Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭tibruit

"He bought bleach to burn clothes?"

A lot of people are firing comments at me currently and that is the most ridiculous comment yet. I never said that.

"Can you point me to any forensic report….."

I`ve dealt with this already. Clothes and footwear eyelets were in the statement. Eugene Gilligan the forensics man who went through the fire remains and made the statement can be seen on the Netflix doc in episode two, elaborating on that. He specifically says boots, a coat and jeans.

"Can you point to any witness that saw Bailey burn anything?"

No. But there was a fire that Christmas. No doubt about that. Bailey and Thomas both deny knowledge of the fire. The only reason they would deny it is either they didn`t know there was a fire (probably true in Thomas`s case) or the fire was used to disappear the evidence.

Excerpts from the diaries were read out in the 2003 libel case.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Oh I thought we were discussing a murder case?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 45,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I`ve dealt with this already. Clothes and footwear eyelets were in the statement. Eugene Gilligan the forensics man who went through the fire remains and made the statement can be seen on the Netflix doc in episode two, elaborating on that. He specifically says boots, a coat and jeans.

Here we go again 🙄
    Was Gilligan discussing the case on Netflix in an official capacity as a member of An Garda Siochána?
    Why did Gilligan's statement not make any reference to what he discussed in the Netflix documentary?
    Were the contents of the fire that Gilligan claims to have found forensically examined and how do they tie Bailey to the murder?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

Are you just trying to spam the thread with nonsense comments now?

Warned and 1 day forum ban applied

Post edited by Beasty on

If you don`t want the reply, then stop asking the question.

So despite continually telling us that Gilligan found evidence in the fire e.g.

Forensics claim they found remnants of boots, a coat and jeans in the fire

you cannot comment on how Gilligan appears to have the credibility of Walter Mitty given that he originally signed a statement confirming ust that he searched the fire but did not disclose details of anything found?

Should we really not question anything you ut forwards that you claim is evidence of Bailey's guilt?

"Those words are not an indication of anything unless you want them to be."

Minimally they are the words of a very disturbing mind. It`s a strange way to kill, stubbing someone out like a cigarette. Then your neighbour down the road gets murdered in a similar manner and it is later established that not only were you talking about going over there on the night in question, but you actually got out of your bed and disappeared for several hours.

You do know that there was a period of several years between the rambling sh1te in his diary and the murder. You make it sound like they were both within days of each other.

Firstly, the word "several" can be defined as "an indefinite number more than two and fewer than many" so my description was correct…

image.png

Secondly, you are incorrect in your attempot to correct me saying it was just three years:

Bailey first expressed a wish to kill in a journal entry dated July 1992 — almost four and a half years before Sophie Toscan du Plantier was murdered.
    Bailey’s entry reads: “If I could kill anybody now I would. Imagine a powerful spirit manifest and said although you know is normally wrong to kill — there is so much evil in control. If you give me a list of all those … stub them all one, two, three … there are many who would vie for the tital [sic] of most evil.”

https://www.thetimes.com/world/ireland-world/article/ian-bailey-the-pervert-and-stalker-who-sacrificed-his-life-to-debauchery-s9gfsg22j

Looks like 1993 to me in the original entry. Just out of interest, why are you so anxious to put distance between the diary entry and the murder? I don`t see that as significant at all.

Not attempting to put distance between the diary and the murder. You wrongly corrected my post and I've included my source for the time difference which was one of the newspapers involved in the libel case you said excerpts were read out in.

I don't believe there is anything in the diary ramblings that can be taken as evidence of anything other than his writings were crap. To make the leap that these were desires to kill is making a huge assumption. You're reading pathetic crap and making the assumption that it can be taken completely at face value - it can't!
    I've seen people on here write about how they'd wanted to kill their kids or their OH. However, taking the comment out of context would (as you are doing) would require the gardai to put them on a watchlist of potential murderers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

It absolutely doesn't matter if there was a bonfire at the Studio and one at the Prairie every day of December, seen by every passerby. That doesn't prove that someone committed a murder!

It only shows that they had the means to dispose of things by burning. Same as anyone else who had a bonfire, or even a kitchen range, or a Bin service.

Showing that someone had access to a way of destroying evidence does NOT place them at the scene of the crime or establish any connection whatever between that person and either the scene of a crime or the victim of a crime. Of course the Guards hoped to find incriminating evidence - more power to them, say I. I'd believe the accusation if they had found one drop of blood. But they found none.

Shirley Foster brought three bags of rubbish to the dump right after the murder was discovered. We have no idea what was in those bags. Equally suspicious, in my view. Did the guards sift through every bin-bag with a teaspoon? Did they trawl through the dump?

If they didn't, they should have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Zola1000

AGS were very anxious to ensure bailey was arrested very quickly being a danger to the community and could kill again..that was within months.

I don't see AGS trying to do that years after that murder.. three years or several ..dont think it would carry as much intensity that he was active killer..similiar as diary entry years earlier.

Certainly if it was few months or days diary entry it would be questionable too..but as it's just writings..and lots of it drivel..it's not very useful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

She was out driving with a man she has steadfastly refused to identify. If she saw anything or anyone, this person in her car could be a corroborating witness.

She claimed that when she first rang in, she was only trying to help - but she needed to hide this man's identity for privacy.

(Fair enough, if it was a clandestine romance or something of the kind)

But she claimed to have seen a quite short man acting strangely at Kealfadda bridge. The guards seized on this report and tried to persuade her that she had seen the much taller Ian Bailey. They badgered her and pressured her. to agree that it could have been him…it was dark, a fleeting glimpse uphill etc etc - but she later retracted this and insisted that she never identified the man as Bailey. She became muddled and indignant; but her FIRST report is likely to have been the most reliable and the least influenced by police pressure.

Did her husband have a reputation for violence? I'd like to see a source for this. It still seems wildly unlikely that he would murder Sophie Toscan du Plantier though - for what reason? (A romantic approach rejected? There's just no trace of any such thing)

I wasn't trying to say that he was in any way involved in the Sophie case.
    I was trying to point out that using tibruit's logic of someone who assaulted another person potentially could have killed Sophie. I made the point that Chris Farrell had been convicted of assault (albeit in 2006) and we know his wife had been in the area around the time.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/husband-of-bailey-libel-witness-fined-1000-for-attack/26377279.html

@seth b can I ask on this. If he was potentially violent MF husband, would it not have left Marie in very vulnerable position eitherway that she had indicated she was out with man..then husband would surely have been putting her under pressure regardless, and possibly had Marie going through further episodes of violence..and had he ever tried himself to get a name of man from her..

Also .could under any form of detention process that Marie Farrell would have to confess or could she have been seen to be withholding vital evidence for potential a case to go forward to trial. Could she be not have been jailed at the time for not saying name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Baz Richardson

You said that he bought bleach and then burnt his clothes. Is bleach useful for a bonfire in some way that I am not aware of?

I have not seen a forensic statement that remains of "boots, a coat and jeans" were found in the fire. A Netflix account decades later is not a forensic report, many of those suddenly remembered Netflix accounts were clearly nonsense and biased by the passage of time and memory.

Do you have a forensic report that refers to, "boots, a coat and jeans"? If not, what does the report actually state?

Why would the guards state that the bonfire contained nothing of evidentiary value if it contained, "boots, a coat and jeans"?

That's quite a piece of evidence for a forensics bloke to fail to mention for a couple of decades, wouldn't you agree?

There IS doubt about a fire at Christmas, it has already been established that it was a smell and the statement of the person claiming to see it is easily picked apart and has been here. Nobody saw Bailey or Jules using that bonfire at Christmas, the most obvious reason for both Jules and Bailey to deny a fire is that there wasn't one, only the remains of one that the guards themselves said had no evidentiary value making the whole thing moot anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭Gussie Scrotch

Its my belief that if Marie Farrell ever reveals the true identity of her companion, a great deal of light may be shed on this whole puzzle.

Yes, the question of why she was not held in contempt of court, or charged with witholding information, is another strand of this enigma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭bjsc

In the exhibit list which was sent to France ahead of the trial, there was no mention of any items recovered from the fire.

Yes it's so true. Within that has she not mentioned it was someone previously known to her husband and she had known them or whatever long time..but I'm more thinking ...surely there cant be that many to consider to do backround check on at the time..that Marie would have met with. If the husband potentially knows .is he too not in contempt and withholding information?. It's really critical that second person to identify a man. Potentially acting strange and in th vicinity at certainly unusual hour.

Worse again that this person is now deceased that was with Marie.

"You wrongly corrected my post…"

Well I humbly apologize if I did. The date on the entry looks like July 1993 to me.

"To make the leap that these are desires to kill is making a huge assumption."

It isn`t. He also admitted in there that he felt the urge to kill Jules as he assaulted her. He called himself an animal on two feet.

"I`ve seen people on here write about how they`d wanted to kill their kids or their OH."

Did they go into the gory detail of how they`d do it?

"taking the comment out of context would require gardai to put them on a watchlist of potential murderers."

He was already on that watchlist before they got the diary. I`ve taken nothing out context either. Bailey was clearly a violent man who had murderous urges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭chooseusername

If there was anything incriminating found in the ashes that pointed towards Bailey you can be sure it would have been handed to the French.

No.

And, given the context, ie. the desperation on the part of the Gardai to present any tenuous, threadbare, half-arsed, scrap of "circumstantial" evidence in support of their, frankly, absurd case, this omission was, in itself, telling.

Its yet another non issue.

But when you are trying to build a case, against a person who, clearly, had nothing to do with the crime, I suppose such grasping at straws is to be expected.

In a strange way, its possible to have a degree of sympathy for these Gardai, who, having dug themselves into such a deep hole, had to resort to such pathetic, transparent, hopeless, attempts to frame an innocent man.

"So now the Gardai are wrong and you`re right"

Virtually every contributor on this thread thinks the Gardaí were wrong and they`re right.

"not to mention your post above where everyone else here is wrong and you`re right."

I hold different opinions than the majority here. Everyone with an opinion thinks they are right. You shouldn`t fool yourself into thinking this place is a microcosm. It isn`t.

Ok..where did I say the guards were wrong? You only respond to posts that's disagreeing with you..

I never said they were wrong..but they did not apply the correct principles on how cases should be dealt with. That's just my opinion. There seems to be lack of direction and focus on AGS in this case...and all energies are towards trying point the case in direction of one person..where there is no evidence to really support that.

Your constantly banging on through your posts of fires and he was violent and what he wrote in his diaries..he said she said. You would be perfect for french trial. Just go follow that up..it leads to all this hearsay crap in complete file. In other words nothing. Your posts are load of balony.

You just don't want keep the open mind that it could be someone else..you hate the fact that you have nothing on IB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

I've never seen someone stub out a cigarette by dropping a concrete block on it.