Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,007 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

It’s probably our worst performance vs NZ since 2012?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,120 ✭✭✭crusd

He has the skills. Other countries don’t worry about putting in raw talent. We wait until they are 26 and have played most of their rugby at 12 and 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

Ah both did nothing positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,658 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

based on what? The attack did nothing, he balls up a few kicks. Like he didn't lose the game, but he didn't do anything noteworthy either.

• Administrators Posts: 56,545 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

the thing that bugs me a lot is this the only game that has any real meaning behind it. Yea it’s just an autumn test, but Fiji, Argentina and Australia are nothing games for us.

Even if we win the next 3 it’ll be hard to put a positive spin on this series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,330 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

When the media treat you like God's, you start to believe the hype yourself.

All Blacks simply too good for them, even playing average.

Great under achievers, but sure we have to hear about their kids, their weddings, their engagements etc, cos they are Irish rugby players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

We have a problem at no 10. Crowley is okay but don't think he's top quality...Frawley is no where near an international no 10 unfortunately...really hope Prendegast can be the real deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭clsmooth

JGP, Lowe and Keenan were all excellent. Hansen had some nice moments. On the flip, Crowley struggled and Frawley and Henderson were poor off the bench. Bealham put in an excellent shift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

I maintain everything I said, the fact it was still a contest despite how Ireland played proves my point. Nice job kicking someone when they are down like a big man.

Unfortunately one thing my crystal ball couldn't do is predict Ireland would put in their worst performance for over 4 years…if I'd known that I would have altered my prediction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,075 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

Crowley was 5/10, Frawley would be lucky with 3/10. The guy just isn’t test level.

I’d start Crowley and bench Prendergast next week.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Musicrules

Frawley wet his panse out there. Couldn't hold onto a ball. Worst sub since Billy Burns last cap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭LostArt

I don't think you can compare with last week. England played without the ball for most that game. They defended really well but did nothing in attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

With an aging team, there's always the feeling that it could all fall apart very suddenly. While I don't think that's what happened tonight, it was certainly our worst performance in a long time.

My biggest concern is the drastic disimprovement in our attack. You don't need all singing, all dancing multi phase attacking shapes to win games, but it has been our USP and has been the foundation of grand slams, tour wins, world number one, etc. Without it, what do we excel at?

It was also about as poor an impact as I've ever seen from a set of subs. Despite all of our success at senior and u20 level, we still have very little depth. South Africa have a bench full of players they want to get on the pitch, we have multiple that we don't seem to want to use at all.

Frawley was utterly dreadful but at least he tried to organise some shape around him. I just don't buy the idea that you can take a player who doesn't play consistently at 10 and bring him in an the top level, and consistently get results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,083 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Disappointed to have been so correct.

Even more disappointed I didn't back it up with a wager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,370 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

We clearly had a good plan going into the game. Put the New Zealand ruck under huge pressure and stopped their 9 from getting the ball out with any sort of speed. He was hooked early because he was having an awful game. Our defence was generally solid, despite the missed tackles and we held New Zealand try less for 65-70 minutes.

I don't think we could have foreseen such an awful attacking performance though. It wasn't just the dropped passes and knock ons either. We were too flat to the gain line and just begging to be hit behind it. If we didn't drop the ball we invariably were behind from where we started.

A loss might not be worst thing, we aren't numbe Number 1 in world.

England had more of the ball than we did and didnt drop the ball every 2 seconds.

Could be a long 6 nations without Farrell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Gator

My god, Id say its about 10 years since i posted on boards but holy christ that was so bad. No1 me hole. We cannot even catch a ball. Worst performance since 2019 England. Theres a load of lads that need to be cleaned out. Henderson is done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭roverjoyce

Looked like an old team coming to the end of their cycle

Should be the last time for a lot of them, have to start planning for 2027

There was only 3 players under 25 playing tonight for Ireland(Crowley Osborne and McCarthy)

11 were over 30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,658 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Frawley is a 12, and should be let play there. We're going to ruin him the way Paddy Wallace was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

It just reminded me of a performances under Kidney at the end of his tenure.

Totally disordered, indisciplined, compounding mistakes and incapable of problem solving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭lonester99

what were these gobshites doing in Portugal all weak playing touch butt, pathetic performance. I dont mind losing games to good teams but on home soil to show zero passio, hunger or fight is just pathetic.

Squads looking very end of schmidt era atm, new blood needs to be brought in as that squads getting stale, A bench of henderson, herring and healy is not remotely good enough for a side that has ambitions of being a top 3 side in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,334 ✭✭✭✭klose

Equally a bad as a disappointing performance, couple of decent flashes but over all poor, handling, line outs and discipline really bad. Anything that could have went wrong did, can we chalk it down as a bad day at the office? Guess we will see over the next couple weeks.

The average age was 28.8, not spring chickens but hardly an ageing side. We could have had SA's bench tonight and it would make 0 difference when you are playing that badly as a collective, its was a collective **** show for 80 minutes really and the only positives were Beirne,VDF & JGP and tbh that was largely based on what they did WITHOUT the ball which was telling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,000 ✭✭✭almostover

Pass on a bit of whatever you're drinking / smoking! Must be powerful stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Bad night for: Bealham, Herring, Crowley, Frawley, Aki, Henderson

Good night for: Kelliher, Porter, JGP, Beirne, vdF, Doris

Average night for: Lowe, Hansen, Osborne

Anonymous night for: O'Mahony, Murray, McCarthy, Keenan, Healy, Healy, Ringrose

Coaches need to take a good look at themselves. NZ could easily have been beaten there. Handing McKenzie easy 3 pointers was ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭thamus doku

tonight is a watershed. The team were poor tonight as were the men in charge on the sideline.
    Hanson and Kelleher were not fit enough or in good enough form to start tonight, Jamie Osborne should have started even at centre if need be, cian Healy is finished at this level as is Henderson omahoney and Murray.
    Dorris is not suited to be captain and he looked poor tonight as a result.

Also I complained about sexton being involved and I stand by that, it was a bizarre decision for him to be asked and for him to accept. No young buck wants the old head around preaching in his ear.

If you constantly pick the same players and the only changes are due to injuries you will end up where ireland find themselves tonight.
    a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,543 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Great shout, it was that poor. It reminded me of a game we lost 12-6 to England in the 2013 6N.