If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,541 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Joe: "They were all heroes, to a man."

What about women, Joe? 😐

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,284 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

TYFYS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,426 ✭✭✭✭zell12

TYFYS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,335 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

I have experience in this area. It varies.

I was on watch and was cold, hungry and miserable and when the grub arrived it was 2 slices of ham, a slice of cheese and 3 pickled onions. There were more calories in the feckin paper plate.

This wasn't in Lebanon, this was in Louth!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,772 ✭✭✭archfi

Mammies ringing up Duffy about their adult sons lack of wifi and entertainment need to stop.

Just stop ya feckin psychos.

I'd guess their sons will be mortified when they find out

This country established its own government – hopelessly imperfect though it may be – to serve and vindicate the needs of Irish people, first and foremost.

The electorate are a huge part of the problem. You put shite in, you get shite back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Deeec

I think this woman let her son make a wrong career choice and is now dealing with the consequences.

It does sound though that its the families that have the problems not the soldiers - the soldiers sound like they are dealing with the situation as best they can - they dont seem to be complaining.

De soldiers are safe in de bunker, not out on de street to buy grub and contraband from de local shopkeepers.

Did he just call our soldiers "de goys and gurls" ?

Edit: he said it again "goys and gurls"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,399 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

could bring them home and put them on dubblin buses to fight anti social behaviour.

So sexist and genderist. Iwanna Bacik on line 2

De modern age cawlur. Sure de IDF are a mixture of Guys and Girls.

Caller, it is to maintain de peace on behalf of the globe, and get a tan

Buke plug

Shameless

plug plug for a buke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

A BUKE!

What a co-incidence, eh?

Book plug followed by TYFYS

This country established its own government – hopelessly imperfect though it may be – to serve and vindicate the needs of Irish people, first and foremost.

The electorate are a huge part of the problem. You put shite in, you get shite back.

TYFYS

There are two possibilities:

1. The lads are happy out. OK, the food is crap and the wifi is gone so no Netflix but theres good craic.
    2. We have a platoon of snowflake soldiers, "Ah jaysus ma, theres no wifi, I missing my tiktok streak. Im forced to eat roast beef with no gravy, and Ive run out of Lynx Africa. Help me ma!"

Dat oul skirmish has come about at just de right time for dat lad

TYFYS me hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭geographica

Joe's mate on promoting his book, and being allowed to, the usual

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,541 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Plug for a book coming out on Thursday. "A life less Ordinary" I think it's called. That's the caller's objective complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,451 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

Is it a self published buke Kevin, cos if so you are 2 months too early

Duffy must have skim watched 'The Siege of Jadottville' last night

That's the third mention of 'da Congo' for some unknown reason

Surely de big guns causing the army to go deaf are the most dangerous thing they've been in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,579 ✭✭✭leath_dub

What is Joe's agenda here? This is a pointless conversation. I can't believe he's suggesting the army should be pulled out because the Israelis (and Hezbollah) have made thinly veiled threats against them. Did they think they were going to Disneyland? The role of the UN in situations like this is to provide a buffer between two sets of savages. Them being there is more important than ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

"This is the most dangerous situation Irish troops have been in," sez Joe.

Eh? At Jadotville the other feckers were actually trying to kill them, gerrupdat yard, ye spoofer.

Compare and Contrast

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,579 ✭✭✭leath_dub

"You've a buke coming out I believe, Kevin?"

🙄

Joe: Is this not the most dangerous scenario?

No. Nothing like it. It's on Sky News and on Facebook and Ma's Net, the Irish version of Mumsnet. So Ma's around the country think its the apocalypse.