Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm Payments 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭grass10

They generally bought extra land and expanded their farm's but many also became very inefficient due to the big lump of money coming every autumn subsidising their business and now they are crying because they are not getting as much free money as they were getting and are now pleading poverty it's like giving a child sweets and then taking them away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭ABitofsense

Mines up 7e with no change in anything that I'm aware off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭endainoz

Mines down 31 euro, won't know for sure until the full amount is paid in December.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,711 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Mines down 42, I'm the winner so far....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,659 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Down €10.54.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Sami23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭cap.in.hand.

And down another 4 euro for the 2nd part of the eco payment in Dec...13 euro altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

I’m down €21 on the eco this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭Tileman

why are we all down the few euro. Was it flagged or do we get it back in spring.
    it should be going the opposite direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Sugarbowl

eco is coming in at 66.5 per hectare here, is that what ye all getting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,306 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

A significant number off farmers left excluded land last year that should have been included, woods, ponds less than 0.2HA, area of scrub. As more land is included the rate will go down

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

IS the echo payed separate to the main one? Yfs separate also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,711 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Yfs comes early December with balancing payments. Eco is a separate payment showing for me in amounts due now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Is the BISS scheme not reducing year on year? As ECO is part of that, I'm guessing it will reduce (albeit slightly) too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,306 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

No the Biss is being rebanced between higher and lower payments. The Eco is reduced by extra land being declared. It's amazing the amount of advisors that do not know the rules of the scheme

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭MIKEKC

WWhat businesses are in trouble?. I would think most people with high payments used them to consolidate and expand their business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 johnjoe45

Help got no anc or biss payment. Department Looking for proof of actively farming land. It's just rough grazing ground for sheep did fencing cut few trees didn't cut any crops as buy hay for feeding. Have flock register up to date sold /bought sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Packrat

Cop yourself on. If the mod won't tell you, then I will - You're well out of order with this post and previous.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭green daries

Let he without sin cast the first stone also the mods need to reign in your back seat modding. Just because I have a particular outlook on the benifits of direct payments doesn't mean I'm right or wrong it just means that you don't agree with me...... payments from Europe are the main thing keeping farmers down and controlled by regulations....... what exactly could they do to anyone if nobody was receiving income support from the EU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Packrat

No bother with a no payments regime here provided im paid properly for my product.

I'm not in the best paying farming sector on superb land and then bitching about other lads payments whilst drawing my own though.

You're well entitled to your opinion, but you're not entitled to denigrate a different sector of farming you know nothing about nor ever worked a day in.

Jog on now.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭green daries

Sorry how do you know anything about me or where I've worked or what form of agriculture I've been involved in. We have had every enterprise known to man including a veg tunnel for sale on my own farm and I would be in the unique position of having worked on a couple of mountain farms.(apart from mushrooms )For the record this is the biggest **** up to date of the cap payments (milstone on farmers necks) all they are doing is giving much less to strangle all sectors of agriculture. so keep waddling on there good ladeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

ECO in the account this morning. Just balancing payments left for me now, which are usually in December I think? But given the election is supposedly end of November, we might get them a little earlier this year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭V6400

Can you explain how its "unfair" that supports are now going to be directed towards more unproductive areas?

Surely the fact that, as you have pointed out, the areas are less productive they could do with the supports more than a productive area?

Is it just greed that has you so bitter over it or can you not make a profit from your farm of productive land without a massive subsidy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,504 ✭✭✭endainoz

The way these payments were originally calculated comes from stocking rates from years ago, my own entitlements have gone down a bit since the parity craic started. I do think this is a much fairer system though.

Mine have stayed more or less the same, maybe up a few pound but the most of the lads that are on bad payments are either on very bad land that wasnt fit to carry stock or are still being judged on how the generation before them had the land stocked, 20+ years was far to long to go without re evaluating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭In the wind

Is there a one stop website I can go to to understand all the available payments, schemes grant, when they're payable & how they're calculated?

I know the User on here are most active professional farmers & understand all the acronyms & abbreviations & how the associated payments are applied for & paid out & when but as a complete newbie I am looking for a single definitive resource to learn from.

thanks in advance everyone. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

eco in and spent.

Balancing payment and whenever the acres will arrive.

I get more texts about registering for NPIs than texts to say the money is on its way,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,104 ✭✭✭kk.man

We in the east worked, borrowed and stocked high for those entitlements. They were based on stock numbers and area of land. I have lost a third of that. Costs have went up etc and the EU took one third of my income and gave it to less productive areas.

Now did you see the stats for the cattle numbers in Connacht over the last couple years? Three and half thousand less traded the marts and four and a half thousand traded in farms. They didn't exactly become productive with my money. The same article quotes a mart manager from there saying that alot gone organic, older profile and department schemes.

No it's not greed, all my neighbours have the same issue. You won't have the Coolemores of this world bidding on farms near you so don't have to worry about what your payments are going to help fund land purchase. I'm well able to make a profit from my farm and there's many a drystock farmer near here who can't but it's not my business.

So people outside of the good land of KK don’t work? I’m well aware of how the entitlements were calculated but for people on worse land it wasn’t possible to stock up land because the land can’t handle it. This is land that lads from the east wouldn’t last a year farming on never mind the more than 20 they had to wait for some re distribution of funds.

I’m also not from Connacht or these unproductive areas where everyone’s gone organic and as I said above my payments have more or less stayed as they were even though I have almost doubled the stock numbers since I took over compared to what my father had when I was a teenager and the entitlements were calculated.
    Good to hear you’re making a profit from your farm and since you took one look at acres and decided not to go for it your obviously not stuck for the few pound so why begrudge to lads that are?