Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Krazy gang

Going by that jack Redmond got 8 from play!! Who was marking him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,250 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Yeah it was the 1st win for a Wexford club over a KK club since Fethard beat Callan in 2017 Junior Final, Horeswood won Leinster Junior in 22 but they beat Commercials from Dublin in the final who had beaten Blacks and whites in the SF. To be fair Craanford gave Tullogher their toughest game in Leinster or AI series last year 5 or 6 points in the end while Tara Rocks went to ET with Mooncoin the year they won their All Ireland

And they had to go Mullingar in the Senior Football Championship, hurling final is down for Nowlan Park.

Post edited by Billy Ocean on

In my opinion there's a top 8 in Wexford followed by group of 5 and evidence is that the last 3 Intermediate winners came back up at the 1st attempt, only discrepancy is 2 teams were relegated in 2021 with nobody relegated the year prior. Those 5 teams are Rathnure, Oulart and Cloughbawn who have all been relegated from Senior and won Intermediate in the last 4 years and Glynn Barntown and Crossabeg who would be at the lower end of Senior. I think there's very little in standard between Rathnure who obviously won today and Cloughbawn who got the shortest of short straws in Leinster Intermediate last year playing a Thomastown team essentially a high standard Senior team. Lisdowney were honest and game today but realistically not the same standard of say a Tulloran 2019 or Thomastown last year, I suspect whoever is in Leinster Intermediate next year will likely have a formidable Village team to contend with.

Post edited by Billy Ocean on

Unfortunately AJ was asked in this year but doesn't want to commit, doesn't seem to have the gra for the hardship of intercounty which is an awful pity because he's got unbelievable talent, I'd say Jack Redmond will be called in if he wants it, lacks a bit of pace but a fantastic stickman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭KK36

Disappointed to hear that Dicksboro used Cillian Hackett on their U21 B team v Barrow Rangers.

He has been part of the Kilkenny senior hurling panel and played U21 A last year. He shouldn't have been anywhere near their B team.

Regardless if any rule was broken or not, this is outside the principal of the competition and abuses the privilege of being allowed to enter a B team. Very poor form from Dicksboro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

Town teams have being doing that for years particularly at U14 and u16 bringing on an a players for 2nd half of b games etc

Always against perceived weaker or clubs with smaller picks that they should be beating anyway

And lads on here be giving out about clubs not showing ambition and moving up to the next grade at underage when they win the grade there in why would a club bother when the bigger clubs are pulling stunts like that

It’s hard enough for clubs to keep lads hurling without that kind of bulls**t going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

Apparently they started 6/7 on there B team against Tullogher/Rosbercon in u21 last year that started the A county final against Thomastown. Because they were bet it was never really highlighted. I do not like hearing these stories as it is not very sporting

That is a shame because he's a top talent and could play anywhere. Jack will have a chance because wexford need physicality in the forwards.

Shane Lawlor burned his man a few times yesterday. A dangerous forward too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

I'm not sure it's fair to tar all town teams with the same brush. My own experience of playing OLG is that they do not engage in this type of behaviour. It's possibly down to whoever is over the team and not a club policy so others may have different experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

I suppose there’s 2/3 town teams that are the biggest culprits shall we say and it does depend on who’s over a team aswell as you say

Shane was in the panel for while under Darragh Egan but think he lacks the physicality for that level, great pace and ability to take a score alright, if I was picking someone else from Rathnure it would Eamon Wickham no.9 yesterday, he's a serious engine played u20 for Wexford this year and Rory Higgins who was no.10 yesterday, he's been in the panel previously but seems to be injury prone, didn't shine yesterday although I heard he was doubtful pre game with a hamstring injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Special Junior

Unless Niall Brennan is recalled I don’t see Lisdowney getting anyone extra in.

Rathnure deserving winners yesterday, serious pace in the team and had standout players in every line of the field. Felt they looked a bit better all the way through and after Lisdowney got the goal and a point to go 3/4 up halfway through the second half they really pushed on and Lisdowney couldn’t halt their momentum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Hurlingtothebone

I thought there was a rule if you played A Championship you couldn't play B

Barrow Rangers should ask the question to the county board

If the county board allows blatant cheating well that says it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Box to box

Any white smoke from the county board meeting tonight? Rumours of spending in arrears for the first time in a long time. Pj and Barry will be asking players to bring their own jaffa cakes and hurling balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Marrooned

actually Tullougher played all their stars that day on the B team and bet us. Tullaroan played six senior hurlers against us on Saturday against chaps still at minor level. Everyone hear feigning outrage when in actual fact there own clubs would do the same.you must forget about your own club hammering small country clubs years ago and not even replacing the good players , Absolute false outrage. Hackett never played for the A’s this year up to that he needed a run out so that is what we did I didn’t hear anyone complain about the ref who absolutely rode us.false outrage, find something else to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Marrooned

jaysus that wasn’t to be in the public domain. It’s not as if they do be throwing around money. Maybe the worse it gets the better it will be in the long run and wake up the people who think some of us are too hard on the county board.let your voice be heard with your club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,067 ✭✭✭kksaints

Conor Fogarty announces retirement from Kilkenny squad.

would the deficit include the purchase of new land ?

Why did he need a run out ?

Wasnt he playing with the senior team during league and championship?

No matter what way you try to butter it up he sould not have been playing on the B panel and if you think he should be it says alot about the Boro

If this is allowed happen by the county board they are more of a shambles than I first thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Nedflanders02

I'm sure all will be revealed in a couple of weeks but there was always going to be a deficit this year, the only big home games we had in the league and championship were the 2 Wexford games, so gate receipts would be way down. Also we didn't get to an All Ireland final which again would have reduced income for the year. The CB had always been very prudent on their spending an ensuring there was enough reserves in place so if they were now suddenly in a bit of bother it would be surprising. I'd imagine the purchase of the land and all the various costs associated with that (architects, planning permission, etc..) may have contributed to a deficit but we should probably wait until the convention in a couple of weeks to get the full picture. When you see revenue looking into Wexford as they are, you'd hope that we are not in that sort of trouble.

On Conor Fogarty's retirement, best of luck to him, another great servant of ours and who always gave his all and never let us down. I think with himself, Buckley and Wally retiring and the players who have been dropped from the panel, a badly needed freshening up of the panel has happened. Still no confirmation of the selectors and coaches for next year, unless I've missed it somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Box to box

Thanks foggy for the hard work and effort. Always always gave 100 per cent. Under rated I thought. Only scruff and tj left with all ireland medals. There was talk if scruff being away for a while early next year. Tj will probably stay on. Lyng really has to grow a pair and trust players he has no other choice now

1. Tullogher Rosbercon don't have a second u21 team as far as I know.
    2. All Tullaroan's players were u21 which is the legal requirement. It's up to ye if ye want to play minors.Don't give out about Tullaroan playing their best players on their A team. If you have a problem with the grading or the ref's performance, bring those up as separate issues but don't use them as an excuse to cover up blatant blackguarding by Dicksboro.
    3. Everybody else would not be doing the same.
    4. It doesn't matter if he didn't play for the As THIS year. He is one of yer best players, an A team player, has been on yer A team for the last couple of years, has been on the county u20 panel and was asked into the county senior panel. He should be nowhere near yer B team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Sorry did Cillian Hackett actually play for the Boro Bs at the weekend after starting corner forward in the A final the week before?

https://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/gaa/1663736/kilkenny-u21-final-dicksboro-win-back-to-back-county-titles.html

I've said my piece on Fogarty previously. Best of luck to him. An absolute gentleman as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭neverbet

You know for a fact? Could you explain that one for me? One fact is Conor Fogarty, Wally and Cillian Buckley will not be easily replaced. The standard of Club hurling in the county this year was very average . Shamrocks success in the past decade has camouflaged the ongoing decline in my opinion. Buckley and Fogarty were their clubs outstanding players in the park this year even though their time is up. A final word on Fogarty. Leaning on the wall in Parnell Park v Dublin this year, we were losing heavily in the physical stakes around the middle third. Fogarty changed all that along with Billy Ryan. When the going got tough he was just the type required. Good luck to him.

I don't think so. The game I'm referring to was the quarter final against Barrow Rangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Ah look fair play to Fogarty he had a good innings and gave it his all but people are here commentating that they will be hard replaced etc. Kilkenny have not won an All Ireland in 10 years and these lads were well past there best so had no choice but to move on. Kilkenny are a top hurling county and we will be back soon

I agree with some of that. Tullaroan in C is ridiculous. Gearóid Dunne, Holland, ciallin brennan, Walton and Charlie cleere all senior club hurlers. Clara in D is another mad one. Surely the co board should be able to look at the previous few years minor results and draw up the grades for u21 accordingly.