Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the story with lads in the bookies?

• 22-11-2024 12:21AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭

Every day, I pass the bookies and its the same lads going in and out, smoking fags outside the door, running in and out of the sh!thole pub next door and the ones who have a job double parked to do a quick bet.

I'm In my 40s now and I still can't get the appeal of this lifestyle.

Simple question, what the f#ck is the appeal of this past time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭con___manx1

Drinking And gambling are both fun. Iv dome the same thing but only a few times a year when the big horse races are on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

It's for the buzz I suppose.

Imagine if for the past 5-10 years they were spending the money on NVDA & TSLA shares instead. They'd be filthy rich

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

At that level, like drugs, it's an addiction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭Lewis_Benson

Used to work with a lad god be in the bookies every Friday lunchtime, Fridays were payday.

HHe Used to tell us that's how he paid his rent, and then his wages wee spent going out 2 to 3 nights a week. This was during the Celtic Tiger years.

It's a life I couldn't do, bookies > pub > bookies > pub.

You'd die young from that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,950 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I used to work in a betting shop. Most depressing job I ever had. They somehow made it worse when they installed a machine to give the punters free tea and we had to look after it. The less said about what was done to the bathroom, the better.

Let's be honest, it is a horrible addiction. One of the worst, honestly. A lot of the regulars were older men who'd just lay on bet after bet. I was there for 2-3 years. When I started there, one fella would be laying on €50 a dog and just before I left the job for good, he was asking me to lend him a tenner. A lot of the regulars would be laying on bets worth a fraction of what they'd normally be years earlier.

It all seems so desperately sad to me. At least in a pub, there's the opportunity for a bit of craic but betting shops are the most miserable sh*tholes known to man. Ours was beside a pub which only made things worse. Everyone would usually stand there in silence waiting to see if they'd claw back some small fraction of their losses over the years only to lay it on again if they did.

I think it's more of a sickness than a lifestyle. I say sickness because I think it's a combination of loneliness and addiction. It was mostly older lads so I wonder if they never got married and had children or the children had left the home and they'd nothing to do outside work. Maybe if they'd went to a good GP, they'd have gotten some counselling and could have made healthier choices. Anything's better than handing over your life's savings to some grubby little company that's too stingy to erect barriers to protect the staff.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,809 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Horrible depressing places, those Paddy Power shops are all over the place like a rash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,184 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Before the smoking ban came in they had this perma-smoke haze inside them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,911 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I don't understand it. You won't win in the long term yet they keep throwing money at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

Like most addictions - it is of course hard to understand from the outside. Which is not helped by the fact that when people get deep into an addiction, they are in a head space different from the head space you and I might be using to understand them. The rules of judgement and logic you and I bring to bear are damaged or absent or suppressed in them.

The addiction also itself likely exploits quite a few individual aspects of the human psyche.

One buzz phrase that is a good example is "The Sunk Cost Fallacy" which is that humans have a tendency to invest good money in something if they have already done so in the past. Throwing good money after bad as the old term goes.

But like other addictions, it also exploits the dopamine cycle. Bringing a stronger and stronger emotional and dopamine high when wins actually occur.

Another example is the human tendency to be convinced there is a pattern where none exists. Often compounded by human "confirmation bias". A similar example I know of is a guy playing an online computer game called "Entropia" which is essentially a gambling based Second Life World. There is an attribute called "Perception" which increases over time. Probably Randomly. But this guy was convinced it goes up when you are near a big score.

Watching him play was a revelation. It would go up 10 times over time and on the 10th time he would get a big score. And he would whoop "See I told you! Perception!". His mind literally filtered out the 9 times his theory did not hold and took the 10th one as proof he was right.

Things like Horse racing can be similar. You can become convinced you have a "key" or "system" that guarantees winning. And your mind will literally convince you you are right even if using your system gets you one good hit in 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,816 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

The dopamine thing is the big issue with gamblers. I was diagnosed with ADHD earlier this year so I've been learning a lot about how the brains reward system works. I wonder how many gambling addicts have ADHD or would be considered adhd adjacent (meaning having some traits but not enough to be diagnosed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

Could be. There is a tendency to look at addictions as the problem. Sometimes they are of course.

But they are all too often a symptom of some other problem. Which is one of the reasons they are so hard to abstain from.

Abstaining from the object of addiction without addressing or even discovering the underlying causes (if any) falls somewhere between highly difficult and impossible for most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

I worked for a few months in a betting shop.

There was a recurring theme…. anytime someone's phone rang, they rushed outside to answer it… being somewhere they should not be.

Tell ye, if I owned such a business, I would bar anyone who throws the spent dockets on the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,827 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

For every 1 person hanging around a betting shop now, there's probably 1000 online wasting their money.

The profits all the gambling companies made prove this.

This is probably the major addiction in society right now. There's only one winner in all this

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,950 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Don't start me. The shop I was working at was fairly small. We had at least half a dozen bins and somehow, a huge amount of slips would find their way to the floor. Some of the punters would even put the crumpled up slips on the edge of the bin rather than in it.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

It's not just the bookies though. Online is a massive thing. I've see guys gamble on football matches in Azerbaijan, how many corners,how many player changes etc. The list is endless of the ridiculous things they can get you to bet on.

Bookies used to be an old man's spot my grandad was a regular with 20p each way on a horse but it kept him out of nannys way while she was in the supermarket. He used to complain about the blokes sitting there for hours, you are one as well I always slagged him. Ah love but I'm I'm my 70's not my 20's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I think gambling is a silent epidemic in this country. I'd say the damage it's doing is enormous. The whole industry needs a shake up and needs some heavy regulation. Starting with advertising but the apps and practices of these slimey companies needs to be seriously looked at. There's no morals whatsoever with the likes of Paddy Power and the rest of them. They're destroying lives and families but cultivating this funny, great craic image.

It's very sad seeing the gambling zombies living in the bookies but I would say that there are a serious number of invisible/silent victims living through hell with these apps in their pocket. I reckon that there are many suicides every year as a result of men that can't live with the shame and stigma of debts they have brought on their families due to gambling addictions.

With the proliferation of apps, "free-to-play" games and other nonsense, it's harder than ever to know. It's also easier to conceal with payday loans and the like but only to a degree. We also live in the age of algorithms which monitor your every click and use the information gathered to manipulate and push them into betting ever more. Amazon recommends me books based on previous purchases so I don't see why Paddy Power wouldn't.

Ultimately, these shops and chains are a blight on society. Even an institution like the Catholic Church did some good but the betting industry is cynical, exploitative and parasitic. It contributes nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,921 ✭✭✭beggars_bush

What's silent about it?

Gabbling advertising permeates every part of society - tv and radio

Online tv streaming adverts

Online forums and website advertising

Billboards and buses

Sports events

I think that @jiltloop is referring to people struggling with gambling addiction, racking up debts to sustain their sickness and conflict with family. We can all see the ads. I've to walk past a few betting shops to get the tube. They're definitely there and there's the various sponsorship deals they cut with Premier League clubs, online advertising, etc…

Then there's those hideous fruit machines that the Brits love so very much.

I'm saying the damage is relatively silent.

Do you disagree with something I've said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Eclectic Econometrics

I agree, online is bad because there is no closing time.

Saying that, I worked with a guy who would collect wages at 17:00 on a Friday and by 17:30 he had put it all into those machines they brought into bookies. They are a real curse.

I started going to bookies at around 14 and it was exactly as you described, me, my cousin and 10 other regulars who were retired and burning time. There is a social aspect to it, in that sense. Although I haven't been inside a bookies in decades now.

I love having a bet. Fortunately, I hate losing money. I have read some articles that say people who are REALLY addicted to betting, the ones who end up betting the ranch are not getting the buzz from winning but are actually getting it from losing, as counterintuitive as this his sounds. If I put a £5 bet on and I miss out on £1000, by a last minute goal for e.g., it rankles. If I was ever to put a £1000 of my hard earned money on a bet and lost it I would be apoplectic. However, the real addicts will chase that grand until they're living under a bridge. Conversely, when my ship comes in, and I land the grand, I am content and cash out. This is another thing addicts seem unable to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Unknownability

No conversation about gambling is complete without mentioning the lotto.

A tax on the working class.

They are also in the top 5 of ad spend in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Complete mugs game. My mother once said at least with the drink you can only drink until you fall down.

I used to go to a lot of the UCD debates they'd have in the evenings. One such debate was around gambling. It was well debated and there was good back and forth. Your man Paddy Power was there, leading the pro gambling side. When it was being wrapped up after about an hour. The chair asked "OK, OK we'll leave it at that does anyone have any final questions for our panel?".

After all the debate someone at the back stood up and dropped a bomb. "I have one final question for Paddy. Why are all bookies the most grim, desolate, depressing, god forsaken places in the world?". He nearly fell from his chair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Programme in the US called Undercover Boss where the ceo of a company dresses up and goes to various branches of his operation to see what really goes on. Some of them are quite good

A few years ago there was a UK version and they did, I think, PP. They visited various ones around the UK and also the one that was in Coolock, Northside Shopping Centre. It's an interesting watch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

Yeah I only watched that on YB a few weeks ago. It was probably a sign of the colossal class divide in Britain but it was hilarious just how surprised the bloke for PP was. It was like he was dropped into another planet.

It is well worth a watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Silvertap

Online Roulette is addicting. I closed my account wheen I realised I wasn't playing 1 or 2e for fun anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

I heard a radio ad a while ago along the lines of:
    Pick your favourite team, or player, or league…. If you can't decide, use our "bet builder" to put a bet together for you!

So basically if you don't know what to bet on, but are so addicted you just need that hit, our algorithm will make up a bet for you (that you will definitely not win btw)

I thought that was the saddest thing I heard in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,838 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

The punter always has to put together the Bet Bulder bet or any bet. An advertisement saying that a bookie will put together a bet for them would never get on the radio.