Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor McGregor Megathread *Mod Warning in OP Updated 20th April*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,624 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

You forget the time Chef Tim Allen walked free from court after he was found guilty of possession of child pornography. CP that he had paid for, as his conviction was based on credit card receipts to CP sites. He paid a €40,000 fine, and got community service.

Same week he walked free, a guy got jailed for a week for allegedly throwing a cigarette butt out of a window. The garda who charged him could not even identify what type of cigarette he'd been smoking (whether it was pre-rolled one, or a regular cigarette).

Money talks, and walks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Titanium11

Post edited by Titanium11 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,291 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I disagree. Criminal trials allow reasonable doubt. There wasn't enough evidence to convict allowing for reasonable doubt. OJ was found not guilty in criminal court but guilty in civil court.

At the end of the day this girl has been vindicated. The world knows now what he is like.

D Devlin wouldn't sit beside him while he described "consensual sex" yet supported him the day of the verdict. There is a lady with massive low esteem if ever you saw one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,427 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

No one is doubting intercourse occured. No one is doubting it was aggressive.

No one is doubting it was a wild drink and drug fuelled episode.

No one is doubting that Conor McGregor is one of the worst examples of a high profile Irish person alive today. He's a thug, a bully, a mouth and a philanderer. A man of zero class. I'd have been quite delighted to see him prosecuted and imprisoned by a DPP action in the criminal sphere.

But it is my view, from all the evidence and from the lack of criminal prosecution, that Nikita Hand courted McGregor, to party with him, despite what she knew about him. That she, most likely, took drugs and drank in excess and engaged in a night of activities she regretted in the cold light of day. That she was so out of it that she didn't even think about the tampon she had inserted. And, feeling guilty about betraying her partner at the time, and an unlikely amount of time after the episode, she claimed sexual assault had taken place,to get herself off the hook and gain sympathy, while putting the blame on him.

Conor McGregor is a toad, he has no respect for his partner or family and I have no doubt this episode was exactly like very many he has been involved in before and since.

But I don't think it was rape, and I think the Court of Appeal will agree with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,219 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Well: let’s see shall we?
    Sky News:

Jury in civil court finds Conor McGregor raped woman in hotel - and awards her damages

https://news.sky.com/story/amp/jury-in-civil-court-finds-conor-mcgregor-raped-woman-in-hotel-and-awards-her-damages-13257049

The Guardian

MMA fighter Conor McGregor raped woman at Dublin hotel, jury finds in civil trial
    https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2024/nov/22/mma-fighter-conor-mcgregor-assaulted-woman-at-dublin-hotel-jury-finds

UK independent

Conor McGregor raped woman in hotel in 2018, civil court jury finds – as he’s told to pay over £200k damages

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/crime/conor-mcgregor-rape-verdict-court-dublin-b2652137.html

Saying that the Irish publications are far more cautious

RTÉ

Nikita Hand wins rape civil action against Conor McGregor

https://www.rte.ie/news/2024/1122/1482355-conor-mcgregor-nikita-hand/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,537 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

His sister is married to one of the Kinahan gang.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,597 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Mod: Can we stop with the "Rapey Mc Rape face" comments please, it's neither funny nor clever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

the dogs on the street know that McTapper is representative of a fairly widespread type of dublin scummer - life in prison with hard Labour is too good for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

1 is a criminal case the other a civil no custodial sentence for those as is the same in every other western country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭crusd

Feckin hell. This is a disgusting post. Because the friend was found not guilty does not mean he was innocent just the the evidence wasn’t as clear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Yes it has distinct Trump feel to it. It’s all a witch-hunt etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,525 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

He's a scumbag rapist, but let's face it, even in 2018 he was known for being a scumbag.

I'm not excusing his behaviour but this woman knew what he was like, she should have stayed well clear of the bastard.

A cash award of this amount surely doesn't cover the years of anguish the victim in this case described.

It's just a pity he can't be locked up for what he did.

Let me put it this way, would you have gone to a hotel room with Conor Mcgregor expecting him to be a perfect gentleman? The answer is self evident.

I hope the settlement helps her and I believe the decision of the jury was correct but prevention is better than cure.

If you can argue against anything I've said here I'll accept your glib ad homenim response, but I'm going to go ahead and jump to the conclusion that you can't.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,219 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Madeoface

Different courts. The former criminal and the latter civil. No custodial sentences in the latter. McScummer might not have even been brought to court if it was not for the victims courage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭AyeGer

Very brave of Nikita taking this all the way through court. Going up against Conor with his fans and the intimidation. I believe her anyway.

I’m sure poor Dee has many sleepless nights too wondering where that fecker is and what he is up too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,832 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

This is the thing, can you actually be found guilty of anything in a civil court? I mean, can somebody legally be conferred as a rapist, murder, burglar?

Apologies for my lack of knowledge.

Also news websites don't confirm anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

McGregor case was civil no prison time given in those

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

For a brief time I liked McGregor, I thought fair play to him he has done well getting to where he was in his sport.

Now id just love to see him locked up

He definitely ticked off one of the trump cabinet requirements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,546 ✭✭✭RoryMac

I think the discussion from Paul Healy after the verdict is worth a listen. Much the same as a lot on here the medical evidence seems to have tipped it against McGregor. Also his own testimony seems to have gone against him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,254 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

No, because there is no criminal conviction - you are neither 'guilty' nor 'not guilty' at the end of such a civil case.

But if the civil case goes against you, ordinary people are probably free to refer to you in general conversation or on social media as a rapist, murderer, burglar etc and there's not much you can do about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,141 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

I have had sex multiple times, not to be braggadocios and never come away bruised like she was, as said by a nurse, black and blue on of the worst cases she had seen

No one continues sex on purpose oncewuth a tampon on and certainly once it's inserted into their cervix

Now I doubt want to brag again, but some women find the larger gentlemen uncomfortable during sex for the very reason of cervix discomfort, and that would be 100 times less than what happened here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,291 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

I'm not excusing his behaviour but this woman knew what he was like, she should have stayed well clear of the bastard.

Although you appear to be sympathetic to the victim in some of your post the quote above is out and out victim blaming. 😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭...Ghost...

The DPP have a history of sending cases to court which are unlikely to see a conviction. Look at the case of Sil Fox as an example where some nut job accused him of sexual assault in a pub. The DPP directed the case go to trial despite clear CCTV evidence proving his innocence. Destroyed the mans life. If they decide there isn't enough evidence for a conviction, I tend to agree with them.

MacGreggor is a scumbag in my opinion and I think his reputation, rather than the actual evidence is what lost him the case. The fact his friend also had sex with Nikita (who has no memory of it…allegedly) and wasn't found guilty too says it all.

As for Nikita. She was caught in so many lies I don't think anyone could keep up with them. I feel more sorry for her ex partner than anyone else in the story. Nikita belongs in the same camp as MacGreggor. Someone you would never want to have anything to do with. Liars, cheats and dirty whores the lot of em.

Mod: warned for victim blaming, uncivil

Post edited by Leg End Reject on

Stay Free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,525 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

If she was walking down a corridor of the hotel and got dragged into the room against her will there'd be no mitigation here.

She chose to enter a hotel room with a known scumbag and chose to engage with him.

He's 100% wrong here, but had she not been in the room it never would have happened.

I'm not blaming her for what he did, I'm pointing out the error, and it's a glaringly obvious error, of choosing to be in a hotel room with Conor Mcgregor and chums plus a load of cocaine. What could possibly go wrong?

Mod: Warning applied for victim blaming

Glazers Out!

The conviction rate for the dpp is in the mid 90s

They are very cautious

Your post seems to contradict itself