If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Gay Byrne would let the show go until midnight if he wanted to. RTe wouldn't complain, it was more money for them as they could show more adverts. And folks coming in from the pub would catch the last 30 minutes or so. It was a different time for them, back when the LLS was a license to print money.

With Tubridy, yeah, it felt like a darn slog to get through the show. At least it was a benefit that he'd tell folks who his guests were. Meant you could easily avoid the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,578 ✭✭✭✭briany

In the days when TV didn't start until 3 PM and ended by 11 or 12 - the days when there was a certain amount of cultural scarcity, the LLS was appointment viewing.

But then the media landscape shifted around it to the point where it's no longer essential. It's morphed into a sort of generic chat show and is really only safe from cancellation because it's grandfathered in as some sort of cultural institution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭RoTelly

He gave a valid point that technology is moving on and that if required you could provide free TV subscriptions to the over 65s.

You have to remember that both The Green Party and the opposition agree the that Licence Fee is an unjust charge on those that cannot afford it and archaic.

If the likes of RTÉ keep getting their way where were does it leave us?

RTÉ put themselves in the position that they are in, as he pointed out his wife was only too willing to pay the fee until the revelations in RTÉ came out, he then choose to put his name on the fee and took himself to court.

While I agree with you that a subscription service is not an option, it is still his opinion and whether I or you think he is a "A grade A moron" he is entitled to that opinion considering the Grade A Moron's running RTÉ.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

His opinion doesn't matter, the law requires him to have a licence.

He seems to think that anyone who dislikes any law can just choose not to obey it. Also very interesting that he mentioned rod licences as there was a great deal of threats and intimidation against not just those whose job was to enforce it, but even against those who paid it.

Joke that the judge only fined him the cost of the licence.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

He is taking a stand on a fee that he believes to be unjust, but that sounds like he and his wife have paid since moving into their own home, and were happy to do so because "it's the law".

Do you think that no one should criticize RTÉ, I won't pay my TV licence for 2 reasons: -

1. RTÉ doesn't do its job well
    2. An Post doesn't know how to collect the fee

Are you more aggrieved at the Judge for not imposing a heavier fine or Ms. Forbes, Mr. Coveney, Mr. Jennings and Ms. O'Leary?

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Widescreen

At least make the RTE Player only usable by registering, using your email etc. If things don't improve , re people paying licence then, make the player only usable by entering your TV Licence number.

Why? You never had to put your license fee number into access TV broadcasts.

Why do you think things should improve in terms of people paying the license?

You'd think all the problems that exist in RTÉ are only due to the licence fee, both in terms of the amount that we pay and the people who refuse to pay.

If this is the case bring back Dee Forbes and Moya Doherty. After all it sounds as if they have been proven right.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I wasn't born then, I remember TV starting much earlier than 3pm. I agree, the LLS was appointment viewing. And when Gay Byrne retired, the show should have retired with him.

It has improved with the new host, as Tubridy had turned it into less of a generic chat show, and more of a complete car crash. The kind of thing you leave on in the background while you're doing the ironing or emptying the laundry basket.

Questions so rehearsed and prepped beforehand, even George W Bush would find it tired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭ForestFire

I was just about to post the same but the thread is messed up, like some others.

Are the salaries of staff, that work in the public sector, really considered personal data?

We are not looking for any additional details.

We know the salaries and the scales used in Nursing, teaching, garda etc, so why not RTE, they are paid from Lioences and general taxation.

If the salary does not follow the standard scales, then you most likely in a special position like TDs, CEOs , Boards members of public bodies and those saliers are public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

someone probably decided its "commercially sensitive" and "contractual obligations" and "legal advice precludes" but dont worry "lessons will be learned" in other words it means us peasants dont need to know….

any word from dee? has she been spotted any where? still too sick to answer questions?

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

A major problem with the list is that unusual figure of €10k+, of which there were 2 AFAIK, someone might confirm.

regardless of 1 or 2 staff/contractors in RTÉ they can only be Doirean G and Jenny Z, as they presented DWTS in that quarter.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 408 ✭✭RunningFlyer

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/sean-orourke-some-colleagues-in-rte-would-have-found-me-arrogant-id-have-seen-it-as-just-doing-my-job/a842810798.html

Had to post in here after reading this article in the paper yesterday.. Seems SOR is back on the gravy train to some extent whilst having a moan about the pay and pension in RTE and how he'd have been better off in the civil service… Anyone associated with Montrose are definitely living on another planet!

OTV should state how much he got for that series. But how much it cost would also be interesting, and why are they getting into this type of programming.

But also

The idea came about during a chat with RTÉ’s former director of content Jim Jennings, who has since left the broadcaster, amid considerable media coverage.

I hope the chat was some time in before June 2023, before Jim "Kingmaker Jimbo" Jennings was taken down with some sort of flu he pick up… Oireachtas-itise perhaps.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

RTE has declined to say if 2FM presenter Aifric O'Connell got permission from Montrose bosses to continue working with The 2 Johnnies since the duo's high-profile departure from the station.

Ms O'Connell took over as producer of The 2 Johnnies podcast on a full-time basis following the departure of Maura Fay, who herself took up a new role in RTÉ.

In June, when asked if the 2FM Breakfast co-presenter had sought or been given permission to work on The 2 Johnnies' podcasts, an RTÉ spokeswoman would only say: 'RTÉ plans to publish summary details of approved external activities on a quarterly basis, with the first one planned for July 2024.'

New rules introduced at RTÉ in February make it mandatory for staff to seek permission for external work and promotions through a Register of Interests and Register of External Activities.

This is understood to have been the main reason 2FM lost some of its top talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Why do you think things should improve in terms of people paying the license?

Because it's unjust that those who do pay are now being hit through their taxes to cover for those who don't pay. This halfway house is the worst of both worlds really, if they won't set the licence fee at an appropriate level and can't/won't collect that licence efficiently, then just abolish it.

You'd think all the problems that exist in RTÉ are only due to the licence fee

Literally nobody is saying this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Any sign of Dee yet? Surely she's still not peeping out between the curtains?

Yoo-hoo Dee, come out come out wherever you are!

If you think it is unfair that you have to pay twice, decide not to pay once, totally your decision.

In relation to the issue of whether or not it is only issue is the licence fee, just look at the narrative before the scandal (moya doherty put the phrase Existential Crisis to it), look at every DG's view on the licence fee, look at how the media framed the situation. Look at how the FOMC's view has been taken up since.

After the scandal for a short period it was understood that the management were at fault with the mismanagement of RTÉ. Now we are back to

Mr Bakhurst said it had "long been the case" that RTÉ's funding had not been sufficient to deliver what its public service remit is.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2024/0725/1461705-rte-funding/

Now we are largely back to the existential crisis, can you show me how RTÉ has changed with this new funding and with the new direction. I don't see it.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,662 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Very few do, Mr R…. What we have seen is the usual RTE tactic of having every bit of relevant information stovepiped and siloed so they can continue to butt ream John Q Taxpayer.

The ‘nixer’ brigade started squealing and lawyering up and of course RTE seem to have capitulated to keep the culture of ‘omertà’ alive and well.

We saw from the Tubridy episode that nobody in RTE is indespensible, so if these chancers who are slurping up the gravy on the back of a profile in RTE are not happy point them towards the door when their contract ends.

Chop chop …… get on with it Caoimhín

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

______

Yesterday

It's not "totally your decision" when you can be prosecuted for not paying 🙄

Nobody on this thread was saying the licence fee was the only issue. I've no interest in what RTE insiders who were part of the problem are saying

You can and it seems from that case you will be told to pay the license fee + an €80 fine.

It is my decision not to pay for the TV license fee, due to the mismanagement and corruption of RTÉ, when Dee Frobes and Jimbo Jennings appear before either committee to state their case, I will consider paying my licence fee, until then I wait for the knock at the door.

Why should I pay for their mistakes? As you say twice.

I'd be of the opinion your paying 3 times, your license fee, part of mine through direct taxation and finally OAPs through direct taxation.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,619 ✭✭✭fliball123

Until people stand up to the obvious waste and corruption that is going on in this country via our politicians, semi states and civil and public servants, nothing will change. With RTE and the TV license we have a real chance to stick together and stop paying. Yeah we will be fined and yeah there will be jail threatened but at the end of the day all we need is one person to stay the course till the case goes to court and when asked are you paying your license, NO, and asked why, As there has been waste and corruption ongoing within the organization that the money is being paid to and until there is an investigation from both/either the garda or some other organization don't pay stay in jail and keep the spot light on it and let the world see how this countries agenda to keep getting people to pay and how they are punished and how others who are in the know and with connections continue to get away without any accountability. Imagine a case going to the European court the government would be laughed out of the building.

This year alone

RTE, bike shed, security hut, children's hospital and now the modular homes all of which have astronomical costs assigned to them and no one telling the full story different parties blaming someone else and not one person arrested, thouroghly investigated, charged or even sacked. Most of those in RTE were let go without a nice little golden handshake. Someone needs to keep the spot light on this imagine them trying to arrest a 100k TV license holders for not paying when they turn and explain their decision why they are not paying. Its like water charges people protested and we don't pay directly for water and if we had it would have turned into another area where the amount would of gone up and up and up compare that to our waste collection since it got privatized which is what our water supply would of ended up going.

So public service bad. Private service (waste) also bad.

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

probably like a bulldog after licking pish off a nettle after shes seen all the money flowing into rte and she doesnt get any…yet!

yo! donnie vonredactedpants,vlad putin,benji netanyahu,vic orban..you sirs are the skidmarks on the jocks of humanity!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,137 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Aye up, what's going on here then…

"That Bakhurst attended an event with Jennings could prove controversial given the latter has not appeared at a single Oireachtas committee hearing over the RTE pay scandal saga on the grounds of ill health. Bakhurst has repeatedly said Jennings and others, like the former director-general Dee Forbes, should appear before politicians when they are well enough to do so. For the record, Forbes did not attend the Coveney bash, which took place on September 21 in Dun Laoghaire, we understand".

GWS Jim ya poor little fella - if there's anything we can do, don't hesitate…

The article also states his exit package to come out in the 2024 accounts which will be published next year

Asked about Bakhurst and Lynch’s attendance at the 50th birthday party, an RTE official said: “This was a private event which was attended by individuals in a personal capacity.

Do they understand how it looks, regardless of if it is a private event? The DG is going to the a Birthday Party of a former colleague whom he … dare I say it here on boards … Fired, that must of been a very friendly €200k + exit package negotiated on a Sunday evening.

And also why would you want to go to this event, just say no "I am sorry Rory but I can't attend you can understand why."

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭Expunge

Unbelievable.

This man's judgement is as bad as some of his predecessors in the Director General's job.

It looks fooking terrible.