Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,874 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Probably would have gone Henshaw, but no real standout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,916 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭blackcard

I thought the ball had squirted out of the ruck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,996 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I'd probably have Kelleher in the mixed-bag category too, the missed uncontested lineout and silly crossing penalty 2 of his poor moments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,225 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Argentina looked a complelty different team after break, Contemponi roasted them , second half looked like Puma team I have been watching recently.

Sheahan is seriously better than Kelleher , a few years back ther wasnt much beteween them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,916 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

I'm partial to your abracadabra
    I'm raptured by the joy of it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Sort out the lineout, sort out our ruck and sort out our discipline and we’ll be fine. Plenty of work to be done.

Thought Argentina got a lot of joy at the start of the second half from putting up kicks and challenging in the air-either you get a hand on it, force the knock on from us and win a scrum or we get the ball back behind the gain line scrambling to source the breakdown as players have had to move away from the catching zone. We haven’t managed to exploit the new law to the same degree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭mun1

The truth hurts lads, the highs of ROG, Sexton, POM, Murray are a long way behind us.

Argentina YC saved our bacon

is finished as an international second row . McCarthy getting MoM ??? How many pens did he give away in his last two matches ?

Kelleher is not what ireland need at lineout time, Gibson park was a pale shadow of himself , bullied by the argies.

At least Healy got level with BOD , so thats great , isn’t it ?

Lowe and Hansen wer shocking , alway seems to make the wrong decision in defence.

Ringrose and henshaw were brilliant in the first half but wer left exposed by the back three in the second half.

Cant wait to see Matt Williams show the Prendergast highlights reel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

The only reasonable reaction to this post, which unfortunately I can't find, is that Gif of the late Bill O Herlihy on Naked Camera, bemused and asking-

"What sort of a f****** eejit....?"

Mod: Attack the post, not the poster.

Post edited by aloooof on

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,491 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

There must have been close to 50 dominant tackles in that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭corny

No I don't think so. We're going back and forth, side to side in attack with no plan. We're taking the ball at half speed to the line. Balls hitting the deck. No players on the latch. Players getting isolated. That's not Ireland over the last 4 years. That's new and it's much easier to defend against.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

I'd put the crossing penalty on McCarthy tbh, hard for Kelleher to adjust when he's getting tight for the latch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭phily2002

Ryan down for 5 dominant tackles, he was really throwing himself into them. VDF had 24 tackles, serious workrate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭Tommybojangles

Henderson wasn't playing, Healy got 12 minutes. Who should be ahead of Herring? Is that your 3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Madeoface

Less time cutting each others hair in training and concentrating on holding the ball and we'll be fine.

Argentina very unfortunate.

His darts need improving but he adds a lot around the field in close quarters-you don’t see him go backwards often in either defence or attack. Thought that penalty was McCarthy’s fault as he checked his run and stepped in behind him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,285 ✭✭✭✭JRant

Are we though? I didn't think we were any worse than the Argies at the breakdown but got pinged consistently. I actually think we are being a bit too clever at the breakdown. The last two weeks our opponents have just come flying in from all angles with arms being a optional extra. We got pinged religiously for bodies on the wrong side last week but it seemed to be grand this week.

We are a team that thrives on quick ball so having bodies on the wrong side kills us because we don't commit a lot of bodies to the breakdown.

My big worry now is that it's been decided that every scrum infringement is our fault and everyinor infraction we make at a ruck is an instant penalty.

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

How many 3 pointers did we turn down in the match ? Terrible decision making on the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭thamus doku

you beat me to it on Pendergast. The posters on here saying get Crowley off and than saying Pendergast had a positive 20 minutes are full of it.
    I am not saying Pendergast was poor but he did very little.
    Gibson park was poor tonight as was ringrose Lowe and Hansen. Keenan was quiet.
    the lineout was a complete shambles, what’s with not contesting their lineout.
    Our forwards as a unit were poor.
    At the breakdown we were inept on our ball and weak on theirs.
    The last 2 weeks Porter beirne van der flier Dorris and McCarthy who are brilliant players look like average players, they look like they have never seen a breakdown .

The only positive was our bench and osbourne and Casey and clarkson were very good and it’s a pity about Baird going off.

Farrell needs to get it in his head , the jig is up, he needs to start the rebuild immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,370 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I'll need to rewatch the game, but my initial thoughts are we badly need more carriers in the pack. There were portions of that game where we were bogged down in midfield and getting nowhere. Doris is usually our best carrier but he was lined up all night. Jack Conan was in great form before his injury and would have offered us that sort of carrying.

Ringrose was excellent and actually got us over the gain line on a number of occasions. But it's not ideal when you're relying on your wiry 13 to get you that kind of momentum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,149 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

It's a friendly, nothing on the line, whats the point in taking a penalty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,996 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

Looks like Lowe is down for 5 missed tackles and 3 turnovers conceded… His line for the McCarthy try was brilliant, but not a great outing for him… or Hansen for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

I thought Prendergast's performance was very promising, it's extremely impressive for such a young player to come in in a tight test match at not try to do too much. The opposite of Frawley last week really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭thamus doku

what game you watching. I like ringrose too but he was poor tonight.

my initial thoughts are we badly need more carriers in the pack

We do, but we shouldn't be going absolutely nowhere for 10 phases repeatedly just because two players aren't there. We got a couple breaks off phase play in the last 20 and the forwards seemed so surprised they weren't there to attack the ruck and we lost the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭go_raibh_maith_agat

That was scary performance tonight, we massively miss sextins leadership on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Amazing how people can get exactly the opposite view of the same game

I thought Ringrose was Ireland's best player. I do agree that Osbourne was very good. But Casey!? He did nothing of note - albeit he had very little time. Van Der Flier had an excellent game too.

the boys on TV3 are full of coulda, shoulda, hadto .

Argentina will be livid with the result, considering the territory and possession.

Prendergast most certainly did not do "very little"

Nice cameo from Clarkson. He should get a start next week.