Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭halkar

That is the problem waiting us in a decade. You let one in and he brings 10 more from his family in few years time. Do you think he will be able to support his family or will we have to pay the bill? 100k man can easily become 1 million in few years. Do you seriously think this is sustainable? They are economic migrants not asylum seekers. If I was in a war zone I would save my family before myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭freebritney

Post edited by Irish Aris on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

I don't think you've read what you posted...

"An Garda Síochána directly contacts Member States and third party countries via the Secure Information Exchange Network Application (SIENA) if a search on fingerprints is required. As a result, there are no figures available for fingerprint checks against EIS"

Biometric data, currently fingerprints and photograph are taken on application. Gardai clearly has the powers to act on this.

The question is whether IPAs are less scrutinized on arrivals than other travellers. I see no evidence to suggest this is the case, in fact the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Whinge about immigrants who don't work.. whinge about 'Educated, articulate' immigrants... I see a trend here

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

There's so many false claims here it's hard to know where to start but I'll give this one a go...

Who do you think is not 'saving their families before themselves' and what's your grounds for saying so?

Has it occurred to you that the younger men coming here might not have families?

Or that they might be coming here to save their families, by earning enough money to get them out as safely as possible? Or to bring them here through family reunification?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Hungry Burger

How do they get to Ireland, an island nation on the western edge of Europe, from places like the M.E and Africa, if they have no documentation? Like they would have to transit through multiple countries without claiming asylum there. Do they just click their heels, wish real hard, and end up in Dublin Airport??!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭halkar

You are not answering questions but you are admitting these men are not here seeking asylum. So they come here work 10 years and bring rest of their family. Great. If we keep allow this, is it sustainable? Where does it end? Money doesn't grow on trees and no one has any idea how much government spending for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

I can Google as much about these countries as you, unless you're willing to tell us who you are that qualifies you as more of an expert on the "countries these people come from.." over anyone else on this forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,697 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

It was some what nice to see immigration being a main topic on 'The Tonights Show'

Nearly not good enough response but it was nice seeing McEntee squirming, what awful politician and only reason why she has a seat is because of daddy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,479 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Well maybe take your own advice and Google some things about different countries and why people from some countries may not have documents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,309 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Anytime anyone mentions problems in an area in this thread with asylum seekers you have a friend or relative who lives their.

No matter what village, town, city or country in the world it is, you have a contact and everyone of them has nothing but positive things to say about asylum seekers.

That's a lot more amazing than someone not having friends from different areas.

I am not accusing you of lying and I am sure you are telling the truth, I just find it amazing myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭gossamerfabric

page 123 of FF's manifesto announces their intention to open our borders. Out goes the critical skills list for Visas and permits. Immigrants from around the world or who have already reached here(rejected asylum seekers) can pick up a job(real or otherwise) pay their stamps for a few years, feign a back injury, then a 5 bedroom house and social welfare is their life for the remainder of their lives just like Josef Pushka. FF work permit plans show that FF really just don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭prunudo

This is the FFG plan to deal with immigration, gaslight the electorate and say its not an issue on the doorsteps so it's all good. Stick a brief mention in their manifestos, and then next year when they're back in, claim they have a mandate to deal with immigration with a new system that was clearly in their manifesto and obviously people are cool with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

The more we accept the more we enable the now humongous human trafficking industry. I won't be complicit in this.

As for policy at this point we need a 20 year pause (zero refugee policy and deportation of illegals). In 20 years time we should return to taking in a small number of legitimate refugees. Refugees we identify from war torn countries like Syria, Ukraine etc and we organise their travel here. Not this absolute sham of a scam that's going to turn us into the next Sweden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,479 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

We already take refugees Identified in other countries under the IRPP.

True!

On the Tonight show you had McEmpty and Sinn Fein debating immigration to say it's been a lot of rapid immigration into Ireland over the past few years and the system can't handle it.. the level of "Deportations" has been low, out of 1,800 i think it's been 10% have actually left because the deportation order is more of a Request.. no one is actually enforcing the order… And that with the UK out of the EU now the country is now a backdoor into the EU and we can't deport back to the UK due to no official agreement being in place… plus we can't negotiate an agreement to return immigrants who arrive from the UK without documents…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭Lofidelity

Just to add some background to the situation in Ballaghaderreen and other small towns and villages in neighbouring counties.

In 1998, the country was in the midst of an economic boom. Bertie Ahearn's government wanted to spread the good times across the country so they introduced the Upper Shannon renewal scheme. This was a tax break for investment in large parts of Longford, Leitrim, Cavan, Sligo and Roscommon. It led to large numbers of houses being built in these areas despite no need for them locally. People bought them as they were cheap, at a time when the country was property obsessed. Houses kept selling so the builders kept building. There was no jobs in these areas apart from the house builders themselves. When the recession hit in 2007, the market collapsed. Many of these estates were not fully finished.

Theses houses lay idle for years with nobody to live in them. Then the numbers of immigrants and refugees began increasing in more recent years and now you have a market for those empty houses. The councils and government departments could solve their housing problem easily. Investment companies seen this opportunity and were happy to oblige. A hotel that failed after a short time was reopened to house over 200 Syrians. The hotel owners later bought a ghost estate nearby and this is now occupied. The owners are based in Cork. Two smaller hotels in the town now host Ukrainians.

In the last census, Ballaghderreen the population is 2400, with 39% born overseas. The local secondary school has students of over twenty nationalities. The current unemployment rate is 24%. Nationally it is 4%.

Article from 2017.

Cheap houses, terrible planning: the ballad of Ballaghaderreen – The Irish Times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭creeper1

They should never be allowed entry in the first place.

Hope that clears any confusion up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭I see sheep

Break International Law?

No thanks, we're not Israel.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

And of course the only thing that they are seeking - safety and protection. So they'll be happy, right ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,173 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I am sure we heard about complaints about food, apparently some hotels were not providing good food, so all not happy

It looks like now Ukrainians leaving without permission are losing their hotel beds, which imho for some of the return reasons from a "part" war zone country is ridiculous

Ukrainian refugees evicted for 'unsanctioned absences'

Organisations supporting Ukrainian refugees in Ireland have raised concerns about people being evicted from hotel accommodation for leaving without permission.

A spokesperson for the Department of Integration said its accommodation absence policy ensures that the State is "not paying for empty beds" except for "exceptional circumstances".

"The absence protocol was revised in October 2023 but it's really in the last three months that we're seeing it implemented on a zero tolerance basis which means there's no nuance," Emma Lane-Spollen, of the National Coordination of the Ukraine Civil Society Forum, said.

"The Ukrainian people themselves are quite often not aware of what the rules are or that they've broken them and unfortunately the result is quite punitive because they're evicted from their accommodation," Ms Lane-Spollen added.

According to a spokesperson for the Department of Integration exceptional absence permissions are granted on "a case by case" basis.

They gave examples including: "Hospitalisation and travel abroad for surgery or other specialist medical care" as well as the possible need to return to Ukraine "to care for ailing family members, meet with loved ones on leave from the armed forces of Ukraine and manage other unforeseen personal affairs."

However correspondence refusing approval for a leave request stated that reasons such as "inheritance, registration of property and wills, medical check-ups, medical assessments, dental care or requests to visit a family member for a lengthy period of time are not deemed exceptional absences."

Ukrainians who fail to secure permission to leave are given the option to "relinquish their accommodation" before they travel.

Yes my father was evacuated to the North during the war as he grew up in the UK and the Luftwaffe used to bomb the shyte out of his town, I'd out down coin on him and my nan NOT popping back for weekend visits and thinking it was okay.

You could fit 9 Irelands into the landmass of Ukraine and when the Troubles were on, we didn't evacuate Kildare! It's time we had an open and honest conversation and anyone from the "war" who can support themselves and wish to stay can be granted residency, anyone else should be looked at and if hundreds of miles from Russia acting the maggot can go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,309 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Looks like they are trying to get rid of people from a warzone to free up space for people lying about fleeing a warzone.

That's all we should ever be considering. Not the hoardes of people entering Ireland from *checks notes* the UK. That war torn place where everyone's starving.

Anybody sick to the teeth of hearing "we have all signed up to these obligations". Bunch of cowards wouldn't give us a referendum on this so they signed up on our behalf. Scumbags going to ruin this country by ignoring the people and pushing these globalist agendas.

This seems like a positive proposal from SF, to introduce a register of EU citizens who arrive into Ireland, with the numbers of people now in possession of EU passports, no one knows any of the statistics on the flow of movement of EU passport holders so I think most people would support this: https://www.thejournal.ie/eu-citizens-registering-presence-in-ireland-sinn-fein-immigration-6541998-Nov2024/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

After the 2004 Referendum on the Twenty-Seventh Amendment passed with a very sizeable majority, the Irish people will not be invited to vote on anything related to Asylum seekers again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Representative for Clare Tourism on RTE radio 1 there, speaking about how tourists are not staying in Clare due to the lack of accommodation beds as a result of them being taken up by IPAs etc

Explaining how this is having additional knock on effects for the viability of restaurants and cafes in the county that would have relied largely on regular tourist flow. Irish businesses and employees going to the wall over this. But sure who cares, they don’t matter as much as the randomers landing in apparently.

Set ourselves on fire to keep strangers warm. Makes sense.

Exactly. How have we ended up in this situation? How did we lose control?

Heaven forbid we ignore the "human rights" of the newly arrived eh ? Some people sleep better at night knowing there are Irish people losing their businesses and livelihoods so we can house anyone with a good story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭1800_Ladladlad

Following data shows the number of people applying for asylum in Ireland compared to Denmark & Finland. How is it that Ireland is nearing the level of asylum applications Denmark saw in 2015, at the peak of the migration crisis? Both countries of similar population and wealth who have the same “international/legal/moral obligations” as us. Ireland accepted 83.3% of all applicants in 2023, including those granted permission to stay/leave to remain (state failure to deport). This all makes the situation worse as it only encourages more people to come.

Untitled Image Untitled Image

Last night on TonightVMTV McEntee outlined the measures she's introduced to ensure the speedy processing of International Protection Applications. Speeding up processing times does little to nothing to address this crisis and public concerns when we know 83.3% of applicants are being granted permission to stay. "You can't tell these millions of people who are fleeing war not to seek a better life". They are economic migrants using the asylum process as a Trojan horse claiming to flee war-torn Britain via Cairnryan and Europe. They can apply for a work visa but they won't and we all know why at this stage. In April McEntee said most were coming from the U.K. Now she claims they’re all fleeing famine and war.

A significant proportion of asylum seekers are arriving from countries that most other European nations consider safe. Last year Ireland was accepting more Algerians than France, their former colonial admin? There has been a 78% reduction in asylum applications from Algeria since January 31 of this year since being added to the state's ‘safe’ list. “Being designated as a safe country doesn’t necessarily mean anything” McEntee said earlier this year meaning people can turn up with no passport or ID and claim to be from anywhere. The “safe list” is really pointless when 85% of asylum seekers arrived at Dublin Airport alone without identity documents last year.

Untitled Image Untitled Image

Denmark and Finland each experienced two years with over 20,000 asylum applications but quickly addressed the issue through strict asylum policies. As an island nation furthest west of Europe with the sea as our border. Theres no excuses

Untitled Image

Denmark’s approach to applying a strict policy for immigration has proven effective as shown. Any political party not advocating for policies like theirs cannot be considered serious about addressing immigration.