Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

Why do that when its so much easier to make excuses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

I agree. On top of this we are forced to drop Herring and Kelleher in cold. Injury fecked us and I feel this is where we fall short. While both hookers are grand and capable, the lack of other options is a problem. Nobody's fault really, it happens. It's watching the coin drop and for us it fell on the wrong side. Another issue for me is our discipline. How are we so undisciplined? We can blame the officials etc cetera, but we're unable to affect any change in the moment. I expect a better performance this week. But we can't gloss over the apparent problems within the entire group. That's coaching included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,997 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

To be fair to Farrell in that front, he did start Casey in SA when JGP was injured, but Casey himself got injured.

I’d have Casey on the bench ahead of Murray all day long and expect him to be JGP’s long-term successor. For me, he’s got the best pass of anyone in the island, and by all accounts is a leader within camp too. You’d forget he’s still only 25 too.

It will be very disappointing if we don't rotate over the next few games, the team is old and we know they won't change it up during the 6N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭FtD v2

I think, looking at how we played the game, and with the changes that have been implemented this autumn around "shepherding" kick chasers etc, that we had a clear plan to kick a lot of ball on Friday night and put their back three under pressure.

Conor Murray is an excellent kicker and I think he was there for that. In general, as I said before the game, I think it was a bench picked hoping we'd be 10 points up in the last 15 mins rather than 10 points down.

I had the thought watching it on Friday night I'd have much preferred to have Casey's pace of play and wide pass during those last fifteen mins when we were trying to push the play.

Agreed, we clearly did have a plan to kick a lot.

Which, when you combine that with the issues at the ruck and our handling / unforced errors, I think is then harsh to put it on Crowley for not getting the attack going.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I actually thought he was older. That's a positive though alas he's unlikely to grow any more.

There is basically nothing more AF could have done at 9. The players aren't there. I still remember EOS getting **** for saying it wasn't his job to develop players and while he phrased it poorly the national coach can only work with what is presented to him.

I'd love to say in 2 years that it will be Crowley, Prendergast, Casey and Gunne fighting it out for the half backs. But a lot of that is up to Cullen.

Edit: and obviously Murphy. Which is currently a potential case in point on it being up to Cullen and him not always getting it right.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Technically my edit was first so I claim victory

Well as I said yesterday on thread, it was evident from Farrell's quote that while he intended to kick a lot, he himself said he was frustrated with how few times we went through 3 phases or more and he put that on the out halves. When you couple that quote with hooking Crowley ashore after 57 mins, I think it's clear the coaches weren't thrilled with his performance and our attack.

I also think he didn't kick brilliantly during the game. Some of the contestables were just that yard or two too long, and allowed the Kiwi to come down and make a step to avoid the chase. Some of it was just how good Will Jordan in particular dealt with high balls though.

…and he put that on the out halves.

I think you’re reading that into it tbh.

Also I think he kicked well tbh. I’d have to go back and check, and early one was certainly too long, but my recollection is of the others being pretty good tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭RichieRich_89

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 27,562 ✭✭✭✭phog

Taken from a tweet that I posted in the AIs thread.

We really weren't good at any metric on Friday night, probably one of our worst performances under Farrell (we're the light green lines in the centre of all the other countries)

Screenshot_2024-11-12-14-47-50-02_0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Le Bruise

Just watched the game back (slow day at work). Crowley had a grand game and did what he could with the ball that he had. His up and unders were all contestable (bar the first one as you say), he passed/tackled well, kicked his points and made very few errors. Notably the knock on of course, but Bundee had a worse one earlier in the game and it's barely mentioned. Many of the ratings I've seen in the papers had him as the worst player on the paddock…I'm baffled by it, or maybe I just don't know much about out halfs!? Frawley just looked shell shocked, but I saw some flashes from him in-between the errors. Lovely little dink over the top late on that Mack should have taken, Murray was under the sticks if he had.

The amount of momentum killers Ireland had was what was so frustrating on second viewing. Be it handling error, fluffed line out or penalty against (some dubious ones there). Meant they could never get into their stride at all and get the attack moving. It's not all doom and gloom. We played well in patches and our defence was solid. If we can cut down on the error count, work on the discipline (get a ref that looks at both sides) and fix the lineout we'd be motoring….!😅

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

The suspicion lurks that Prendergast has been earmarked for a Test debut against Fiji and will be given the keys to the game plan for the week. If so, then it would make sense to give Frawley an Irish jersey with the number ‘10′ on it for the first time against Argentina. Of his seven caps to date, six have been as a replacement while his sole start has been at ‘15′.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/rugby/2024/11/11/gerry-thornley-the-match-was-poor-the-referee-was-poor-the-crowd-was-poor-and-the-all-blacks-were-adequate/

I'm intrigued with what they are going to do with Frawley v Argentina.

I think Farrell has backed himself into a position with Frawley where he had to start him in 1 of these games.

But after that performance v NZ?

Don't see how he can reward him with a start v Arg.

I'd start Crowley again….. and bring in Prendergast.

Why wait for Fiji? Just do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭thamus doku

I read today about ‘home truths’ in the camp

If we pick basically the same team and beat Argentina what will have we learnt, for me the lesson learnt will be nothing.

We cannot hope to get to a World Cup semi or final if we continue down this route of not giving plenty of game time to at least 35 to 40 players.
    if we continue to concentrate game time to the same core of players we are not preparing properly.

All it takes is a few injuries and poor form to some of those key players in 2026 and 2027 and we are goosed to fail.
    For me we have to stop with this nonsense of having some players who are treated like the golden calves.

For example Sexton retires and we are told we cannot easily replace such an important playmaker, for me this is a weakness not a strength.
    no one player should be allowed to have such a power hold on the international team - that is why team rotation is so important regardless of perceived quality if the squad.

Rugby is a very physical and technical game - it makes no sense not to build an experienced squad.

It looks like the plan was to start Crowley v ABs, Frawley v Argentina and Prendergast v Fiji, the loss last week puts a fly in the ointment but Frawley can never be as bad again, can he? I'd start him, if that was the plan.

I’d agree with a lot of that tbh. I don’t think Crowley’s performance would even make a top 5 of issues we had on Friday.

And tbh, as poor as Frawley was, I’m not sure his was either.

I think some of the penalty count will be eliminated by getting the "blockers" to learn to create the gap for the opposition to have an opportunity to contest for the ball. Then we were very poor at ruck time, I think the pack has to take ownership here and ensure we contest better at ruck time, it seemed we had the numbers just not in the right frame of mind.

Yes I suppose he prob does have to start him all things considered.

However; I'd drop him! We all know it's Crowley/Prendergast for this WC cycle. Just get on with it. Why wait a week?

Plus I'd send out as many CLEAR messages that that performance v NZ wasn't acceptable.

Id drop Henderson

Id drop Kelleher (vharsh considering he hadn't played much)

Id drop Ryan (if he was calling the LO v NZ)

Id drop Murray and POM (not because of NZ. Just to send a message)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Good post above Le Bruise and musing ionadnapokot.

Front 5 were comprehensively outplayed upfront and the breakdown. Handling errors destroyed our attack, time will tell if that was a collective malaise or just a bad day at the office. Unusual that so many looked like this was their first time holding a ball in ages.

For all our lauding of our second rows I'm unconvinced at the very top level by them on current form, Joe Mac seems to have plateaued after a bright start, he can be error prone. Still young though. Will Ryan make the Lions? I don't know about Beirne at 6 either, there's so many other potential options there and he's our best second row, why move him… but then if you're going to experiment these are the games to be doing it, I think I would have preferred a different experiment is all. Maybe others will feel otherwise on all that.

I think there's a drop-off behind Sheehan at 2, he's way out in front of everyone else for me. Kelleher's throwing has always unconvinced, he has everything else. Herring seems probably more reliable but less explosive in the loose and is 35 on his next birthday. Maybe Ulster fans can correct me otherwise on his throwing.

Frawley, what do you do after a showing like that, it was painful viewing. That chip that came off at the end was about the only thing that went (nearly) right. What will it do to his confidence (these players are human) if he doesn't get a start in one of the next two games and is overlooked for Prendergast? Tricky call to make there. If you're backing him you're backing him in my opinion and give him a chance.

Hoping for a few changes this week either way, as said above, we'll learn nothing by putting out the same team. Especially change up the bench please if he's looking to keep a good portion of the starters the same.

I'd drop POM, Healy & Murray too but not because of what they didn't do on Friday night ( they really didn't get enough time to try and change the game, which in itself is beyond belief) but because we should be team building. If it was the 6Ns, I might well have a different opinion but we wasted a trip to SA with players that won't be around in 18 months and now wasting the AIs with them.

The only "home truth" that really resonates is getting dropped.

Reality hits hard in life when you or your loved ones get sick. In sport injury forces you to stop.

For these elite players; getting dropped, its the ultimate boot up the hole.

Farrell has a very tricky balancing act to perform this week with his selections.

!!!If it was me!!!

No 'home truths', no ranting, no nothing,

Just pin up the team tomorrow morning and drop as many as possible where practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭mun1

i wouldn't be in favor of dropping any one just for the optics.

It’s Argentina we are playing who have beaten, NZ, aus, SA and France in the past 4 months .

Theres also the fact that they have never beaten ireland in Dublin, ever !

Id expect the strongest possible team to start and pick your optoins for the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,853 ✭✭✭theVersatile

I'd go for

Porter, Kelleher, Bealham, Beirne, Ryan, POM, JVDF, Doris, JGP, Crowley, Hansen, Henshaw, Ringrose, Lowe, Keenan

Herring, Healy, Clarkson, McCarthy, Baird, Casey, Frawley, Osborne

POM starting would help with lineout and ruck security (and give the poor referee a headache) while McCarthy and Baird from the bench would be plenty impactful (and Farrell doesn't seem that fussed about cover for 8). Want to see Casey getting more time in green.

Would have no objections if Frawley started at 10 or Osborne started at 15 (or if Izzy/Prendergast was #20 instead of Baird, but I suspect they'll be saved for Fiji)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,370 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I'm not convinced that bringing POM back in will actually sort out Ireland's lineout issues. He has started plenty of games where we've struggled at set piece.at this stage it looks like a coaching issue.

Its not optics. At least not optics to the outside world. its sending a message to the players and to the squad.

You don't perform. You get dropped. Others will take your place.

What's the benefit of a win v Arg with the same team? By way of BIG picture. Continuity, Confidence, Rankings? Yep but they are more short to medium term gains.

I would think there is a bigger WIN with making changes now. This is the window to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Joma4good

would it not be a better tactic to retreat asap behind our kick receiver and hit hard if we’re not the winner of the high ball contest a bit like the backup to kickoff receiver is there in case the catch is missed, rather than hang around in a potentially penalty conceding position. I never played so maybe this is naive thinking but we look caught between what we used to do and what’s now required by refs.

He’s also been one of the few that, mid-game, significantly helped our lineout issues we were having on his own just by throwing him up at 2. E.g. SA in RWC.

Long-term, it’s clearly a coaching issue that needs to be solved (tho I think the players need to take some responsibility too).

But as a short-term fix, playing POM is far from the worst option.

I'm not reading anything into it - this is the specific excerpt from Farrell:

Frawley will come under consideration for his first Test start at outhalf after a contest that called into question Ireland’s game management as they adjust to life after the generational player that was Johnny Sexton.

“Game-management is not just down to them, it’s down to others helping with the calls and seeing the space,” said Farrell of his inexperienced outhalves. “But, having said that, if you are playing you would expect yourself to hold on to the ball for more than a couple of phases, which we didn’t do at times.”

He's clearly speaking specifically about the outhalves, the question is about them. The "them" here is Crowley and Frawley - so when he says "you would expect yourself to hold onto the ball for more than a couple of phases…" he's clearly laying that at the feet of the two 10s.