Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 14 terracedgarden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Special Junior

Whoever doesn’t win tomorrow can see them going up next year. Conahy were a junior standard team in intermediate (along with blacks and whites) and can’t see with the age profile of the team them bouncing back.

Did Jack Doyle take part in world handball championships? Been a busy week for him if he has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭mullinr2

No All star for Kilkenny, it was a poor season in all fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭robwen

Wasn't Harry Shine on the Kilkenny panel this year, pretty sure he was a sub for the Leinster final anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭conor05

I find it hard to believe that Gearoid Hegarty was better than John Donnelly this year.

A big two fingers up to Leinster hurling with that All Star selection in my view.

Limerick got to a semi final, the same as Kilkenny yet they are deemed to have 4 All stars.

Didn’t think Eoin Downey was any better than Huw Lawlor either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Just discovered its the first year since the All Stars began that neither Kilkenny, Kerry or Dublin won an award.

Mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Krazy gang

Hea

Heard on radio he has a handball match tomorrow at 10am with the co final at 2 30!! I know nothing about handball so have no idea the leigth of a match.

Nervy morning for windgap management

Hegarty had an excellent year, if not the semi final. Yes Donnelly probably unlucky but was quieter in last 2 or 3 matches. Cian Kenny bit unlucky too but I don't think the players lose any sleep over the all stars although there's some nice story's tonight like louth winning their 2nd ever all star & Paul conroy winning poty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Marrooned

unless KK swept the boards in all competitions they can expect nothing, that’s the way it always was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,646 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

The first ever year that no team from the Leinster hurling championship got an All Star too. Only Louth saved the province across the 2 codes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Special Junior

Thanks for that. It’s a very demanding game, lots of short sprinting and continuous movement, far from ideal for the body to be playing a match later.

A famous ex hurler once said if you were fit enough for three games of handball (first player to win two games wins the match) you were fit enough to play any sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭Charlie69

Was it 2014 Kilkenny won league, Leinster and All-Ireland and they still gave Tipp more All-Stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Few things,

1. All Stars are a joke nowadays and should be paid no attention to. Only thing that keeps players interested in potential for All Star trip abroad. Needs to be picked by former players at a minimum.

2. Junior Final, expect Freshford to win. Forwards have a bit more class and have senior experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Windgap man here, I think freshford are favourites. We beat them in the league final but they were missing a few. Thomastown winning last weekend would give any team hope of overcoming the favourite tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭jamesbond2022

The all stars are really just based off 2 games a semi and a final everything else is disregarded even the Leinster and Munster championships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Best of luck to Windgap today, they've a former Realt dearg man in the backroom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭mooz

Congrats to St Lachtain's, commiserations to Windgap. Best team won today, Windgap will rue all the wides that they had in the first half. I was very impressed with the brand of hurling the Freshford men played, very comfortable in possession like the senior champions of last week. Their 3 main county seniors showed all their class today, D Brennan, B Kennedy and James Maher but others to hurl superbly were Brendan Quinn, Cr Bergin, Padraig Donnelly, Cathal Hickey, Mark Donnelly and Cathal O'Leary.

It's going to be hard for Windgap to accept this defeat. They're now in a very similar position to what Thomastown were facing and how they felt trying to get over the line in county finals…we know how that fared out so can they triumph over adversity next year and finally reach the promised land?

Thought Niall Walsh at centre back gave an exhibition and Sean Purcell was more effective at full forward in the first half. They battled gamely till the end but would have to admit defeat to a much better team and squad today.

A great advertisement for premier junior hurling in Kilkenny I felt, exchanges were tense and close which I thought was a very interesting spectacle for a neutral

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Village87

Very disappointing match and looked like a junior match for a lot of it. Lot of players on both teams don't look fit. Both sets of forwards were average I thought. All 3 goals came with an element of luck. The difference with Thomastown and Windgap is that Thomastown have a lot of younger players coming on every year strengthening the team. This Windgap team look past it compared to performances the last 4/5 years. If they do eventually go up the best years will be behind them unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 222 ✭✭Paul Pogba

Sure it was a junior match and freshford will be playing ye next year in intermediate next year.

Windgap did all the hurling in the first half so must have been dejected to be only level at half time. Counted 6 wides from frees. Landy seemed to disappear after the wides. That's the trouble when there's so much talk about a player in the media.

Lachtaíns have some nice hurlers. Cathal hickey wing back caught the eye. Brian Kennedy outstanding. Purcell was causing havoc at full forward, he's so big and bulky I'm not sure how mobile he is. Didn't happen at all for Jack Doyle today.

Dicksboro had a good win over rivals O’loughlins today by 11 points.Harry shine was the best performer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Game was advertised to be on clubber but wasn't available when i went to watch it. Any idea why that was?

Heard the lads on kclr giving out about the all stars today, maybe justifiably so. But you can bet your bottom dollar when they name their own club team of the year it will consist mainly of Thomastown and o loughlins players. Not having a dig at them for that, just bit hypocritical to criticise all star selections for same reason.

The all-stars had representation from three of the four semi-finalists though, I’m not saying we definitely deserved one but it’s still a bit unusual.

The All Ireland champions, the previous and 4 in a row All Ireland champions and the team that beat the 4 in a row champions and took the eventual winners to extra time.

On the other side the team that got a handy Leinster final against Dublin.

Thas all true and as I said I don’t necessarily think we were hard done by but I can’t remember the last time provincial champions weren’t represented and we really should have beaten Clare in the semis in my opinion so we weren’t that far off . I wasn’t trying to take away from anyone that won an all -star at all if that’s how you picked it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Weird to be disappointed that a junior match looked like a junior match.

Fair enough. I saw some bitterness around in relation to the awards and thought you were going down that road. It was certainly an odd one with Limerick getting more than the usual for a provincial/semifinal team.