Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving an automatic car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,159 ✭✭✭freddieot

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I hear ye. But I live in The Netherlands, so hills aren’t really a concern.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭obi604

for the love of jaysus, Id say the original poster is wondering what in the f00k is going on here. topics such as:

left foot braking, how to use handbrake, one pedal driving, autohold, DSG, CVT, manual gearboxes, watch your speed in an automatic, wearing of clutch, regen braking, what is N for, pavements V sidewalk, tesla future tech, human extinction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,774 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Thats boards for ya.

I once said I roll down hills only for others to say they roll up hills…… just 'cause it's boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭GHendrix

I switched to automatic as the wife has an auto license only. Between myself and my wife we’ve had 6 cars. 2 manual and 4 automatic.

The 2 manuals were the most reliable to be honest. Coincidence? Probably

It is much more convenient to drive automatic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,991 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Sidewalk, pavement, footpath.

Which foot would Christy Brown have used?

OP, just be careful of the type of automatic gearbox you get. There are many different types, and some of them are, to put it mildly, shite.

I much prefer the 'traditional' torque converter box, sometimes referred to as a slushbox. Reliable and proven technology.

I would personally shy away from CVT boxes, Ford Powershift, semi-auto boxes (except maybe Honda) and some of the DSG boxes.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,058 ✭✭✭User1998

Unless the automatic cars all had gearbox issues, then yes it was a coincidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Poulgorm

A relative of mine bought a Corolla Cross a few weeks ago - his first automatic car. After a few days, he decided to come to Cork - I was in the passenger seat. He felt tired and decided to stop for a coffee in Cashel.

So, left the motorway, up the ramp to the roundabout. Slowed down on the approach to the roundabout and (as he did for the last 40 years), pressed the clutch.

Thank God for seatbelts - otherwise we were straight through the windscreen. Luckily, no car behind us.

He will never, ever do that again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,991 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Like I said above, probably the hardest emergency stop you will ever experience.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Melodeon

It's kind of a right-of-passage for experienced manual transmission drivers when they start driving automatics! 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,291 ✭✭✭kirving

The only thing I'd say for autos, when you first swap over, is that some will creep forward when you release the brake. It can get tiring in traffic (versus putting the car in neutral with the handbrake on as you would do in a manual), and some solution are better than others.

Some cars will put on the handbrake and not release it until you accelerate again, but this can cause every start to be jerky as the handbrake takes time to release after you accelerate. Others will always creep forward.

My personal favorite is Mercedes, where you give the foot brake pedal an extra little kick after you stop, and it releases seamlessly when you accelerate again.

Take some time to practice moving between gears on steep hills. It can be a little bit of a learning curve, and you may sometimes even need to brake with your left foot. Cars with hybrid systems will react differently again, and so does every type of automatic gearbox. It's not like just finding the bite point as you would do on a manual car.

I can't agree with this - you should really be using the manual handbrake if there is one. My auto now has an auto handbrake so I never do have to actually do it, but you should not be relying on the parking pawl to hold the weight of the vehicle on a slope.

Not to be too pedantic, but that really depends on the type of gearbox, and if there's a transfer case. Even still, some AWD vehicles cannot be towed at all. Below from the Jeep Grand Cherokee manual - not that anyone is buying them in Ireland. The same may be true for other automatics, but it's more likely that you just cannot tow the vehicle at all.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

I drove automatics for a good few years and I really didn't like the CVT boxes, I don't like torque converter , the best of them that I drove was the DSG which is a twin clutch gearbox but I am quite happy to be back in a manual , can't explain it, love the control of the gears, the driver engagement if non of that matters to you then you will probably be happy in an auto.

The only thing I would say is that if the car you're interested in has a CVT box get a good drive in it before you make any decision, I do not like the way it holds high revs until the speed increases and the revs fall back, it just made the engine scream, hated it.

CVT do have issues too and are a poor man's auto box so best keep in mind, probably one of the most reliable cars with CVT is the Toyota Prius, the gearbox in that is ultra reliable because it has an electric motor to take part of the load it does scream when it's driven hard to get up to speed.

Torque converter, don't like them at all either and are a lot heavier on fuel.

As someone said already about the left foot, this is true, I did this the first day driving my first auto which was a DSG Caddy van, left foot the brake which caused the van to brake really hard, way harder than I needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭whizbang

My Seat dsg has a type of launch control where you hold left foot on the brake and slight accelleration on the right foot; release the brake and off you go..

So Left foot braking is definitely a thing ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭blackvalley

I apologise to the OP for dragging this discussion in a slightly different direction which is not relevant to their question but with quite a few experienced drivers contributing can I ask the following.
    What is the option in general of auto stop / start with which all modern cars are equipped. Personally I dislike it ( yes I know it’s supposed to be more economical and environmentally friendly ) but having started out in my driving experience driving older bangers I was never sure that if you let the engine stop that it might not start again.
    A more serious concern for me with this technology is the tiny time lag from when you press the accelerator until the car moves ( I drive an automatic VW Golf TDI diesel ) . In a situation where you are making a right turn from a minor road onto a busy main road every second counts ( and no I’m not in a hurry or attempting a dangerous manoeuvre) so you just need to get on with it briskly. Most of my driving is country roads so with my concerns in mind I have actually disconnected the auto stop / start.
    What do you think 🤔.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭wandererz

Yes indeed.

The question was answered in the first response.

Should have been left at that.

can’t you simply turn it off? It’s great for cities.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

Thanks for your reply.

Yes I can turn it off with a switch on the console but that only works for one stop / start cycle. Once it starts again it reverts to auto so you have to turn it off every time you stop. I agree that it’s useful for city driving in very heavy traffic where you can be stopped for long periods but otherwise I find it a nuisance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭wandererz

Ha, yeah, not sure that's good for the dry clutch DSG, maybe the wet clutch wouldn't mind too much ?

The OP asked this "I'm thinking of changing to an automatic car but never drove one. Is it easy to swap over."

While it might be an easy answer to you there are several factors that come into play that suggest while it might be easy to swap over it might not be so easy to live with given the nature of the different types of automatics and considering he never drove and automatic before.

Like it or not, threads develop, ask boards.ie to give the OP of threads the power to lock topics once their satisfied, other than that I think the worst thing in this thread has to be you taking the Lord's name in vane !

A new thread on this might have been better ?

Start stop can save a good bit on fuel, it will work depending on certain conditions such as coolant temp and heating demands, so sometimes the engine won't turn off.

When at lights for example, I'm watching for when the other lights start turning red then I put the car into gear and am ready.

In traffic it's no big deal either because once the cars in front start moving you know to get the car in gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,091 ✭✭✭blackbox

And we'll have flying cars in 20 - 30 years.

Oh wait. Somebody said that 60 years ago.

I can't stand one pedal driving, you have to constantly modulate the accelerator, and more efficient is 0 regen when lifting off the throttle and coasting on energy already consumed, I learned this a long time ago in the prius. One pedal driving is fine if it's optional by the driver other than that it's a curse, I absolutely hated the forced one pedal driving in the BMW i3.

Further down the line eah ? hahaha we'll see ! not exactly a big queue for electric cars.

The problem the likes of the E.U has is thinking more and more computers in cars will save lives but the realities are, and we're seeing it now, people are using phones a lot more in cars because they think adaptive cruise control and auto lane assist will save them. People are playing with the in car tech while driving and even the instrument clusters have so many configuration options now it's become a joke.

The public should have the option to buy cars without all this electronic junk , cars that are much cheaper because they buy what they want like the good o'l days when there were options. One reason I will never again buy a new car is because of all the forced expensive tech and the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,826 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

You’re putting massive pressure on the gearbox anytime it is parked on an incline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭skinny90

Iv an auto for over a year now and I dont think id be pressed to go back.

Its a full auto with manual mode which is handy for days like today if im going down a steep hill on ice.

The only thing id mention is servicing. Id be inclined to recommend flushing the gearbox every 40-50K rather than just doing a simple oil change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭brokenbad

I drive a 3 speed Automatic and it is effortless compared to manual gearbox.

Again, I live the Netherlands. There are no inclines.

they/them/theirs

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭argentum

I drove stick shift cars for the last 40 years and enjoyed them .Changed my car 3 months ago to my first ever automatic car and use my right foot only to control speed and braking

There's a place when I rest my left foot and I have never tried to use it once to brake , to be honest it wouldn't feel right.

Why would VW design a place for your left foot if you needed to use it

I found it very easy to move over to automatic but did try to move my gear stick coming up to roundabouts a few times in the first couple of hours but not since the first day