Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's Refugee Policy cont. Please read OP before posting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

Well said. These 400 'extra' staff will likely be wet-behind-the-ear new recruits or juniors moved from elsewhere in the public service. All scared to death of getting accused of being 'racist' if they deny a claim for Asylum. I expect these 400 poor souls to rubber stamp each application out of fear and naivety, for a while at least.

This move shows the governments real intent which is to continue to accept increasing numbers annually. There is little or no plan to discourage IPAs heading for Ireland from this current government, if anything the opposite is the form horse - tweets in several languages, etc…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

I dont like people drowning due to illusion and lies of traffickers. But this shite of us being the salvation of the world has got to stop and the truth being shown. Money will run out. Thats a guarantee. Then the real moral and obligation compass will point its direction then. Problem is where are we by then. And the UK are no better if not worse from what im taking in

Post edited by Mr. teddywinkles on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Well now you've gone n done it, highlighted race. What exactly is the portions of ethnicity worldwide at this present time. Lets highlight it. Ya want to bring up race. Lets do it. Lets see who is the real minority. Considering Nigera alone in population is to surpass all of north America with inhabitants by 2050 alone.

Post edited by Mr. teddywinkles on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭lmao10

Jumping at the chance to get into your conspiracy lark. "The cabal!!" lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭creeper1

Oh nice! Predictable actually that Leo throwing his hands up now and saying immigration is something government can not control.

Unbelievable. This government or any has apparently no control over immigration.

Would they abdicate responsibility on other areas of governance?

"Hospital waiting list is something government can not control."

Law and order?

"Law and order is something government can not control."

This is the only they will claim this. And it's exactly as Douglas Murray says.

There's definitely something seedy going on.

https://youtu.be/ndtVvMnFw5A?si=VJuHmmE3MKFl1A4Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭lmao10

I thought Mick Clifford rebuffed that quite smartly. It's a clear tactic being used by that party in the run up to the election. Also probably why the hate speech bill was pushed back until after the election.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/opinion/commentanalysis/arid-41482525.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭gw80

Where's the conspiracy?

You just have to listen and read their own words, they are not trying to hide it.

Barberra Specter.

"Europe will have to accept that it will not be the monolithic culture it once was,and the Jews will be at the Heart of that"

Peter sutherland.

UN migration chief Peter Sutherland has said that the EU should do its best to undermine the homogeneity of its Member States by encouraging more migration and greater multiculturalism.5 Sept 2012.

This has been the plan for a long time now, what we are seeing now is the conserted effort of numerous groups all of which benefit from

We should really be working on our relationship and cooperation with the UK,

When the next elections come around if Starmer lasts that long and a party like reform gets into power,Like what happened when the rawanda deal was suggested,they will end up volleying refugees from Europe (france) straight back into Europe (Ireland) and not The UK,France or the rest of Europe will give two **** about us,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭gw80

I'm an atheist,

I know the earth is round.

I think trump is an idiot,

I believe your religion and religious beliefs should not go past your own doorstep. And that would be being generous.

I am going of what they say and what they do.

Do you believe that these people did not say these things?

Why was Simon Coveney a guest of Peter Sutherland at the bilderberg group meeting,

Has there any explanation why he was at that meeting?

I'd be looking at our own tribe before others. Specifically hotel owners and such.

Even just our mindset of a continuous increase of house prices. I understand home owners want that.

It does imply a continuous increase in population to achieve that however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,238 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Its a bit strange that Mary Lou, Holly and Bacik are screaming blue murder about the cost of the childrens hospital, and its a valid point they are making but not a peep out of any of them about this 2 billion of a spend on migrants.

Could the reason be that they just don't want to talk about the unstainable numbers that are arriving every week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,725 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

973 migrants in 17 boars crossed the channel yesterday

The largest of daily arrives for almost two years

I dread to think how many will come here

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/housing-planning/2024/10/02/rising-cost-of-modular-housing-attributed-to-smaller-sites-and-abnormal-ground-conditions/#:~:text=The%20Government%20was%20told%20this,of%20some%20of%20the%20sites.

“Unexpected abnormal site conditions” along with costs of complying with building regulations make the long-term plan of using modular units to house asylum seekers unfeasible.

The "Comprehensive Accommodation Strategy" is bullshit. The lands they're using are not suitable. But that wont stop them. Hazardous, ****-hole shantytowns coming to your doorstep if they're not already there.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

All we really have to do (and should be) is the bare legal minimum.

If they don't like the conditions they can go back home or anywhere else that'll take them. No one is holding them hostage.

Meanwhile we should be asking any politician that darkens our door in the coming weeks/months what their position is on Ireland's immigration strategy/laws and how they and their party propose to address the free for all and outright scams that are currently occurring. Don't be afraid to speak your mind - the current approach relies on people being too cowed to stand up for themselves and their community for fear of being branded racists by people they probably don't care about anyway!

If it were up to me, anyone arriving with fraudulent or no documents would be turned around and sent back on the returning flight/ferry/whatever.

Likewise anyone with a criminal record likewise or arriving from places where it's blatantly clear they're economic migrants. It's ridiculous that we end up paying for legal representation and potentially imprisonment for scammers and criminals.

Ukrainians need limiting too. It's already started with the reassessment of supports but it needs to go further. It's not our conflict and there's a massive area west of the actual fighting they could go to. The conflict itself will continue so long as the West is willing to keep throwing money and weapons into it and it's a useful way to distract and destabilise Europe for Putin. We can't just keep accepting anyone who arrives regardless.

Ireland needs to put Ireland first. We have our own massive domestic problems that aren't being dealt with and need the billions and focus being put into all this. Once we get a handle on those, then maybe we can think about saving the rest of the planet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

There's practically nothing happening (that is being reported on anyway) regarding the asylum seeking situation these days - No protests, no garda heavy squad quelling said protests, no sneaking 80 lads into a hotel anywhere, no mention of our tented shanty towns - Nothing. It's total radio silence and this will suit the great ones down to the ground and is likely of their doing. I wonder where they're stashing the on avg 400 p/w still arriving

You'd be forgiven for thinking there was a election on the way or something

Moving swiftly on.

A quick glance of the purchase orders raised (by the dept of the destruction of Ireland - DODI) for any quarter of the last few years is quite sobering - The sheer amount of these connected ones and the eye-watering sums of taxpayers money being dished out is a sight to behold - It's walls and walls and walls of spreadsheets of perfectly legal deals but reminiscent of the corporate pigs carve up of 90's Russia assets. The lads in there banging out these PO's must be on crystal meth to get through the day.

Have a look at Q's 1 & 2 of 2019 - Yes you're right, there were only 2 Q's in that year lol - The PO's would fit on a postage stamp. Now have a look at Q3 of 2020 which is when Rodders got his feet under the desk having insisted that the Greens got the integration brief added to that portfolio and this was agreed to and signed off on by FG FF (y'know, just to keep power)

https://www.gov.ie/en/collection/dfdadb-department-of-children-and-youth-affairs-purchase-orders-for-20000-o/#2019

Just to piss yourself off completely, have a quick scope at the PO's for last year and this year by Qtr - It's a 200 ton runaway train on a downward slope and the Govt are placing a few matchsticks on the tracks to halt it.

FG and FF were so desperate to keep power they allowed the Greens to run amok and that's where it all started to go horribly wrong - O'Gorman, in late 2020 had this light bulb moment and decided to tweet out (Feb 2021) to the 3rd world to come to Ireland and again this was agreed to and signed off on by FFG at cabinet level because otherwise O'Gorman would've taken the ball home.

I'm not a journo getting paid to investigate the companies in those spreadsheets but there are few standout ones for me -

Cape Wrath Hotel Unlimited are the biggest players, so it's - Cape Wrath>Tetrarch>Citywest hotel. As discussed before, Paul Connelly is Chair of Tetrarch and is also Chair of UNICEF Ire - so make sure you make an urgent donation to UNICEF for the children so Paul doesn't have to, oh and the best bit of that is, your favourite national broadcaster gets top rates for the UNICEF ads (paid for by your donations) - It's just one big ******* club and we're not in it.

We also have our ol friend Paul Collins of Remcoll - Townbe - Remcoll Modular Int (That's Paul of the recent RTE doc fame, where he was the victim in all this) - Paul (the victim) was/is making 10's of millions hosting IPAs and UAs all over the country. He thought he wasn't getting enough from that so he bought the Crown Paints site and is currently getting 10's more millions for accommodating SFA at the site - I think Paul's plan was to whack a load of his Remcoll Modular Int units into the site

Then there is MF Modular Engineering - By an incredible coincidence, MF Modular Engineering was set up just two days before the OPW released a list of the sites at which the modular home sites would be located - How lucky are those guy eh

Leprechaun Oligarchs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Careful now, he will pretend he didn't actually say any of that…

So some current outstanding questions that @MegamanBoo has yet to provide an answer for:

1. An explanation of these "hard border policies" he continues to insist that Ireland has?
    2. As he is worried about the costs involved in "useless deportation attempts" and the security costs involved with dealing with the "mentally ill and racists". Why given the situation he again insists we must have whereby anyone can come here without a passport, can claim asylum and most likely never leave if attempt fails - are we wasting huge sums of money running the system, having immigration control, visas etc or even a border.

The floor is yours, enlighten us.

Post edited by twinytwo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

The aforementioned Paul connolly and Michael mcElligott another big player are also directors of Framespace solutions Ltd, a modular housing company filling their boots on all sides,🎶keep those doggies rollin rawhide there's gold in them thar fugees🎶🎶the boardrooms are lovin it.... I think primetime are doing a special on the whole thing in 2034

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

This poster has been corrected several times but insists on pushing the same nonsense.

It's typical of the anti-immigration brigade, and raises the question of how to deal with a (quasi) political movement who just aren't grounded in reality.

Here's some more lies they commonly push.

Lie: Asylum seekers don't work and become welfare dependent.

Fact: The ESRI reports strong employment uptake by people from the IPA community.

https://www.esri.ie/system/files/publications/RS160.pdf

Lie: People coming through 'safe' countries are 'bogus' asylum seekers.

Fact: IPA's do not have to stay in the first 'safe' country they reach. While many do, it's of course reasonable and legal to travel further, whether for family reasons, job opportunities or long term stability.

https://fullfact.org/immigration/refugees-first-safe-country/

Lie: 'Bogus' asylum seekers arrive from 'safe' countries.

Fact: Countries which are designated safe by the Department of Integration are deemed to be so for the majority of people. People can still seek asylum from these country where individuals or smaller minority groups might still be persecuted.

https://www.thejournal.ie/what-are-designated-safe-countries-of-origin-in-ireland-what-countries-how-does-it-work-how-many-applicants-6285239-Jan2024/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭twinytwo

You are very good at twisting what people say into what you want them to have said.

1. You start off by implying people have said all AS's do not work - this is not the case. I wonder do you read what you post though, the conclusion of that article does not back you the point you are trying to make. Between 2018 and 2022 30,000 + applied for asylum. According to the report 15,000 applied for work but only 5000 confirmed they were in employment. So what exactly are you basing "strong uptake " on?
    2. They do not have to but they should - these really are just excuses, at what point does seeking asylum become asylum shopping? you are constantly crying about the hardship people have go to to travel half way around the world to get here. logically you should be happy with them staying put.
    3. Again you are unwilling to accept our asylum process get abused because it can - you have said yourself many times that people come here and apply for asylum because they cannot get a work visa. This is not a genuine case of seeking asylum. So which is it? Make up your mind!

It really is funny though that you of all people use the term "aren't grounded in reality"… the sheer irony and you are oblivious to it 🤣

You are like a politician, regurgitate the same answers over and over regardless of the question.

Post edited by twinytwo on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,265 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Given our safeguarding is at best taking people on trust I'm not shocked.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the removal of any doubt that we're being taken for a ride left, right, and centre by all these 'poor unfortunate people'

From today's Indo :

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/hundreds-of-ukrainians-living-in-ireland-apply-for-international-protection-as-benefits-cut-state-warned/a284810468.html

The Government is concerned Ukrainian refugees are applying for international protection because asylum-seekers are provided with better state supports

Yup, it's all about the benefits. Colour me shocked!

You have to love the attitude/concerns of Roderic's officials though :

A group of senior officials from the Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth highlighted concerns about the ability of Ukrainians to pay for essential items such as laundry, medical expenses, personal care, education costs and transport

The same costs that the rest of us have to pay then, even if on menial minimum wage jobs, welfare or homeless. But unlike the rest of us:

Officials said international protection centres provide meals, laundry, wifi, health costs, essential transport and entertainment for children at no cost.

Meanwhile, Ukrainians in state-provided full-board or self-catering accommodation are asked to pay their own laundry, wifi, transport and health costs

Aw that's just terrible. Those poor people!

Funny how as a middle earning taxpayer I am paying about 50% of my salary in taxes, charges, and other unavoidable bills, yet I get virtually nothing back from our Government. No wait I'm wrong - I can claim a pittance for broadband costs if I jump through hoops to do so. That makes it all better then!

And as for the long term? Remember that this was all supposedly a temporary response to help people fleeing war but we assumed that they'd eventually go back:

The department is also examining how to reduce the number Ukrainians relying on state-supported accommodation and seeking to make them more independent members of Irish society

That's right, they're here to stay - the same as the rest. Any notion of this all being a temporary situation has been put to bed in this one article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

They aren't going back, why would they? They're getting provided all of their needs and the government will be building them homes at 440k . Russia is bogged down in a small part of eastern Ukraine while huge parts of western Ukraine will never be invaded and could accommodate Ukrainian citizens currently being housed at Irish taxpayers expense.

Yep, providing supports for benefits shoppers is far more important than things like this :

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/health/its-completely-incurable-and-it-will-be-lifelong-for-cass-mum-of-baby-with-rare-form-of-epilepsy-faces-1000-weekly-bill-for-treatment/a410397810.html

Ms Kiely is now lobbying Health Minister Stephen Donnelly to approve the drug fenfluramine, which has shown a 75pc reduction in seizures for those suffering from Dravet syndrome.

Because the treatment is yet to be approved for public funding in Ireland, unlike in other European countries, it costs families €1,000 a week.

Poor little fella and god help his parents. The real scandal is that there's an effective treatment option and there's many other similar stories (scoliosis treatments for example), but far more important we continue to support the rest of the planet I suppose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,836 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

There was a woman on newstalk talking about her poor son suffering from scoliosis and on a 7 year waiting list for treatment yet we are spending billions on asylum seekers and Ukranians. Even if haven't the facilities here why aren't we sending these kids abroad for surgery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

I was told this week (after having a moan that I'd just dropped 1,100 euro on heating oil and I hoped it would last all winter (added to the 110 euro a month I put on to my prepay meter) - "you have nothing to moan about - I saw online you lot (taxpayers I assume ?) are getting free electricity!"

"No, we're getting a rebate of 400 euro over the winter, my heating and power for the year is almost 2,500 euro"

"You lot can afford it, it should go to those arriving with nothing".

We're fighting that battle, and it is wrong. Losing the head over 375,000 for a bike shed (which might have a small impact of climate change) when that is what's paid to host asylum seekers in less than a day (which will never have a positive impact on anything).

The media really do try to twist things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Yvonne007

I think the opposite. Ignoring problems/attitudes/opinions and carrying on as usual as if there is no problem is one of the reasons we are where we are.

Ukrainians won't be going anywhere. That was acknowledged at the highest level long ago. The line of "putting down roots" works with applicants from countries such as South Africa (huge 😂) so it's definitely going work for Ukrainians.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2024/03/05/more-than-half-of-ukrainians-in-ireland-plan-to-stay-on-permanent-basis-survey-finds/#:~:text=The%20number%20of%20Ukrainians%20who%20plan%20to%20stay%20in%20Ireland,the%20beginning%20of%20Russia's%20war.

The average salary in Ukraine is a fraction of the Irish one.

They'll go home for medical treatment, dentistry and Christmas holidays. Basically continuing what they are already at.

By the way finding someone not entitled to stay through a lengthy process but at the end of it just giving leave to remain is the equivalent of throwing money down the gutter.

It's not as visible as providing them tents yesterday to tear them down today but it is every bit as wasteful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Not to worry, O'Gorman says there will be in reality a small number of Ukrainians seeking permanent protection. If you believe that I've some magic beans for sale.

Post edited by Phat Cat on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,031 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

Simon Coveney is not a player any more, if he ever was so why are you worried about it ?