If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Phoenix3

Folks I don't get to post often but I follow the forum. Mitt IIIIrem. No that's not a random sentence

What is the real name of our weather service.

Can you spell it better than Mitt IIIIrem ? Pretty sad situation that we are in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,426 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Met Éireann [mʲɛtʲ ˈeːɾʲən̪ˠ], caller. Now say it slowly and with feeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭furiousox

I'm just finding Joe's behaviour a bit odd over the last few weeks?

The most banal subjects, the inane and/or just plain weird questions!

When he's not muttering or mumbling under his breath he spends a lot of time hooting and cackling like an old woman.

I know he's probably retiring next year and he's winding down the clock, but he's really taking the pi$$ now, boring the ar$e off everyone with the same pointless topics for weeks on end.

Fine if you're on local radio, but scandalous when you're on his salary.

(Disclaimer: I'm not new here)

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,335 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Joe, your favorite rap group took on the Empire and won!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

40 year old plane crash. 9 deaths to get him going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,426 ✭✭✭✭zell12

A 1984 plane crash involving noine deaths, Joe reading out the names

Back to wimmen cursing passing motorists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Kalimah

More death - why am I not surprised. I remember that crash well as it happens.

Today in Stage 7.1:

• Just Joe, self proclaimed lad of more intelligence than a Wolfe Tone fan.

Possible shrieking into the void topics:

• Air Tragedy: 40 Years Ago, 9 Killed going to France, Crane crashed in England.
    • Driving in Freezing Rain: Helen had a Blowout, praying for a driver to stop, Michael couple rescued her, Joyous.
    • Bonus Death: Louise reminding Joe dat one year ago tomorrow Shane MacGowan died.

Banned Topics:

• Plantations
    • Macrones for de friends of Montrose
    • Welfare raided to fund RTE Digout
    • Wolfe Tone vs Montrose
    • Kneecap de Kneecapping picture
    • State of Hospitals
    • De Missing Ducks of St. Stephen's Green
    • De Unwell
    • De Undocumented
    • RVM Machine Tax
    • Inflation, except for sausage based products
    • Lack of Doctors
    • Lack of Dentists
    • Lack of Gaffs
    • Lack of punishment for Crime/Goal Accommodation

LiveLine Contract Ending:
    12 Months

An event that happened 40 years ago and involving death.

Ask any radio producer on the planet is that an appropriate topics for a lunchtime call-in show and they would all say no.

Joe Duffy is a different kettle of fish. He hears about this and tells his producer "Thats what we are covering on Friday" and no-one says no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭kitsy13

Does he still do funny friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,481 ✭✭✭Kalimah

This is a good account of what happened. Duffy will be "reading" this on air later I'm sure.

https://asn.flightsafety.org/wikibase/28251

Well he never did Funny(Hahahaha) Friday.

Joe has been funny in another kind of way for a couple of weeks now. So arguably today is funny friday.

He's well able to read that, but someone gives him a statement with more than 2 paragraphs and suddenly he loses his ability to read.

You know, I think Joe is a bargain at only 350,000 a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭amlinopta

I think only once in recent months. Was a regular feature leading into Bank Holiday weekends until the scandal hit last year and budgets were cut (or so we were led to believe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

At least it's not a Shane MacGowan 1st anniversary special, he would have made a right bollix of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,451 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

I thought he said a crane crash which actually might have been interesting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

And don't forget that we still have the self published bukes, the highs and lows of 2024, Lil Liveline and of course the Grafton Street/Christmas Eve sh!tshow to look forward to. I wonder will they fly Brendan O'Coddle in from Florida for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭DaTown

Voting booth???

Every tom dick and abdul could see who I was voting for

A disgrace

Call

My fathers book was on quite a niche topic, and he found a publisher for it. Publishers are happy to publish all manner of things. If no publisher was interested in your book to the point you had to self publish, then my interest is not going to be high.

Joe: And next we have Danial, Daniel, whats your book about?

Daniel: Well Joe, In my book I compared all the different kinds of humming noise you can make.

Joe: Hmmm

Daniel: Thats a good one! I don't have that. <sound of scribbling>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Early Joe, must have got out the jacks promptly.

A nice aircraft disaster to kick him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,772 ✭✭✭archfi

Did the Lunchtime News run out of news or wha?

Duffy for the first time in history on 2 minutes early.

There'll be an extra invoice.

This country established its own government – hopelessly imperfect though it may be – to serve and vindicate the needs of Irish people, first and foremost.

The electorate are a huge part of the problem. You put shite in, you get shite back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Death. And more people that nobody has ever heard of.

Public Service Broadcasting eh ,🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    SPOIL YOUR VOTE

Sounds hung over.

Air inspector Duffy again. He dismissed the productions suggestions this morning a one fell swoop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

40 years ago. Must be nothing currently happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭bigroad

40 years ago in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,772 ✭✭✭archfi

This is shocking for a suppoosedly caller driven show.

How does this buffoon and the equally awful RTE get away with it?!

This country established its own government – hopelessly imperfect though it may be – to serve and vindicate the needs of Irish people, first and foremost.

The electorate are a huge part of the problem. You put shite in, you get shite back.

It's Funny Air Crash Friday.

Definitely a cheery topic for a wet miserable election day.