man

You would think James Tracy was a top international. Only 8 decent teams in the world and all our players world class until they get found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Thought Giles sounded alright tonight. You do get a bit nervous when he fumbles over a point.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭Dante

Its absolutely mental, they had both ROG and Quinlan on this morning in back-to-back slots talking about the exactly same stuff they have been they've been covering every single day for the past month at this stage.

I like rugby and all, but I find myself turning it off now as its just painfully repetitive. Discussing the various outhalf combinations every single day for the bones of a month is just too much.

Edit: ROG is always an interesting listen to be fair, he gives a unique insight into the dressing room and the mind of a coach.

Punditry doesn't know what it wants to be though any more.

Does it want to be Roy Keane ("That player should be ashamed of himself") / Eamonn Dunphy ("He visits sick children in hospital") / George Hook ("Insert pointless diatribe here") / Joe Brolly ("Forget about him as a man") pantomime, or does it want to be serious analysis provided by less entertaining people like Carragher, Neville, Quinlan, ROG, Jamesie O'Connor, etc who provide in-depth analysis of where moves broke down, what happened, etc.

Not an easy one to get right because some want the former and others want the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭left_hander

Sport analysis needs to be clicks, hits and likes or people won't bother with it. The latter - proper analysis - is for the real geeks of a sport.

I'd love to see Roy Keane or Eamonn Dunphy break down what went on in a move that lead to a goal like the guys on Match Of The Day do for example. It hasn't gone down the soundbite route and is sticking to its traditional roots - the show is better for it.

So I'm with the OTB lads here - do proper analysis rather than stuff for the clicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,494 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

OTB presenters being used in count centres on newstalk, Eoin Sheehan and John Duggan included so far.

Producer, and Screen Time host, John Fardy also deployed.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭sub3wannabe

Richie, "Bruno Fernange" McCormack😭

The reason for rugby's disproportionate coverage is similar to why they went subscription on Golf Weekly a long time ago. Revenue.

Rugby, like Golf is traditionally followed by higher net worth demographics and so presumably OTB can get greater advertisement revenue from brands that want to be associated with it. Bank Of Ireland etc.

I noticed they're running a rugby road show soon pre 6 Nations. 23 euros. These demographics tend to have more disposable income and again this is why OTB try to cater to them.

Yes, and how dare George Hamilton call Ruud Gullit "Ruud Hullit" back in the 90's, pronounce his name incorrectly for thick old Paddy FFS……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭Zymurgist

When did they start to charge for the roadshows?

I thought they used to say tickets were free but you had to register on the website or something like that

Fair point. You'd feel pretty hard done by being a subscriber especially and then having to shell out for additional content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

so rugby is not the “team of us” then! Who’d have guessed.

And Carlsberg “probably” isn’t the best lager in the world.

Roadshows were never free I don't think, at least not in the last few years. "Register" = give your name and cough up if I remember the last time, albeit my friend booked the tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,112 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Yeah it really is overkill. Another review of the Autumn Series again today.

I sometimes wonder whether the presenters themselves might get a bit bored of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Island Voter

Being an OTB presenter sounds like my idea of hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭YabaDabaDooley

I've given up on OTB for good now. Haven't tuned in in months. Dont even listen to the John Giles segment, Saturday Football Show or Sunday Paper review which were the only three i listened to in the end. Found Graham Gartland and Eoin '20 clubs' Doyle boring after a while. Probably wont ever tune in again. Too many podcasts out there to even miss them. They had their day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Felexicon

Yeah much better to do a mundane 9 to 5 and come on here in your spare time to give out about people who get to talk about sport for a living

Or even better, spend time listening to people who you actively dislike so you have stuff to complain on a website about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Island Voter

I dont do a "mundane 9 to 5" but thanks for your input.