Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭GSF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭jmcc

So he only went there for a few days?

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,007 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Was probably pulling himself off at the thought of questioning old navvies on when they got the boat, why they never went back home, how it would feel to die alone in London etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,374 ✭✭✭RoTelly

It's an odd move to London when he seems to be playing the Irish card so much.

Has he or his team any real ambition for him to be successful in the UK? Or is it the view that he just won't cut it there.

Simon Harris has had a soft sop interview with Ryan.

As pointed out here Ryan doesn't really have a good grasp of politics, he's really just there to plamas you as a politician.

It also puts him in the unenviable position of slightly taking sides, does he also do an interview with all of the Irish party political leaders? And that puts him in the position of having a raft of content that nobody in England has an interest in.

It would be interesting to know if the Independent had got to listen to the podcast and if so how bad is it that the only thing that the journalist got from it was that Harris won't move out of his house.

Though from reading the article it sounds like a very typical type of nauseating patronizing interview with Harris.

Get your hate ears out for On the Bookshelf with Bryan and Harris ("Ah! Noel I though you meant Kamala!")

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/taoiseach-simon-harris-to-be-guest-on-ryan-tubridys-podcast/a837455924.html

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

He's no competition to Cooper and Yates on the "Paths To Power" podcast. It is probably typical light entertainment stuff rather than any real political analysis. After Harris, it would not be surprising if Martin was the next guest. given that the GE campaign is underway. Tubridy seems desperate to be considered an intellectual rather than Gerry Ryan's tea boy as the whole London exile does not seem to be working out for him.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,926 ✭✭✭yagan

Irish communities in England really started to dwindle as the Irish economy improved in the 90s.

In the few years I was recently living in England the permanently resident Irish were all of a much older vintage, so much so that nearly all the Irish clubs were mostly patronized by their English born offspring. The disconnect really hit home when one Irish club advertised they'd be showing a hurling semifinal in the main lounge, but when we got their the majority in the lounge had asked for the soccer to be shown, and so us few actual Irish watched the hurling on a tv in the corner under the noise of premiership commentary.

I decided for the final id go to the Irish World Heritege Centre in Manchester as they stated they'd be showing it on the main screen, but the exact same thing happened.

It was normal to meet Irish builders in their site gear and runners at the boarding gate for the flight home on a Friday, they'll retrieve their steel toe cap work boots from the lockup Monday morning.

There might be an Irish scene in England, but with the Internet and cheap flights its certainly isn't being replenished now.

The press release for the show must have gone out. Compare and contrast. :)

https://www.thejournal.ie/simon-harris-farmleigh-ryan-tubridy-podcast-6500419-Sep2024/

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/taoiseach-simon-harris-to-be-guest-on-ryan-tubridys-podcast/a837455924.html

Other publications will probably have much the same story over the next day or so.

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Ryan really proved he was the man for the Late Late show with a superb interview of Brian Cowen all those years ago. Brian probably thought Ryan's FF family background would mean a soft interview, but that certainly didn't happen, Ryan showed his professionalism and political nous. Looking forward to this one, Simon better be prepared.

Isn't it amazing that even after going to the UK Ryan is still so influential?

Appeals to the people who eat their dinner in the middle of the day and watch the LLS after a decade of the Rosary and when the cows are milked? Your attempts are getting increasingly threadbare. :)

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭nonetheless

Although Simon maybe contemplating moving closer to the job. The bike shed perhaps?

Considering that the country was sinking it would probably difficult for Ryan to do anything but a hard-ish interview. I think he knew which way the wind was blowing, have to say I don't think it was all that famous an interview. Subsequent interviews with politicians with disprove your theory.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,926 ✭✭✭yagan

Surely harriss's handlers would want him to avoid reminding voters of rte backhanders for which no one is being held to account?

Ryan visits Oxford... A very Partridge day out!

IMG-20240930-WA0007.jpg IMG-20240930-WA0002.jpg IMG-20240930-WA0005.jpg IMG-20240930-WA0000.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

No sighting of a Tubridy poster anywhere yet, but I did spot this on the tube this morning:

IMG_7226.jpeg

I’m surprised - given his fame - that Ryan isn’t on the poster. I mean does anyone epitomise “REAL LONDON” in 2024 more than Ryan Tubridy?

As I’m doing pics, here’s a nice one from my room last night:

IMG_7286.jpeg

Any guesses on the hotel?

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭GSF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,937 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Watching Don't Look Back In Anger yesterday, covering 2011, reminded me that the ToyMan was chosen to host the Queen at the Guinness Storehouse.

He was at the peak of his powers then.

Amongst his people as it were…..at least in his own mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,937 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Didn't some genealogy programme discover that Tubridy had some distant Yorkshire female ancestor who was some sort of aristocracy or courtier. Then again, Danny Dyer is really a desendent of actual royalty. The images above look like someone trying to be a posh nerd. Real nerds don't need to tell people they are nerds. :)

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I'll see your Simon Harris with Ryan post, and I'll raise you a…

…Did you know that Leo V is kicking around the idea of writing a book - He is talking to Prof Luke O'Neill's agent about it. For those with half a brain and looking at where and how often LO'N turned up, there's a fair chance it's Ireland favourite agent.

It's all just one big club where everyone has a special funny handshake - Peasants need not apply

I’m not sure anyone even slightly anti-British would take the Queen gig on the grounds of hypocrisy alone, unless of course one was completely devoid of morals and had an innate insatiable lust for money…….i’m sure this presented quite the conundrum at the time for one so concerned with public image. Thankfully for Ryan his image and reputation are things he need not worry about anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,121 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

My issue Walt would be the agent he's talking to - You'd think he'd have a bit of class and decorum and go to a more reputable agent than that - then again, nose picking in public doesn't exactly scream class does it.

Look, I won't keep you as I'd hate to keep you over today's 60 mins lad

No he is typical anti-British in a "Ah sure didn't ye colonize us for 800 years" and "sure top 'o da mornin' to you ma'am"

______

Yesterday

Perhaps he fancies himself as a character from "The Irish RM". He seems quite out of place in the UK and he's no longer treated as an RTE personality. At least he didn't go all Brideshead Revisited about his day trip to Oxford.

Regards…jmcc

For someone who you claim is “not a literary agent or publicist” the radio and tv stars managed by Noel Kelly do seem to write a lot of books. Nothing to do with getting tax exemptions of course; Mr. Kelly’s radio and tv stars coincidentally and collectively just all seem to possess a burning inner desire to contribute their written talents to the literary world and to make their voices heard. Perhaps they all possess the same literary “flare” as your good self?

As for publicity, credit must be given to Mr. Kelly where it is due. One might even argue he’s a far better publicist than an agent. There are few if any other people that can command as much coverage for their clients in Ireland. It’s a testament to his power that these pieces are all published on such esteemed high-brow websites as evoke.ie, rsvp.ie, Joe.ie, her.ie etc.; and in print, in such fine publications as The Irish Daily Star and The Irish Daily Mail and The Mail on Sunday. He is the Tabloid King. He must be as proud to occupy these pages with his various “puff pieces” as he is in the results.

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,265 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

The amount of notifications today for this thread!!!

You'd swear he finally gave back the €150k or something!!

Untitled Image

if they had kids the poor things would have some noses!!

Bit of a Wayne's World vibe about those glasses. :)

Regards…jmcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭hawley

This is from a few years back.

"If you look at what's happening with Brexit, if you look at who's leading the country next door, look at them falling apart at the seams, and we're leading by example. We've had those extraordinary referendum results in recent times. We have arguably a progressive young Prime Minister, Taoiseach obviously.

"We are a country in great shape at the moment but we need to protect ourselves and we need to promote ourselves and we need to be proud of ourselves.I'm kind of fed up at the kind of kowtowing to the British message. You are the past in terms of things like empire and bossing people around. We are in a European scenario at the moment and we should be protecting the backstop - that's another thing and it's not my job to talk about the politics - but as somebody hopefuly reflecting what is Ireland, and what Ireland is thinking, we're going to be all over it. We're going to be very proud to be Irish this season."

https://m.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/im-fed-up-at-the-kowtowing-to-the-british-message-ryan-tubridy-on-challenging-brexit-narrative/38436453.html

I listened for a few minutes last Friday. Someone texted in about the Cotswolds, to which Tubridy replied "I've heard of the Cotswolds". How in the name of God does he have a job on English radio? It's a bit like someone working on Irish radio saying they've heard of Kerry. He has been a disaster over there and it's pretty obvious that he wants to get back home as soon as possible. I looked at his YouTube channel today. His last upload has only eight hundred views. He's done.

Communication was the greatest fatality