Conor McGregor Megathread *Mod Warning in OP Updated 20th April*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,589 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Dude, seriously. Poll the women in your life - and here, actually - about how drunk they'd have to be to forget they had a tampon in before having sex, and let us know how you get on.

Jesus fcuking christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭mulbot

Was this CCTv footage used in the civil case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Feisar

It happened a woman in my life once, see post above.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,999 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

One thing I often wonder about is that criminals and scumbags always seem to have wives and/or girlfriends.

Yet myself and my male friends struggled to get girlfriends during age 18-30.

deleted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭hamburgham

Did Nikita say what herself and Lawrence were doing for the few hours they spent together after the two of them went back to the room? Chatting, sleeping,drinking, taking drugs?

Maybe we're splitting hairs but I wouldn't agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,847 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

Well they should count themselves lucky they're not starving like the poor children in Africa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

And she agreed to meet up, yes. There's no dispute there. I was fleshing out what the other poster said.

Medics from both sides said different things. Wasn't there mention of prescribed medication Nikita was taking for historical anxiety that causes more severe bruising? Bruising can be caused in many ways too and some bruise easily. Falling over when drunk is a common one.

I have an Auntie who I would describe as an alcoholic and who regularly fell over and got some nasty bruises. I remember years ago she walked into a bollard after a Christening and fell over onto her arm. We thought nothing of it as she didn't seem at all hurt and the drinking hadn't even started at that point. She got right back up, laughed it off and brushed the dust off her clothes. Almost her entire right side was badly bruised the next day. She was just prone to bruising easily and was very fond of the soup, so it was a frequent thing for her, little did I know at the time. I was only about 14 or 15, but it stuck in my mind.

I'd say the entire debacle is muddy tbh, justice aside.

Stay Free

So you think they had a case against him even though they decided that didn't have enough evidence to secure a criminal case against him. Bit confused on that take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,589 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Yeah, and respectfully, I call absolute bullshît on that story, sorry.

I have known one woman in my life, ever, who forgot about a tampon. No sex involved.

In my experience, most men are allergic to the point of lunacy to the very thought of period sex, and woman are hyper aware of that.

Which is fcuking hilarious, given many of those same men would crawl over broken glass for the chance to stick it up your ass.

Sorry to be vulgar, but sometimes it's necessary.

I agree that Allen clearly deserved imprisonment. No excuse for leniency in this instance.

However nobody was jailed for throwing a cigarette butt out of a window. This was late January 2003 and the fine was €300 plus costs. Had the driver paid the initial fine of €125 he'd not have been dragged to Wicklow District Court.

I'm also hopeful of the DPP re-assessing the evidence. I'm very aware of the lower bar of civil cases but there are aspects of the disclosed evidence that meet the criminal threshold. The judge preventing the disclosure of other evidence is what will merit McGregor's appeal. However the DPP will now be under enormous pressure to justify not proceeding. As they should be, on the medical examination particularly.

The DPP could have left the decision in the hands of another twelve jurors at a criminal trial. They're the same kind of people who decided against McGregor on Friday. Juries often decide verdicts on gut instinct and do not have to justify why they do so. The judge will direct them on the exact threshold but it's their decision and they can apply their own threshold whilst not disclosing their reasoning to anyone.

Cool, I've no proof but it happened. Period sex never bothered me do people have an issue with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭vswr

I don't understand this pontificating of "it would never happen"…. it does, a lot, especially when drugs are involved.

Luckily, most notice at the start of the deed…. although I know of a few war stories like @Feisar…. or even just simple things like getting mixed up at a session, remembering it's period time, getting a tampon and putting it in, only realising when they get home a day or 2 later, there's 2 in there….

lads aren't immune to stupid stuff either, everyone knows someone who loves to get their micky out a soon as there's a whiff of MDMA in the building…

Everyone trying to apply logic to a drink and drug fuelled situation, is going to get annoyed very quickly at the inconsistencies or lack of logic.

Disclaimer before I get potentially hopped on…. I believe NH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mods: The discussion is veering into distasteful territory here, could we dial it back a notch please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,566 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Plenty of legal experts are questioning why the dpp didn't pursue the case because the medical evidence is very strong. One suspicion is they weren't willing to prosecute simply because he was so high profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,935 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

https://x.com/MarkLTighe/status/1860445094278570075

Mark detailing some of McGregor's rantings. McGregor is really saying some very crass things on X.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,437 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

This type of incident is very bad publicity for the 'sport' (if it can be called that). Looks like McGregor was coked up to the gills during his championship fights and with no consequences at all for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭juno10353

No it's not. The DPP have to decide if they can prove case beyond reasonable doubt, if not, then they won't go forward, unless more evidence comes forward and allows them to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,935 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Not MMA related, but Richie Sadlier has spoken about his own addictions, including use of recreational drugs, in his book.

https://www.the42.ie/richie-sadlier-interview-4935521-Dec2019/

Sadlier has spoken about how he knew the days he would be tested - blood or urine. They'd (him and the players on his team) would mark the days on the calendar. Most of the players would be like 'well, that's the day I can go for a pint and a kebab'. With Sadlier. when he knew wouldn't be tested, he knew when he could binge drink or do drugs.

Now, this is pure speculation, but I imagine McGregor probably knew the days he'd have to undergo a drugs test. The days he would train. The days he'd have to stay clean and physically fit, because his trainer's were watching him. Then he knew the days he could use substances, whatever they might be. Probably after a fight.

That said, I've known folks who are recovering from addiction, and more often than not, the brain doesn't 'heal' from the substance abuses. The 'erratic' behavior can linger for years afterwards. Which seemed to happen at the trial, when McGregor's mask slipped.

I know a few people who work in mental health services. When the mental health cases come in, they'll have the 'depressed due to life circumstances', 'recently diagnosed with mental health condition', and the 'mental health issues brought on by use of recreational drugs'.
    Nobody wants the latter, because unlike the first two, you can put a plan in place to help. With the latter, they don't know what damage the individual has done to themselves. And there's no guarantee the brain will recover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭Thespoofer

• Site Banned Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

No. It's not. If a burglary happens in your house, but the offender isn't charged with it, the burglary still happened.

The dpp do not prosecute all cases that are sent to them, that does not mean that they didn't happen. It means the burden of proof may not be met.

Which doesn't mean that an incident didn't happen. It just means a lack of evidence to prove it beyond a reasonable doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

listening to the radio machine this morning. Seems the legal affairs editor of the sindo is in agreement that Hand won against McGregor and lost against Lawrence. So she could end up taking money from one and giving to the other and also being left with a legal bill bigger than the cost of the average Dublin house in a nice area.

Do I think that will happen? No. But that’s the legal conundrum that will be picked through starting this week. They should never have taken Lawrence on in the civil case. Calculated, but silly risk imo.

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,583 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Speculation around how Nikita may end up owing money in terms of costs for the JL aspect of the trial- legal expert provides their view.

I certainly don’t believe Nikita went through all of this for monetary compensation - it just doesn’t make sense to me. However I do believe she deserves monetary compensation so an awful turn of events if she ends up in debt given the outcome.

Not sure if McGregor’s “outbursts” on Twitter over the last few days will influence anything - I imagine there are clear guidelines laid down and they likely don’t include penalties for calling the High Court a kangaroo trial of emotions and feelings.

Meanwhile Gardai are continuing their investigation into the “raid” on Nikita’s home and the assault on her boyfriend - along with another similar attack on another house close by-I really hope they catch the scum who did these attacks

https://www.thesun.ie/news/14244492/gardai-probe-link-nikita-hand-home-raid/amp/

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/nikita-hand-could-end-up-owing-more-money-to-conor-mcgregors-co-accused-than-shes-won-legal-expert-on-next-steps-in-civil-rape-case/a304424763.html

If she hadn't have sued Lawrence as well, McGregor would just put him on the stand as his witness to say he had sex with her afterwards. Would have been much worse for her that way.