If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

If people were honest with themselves it isn't really. ROG was always a straight talker and he isn't wrong.

He is right to more than likely never take the Munster job, given the systemic issues with Munster he would more than likely just be wasting his time.

The most important part of what he said was

"It’s a great job still. It’s Munster. It’s on its knees at the minute, but a good plan and vision is the foundation stone for a revived future. If the organisation went out there with a vision for Munster rugby, you could get some very interesting people in the room"

This a major part of the problem with Munster. Leinster know exactly who they are, what they want to do, how they want to play, have put the structures in place and and made the decisions required to achieve it. 16 years since Munster last won Europe and they are still stuck in the fog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,846 ✭✭✭snotboogie

What's going on with McSweeney? Is he injured? Year 3 academy prop, probably the largest front row on Munsters books, Ive only seen him play a single game for Munster since joining, against Ireland 20's, where he looked like a young Ugo Antonio (admittedly as the second oldest player on the pitch) and is apparently so off it that he can't be put on the bench for a friendly game in the midst of one of the worst injury crises at prop ever at Munster. If players are that far off the pro level why are they being kept on for three years in the academy? Could say similar about Okeke last year and Gibbons before he got injured. I would have thought that big prospects like Edogbo and O'Leary Kareem should be seeing some minutes in games like these too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Hey_Ho_Lets_Go_3

Surely Luke Masters would be looked at too.

Matthew Burke ex-connacht also worth looking at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭theVersatile

That Article mentions there only being five fit props on Munsters books. As far as I know, George Hadden is fit (i.e. the fifth fit prop) which would imply that Dweeney is injured.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 31,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

"Obvious safety concerns" seems a bit much given I think every single province has played AIL props over the last few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,254 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

That comparison was specifically "in purely economic terms". I think most Munster fans would agree with him. And disagree that constitues twisting the knife.

I also don't think most Munster fans expected him to be the next Munster manager. He says himself, he hopes it will be in the Test arena. That's what you'd expect for a double-European winning manager of the calibre of ROG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭sleepyman

I assume lads in year 3 most know the game is up if they're holding tackle bags or not getting game

You do wonder if a lad got no game time after 3 years in the academy were they ever good enough in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Hey_Ho_Lets_Go_3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭clsmooth

You asked me if a question and I answered you with an example. Why the prickly tone and changing of goal posts to try and make it sound like I’m having a go at Munster?

I’m not sure any Ulster players bemoaned McFarland leaving as it had become toxic. I would have thought the Munster squad would have been pretty disappointed with Van Graan leaving his contract early to jump ship to Bath. Will be interesting to see what comes out in the future with regards Rowntree. I thought he did great work in bringing in particular the likes of Crowley, Casey and Ahern through.

Do you still have no doubt in your mind that ‘he wasn't pushed’ despite what’s been talked about in the last few days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,504 ✭✭✭✭phog

Changing the goal posts? You posted saying "Madigan made a point that there was no social media posts from any of the Munster players wishing Rowntree well in the future and thanking him as being a bit unusual"

Let's assume the 3 provinces have 40 players in their squads, that 120 players that should (if Madigan is correct) have gone on social media to thank their coach after they were sacked, you came up with one. He really is the odd one out here, what's prickly about pointing that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,846 ✭✭✭snotboogie

I missed this post earlier and it's really good. You can see the extraordinary prickliness around systemic issues at Munster and how that permeates throughout the fanbase. Player development, in particular how to manage resources in clubs vs schools and the Limerick Cork split are two issues that Munster as an organisation and fanbase are not prepared to address maturely and move forward. The grand strategy that O'Gara hints at won't be forthcoming. Munster will to continue to waffle through the fog and slowly slip behind. Expect a blood and guts performance tomorrow but how do Munster pitch up in the three games in January? How do Munster look in 25/26 with another 2 or 3 senior players retiring and possibly 1 or 2 big names leaving abroad? What is the new coach buying into?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,360 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Murray Kinsella has spoken a bit more about the Rowntree departure on today's Rugby Weekly podcast.

Apparently the tour to South Africa was a very unhappy one. Talked about rifts between coaches and players being magnified in that tour bubble. Also about the frustration Rowntree had over being unable to completely remodel the squad like he wanted to. Lost Frisch and Snyman and wasn't allowed to cut Murray and POM.

Post edited by Clegg on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭ersatz

Gossip that puts POM in the frame as central to GRs departure reflects badly on him, if true. I can see how he'd be difficult if GR wanted to let him go but he ended up staying. Nightmare for morale if that's how it played out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭ShineyShiney

A lot of lads way past due to move on. Stop with the jobs for the boys and be serious and ruthless about building a squad to compete.

And who cares where they are from.

In the last week, an online story broke the news that Allen's was closing their two stores in Limerick - they went online to deny the story. Also, hundreds if not thousands gathered in Dublin for a Halloween Parade that was announced online

Moral of the story, don't believe all that you read online, no matter how juicy it is.

Stuff coming from the likes of Kinsella is less likely to be bogus than most online gossip. He's a real journalist with ethics and a reputation to protect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

Kinsella is in the inner circle of the provinces and doesn't fire out any old rubbish to get clicks/likes. Hence why the information he reports on is typically spot on.

He is not the type of journalist either to talk about something without having some real details behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

When a coach is shown the door and lost the locker room the players are 'generally' ok if not happy with the decision and they'll keep their head down, like in the examples you gave.

There have been some trying to frame the Rowntree situation as a coach beloved by the players who decided to leave to take a moral stand against IRFU interference, in which case you'd expect even a few players to voice support in some format, even if it is just wishing him well on social media.

With the limited info we have, it suggests the former situation has occurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,180 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

I'm sorry but accusing Murray Kinsella of fabricating a story about Munster Rugby is absolutely outrageous.

I understand that some people cannot accept anything negative about MR but that's completely over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭ingo1984

why would they wish him well through a post on Instagram when they can just do it in person or over a phone call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭mun1

Save your outrage for something meaningful

kinsella has no “inner access” to players or coaches. He might have had at one stage but not anymore.

Agents feed him a juicy bit every now and again , thats about it.

All the media need clicks to survive , he’s no different.

You're dead right, now, can you point out anyone that is actually accusing Kinsella of fabricating a story.

Because Ian Madigan says it unusual not to and at least one poster here seems to agree with him.

On the eve of our Match v The All Blacks tomorrow what better than to look back at the Munster Haka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭ingo1984

well Conway has posted his appreciation so that's put to bed now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,543 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

I've always been a fan of ROG, biased of course because I'm a Cork man. But I have to say his comments about Munster appear very disrespectful, more so to the legion of fans! I remember a time long ago when he said he was happier playing for Munster than Ireland. Munster will turn things around and hopefully come up against La Rochelle in the champions cup. Munster fans have given ROG some of his best playing days, the 1000s travelling to France every year in the quest for a first Heineken cup. If you can't respect the people running Munster, at least show respect to the fan base that made you who you are!

ROG doesn’t need Munster fans but he does need clickbait. I wouldn’t take it personally.

Will you screenshot it and send it to Ian, he seems to want to notice stuff like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭niallm77

Or maybe Munster need to hear a few truths......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Agree you shouldn’t believe everything you hear but no point having your head in the sand either.

You previously mentioned rumours that Rowntree walked as he couldn’t sign a foreign medical joker in the front row and that you’re ingrained in the Limerick rugby scene knowing referees, club coaches and parents of current and former Munster players. Do you still have no doubt in your mind that Rowntree wasn’t pushed?