Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Irish politics discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,678 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Runs a credibility risk now if he does go for November not to mention the fact that he will look like he's a spoofer and not in charge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,517 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Meh. Taoisigh always deny that they are going for an election until they go for an election. This is bog-standard behaviour which is already priced in to everyone's expectation of how a Taoiseach will behave. I don't think there's any reputational impact when a Taoiseach "changes his mind" and calls an election that he previously indicated he wouldn't call for some more months, as long as the election is not perceived to be premature.

I'd agree to an extent, but I'm a long time politics watcher tbh, and I can't remember a Taoiseach and several of his Cabinet being so confident and vociferous about an election date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,517 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

IIRC "no early election" is part of the programme for government agreed between the parties, which isn't normally the case; that perhaps gives the election date a political sensitivity that it doesn't normally have. And of course the current Taoiseach wasn't one of the party leaders who negotiated that programme. All of this may lead to the question being asked a lot more that it has been in the past, and the assertiveness of the Taoiseach on the question may to some extent be an artifact of the fact that the question is being raised more often that it normally is.

Again, that's as may be. But others will see it differently and a function of as divided government replete with differing agendas. If he now goes for an earlier election the impression is his own agenda has been rejected. Not a good look tbh. Not terminal but damaging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

I see MLMD is trending yet again for a disaster of an interview on Morning Ireland.

Surely the gig is up for her at this stage. It has been a disastrous 2024 for her and SF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,313 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

No one will care if Harris decides to call an election after the budget. It will be talked about for a few hours and swiftly forgotten about because there is an election and campaign to run and report on.

The only people hanging their hats on it being a thing are SF supporters hoping for anything to help them.

Not sure how you have your algorithm set up but I am seeing a mixture of comments on her performance + the usual bile from the usual sources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,863 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I think that SF have lost their chance.

There is more chance of Aontu, Labour and the Social Democrats gaining votes than SF, and the right-wing independents will gain too.

In reality there is a 30% chunk of against everything voters out there, they went to SF in the last election, they won't in the next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,868 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Disregarding that I doubt the government could possibly run that late; potentially having to count on a bank holiday Monday would not be desirable at all

O'Gorman's interviews at the weekend were interesting.

Threw open the door to forming an alliance with Labour and the Social Democrats after the election.

On SF, he doesn't see them as a party of the Left, and can't figure out where they stand on either climate change or immigration. This comes a couple of weeks after a motion at PBP to distance themselves from SF as well.

To be fair, she has been through a lot personally, and it is clear her heart is no longer in the fight. It would be better for her and better for SF if she were to step aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,502 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

And on that note, I think it very unlikely that even if SF, Lab, SDs, Greens and Aontú came together after the election, that they would have the seats between them for a majority.

I'm leaving out Communist People Before Logic, because they have no interest in governing anyway. But there simply isn't a centre left/middle left government option coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Very optimistic for O'Gorman to be talking about what his party will do after the election. As far as I can see they have only one TD (Catherine Martin) guaranteed to keep their seat while the majority of their current TDs are almost certain to lose theirs (including O'Gorman himself).

Aontu would be extremely unlikely to enter any government without their single issue being on the table. And the other four parties you've listed there would not be willing to have it there. They can be left out of any maths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,865 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

other four parties you've listed there would not be willing to have it there

Yes particularly because they would be doing so purely to enlist the support of a single TD whose very presence in government would be a major aggravation for SF, even if he wasn't making any policy demands…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,502 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I take your point, but I know Tóibín's sister, who is herself a candidate in one of the most liberal Dublin constituencies, and I can promise you there is a realism there about that ship having sailed.

Thats not to say they don't want to have a robust input into any updating of policy in the future, or if there is some unforeseen tragedy or scandal in that space, that they aren't fully ready to jump on it with both feet.

If they have any genuine ambitions, and I think they do, then they have to be far more than that issue which was their genesis in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,417 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I could see Labour, Soc Dems & Greens acting as a block of votes together depending on the numbers. But adding SF to their numbers is definitely going to fall well short of a majority. And Aontú would be on the opposite side of the political spectrum (and unlikely to get any additional seats beyond Peadar I'd guess?)

Their membership are primarily there for the single issue, and would not approve supporting a Government unwilling to discuss it - whatever the other members of the Toibin family may be thinking now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,417 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

I also think that other parties would view them as being there for that single issue too, so it would make them very hard to go into any sort of agreement with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,838 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Independent Ireland will gain a significant number of seats. Who would align with them? Nearest to them is Aontu.

They would have significant issue aligning to any specific group. Their MEP joined FF's overall European group; some of their other reps (TDs, Cllrs, candidates) would probably have wanted to join the ECR grouping if they had been an MEP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,383 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Definitely, I'm scratching my head as to why Harris keeps denying there will be a November election if he's secretly planning one. He was quite adamant with Pat Kenny today that there will be no November poll - given that he would have to announce it in only two to three weeks time, it does throw the idea of an autumn election into considerable doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,865 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Boylesports currently the only bookies offering odds on the election date AFAICS, must be genuine uncertainty about it all round…

Hard to figure what is going on.
    Is there a personality battle going on, or is it something picked up in private polling?

Still think it is an unprecedented odd situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,325 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Like Renua before them, they can deny it all they like but it doesn't change the fact that they only exist because of abortion, and this makes them totally toxic to the majority of voters.

Doesn't help their credibility either that they have no electable candidates not named Toibin.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

Ahern was always the same and then he called an election when it suited him.

When in doubt, pick the conspiracy theory solution - there is something going on.

Occam's Razor, the simplest answer is that they have an agreement in place under the Programme for Government that the government will go the five years. Until that agreement changes, they have to stick to that agreement. Therefore, all they will say in public is that the election is next year.

Whatever else is going on or not going on behind the scenes is behind the scenes.

Conspiracy theory?
    There is a reason for the current situation, speculation (you are doing it yourself) is not suggesting a ‘conspiracy’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,383 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Pat Kenny kept pressing him hard and he kept denying it emphatically. Given that the announcement of an election would have to come soon enough, it does seem difficult to believe he is secretly planning a November poll but just hasn't revealed the decision yet.