Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greatest League in the World 2025 [LOI Thread]

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

The latter. You'd also be surprised how quickly a football club burns through that kind of money, particularly if you aren't generating it year-on-year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,524 ✭✭✭✭CSF

They shouldn’t be allowed do that next season. Everyone loves their club enough to have sympathy for Dundalk fans who have done nothing wrong, but the league should have moved on from the worst days gone by.

You can’t have a loophole to ditch all your debts and obligations to just resume playing football the following season in the same division that you would have been anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,649 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Deleted

Post edited by hold my beer on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,595 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Frustrating night at the showgrounds. Great crowd of about 3.5k but we just don't have the depth to overcome the injuries and suspensions.

Apparently our top earner this season is Radosavljevic, who was one of Russell's awful signings from last year who he gave a 2 year contract to. Barely played this season because he's not very good, and seeing him come off the bench tonight and jog around not giving a f**k really leaves a sour taste in the mouth. No interest in being here really, but he knows he'll never get a contract like the one he's on again so he shows up and does the bare minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

LOI clubs should probably stop signing Faroe Islands internationals on big money contracts and expecting them to be good. They're one of the worst international sides in the world and their players show it. There's been a few of them in the league in the last few years and I can't remember any of them being decent. I can only imagine there's an agent in Torshaven living a life of luxury on the back of flogging these duds to LOI clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Dundalk blew the money on substandard players, the best example of this is Zahibo who was supposedly on a figure of around €200,000/year if the rumours are to be believed. You could kind of understand it if he was a striker with a pedigree but he was a defensive midfielder. When he left Dundalk he played a few games in the French 4th tier and retired by 30. Last year, he was reported to be looking for €50,000 in unpaid wages.

Their squad towards the end of the Peak 6 days resembled a United Nations of lesser internationals from places like Latvia, Lithuania and the Faroe Islands.

Even now their wage budget must be the highest of any relegated side in the history of the LOI. €20,000/week to finish bottom of the table. Droghedas' must be a fraction of that.

If nothing else, their capitulation should lead to a serious review of the licensing process when they were granted a license carrying that debt and an owner who openly stated he didn't have the funds to back it up and was looking for "investors" from day one of his ownership.

I'm not sure what point sanctions kick in but the current and past owners fighting in the stands should warrant a stadium ban. The whole thing is a circus that has brought the league into disrepute.

It's unfortunate at a time when the league has plenty of good news stories around it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭tinpib

Russell is learning from his mistakes. The 2 big ones for me were 1. stopping this endless passing around the back 5 and getting nowhere, he stuck with that for well over a season, and 2. stopping signing these foreign internationals.

Russell seemed to think international caps equals a higher standard of player, and for us it simply didn't work. Personality, drive, commitment etc are all so important.

We had so many duds of which Radosavljevic is the only 1 left because of the stupid 2 year contract as you say. Some others that come to mind was Frank Livak who was ok, and that Melvin lad who was genuinely afraid of the ball. Pedro Martello another embarrassment with his feigning injury who was not an international, and a terrible, terrible finisher.

It also seems to me that the non-native English speaking lads didn't gel with the squad. Fabrice Hartmann from Germany seemed to have good English and he was definitely a good signing overall. And we had that Dutch guy who only stayed for a few games but Dutch people in general have great English and come from similar culture, climate, physical league, though we didn't see enough to make a call on how good he was.

Pijnaker and Max Mata from NZ were successes, we had another Kiwi a few seasons back who was ok, a brick sh!thouse of a forward whose name escapes me. Twardek from Canada did well for us, Jordan Hamilton was a disaster, but there is a higher hit rate from native English speaking countries.

But it seems he realised that getting Irish and British lads is the lower risk, more squad togetherness, fewer unknowns. Pearce and Henry-Francis are decent loan signings right now, so I think that will be the way forward for us now.

Radosavljevic will be the final remnants of that policy disaster gone. Hold on to as many of our best players as we can, add more young, hungry lads on loan and we could be in a good position for next season.

In game 1 this season we outplayed Bohs in Dublin, conceded an equaliser very late on, I watched on LOITV and Bohs started bringing on some internationals and I thought to myself "Hmm, have they paid attention to what happened to us?".

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

I reckon there's plenty of Irish/British duds but you don't tend to notice those as they don't have exotic names. You kind of have higher expectations of lads with exotic names for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭tinpib

Sure are. But it's less risk, as you know more about them. Many would have played in the league before.

"You kind of have higher expectations of lads with exotic names for some reason." That's pretty much my point. You have a foreign international, often on huge wages for the club, you think well this guy must be good, and they often under perform. I didn't mention Bogdan Vastuk earlier, he was another example for Sligo, on very big wages I believe, a total disaster.

It seems to have failed often enough for Russell/Sligo Rovers that they have abandoned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,595 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

I don't think we abandoned it because of a few failures so much as now having the smallest budget in the league dictates our current transfer policy. Most of our signings this year were lads within the league nobody else wanted or cheap loans from the UK. The only non UK/Irish signing would have been Smit, but he wasn't a big earner and plays a position where you sort of have to look overseas as there's a shortage of center forwards in Ireland.

Looks like Smit decided to quit football which is why he asked for his release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

They banned me for a month, for being too knowledgeable on the game.

Back in time for Shels to win the league though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,006 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Good to have you back.

I had feared for you after the Shels collapse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,422 ✭✭✭trashcan

I don’t think there is a hard and fast rule as regards imports and where they come from. It’s more down to doing your homework properly on players that you bring in. I’m sure we’ve all had successes and failures with imports. Sligo have always seemed to me to rely more heavily on imports than most teams. Whether that’s down to difficulties getting Irish lads to move west I don’t know. Dublin clubs have a huge advantage in this regard of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,426 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

The club is in the worst state ever. I said this from the word go. Dundalk won't survive this. Temple is a patsy. Hasn't a bob.

More money taken out than put in apparently. We're doomed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭PGE1970

I understood that he only promised to keep the first team going until the end of the season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

Still Rovers

And yes we had to work hard Friday

That's true and the supporters club has been paying for team buses and meals including the first team bus and meals.

It's never been in doubt, like Leicester in the Championship last year, just as they looked like they collapsed, kicked on again.

Our problem was after Jarvis left, too much sideways passing without penetration and no Jarvis to create moments. In the last 4 or 5 games we're playing better, getting more long balls and crosses in but have had very little luck tbh.

Duff has always managed to get a reaction in the past, and I think he's done it again, just in time. We look lively and dangerous again in the last few games, look fresh again. We'll get over this line, never been surer of anything in my life. Can't see us not winning this tbh.

I've said it earlier in the season when teams came right up behind us, I wasn't worried, and no change now, I'm not worried. We'll win this, just can feel it. I don't actually have any doubt.

We couldn't actually get worse either, or our form, so could only improve, so the law of averages would suggest we're due some results and a bit of long overdue luck!

Hull just don't appreciate his genius. He's possibly the most gifted footballer to set foot in LOI in decades!

Think about it, he had a team who should be midtable, anywhere between 4th-7th, top of the table with daylight to the rest. And we've seen what happened since he left. And this being double marked in every game. No other player, in any other team in the league, could be the difference of being 5th to clear in first.

I said we'd finish probably about 4th, and then when Jarvis came, backed us to win the league. That's the difference he makes, that's how good he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Liberta Per Gli Ultra

"Where Did All the Money Go (A Financial History of the LOI), in all good bookstores"

It would make for a very repetitive book: club hires manager who puts a decent team together, club finds success and makes some money, players demand a large slice of the newfound wealth, club agrees and "winning forever" becomes the new funding model, nobody brave enough to say "**** yous, we're building a terrace instead", club slides but wages don't, club goes under and head of the mercenaries' union shows up to say "how could this happen?". Rinse and repeat.

Clubs shouldn't have been dealing with peanuts in the first place. How many titles did Dundalk win and how much prize money did they receive each time? 100,000? While Deleaney taking home half a millian? League winners should of been getting at least a million, if not more.

Ye clubs are often badly managed, but still shouldn't be going under a few years after having a successful period. Clubs being underpaid and stolen from for years by the FAI. And all debt the FAI are in now, you can be sure the tens of millions resting in offshore accounts from the last shower of clowns runnng it

Derry should actually be out of the title race after Friday. Shels and Rovers will more than likely win their games, but Derry are facing by far the best team in the country…. away. Pats a mile ahead of everyone football wise. Will absolutely run away with the league next year. Kenny already has them at a level getting close to his Dundalk side, who were winning the league with far greater totals than Rovers ever did. Shels badly need to win the league this year, as we or the rest wont get another chance for a few years with this Pats team.

So even if Derry manage a draw, the best they can hope for imo, they're out. And the reality is, their meandering play, will be torn apart by Pats with considerable ease imo. Derry will probably try and go physical in the middle like against Shels to break it up, but Pats will have too much pace. Can see a bit of a battering for them tbh.

So going into the final round, how badly will Derry want to beat Shels after being deflated and out of the title race? And with a cup final around the corner? Who do they dislike more, Shels or Rovers. Derry taking a draw from us on the final day, may well mean Rovers win the title on goal difference. Shels will beat them though, just talking from a Derry perspective

Whoever is going to win this though, would want to get it done, cause a period of Pats domination is on the horizon, if they're going to be anything like Kenny's Dundalk team, which already looks likely. The rest of the league miles off the pace his Dundalk side were winning the league by, averaging 2.5 points a game possibly? Rovers winning averages were closer to 2 points a game I think. Open to correction there, but Dundalk were winning with far more ease generally. Should still get decent odds on Pats winning the league next year, they're literally going to run away with it, an even easier and more obvious bet than Shels doing it this year!

I'm an objective man, never claimed Shels would win the title cause I support them. But this Pats team will get better, no one will even lay a glove on them next year imo. They'll run away with it by a ridiculous distance, you can alreayd see how far ahead of everyone they are!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

I'm delighted for Pat's that they have the structures in place that they need to become a real force again. Before Rovers moved to Tallaght, all we had if we wanted to see a game was to head to Inchicore every second Friday, always a good crowd with decent fans(Primarily lads from Drimnagh that we knew), then in to the Black Lion.

Anyway, i still see Rovers winning this title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

If Pats beat or draw with Derry and assuming Shels win then Derry are out of the running. How much motivation will they then have for the Shels game with the cup final coming up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

They are professional footballers, they'll not want to be heading to a Cup Final with anything other than a win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,242 ✭✭✭✭DvB

On the basis they could be overtaken & miss out on europe altogether I'd be very surprised if they rolled over for Shels on the final day irrelevant of whether they can win the league or not.

If I was Higgins I wouldn't like to be going into the cup final needing a win to make europe. They may be favourites, but Drogs could easily spring a surprise on the day.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭srfc d16

There is a real possibility that if they were to drop points against Pats Derry will need to take points from the last game against Shels to guarantee European football. I don't see them taking it easy against Shels no matter what happens this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,006 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Check our results v Drogs this season, that'll tell you all you need to know about the cup final. It's an even game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭PGE1970

Derry have a better squad and better players than us and you'd expect them to beat us particularly away from United Park.

But you are right, you never know although I expect Derry will be firm favourites with the bookies.