Halloween in Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Real MENSA material right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,747 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Look like millennials / generation Z heads who for the most part….they’d been probably reading about it on social media, so ‘must be true’…..ffs 😅🤦🏻‍♂️

I dunno though. It's not a far reach for there to be a Halloween parade on O'Connell Street. It's not something totally implausible (like a police motorboat giveaway 😆). There's one on Shandon Street in Cork - why wouldn't there be one on the capital's main thoroughfare?

https://www.indy100.com/news/police-christmas-hamper-trick-south-yorkshire-the-simpsons-boat-raffle-funny-8126431

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Everybody has gone to the city centre pubs. Temple Bar looks like March 17th. Bravo to the Vintner Federation, that's how you do it, fool everybody like the rest of your cronies do.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,200 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Who made this up ? Like don't believe everything you see online but I'd say good revenue for the city centre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,454 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

It's not just social media. Crowds/queues tend to be self-propagating. Once a small one gathers, more people will join to see what's going on. Doesn't take much to scale that up to this level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭standardg60

Utterly bizarre, but goes to show how many are completely reliant on SM for all their news. Clearly any parade would have been announced in the mainstream.

Knowledge is learning something, wisdom is learning from it, intelligence thought of it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭harryharry25

Well if people who fell for it are now drinking in temple bar, they are stupider than I thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,776 ✭✭✭Knine

Sure The Walking Dead parade around Dublin City every night.

I wonder who started the rumour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It would have been the ideal night to say the Russians had started bombing us, fireworks gave the perfect soundtrack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Meanwhile, Cork had a real parade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Local lads in Tallaght amused themselves setting fire to a local amenity…

https://extra.ie/2024/11/01/news/halloween-dublin-fire-brigade-calls

Dublin Fire Brigade also shared some of the more notable incidents on their Twitter (X) account, which included a fire at a playground in Jobstown. Some of the playground’s equipment was also on fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Lads with "no facilities" set fire to facilities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Rocket_GD

From my personal experience it's more boomers that believe what they see on Facebook "Copy and paste this to your story to keep your data private" we all have those Aunts and Uncles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Lofidelity

A website called My Spirit Halloween advertised this hoax. It lists events across the world. Never heard of it before. Im surprised it gained so much traction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,023 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Well maybe we should have one next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Maybe, but on the evidence of the photos of this particular 'event' it was mainly millennials and gen-Z.

Happy birthday Kathleen lots of love Margaret and tom xxxxxx

I'd say it was more that there's a far higher % of this age demographic out and about in town on Halloween night and as it was said previously only takes a few people lining up for others to join suit. Word of mouth spreads very quickly in crowds.

• Site Banned Posts: 33,931 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The scary thing is that these people are eligible to vote in the upcoming general election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭balanced24

A South American seems to have been the first to share it to tik-tok from a Journal reporter Irelands factcheckers

Probably searching for something and found this and it got legs

https://x.com/ste_mcdermott/status/1852095730002874478?s=46

Far scarier is the generation of my parents and above being able to vote who have no real concept of the issues that are affecting the younger generations. They pretend to until you give them the list of issues and then they say "you're all just soft"

Anyway that's off topic, what last night highlights is how misinformation can so quickly spread and a lot of people aren't double checking sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭standardg60

Love that the guards had to issue a tweet to get them to disperse. It's only true when it's on SM seemingly.

Knowledge is learning something, wisdom is learning from it, intelligence thought of it first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,847 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I remember when Halloween used to be basic, simple, easy and all about children dressing up, trick or treating and going home. Immature adults have hijacked it since social media came along.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

For all the laughs etc at the expense of those that travelled in…

No guard rails, no Garda presence for the parade, no signage…

And they still lined the side of the path obediently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭boardlady

Looks like the perfect 'ghost' parade to me! 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

That’s a bit unfair. Yes, it’s gotten more commercialised and the treats have gotten unhealthier but the “old style” Halloween was tame and, dare I say it, lame.

Growing up in the 80s you’d see the great depiction of Halloween on tv and that’s what you wanted it to be.

Businesses picked up on this and started selling Halloween decorations and costumes got, slowly, better. What we have now is the Halloween those of us who weren’t happy with bin bag costumes and monkey nuts wanted and kids seem to love it.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,357 ✭✭✭Cordell

And even more scarier are people scared about others' right to vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭Lofidelity

That makes sense. There is a huge amount of young South Americans in Dublin so if word spreads in that community, thousands can show up at short notice. Then everyone else in town that evening sees a crowd gathering and they join in to see whats going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

This is one of the funniest things I have ever seen. Hope they had fun chatting about immigrants eating pets or whatever else social media told them.