Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have you watched recently? 3D!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

I've read the comic La Casa adapts and it was excellent - I didn't realise there was a film version but it sounds like it's done a good job capturing the spirit of the comic. Onto the to-watch list it goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,406 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I read the comic years ago and it was definitely a reason to watch it. It's a very faithful adaptation and kept a lot of its essence and aesthetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭felonious_Gru

Watched Dune 2 last night, I'm not saying it wasn't decent but I much preferred the first one from a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,965 ✭✭✭buried

Same here. The first one was a far superior scripted and sequential world building effort. The first one had its own believable beats. Part 2 seemed to have the exact same cinematic beats as "Robin Hood - Prince of Thieves". Especially where the antagonists were concerned, the villains in this were cartoonish simpletons compared to the menace portrayed in first one.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,594 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I am maybe going to face the wrath of Scifi fans, but I found the 2 Dune films bang average.

They were too long and too slow. Very unexciting. Yes they looked and sounded nice, but kinda boring.

It took me two viewings to even like the first Dune and three to love it and even then I don't get Timothy chalamet

Thankfully the rest of the cast are great

The first one is pretty good IMO. It is slow, but its based off a vast book, but at least the world in that film seems totally believable and at the same time weird and alien, and the villain/antagonist element appears extremely hostile. The second part had the utensils to go all out even weirder but it just called back to other mainstream blockbusters from 30 years ago. I'm not being flippant when I say the second one is very similar to 'Robin Hood-Prince of Thieves', it literally has the same beats, almost like a soap opera. The second one wants to wrap it up as quick as it can, literally destroying the decent world building effort that was set up in the first one.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

The end of Dune 2 is reminiscent of the Godfather, complete with the demand for fealty by way of kissing the ring , Paul becomes corrupted aka Michael ( going to war with other houses) only this time Kay walks away as she knows he's changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭Homelander

Watched The Coffee Table last night.

My god, what a brilliant and horrible watch, it's truly excruciating at points, you almost can't bring yourself to look at the screen.

I can't think of anything I've seen before that induces that kind of reaction except maybe Uncut Gems.

Best watched blind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

Yup. A brilliant, taut and tight chiller. Stayed with me for a while that one. Crazy scenario.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,575 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Went to the Prince Charles for the first time today. Apparently, it's Quentin Tarantino's favourite. I don't get it, honestly. Staff were snarky and it was over a tenner but at least there was less talking and phone crap though one did go off and the person next to me had a smart watch which regularly lit up.

Anyway, I saw Shin Godzilla. I remember sitting in the office 7 years ago debating whether or not to go see it. Regretted it since but I got to see it today. It's a pretty good satire that's aged like fine wine. I think it's because of covid. It's a Godzilla film from the politicians' point of view and they try desperately to figure out what department has responsibility for what, plan press conferences and generally make a pig's ear of the whole thing. It had the whole audience cackling more than once.

It's excellent but I think I preferred Godzilla Minus One.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Watched VHS Beyond on Shudder.

I've found most of the VHS movies after the first two to be a very mixed bag - definitely some decent moments, but a lot of weak fluff and filler, and huge gaps in production quality from segment to segment.

This one was different - more thought put into it, and presented some very interesting concepts, all centered around the idea of alien encounters. Unlike the previous few, all of the segments were compelling and well made.

Big thumbs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,138 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I watched Unfrosted this evening, which is basically Jerry Seinfeld expanding his Pop Tarts routine in to a movie. The premise is the battle between Kellogg's and Post to get their respective toaster pastries to market. Lots of visual puns and in-jokes, and all kinds of people pop up in cameos. Jon Hamm and John Slattery reprise their Mad Men characters, Peter Dinklage is the head of the milk mafia with Christian Slater as a milk man, and Bill Burr as JFK. Then there's Hugh Grant, whose character would take too long to explain … good fun for a windy Sunday evening.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭p to the e

Watched "Way of the Gun" the other evening. You can really see the seeds of Christopher McQuarrie's style beginning to bloom. The script is a little clunky and it gets a bit messy towards the end but the action scenes are great. He has a real eye for realism in action scenes which I suppose is why Mr. Cruise took a fancy to him. I can also see Benicio Del Toro taking a lot of his performance here and directly transferring it over to Sicario. 7/10

Watched Take Shelter, going a bit back as it's from 2011 but somehow it flew under the radar for me, only became aware of it the other day.

Michael Shannon and Jessica Chastain are fantastic in what's a finely craftly slow-burn, a man becomes convinced a terrible storm is coming and increasingly preoccupied with preparing.

Won't say too much about it other than that but it is a movie about people and relationships more than anything. Well worth a watch.

Watched MadS on Shudder - this one really impressed me, Zombie films are a well-flogged genre at this stage but this proves there's always room for innovative takes and approaches.

Whole movie is one-take so it's 90 minutes in real time of what an outbreak might look like from the POV of the first few people infected.

Top notch stuff, incredibly creepy in how it shows the gradual loss of control/sense of self.

Was in the mood for a bit of mindless action last night, so decided to watch Civil War.

I remembered the trailers for it earlier in the year and thought it would fit the bill.

How surprised was I? Its not really an action film at all until the final 15mins, and is mostly a film about 2 photographers.

Was disappointed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭Decuc500

Devil in a Blue Dress

I saw Devil in a Blue Dress on its release and was slightly disappointed with it as it was very well reviewed and hyped up but I didn’t like it as much as Carl Franklin’s previous film, the blistering One False Move.

Watching it again all these years later I can appreciate it now as a classic and a great example of a 90’s Neo-noir, of which there were many. The 90’s was kind of a golden age for crime cinema.

Based on a hardboiled detective novel, the plot is a bit convoluted but is tied up satisfyingly in the end. The cast are all great. Denzel Washington is typically charismatic, Tom Sizemore at his sleazy best and Don Cheadle is terrifying as Denzel’s psychopathic side kick who only comes into the movie half way through but leaves a huge impression.

1940’s post World War 2 Los Angeles is brought evocatively to life. Franklin directs with a lot of style. In an ideal world there would be a whole series of movies based on the books by Walter Mosley.

Disappointingly, Carl Franklin didn’t go on to have the career these early films promised though he still directs some great TV stuff.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,160 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

It's December which means it's time to see what Shudder has to offer in the festive horror department.

As with previous years they have some classics on offer, as well as some more recent films. I'm overdue a rewatch of Advent Calendar, but first I figured I'd take a punt on The Christmas Spirit. It's a bit uneven, and isn't really a horror film as such, bit it's still enjoyable - the tone puts me in mind of Super more than anything else, with a central dynamic similar to the Venom films (made all the better for the fact that the Spirit of Christmas is for plot reasons apparently stuck in the form of a cigar-smoking lucha libre fighter).

It's not a classic by any means, but it's watchable enough, which is more than I can say about e.g. Christmas Bloody Christmas.

Watched Azrael on Shudder. Simple enough premise - a woman tries to escape imprisonment by a religious mute cult in some kinda of post-rapture future.

The lack of dialogue is unique enough and didn't bother me necessarily, but there's nothing particularly great or original about the premises or how it's executed, it's fairly standard violent-chase fare you've seen countless times before.

Despite deliberately teasing it, there's also zero exposition on the rest of the world seemingly functioning somewhat normally outside of this localised medieval cult and demonic post-rapture future - I know sometimes people can be very frustrated at these lack of answers.

The ending is somewhat more solid, whatever value you take from it aside. Overall it's watchable enough but not much more.

A 5.5/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,366 ✭✭✭jj880

The Agency

Available on Paramount+

Michael Fassbender plays a sociopath so well its unnerving. Superb first 2 episodes. No idea if its realistic. Dont really care. Thrilling and absorbing.

Post edited by jj880 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,698 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

‘Blade Runner’

Ridley Scott’s classic (can we call this film a classic now?) sci-fi neo noir remains a thoroughly fascinating watch 32 years later and looks like it could have been made in the 2020’s. If we subtract the in movie date of November 2019 and ignore it completely, Scott’s vision (or rather Syd Mead’s) lends the film a completely believable future, even if that future is devoid of contemporary sights like touch screen tech, flat screen TVs and mobile phones.

In this future, Blade Runners are part of a police force (presumably on an international scale) who are specifically tasked with tracking down and “retiring” artificially created beings called Replicants whose presence on Earth is strictly forbidden, despite the fact that they are made here by the Tyrell Megacorporation. The reason for this being a mutiny that took place in which Replicants were responsible for the deaths of human beings and as a result they are primarily used as off-world slave labour, where their extra-human abilities can be exploited in colonies on different planets.

When several Replicants escape their confines and travel to Earth, an L.A. based Blade Runner called Rick Deckard (Harrison Ford) is pulled out of retirement and is tasked with tracking them down and…retiring them.

The world of ‘Blade Runner’ is meticulously created in loving detail and presents a wonderfully depressing landscape of a claustrophobic Los Angeles, depicting a city of perpetual rain and darkness where the crowded streets represent an Asian metropolis more so than an American one in a clear nod to the late 70’s/early 80’s fearful U.S. idea that the 21st Century was going to be more about the oriental hemisphere rather than the occidental one. Gigantic, skyscraper sized, images of Geishas advertise their wares alongside familiar American staples such as Coca-Cola and Pan-Am (who have presumably come back from their 1991 bankruptcy). Chinese neon dragons are dotted around the city and Asian faces pass by the camera in droves. A mechanical “Goodyear blimp” no longer advertises tyres, but instead promises the chance to begin again in a golden land of opportunity and adventure on the off world colonies, albeit via an unconvincing audio recording.

Of course this Asian influence may just be localised to the parts of the city that we see and elsewhere this urban sprawl could be completely different. But we never get to view those areas.

But it’s the above details like that that transport the viewer off of their seat and into the physical features of the story and it’s easily the movie’s greatest aspect because, let’s be honest, the actual story isn’t all that much to write home about. In fact the story of ‘Blade Runner’ is, probably, its weakest element. It’s a throwaway yarn that’s been torn straight out of the pages of its pulp fiction influences…Philip K. Dick’s source novel ‘Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep’ notwithstanding of course. Indeed modern audiences may find ‘Blade Runner’ crushingly dull because it’s rather slow moving and is happy to take its time getting to the conclusion it wants to lead us to.

However, the movie has a way of capturing its intended audience. It’s not what’s shown directly on the screen that ultimately matters, but what viewers can read between the lines, as it were. The L.A. of ‘Blade Runner’ is an engrossing place that leads to many questions. The Replicants, themselves, are a minefield of questions as well. The movie only gives us glimpses of both, but it’s enough to spark imagination.

Over the years there have been numerous variations of Ridley Scott’s film, resulting in several cuts that have made subtle changes to the ingredients while the movie remained essentially the same dish. I myself have always preferred the original (international) 1982 cut, which includes the much hated voice over by Harrison Ford, for which I find myself in a minority and very much so.

But I’d actually argue that the voiceover is essential to the noirish texture of the movie and without it ‘Blade Runner’ loses some of that charm. That charm is one that has borrowed moreso from the likes of Dashiell Hammet or Mickey Spillane than it has from Philip K. Dick, although there are some touches of noir in Dick’s novel.

Ford’s voiceover, for me, invokes such undisputed classic movies as ‘Double Indemnity’, ‘Farewell, My Lovely’ or ‘The Postman Always Rings Twice’, even if it falls into the same trap as their voiceovers in which they can offer an extra layer of welcome information while also threatening to explain too much. Irrespective of that, I’ve always liked it because Rick Deckard’s kin are Mike Hammer, Philip Marlowe and Sam Spade who all had their internal monologues interject with the events going on outside of their head.

Incidentally, the voiceover was part of the production from the beginning, but the idea was so hated by Ford that Scott convinced him that the film would be made without it. Unfortunately for both Ford and Scott the studio later insisted that it be included, which the director and actor reluctantly acquiesced to. Ford could still be found moaning about it in the 2000’s.

These film noir touches are also represented in other characters, too. The Replicant Rachael (Sean Young), Tyrell’s newest model, would be just as at home in the L.A. of November 1939 as she would in Blade Runner’s L.A. of November 2019. Her style of dress and hair is a stark reproduction of the apparel of American women of the 30’s/40’s period. Rachael is also an intriguing mix of a Capraesque independent woman and a Femme Fatale.

The movie is shot, too, using many scenes that wouldn’t be out of place in a moody 1940’s detective film. Characters are sometimes lensed in near silhouette and cigarette smoke adds a haze to the visuals. In a number of scenes, if one was to desaturate the colour, you’d be forgiven if you thought it was set in the past.

‘Blade Runner’ also throws up a number of interesting philosophical quandaries, where it indirectly asks what it means to be human. What it means to be genuine and fake and can the fake eventually become the genuine article?

Replicants are born as fully grown adults but they are imperfect fake replications of a human being. The Tyrell Corporation may try and sell its biomechanical machines as More Human than Human, but their product is subject to limitations. The foremost being an inbuilt five year lifespan that retards the possibility for a Replicant to develop convincing human emotions, presumably so they don’t become impossible for the authorities to detect.

So while these creations can never be anything more than a five year old child in lifespan, they are imbued with artificial conditions so that they can mimic adulthood. But the movie also shows Replicants clearly displaying emotions of a sort or, at least, acting as if they can. The Replicant Roy Batty (Rutger Hauer) weeps when he discovers the death of the Replicant Priss (Daryl Hannah). Priss, herself, acts with an extreme anger when she faces off with Deckard. Rachael fears that Deckard my come after her if she runs and she’s also clearly hurt when Deckard reveals that Tyrell has exposed some of her intimate memories to him, memories that actually belong to Tyrell’s niece which have been implanted in her artificial mind.

Conversely, most of the human beings of the movie are presented as cold and more aloof than the artificial beings. Characters like Tyrell (Joe Turkel), Bryant (M. Emmet Walsh) and Gaff (Edward James Olmos) don’t seem register any human feeling at all and Deckard, himself, struggles to emote much either, although he feels sickened at having to shoot a woman in the back. The only human character in the film who displays any humanity is the unfortunate J. F. Sebastian (William Sanderson) whom the Replicants use to gain access to Tyrell.

And thus, we come to one of the most controversial additions to ‘Blade Runner’ that has been included in the subsequent changes to the film. Deckard as a Replicant himself.

In 1982 few people, if any, contemplated if Rick Deckard was a human being or not in ‘Blade Runner’. In fact Harrison Ford’s haircut caused more of a stir than any discussion of Deckard’s nature. Although in the following years rumours surfaced about missing footage and the possibility that the character wasn’t at all what he seemed to be. Fans would offer various theories about Deckard that even Harrison Ford was completely oblivious to, but as far as he and everyone else in the cast were concerned, Deckard was a human and it was absurd to suggest otherwise. But it’s clear that somewhere during production Ridley Scott had this half-baked idea that perhaps he wasn’t and set about planting suggestions just as Tyrell planted memories in Rachael’s head. There has also been some scuttlebutt that the writers Hampton Fancher and David Peoples mooted the idea themselves. Either way nothing was overtly shown until Scott produced the director’s cut in 1992, later solidified in the 2007 Final Cut, Scott’s preferred version. Scott, himself, confirmed that he believed that Deckard was a Replicant.

The problem with all of this is that it makes no sense to have Deckard be a Replicant. He’s clearly much weaker than Roy, Leon, Priss and Zhora, the Replicants he’s hunting. So it’s ridiculous that he’d be tasked with the job in the first place. When Roy breaks the bones in his fingers he screams in agony. Yet Roy can punch through solid brick walls and not bat an eyelid.

It also begs the question of who would know that Deckard was a Replicant? Does Tyrell know? If so he puts himself in unreasonably foolish danger entrusting his life to him. Does the Police Dept. know? If so, they are complicit in a severe conspiratorial crime…and unnecessarily so too.

Deckard also comes perilously close to failing his mission every time he meets the Replicants he’s chasing. He’s roughed up very badly by all of them and nearly killed by Leon and Zhora but for interventions by other people. If not for that Deckard’s case would have ended before it even begun properly.

So, to me, making Deckard a Replicant just ends up being a little stupid and it doesn’t really add anything to the over all story. Perhaps if this angle was truly baked in at the beginning of production and actually part of the story to begin with, it would have made more sense. But as it is, it just comes off as a bad, and unnecessary, attempt at a retcon.

In any case, unlike George Lucas, Scott has never tried to eliminate his original versions. So, fans of the film are free to view whatever version they wish and enjoy them as they like. There’s even a version of the original cut without the voiceover. As a bonus, each version of Scott’s film plays in nicely with Denis Villeneuve’s excellent sequel ‘Blade Runner 2049’.

Finally, a mention should be made about the brilliant score by the Greek composer Vangelis. Where once this type of music had a bad dating effect upon the film in the late 80’s, his electronic music has now become timeless and I was surprised upon this re-watched at just how sparingly it was used.

9/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,022 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Doesn’t appear to be available on Prime in Ireland, at least not for me.

Seems to be on Paramount +

Post edited by Jump_In_Jack on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,366 ✭✭✭jj880

You're right. Apologies. I was watching it on IPTV. A google search showed it as on Prime Video but I now see its unavailable here when I search on Prime Video website…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Romario11

I watched it recently with someone 30 years old, interested in film. She found it boring and not very impressive, and couldn't believe it is on many lists as one of the greatest films ever.

Probably the simply incredible visuals of the film given the time it was made, have zero wow factor now, and so to a modern audience it has no gravity. A sad reality unfortunately. Still though, Rutger Hauer's "I've seen things you people wouldn't believe"…left its mark - One of the greatest scenes ever in the art of film.

I'd agree with her to a degree.

Really enjoyed it back when it came out, and a few watches after, but then went maybe 20yrs without watching it and decided to one night, and didn't find it as impressive.

Watched a couple of solid movies the last week - these are all available on Shudder.

First is The Devil's Bath. Firstly, this is an excellent and highly enlightening movie on a historical phenomenon I'd never heard of before - suicide by proxy in Germany/Austria in the 18th century. Superb acting and direction.

Secondly, it's by no means a horror and mystified as to why it's labelled as such - it's plenty horrifying, but so too is a movie like Schlinder's List and you certainly wouldn't bill it as a horror movie. It's historical drama and it's heavy.

But it is incredibly good and executed so well. I'd give it an 8/10.

Next we have another historical drama that I'd no idea was just that until I was half way through watching it - Lizzie a movie about the historical murders of the Borden family in the late 19th century. Again - a decent film, good performances, and quite compelling - but not a horror movie by any stretch of the imagination.

Worth a watch though, Chloe Sevigny and Kirsten Stewart are very good. Probably a better movie if, like myself, you actually don't know the first thing about the Borden murders before watching.

Still I'd give it a 6/10.

And they say things come in threes - and the next film I watched turned out to be yet another horror-adjacent feature that was more of a compelling thematic drama than anything else.

It's called Boys in the Trees and it's an odd one - it's about trauma, relationships, teenage identity, conforming, and all the rest, told through a walk home on an eventful Halloween night. It's quite well made and acted, but it drifts in and out of feeling lucid/grounded, which doesn't always work.

Worth a watch though. 6/10.

Alright, now we can get onto the actual horror movies. First up is In a Violent Nature, which I'd heard a lot of good things about. And honestly, it really lived up to expectations. Not necessarily that it was going to be a revolutionary or even particularly brilliant film, but that it does something very different.

The core plot is pretty close to your standard slasher staples like Michael Myers or Jason, but the difference here is that the film largely follows the killer rather than his victims. It's interesting, it's different, and by god, some of the kills are the most hilariously over the top mean spirited and gruesome I've seen in a while. If you've seen Terrifier, you're on the right track.

The pacing or ending might not work for everyone but I really enjoyed it. I'd give it a 6.5/10.

Next up we have The Borderlands, a movie I'd never heard about, starring people I'd never heard of. An investigative team is dispatched by the church to investigate claims of a miracle at a remote church in rural England.

I don't love found footage movies, so straight away I was a bit dismayed to realise this is exactly that and my expectations were low. But it's done well, as well as they ever are, and the main characters are realistic, well-acted and very likeable.

Does a great job of slowly upping the atmosphere and creepiness, the ending is suitably disturbing and a satisfying conclusion to everything built up so well over the lean run-time.

Really liked this one and I'd give it a 7/10.

Next up we have Influencer - I'd say this is another one that's barely horror, more of a thriller. Either way, a decent satirical adventure that puts social media rot and vapid influencer culture in the crosshairs.

The story itself is fairly mundane and stretches credibility to all limits, but a great performance from the lead as a suitably unhinged lunatic elevates it a bit.

Another 6/10 for this one, worth a watch.

And last but far from least - Bull. This is an absolutely tremendous film and anyone who's seen something like Kill List can picture the vibe. Dark, brooding, relentlessly grim and real. Superb performances bring it all together.

A man seeks revenge after being badly wronged by his former friends and associates. It's not perfect and it might not work for everyone on all levels but it's just so well crafted and acted you genuinely won't care.

I recommend just watching this one blind. I'd give it an 8.5/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,505 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Run all night, crime thriller from 2015 starring Liam Neeson and Joel Kinahan. I quite enjoyed this, wasn't expecting much giving his recent action output.

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2007)

There's a couple of films I always like to watch around Christmas time, most are older classic works that don't go beyond the mid 90's but this one is one of the more recent outputs that I will stick on because it's an absolute classic. Andrew Dominik's visual storytelling of Ron Hansen's 1983 novel exploring the the life and times of the James gang, their final days, and Jesse's death at the hands of Robert Ford.

The whole thing is just shot absolutely brilliantly, Dominik may as well have dropped a camera back into 1880's America and just shot the thing, even the night-time candlelight shots are done so magnificently whether they are within the set of a Governor's mansion or a farmyard out-house. Performances are brilliant too, which goes without saying, given the cast. Flow of the thing just goes so brilliantly given that the run-time is a near 3 hours, it never feels like a 3 hour film, which is remarkable because the film is extremely slow-paced, but paradoxically maybe that is why.

The ending of the film is brilliant. Dominik is obviously showcasing that with the death of Jesse James, a part of the old America died, and another version was introduced. One where people were made famous for deed's and actions executed was eradicated and lost, and another one was introduced for merely showcasing and pretending to 'perform' such actions.

Absolutely brilliant film, never gets enough credit in the modern age, but with that ultimate message, you can see why.

10/10

Bullet The Blue Shirts