Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2024/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,142 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Will hopefully help his confidence. He's gotten a lot of stick on here this season, and it's largely deserved, but he does have all the tools to be top class, as we've seen. The margins are so small at that top level, just one or two little things being off are the difference between looking brilliant or off-the-pace. Just look at Grav - he's the same player he was 4 months ago, but everything is just that bit tighter, things that were close to coming off - but weren't - are now working out. Could see Szobo have a similar rediscovery with a bit more confidence and work.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭rob316

He definitely has all the attributes to be a top class midfielder but I watch him for Liverpool and I just don't know what he does or where he fits in. Average passer, suspect decision making and fluffs it in front of goal too often. He has lots of energy though, works hard, only 23 though so still a bit off from the finish article

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭Ottoman_1000

I felt he was our best player against Bologna, especially when they really had us on the back foot. He turned the ball over numerous times and had a few lovely driving runs from deep to get us going forward again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭steve_r

There was a very interesting post on him during the Bologna game, along the lines of saying have we overestimated this guys level based on a few very games at the start, and his actual level is closer to the performances since then.

I had a look on fbref.com to have a look at his stats. It shows you the players they most resemble statistically which for his is Harvey Elliot, funnily enough.

He doesn't create or score a lot. Part of me wonders if he is a (better looking) replacement for Henderson, who could contribute offensively but was better at being a ball progresser than anything else, and a very impactful player when we didn't have the ball.

Maybe he will improve, and those numbers will go up, but the difference between him and Grav (and Curtis Jones to throw into the mix) is that those guys weren't getting minutes, and then improved a lot with a decent run in the team. Whereas he has always played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,142 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

that’s true of Jones who built himself up over a run of opportunities - but Grav went from 0-60 in 2 seconds flat 😅.

From his very first start this season he suddenly looked immense, and a huge step apart from the player he looked in previous starts. Wasn’t even there for a huge chunk of preseason since he was away at the Euros (while not playing there either). Remarkable.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭steve_r

Agreed that the Grav jump was sudden and unpredicted, I suppose the broader point I'm making is that he was a player who was a squad player last year, the year previously to that he was getting no time at Bayern, and this season he has been converted into a starter and trusted by the manager.

I think Diaz might be a better example (albeit a different position) - an existing starter who Slott has gotten more out of.

There's also the question of expectations - after that Leicester goal people were comparing him to Gerrard which is a ridiculously high bar.

The benchmark I tend to use is whether I think a player would make the City/Real teams. I'll add in Arsenal to that as I think Odegard is the most appropiate comparison.

Right now I don't think he would make any of those teams. I hope he'll reach that level but right now I'm not sure he will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

TV Fixtures in Dec and Jan

Wednesday 4th December
    19:30 Newcastle v Liverpool (Amazon Prime Video)

Saturday 7th December
    12:30 Everton v Liverpool (TNT Sports)

Sunday 22nd December
    16:30 Spurs v Liverpool (Sky Sports)

Thursday 26th December
    20:00 Liverpool v Leicester (Amazon Prime Video)

Sunday 29th December
    17:15 West Ham v Liverpool (Sky Sports)

Sunday 5th January 2025
    16:30 Liverpool v Man Utd (Sky Sports)

Tuesday 14th January 2025
    20:00 Nott'm Forest v Liverpool (TNT Sports)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,510 ✭✭✭mosstin

Diaz with Colombia's second tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Talisman

Mac Allister played about 60 minutes against Bolivia, the game was wrapped up before half time. Hopefully he'll be fit and ready for the game at the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,539 ✭✭✭✭rob316

What a joke, newcastle away on Wed night and then playing 12.30 on saturday

And away the following Tuesday at 17:45 in Spain that is most likely the reason it is not a Saturday evening game and there was no chance it would be a Sunday game and the Newcastle game had to be Wednesday it could not be the Tuesday with playing Man City on the Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭robwen

I see Nunez was playing for Uruguay over the break, has he served his ban already? I thought it was longer..

The ban was sent to CAS on appeal so its suspended until that appeal is complete, served 2 games of 5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,354 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Marking this to find

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,368 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Capture776411.JPG

It's time for Name The Game, where zero fantastic prizes are up for grabs.💫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭passremarkable

jota Everton away is my guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,854 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Definitely the most nervous I've been about playing Chelsea at Anfield for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭jones

I always feel Chelsea are a dodgy side for us. Even when they aren't playing well there's a chance they can beat you. I know we've had some big wins against them but I'm still nervous. Tomorrow is our first real test this season IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

First game I'll be going to in many years and starting to feel like I chose poorly. They're playing some really nice stuff lately, shouldn't be a boring game at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Dr Robert

Chose poorly?

Great game to go to over the years. It has the potential to be a really good game. You'll have a blast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Maresca has them playing well, first big test this season. Would take a draw now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,694 ✭✭✭finbarrk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,682 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

I suppose maybe worried they lose and he’s there for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

Saliba will be suspended for our game with them next week after his red today. Every little helps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,445 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Still top.

Nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,538 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Win tomorrow would be huge now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Exactly that. I understand people taking it up wrong but I thought the meaning was pretty clear tbh.

Also sort of came halfway across the world for the match so it'd be kinda shịte if we lost, but that's the risk you take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,979 ✭✭✭✭Electric Nitwit

The atmosphere should be better and the win will be sweeter 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,682 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

you shouldn’t be so negative though, I ye only Chelsea. Obvious win*

*fecking quintuple jinx in effect here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Timing is everything if we want to have a pl challenge,, unfortunately this is the wrong time to play Chelsea,,we have been limping through with some sloppy play,I can't see a good result unfortunately, hopefully I am wrong.