Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,142 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

A USA green card is a pathway to citizenship after 5 years.

In your example if the spouse of the citizen were to become a widow/widower they would have no security in the country of their children and former spouse.

That is a very perilous situation for them and their children to live in.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,479 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

So anyone living in this country, paying taxes in this country, using services in this country should not be entitled to vote, in your Ireland?

Also, what would the obligation include? I mean we have already kept them separate, made sure they don't feel like this country is their home, made sure that they are not part of society, what would renewing their status look like?

Post edited by suvigirl on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

That's not what the research said, if I recall correctly it was estimated between 30-40%

15% have 3rd level meaning somewhere between 45 and 55% have secondary education.

And as I also pointed out that this is similar to the Irish workforce in the 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,649 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

These hateful and false generalisations about people who seek asylum and literacy have come up repeatedly in the thread.

You'll probably find that if there's a deceitful or unsubstantiated derogatory claim to be made about IPAs, it'll be in this thread or the last one somewhere.

Tells a lot about the strength of argument of the anti-immigration movement I would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭batman_oh

'After the initial arrival of people in communities, everything settles down because all the worst fears put out through misinformation and disinformation online are never realised'.

O'Geebag should go tell Sweden that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,698 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

That's an interesting article for many reasons - Let me throw a critical eye over it, if I could be so rude

Nice to see RTE do an article as they've been avoiding the issue like the bubonic plague for 3 years but decide to pop an ol article up just 7 days from GE day. So RTE's homegrown Kitty Holland has a go.

The headline - Challenge of immigration unlikely to ease - Is there a subliminal message 'But sure lookit, nobody can sort it so you might as well vote for your usual civil war party as normal' in there?

Immigration has been a key issue in elections worldwide this year and Ireland is no different.

Well there's an admission Ailbhe eh

The proposed model outlined in the White Paper was designed to accommodate 3,500 applicants annually. It was published in October 2020 during the Covid-19 pandemic. The number of people seeking international protection that month was 1,342.

Roderic puts out his multilingual tweet (Feb 21) to the 3rd world to come to Ireland for own-door accommodation after 4 months based on this white paper - You forgot to mention that bit Ailbhe

By October 2022 it had risen to 11,142, by which stage the scale of migration was evident across Europe.

Well ride me sideways, how the hell did that happen?

Small talk with a government advisor at a pedestrian light at the time revealed that there was an expectation that 10,000 Ukrainians could seek refuge in Ireland.

Is that because he didn't know that the cretins in Govt were going to give them full welfare payments/med cards/child allowance etc etc?

That figure is now over 100,000

Wow! I'm shocked

Most of the refugees became part of the local fabric of Irish life.

So much so, that - in recent months - community organisatons have fought to keep Ukrainian refugees in their towns and villages when the Department of Integration sought to move them on.

Could it be they prefer women and children over the single lads Ailbhe, what do you think?

As people arrived in Ireland seeking better lives, Irish citizens were questioning their own circumstances as they returned to offices in heavy commuter traffic and overcrowded public transport.

There's your problem right there

A cohort of society that arguably didn't define itself as far left or far right raised concerns.

I'd be one of them Ailbhe

However, this was viewed as racist, which meant that 'concerns’ were left unanswered, creating a vacuum that enabled opportunistic bad actors to stoke tension and fear.

Tell me about it Ailbhe - have you read this thread?,it's mad

The strategy proposed to move away from full reliance on private providers - to whom millions of State money has been paid - towards a core of State-owned accommodation of 14,000 beds by 2028.

Yeah, I'll have to pull you up on this one dear - "to whom millions of State money has been paid" - Millions is the way you'd describe something like 'proposed phone pouches spend' maybe - We're talking 2,000 million euro just for 2024, or to put it another way, an oval shaped childrens hospital worth, spent on this racket in just one year with nothing tangible to show for it - simply pissed away, gone

Just on that chance meeting between Ailbhe and a Govt advisor crossing the road - I always thought that had this Govt been in line with the other EU states, the max amount of Ukrainian refugees that would have arrived here would have been 30k but he/she was likely better informed with the 10k estimate - Bearing in mind the avg monthly wage in UA was the equiv of €350 and we paid €880 pm +++ - I'd also hazard a guess that we took in 30/40k from other safe countries in what our Govt called 'secondary movements' as they admitted 1/3 were arriving this way

When is the last time the government released their IPAS Monthly Statistics ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭j62

Sinn Fein want to use RTE as a way of brainwashing the population to accept half of Gaza moving here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭Jizique

Listening to Sean Defoe on all the Calling It podcasts with Ivan Yates, he keeps repeating that immigration has died down as an issue since the locals - not sure it has, even if the tents on the canal have gone and if the media is trying desperately to avoid giving the issue any publicity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭prunudo

It's died down in the sense that they'll refuse to talk about and deflect. Obviously I'm biased, but certainly in towns affected by the ipas policy, it very much is an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭Jizique

Exactly my thinking, so there could be a few surprises on Saturday week

Most towns with IPAs centres have no issues whatsoever. There are no protests. People are all just getting in with their own lives.

of course there are no protests, because as soon as people start gathering the pou arrive and the loonie left start doxing everyone who complains.

The democratic process is being rail roaded and anyone who publicly protests is targeted. The government gaslight communities, party members are told to toe the line and then the Taoiseach has the audacity to go both Newstalk and Morning Ireland and say community concerns are important and are listened too.

There is a huge issue with nothing to see here, move along being pedalled by the media, but people are annoyed and the main parties will find that out next week.

Completely untrue. Most people don't care.

Here's one small town, that protested, no anti protesters, no Gardai, no clashes, they were allowed to have their peaceful protest, was brought to an end legally by the courts. And guess what? No issues. Everyone happy. No problem.

https://www.rte.ie/news/connacht/2024/0119/1427404-ballinamore-asylum-seekers/#:~:text=In%20October%202019%2C%20placards%20with,more%20than%20100%20asylum%20seekers.

forgive me if I don't believe an rte article on how immigration is great and everything is hunky dory.

Why not? It is a big conspiracy? Do you think all the inhabitants of Ballinamore have been bought off somehow by the media or government😂

Do you need me to point out the history of Ballinamore and the media ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,802 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Both Fine Gael and Sinn Fein have immigration in their manifestos ,Fianna Fail has nothing the system is perfect according to them

!!!

Surely better if they apply for work permits than to allow asylum seekers in hoping they might work in construction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Ozvaldo

Its a plantation nothing more nothing less .

Or reverse slavery, don't even have to invade far away countries to get the cheap labour. They flock here on the promise of a better life, but the cheerleaders really just want/need people to do the low paid jobs.

22 percent over 30 years is a short time span .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,262 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

One of the most animated segments of the leaders debate this week was the whole Palestinian/Israeli issue.

I have sympathy for the victims on both sides (neither are innocent here), but that's about it. I feel no responsibility to them and I certainly don't feel obligated to resettle them (likely indefinitely) here in Ireland. We have our own problems that aren't being tackled!

Why all the politicians on that stage got so worked up about it is beyond me. It's not our issue and I dare say most people watching don't consider it a priority election/manifesto item either - ditto the ongoing Ukrainian/Russian conflict. We've done our part - actually we've gone way over and above!

I'm far more interested in how they plan to tackle the (effectively) open door indefinite supports issue for those already here and still arriving, as well as the other serious domestic issues we're facing.

Is it just me? Should I somehow care more about conflicts thousands of miles away, conflicts that are going on a lot longer than the last few years and for reasons that have nothing to do with Ireland than I should about our own country and the natives who are struggling because of Government waste, incompetence and wholly wrong priorities?

Somehow I don't think so!

Absolutely the fear old people have of having a thousand unvetted male refugees wandering round their village has been ignored by this horrible government .

You cant even add a spare room to your house without getting planning permission all of a sudden an IPAS centre can be built without any consultation .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Unbelievable carry on from King Rod.

Between this and the Harris the Cruel clip yesterday, our "leaders" are showing their true colours. Leading us into oblivion.

Yup you hear the countless stories of planning permissions being rejected even though they own the land etc while the government by pass this disgraceful policy.

If the government had the same urgency for housing Irish people than they have for IPAs we wouldnt be in this mess

The fairness surround this immigration industry is what pisses me off the most