Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline With Joe Duffy - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Astartes

What is interesting is that Joe being the person he is would be on the side of the bishops if this was 1970.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭avfc1874

Why oh why does Louise bother asking Joe what's coming up on the show when it's the same show every day.

Not condoning the abuse, but anyone in their mid fiftys got whacked, beaten, at school and home, Joe's in his sixties (very young 🤔) and he's making out this is all new to him,

A lot of the reason kids didn't tell their parents was, because their parents and mine would say " they didn't hit you for no reason and you'd get more slaps.

A cousin of mine was very good at hurling at school and the other teams would give him digs with the hurley and be shocked when it didn't bother him.

As he'd say we were getting hit with them every day in school from the teachers,

Joe only getting callers to read out the stories for his twisted pleasure, when he knew it was going on, and more than likely was the teachers pet and the class snitch and probably told the teachers who was playing up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭avfc1874

One woodwork teacher just missed a lads head with a chisel, it cracked a window and said look what you made me do get out 🤔

I always think of that when i watch dodge ball 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Personally I found the lay teachers by far the most violent but that was just in my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Or at the very least, be entered in one of the show categories.

Bovine or porcine, not entirely sure which.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,433 ✭✭✭leath_dub

this is really disturbing. Did "celebrated local artist" Joe Duffy draw it himself, I wonder?

"Hanging on the clothes knob" seems particularly egregious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,911 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

The national gallery of fine art have already been in touch I hear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Its not that shocking anymore this was a quare old spot back in the day, mid 50s so didn't see much beatings going on, one thing that does stand out to me was our headmaster in primary school was a mad republican and had an awful hatred of the English. 2 teacher school so had him for 3 years and this lad was a lunatic, national anthem sung every day, I think he wanted to deploy his own small army.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,185 ✭✭✭✭zell12

I wonder did kiids in other countries regularly get the **** kicked out. of them by "adult teachers" (what other kind is there?) back in the day or was it a phenomenon peculiar to this part of the world?

We know it's getting harder and harder, Joe.

TMI.

<off>

//////////////////

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,948 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

THey celebrate that kinda stuff today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Archduke Franz Ferdinand

this is becoming tedious at this stage, the same stuff every day .

Fcuck off - this is ludicrous. This guy (no, not Joe) is an absolute spoofer

The femle teacher heated her ring on a radiator in order to burn your wrist by applying it?

She did in her hole!

We exported many priests and nuns into teaching roles around the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,315 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

this is woeful radio. 2 weeks of shite. layers upon layers of shite

Where did they get this alleged girls smock (two of them, apparently) from - in a boy's school?

people are just ringing in making up stuff as they are going along

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

ireland was such a sick society

No I meant your bog standard (not imported) teacher in the UK , for instance, back in the day - would they be regularly doling out the slaps without fear of accountability?

now being compared to the concentration camps. christ

I's a "misery off" at this stage. Each caller trying to outdo the last with their tales of abuse and battery. It's like the Monty Python "4 yorkshireman sketch"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

School was all about random violence from the teachers

Did Billy Bunter not get six on the best?

I say it was the same. The place King Charles was sent to in Scotland was supposed to be bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,042 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

what’s the ultimate aim here - a huge compensation scheme for everyone who attended school 1940-1980??

It's purely for the host's amusement/gratification. If anyone is upset - there's links to helplines on the RTE web page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭TinyMuffin

I remember going to the shop in the school 1 day and asking for a bounty bar. But they had none and I had to make do with a twirly wirly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,265 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

I think it's letting people get it somewhat out of their system and acknowledge it