Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Joe in his best suit paying his respects on the 6.1 news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,069 ✭✭✭mountain

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2024/1107/1479732-rte-wrc/

Will Duffy be sizing this up for a claim of his own?
    he has passed comments previously about him being a contractor

AFAIK a WRC payment is limited to two years of salary and they have strict a 6 month (12 in exceptions) limit to make a claim. Is this just a first step before going to the Labour Court and/or higher?

I wonder if the 238k includes lost pension contributions and pension growth over the 11 years. My feeling it that it does not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,378 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

I bet being a 'contractor' suited them for all those years. Suddenly it dawned on them (after 11 years) that avoiding tax, but missing out on holidays and the pension may have been the wrong option. tough shite. Missing out on €21500 per year ??! How much was she been paid, and how much tax did she manage to 'avoid' paying

She could have applied to become an employee after 2 years of contracting, and then taken a case to the WRC if RTE said no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

It is an awful pity that all of Noel Kelly’s clients are simple creatures unable to understand the figures and complications of employed versus contractual status. Ryan Tubridy publicly painted himself as essentially being a nincompoop when confronted with the dastardly complexities of handling his enormous salary that didn’t affect his soul after all. For all of his many faults I’d certainly say Mr. Tubridy would be a smarter chap than Mr. Duffy (a relative statement for sure but bear with me), so if we are to take the former at his word, can you imagine how bamboozled Mr. Duffy would be by such complicated matters? I’d wager he would be cast down by the weight of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,350 ✭✭✭✭zell12

I think you have it the wrong way around. I have seen Duffy operate live in person in the 90s. There were no flies on him back then. His persona changes when 'On Air'. I am not saying he is nice person, he has his own agendas and will manipulate the flow of the on air conversation to generate 'good radio' and cover his own interests or agendas.

Tubs just seems to trust and follow NK blindly. If he just admitted or kept his gob shut that he was wrong and paid back the 150k he would have been back in Montrose.

Perhaps my mistake was in the subtlety of my post. I fully understand what a mercenary Mr. Duffy is when it comes to matters financial, my post was written firmly tongue in cheek.

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Joe called the election three weeks ago, so we will have it on the 29th. The means-tested carers moaning about bills. Some company in Cark going to be shut down by 3pm. AnPost have moved into the 21st century SHOCKER. And some whistlin whistlin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

The cold hard fact is, that for many, working as a self-employed contractor suited them just fine.

Ok, the gig was precarious, but if you kept in with the right wans and didn't rock the boat you could be in there for life, and that was better than not being in there at all.

All this nonsense about being full-time employees is just so much bullshyte. Sure, yes, it would be nice, but once the full-time jobs were gone (to nepotistic w4nkers), they'd gone. That left the 'contractors' who were only too glad to clamber on board under any circumstances.

I had a similar look at the structure of the BBC thirty years ago. I could have got in the door as a S-E 'contractor' but would have been on about half the money I was then earning outside. I simply couldn't afford to work for the BBC.

I knew several 'producers' who were on pitiful money, but hey, they could say they were a 'BBC Producer' at parties.

Today in Stage 7.1:

• Just Joe, self proclaimed lad of more intelligence than a Wolfe Tone fan.

Possible shrieking into the void topics:

• Election: Date predicted by Joe 3 weeks ago. Joe will us de Lotto Numbers during de show.
    • Careers: Means Tested Allowance very mean tested.
    • Revenue Bashing: Geraldine did not tell de Revenue about getting de Careers Allowance few bob, now has to pay lot of tax.
    • Kiera in Cork?: In realty in China and stuff late in arriving.
    • Saving Book stamps: An Post got rid of them this week. Some people very upset.
    • Whistling: What has happened to the Art of Whistling?

Banned Topics:

• Macrones for de friends of Montrose
    • Welfare raided to fund RTE Digout
    • Wolfe Tone vs Montrose
    • Kneecap de Kneecapping picture
    • State of Hospitals
    • De Missing Ducks of St. Stephen's Green
    • De Unwell
    • De Undocumented
    • RVM Machine Tax
    • Inflation, except for sausage based products
    • Lack of Doctors
    • Lack of Dentists
    • Lack of Gaffs
    • Lack of punishment for Crime/Goal Accommodation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,184 ✭✭✭furiousox

If I hear someone walking around a shop whistling, I have to fight the urge to punch them in the head.

CPL 593H

Keeping in is the important part. I was talking to person a few weeks who's better half was a contractor in RTE. Had an argument with the DG and got blacked listed. Was actually told to their face by the DG they would never work in RTE again. They never did, even when RTE came groveling a few years later.

Hello avid listener Mary-Lou!

image.png

We have no far right in Ireland …because Mr Joe Duffy 😂 😂

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Late start for Joe. He'll be able to get an extra bowl of coddle in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭balanced24

Jaysus the coverage of Simon going to the Aras is more nauseating than Joes belching.

It’s very Americanised the coverage, Sharon was giddy on the news at one.

Will Joe be docked seven minutes fees?

Comparing the election to some sort of GAA match was too much for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

weel issue affecting weel peeple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Red Fred

Is this our Martine?

500k Unpaid Careers in de Country, 130k Carers Support Grant and 90k receive the Carers Allowance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭leath_dub

Joe hates tax of any sort (particularly when he has to pay it)

He hates means testing of anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,397 ✭✭✭archfi

Let us know if you’re affected by the election date sez Joe

Well you could just point out there are solutions for some categories who can’t vote in person

I don’t think weddings count

A thing isn't what it says it is.

A thing is what it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Kalimah