Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Ireland v Greece 10.09.2024 Match Thread - UEFA Nations League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭dublin49

Yes,but actually him and Reid were exceptions to the rule and we really need to embrace them rather them sideline them the way we did.

For me Greece played the ball around so much more effectively than we did,got turned ,didnt panic when in our final third,players like Molumby ,knight and Browne belong in teams but not together,without a baller you are going sideways or backwards all night,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭ittakestwo

The problem for irish football is that it has always neglected grass roots and relied on english clubs to take any young talent and develop them.

Big change needed. Start with an all Ireland league set up and try to appeal it to all social demographics not just the working class like LOI. One big dublin north side club and one big south side club. Belfast has two aswell one for the nationlists and one for the unionists ( got to play that riverly off another) and then a few other clubs scattered around like Cork Limerick and Derry. Try to have a maximum of 10 clubs in league to keep quality higher like the way Scotland does it. Ireland has 7m people now. That is more than Scotland 5m and similar to Switzerland and Austria. But are league is sh*te compared to thiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,343 ✭✭✭Guffy

Only because we haven't played them since.

We have been shite for a long time but this window really hit it home for me anyway. Honestly just lost, first time I have genuinely got no hope of qualification pre campaign, pre draw even!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭ittakestwo

With England in group there is little to no chance we were going to qualify to league A. Finland are also terrible so we might not even get relegated from this group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,785 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Could been in League C actually help us with qualification for Euro 28 ? Even though we're 'co Hosts' we could still miss out on qualification

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,371 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I thought Ireland were not as sh!te as I thought they would be overall.

This HH seems to have a good sensible head on his shoulders, he seems like an honest and direct sort of fella.

The only way is up. But I think this Ireland squad needs a psychologist and not just a sports one. They seem like they are suffering from PTSD after Kenny.

I also think HH should start thinking about dumping some of these underperforming bigger names. Ironically the only success from the Kenny tenure IMO was Ogbene. Kenny basically made his career. A great success.

I would rather have HH play lads from the lower leagues than constant underpreformers from the EPL or English Championship. Fellas that have some "go" about them.

The team also seems very fragile there are no leaders, surely there are some leaders with bite and fight (nevermind skill) able to play for Ireland? Those are the types required I think.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭NITRO95

I think there are some positives to take from last night to go along with all of the negativity. We changed to a back 4 and looked far better for it. Omobamidele didn't work at RB but I commend HH for trying it. The full back positions look like they will be an ongoing problem for us over the next few years.

I thought Molumby was one of our better players last night. He's never gonna win you a game but he's all effort and he hit some lovely crossfield passes to Ogbene. Going forward I'd have Cullen & Molumby as our midfield two with Smallbone, Knight, Azaz all possibilities to step in. I thought Browne was poor again and he never really impresses me when I watch him.

Up front is ironically probably where we gave the most options. Obafemi, Parrott, Smodizics, Johnston, Ogbene, Ferguson, McAteer, Idah. Depending on what you want from your forwards there are good options to choose from. I'd like to see us get Smodizics, McAteer & Parrott into the team with one of Ferguson, Obafemi or Idah leading the line. Ogbene and Johnston obviously provide a more traditional wide player if you wanted to replace McAteer or Parrott. Andrew Moran is another that will be knocking on the door of the senior squad soon too.

I totally understand why alot of people are down on the team and management but I don't think things are as dire as some believe. We need to get our best attackers into the team and let them play their football and trust in their ability. Last night was the first time in a long time where I felt we set up to go and win a game instead of just hoping to get a result by defending well. I'm encouraged by enough small changes last night that I have some hope that HH will get things right and we will improve under his management

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,730 ✭✭✭LowOdour

I think that the base for a good defensive system and effective attack revolves around the midfield.

So regardless of the good attacking and defensive players we have, there isn't enough aggression and drive in midfield.

And by aggression I don't mean flying in to tackles recklessly I mean been able to get around the park to support defense and attack with real conviction.

None of our midfielders offer that (Molumby at a push, but even he is limited)

I don't know if or how this issue can be fixed

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Big change needed. Start with an all Ireland league set up and try to appeal it to all social demographics not just the working class like LOI. One big dublin north side club and one big south side club.

Ah, this old crap again.

The North don't want to join the LoI, and it wouldn't remotely change things if they did. And merging Bohs and Shels or Pats and Rovers is equally daft - you'll just lose fans of both. They're nothing solutions put out by people who don't understand the issue but want to be seen to be putting out an edgy solution all while doing nothing themselves.

We need to start developing our own players - have needed to fit 25+ years but we've done nothing about it.

Clubs here need money to put into academy coaching but (a) the FAI is broke and (b) football fans here would rather prattle on about merging clubs and leagues rather than actually support the league. (Also clubs here need to be better run - look at Dundalk as the latest in a string of clubs to piss away millions on first-team wages with nothing by way of infrastructure to show for it)

We have the team Irish football fans deserve, sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,135 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Glenn makes a good point. The big problem with the match last night was the the heads of a few players dropped after we went 1-0 down. Hallgrimsson himself alluded to this in the post-match interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I can see why heads went down.

We struggle to score. Once we go a goal behind, the chance of us winning is very very low.

If we open up and try to attack more for an equaliser, usually against teams more technical than us, we'll more than likely concede a 2nd before we'd score.

So the players knew we were done once Greece scored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,135 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Can't be having that.

These are professional footballers who are playing at a decent level, they were 1-0 down against a team who hadn't been particularly impressive. I don't think it was unreasonable to have expected more from some of them.

I am kind of glad we had this sort of game early on in Hallgrimsson's reign. At least now he'll be confronted directly with some of the problems. There's a few things that he will be able to have an impact on. Firstly, he's going to need to cobble together a team of committed players who want to be out there and won't hide. Secondly he's going to need to be able to rebuild the confidence levels of the lads. We've Finland next month, it's a lot to ask for but let's see what he can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,547 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Are we back to talking about Wes and Andy Reid ?

Two players who's stock rose and rose because they were not playing rather than because they were.

Any league on this island will never be popular because you have the UK and Europe on your doorstep, and all the talk of merged teams and merged leagues will not change that.

The best you can hope for is that LOI clubs develop young players to a high enough standard that it becomes a valuable shop window for the bigger leagues.

And I think they have come on in leaps and bounds doing that in the last few decades.

A lot more international players are spending longer in the LOI than ever before.

But then again the national team has gone to pot over the same period, so I'm not sure if it's doing any good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,678 ✭✭✭✭josip

A lot of posts about the player's confidence and it affecting their levels.

Is there any evidence that these players can play at a higher level for their clubs than how they played over the past 2 games for Ireland?

Have any of them had a standout game against a top-half Premier League team for example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

We are in a false group.

We aren't at that level. Probably deserve to be down 1 more league.

The game v Finland will tell us a lot. I think we are at their level, and perhaps a draw will confirm this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,823 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Completely agree - Shels wouldnt even share a ground with Bohs - so how are we going to have one big Dublin club.

Plus, its a bit of an insult to LoI and Irish League fans to say - yeah lets rip this whole thing up that you love, just so that maybe the national team will get a bit better (or maybe it wont).

Even a consolidated league would still be far smaller than the Greek league, or the Czech league.

Our single biggest 'advantage' is our proximity to England - thats what we need to leverage. Build stronger connections with the top clubs there (our whichever clubs are interested).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,082 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I totally disagree that a league will never be popular here, the league is getting more popular, I was at the last 6 FAI cup finals, around 2019 you would get 30000 to 34000 at the game, last year the Aviva sold out all tickets.

Also say you support man united or liverpool, how many times a year will you get to go watch them once or twice? if you support a league of Ireland team, you can go see them play every week or second week for 10 to 20 euro, no getting planes to England, having to stay in hotels and all the expense that goes with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,384 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I did like some of the changes Halgrimsson (I assume because Sheasy wasn't changing anything) made.

The formation was much better suited to us.

Omobamidele RB was adequate tbf but I wouldn't try it again. He could be seen as a full back option but should stay central, I'd like to see O'Shea out full instead.

Other side Brady was fine he was good at pressing high - possibly too agressive at times and was lucky to stay on the pitch.

I'd like to see Brady with Robinson infront of him. I thought Knight wide was a stupid idea under Kenny and its still stupid now. We have wingers use them put Knight #10.

Even if McAteer and Johnston are to be held on the bench until the second half just start Robinson. Knight is just wasted out wide, and doesn't offer anything from there imo

Ferguson should not have been called up this window. I'm really getting somewhat worried he'll be back in the LOI in a few years a broken shell. Hes either been "injured" or "recovering" for the last 12 - 18 months. Hes too young for that theres no way thats going to stand to him and is surely just shortening his career at this stage.

I said before as inept as Kenny was the long range shots were not his fault. Its also not Bazunu (or even Kellehers) last night. Post-Whelan there hasn't been a DM in the squad. All our midfielders are game and will chase and put in a shift but they don't have the actual positional sense to fill at DM and that gaping hole is always there for an opposition player to fill and get his shot away. Frustrating but it is what it is.

Doherty shouldn't be called up again. Idah shouldn't start for us, hes an off the bench option but certainly not a starter again. Coleman can be in squads as captain if he wishes but no play time.

It all depends on what you want to define popular as.

No matter how many people go to a FAI cup final or how many more people are going to LOI matches now than a decade ago the reality is the soccer fans in Ireland will spend more money on foreign soccer than they will on the LOI.

Getting on planes and staying in hotels and going to a premier league game featuring world class players in a 60k stadium for many is a lot more fun than freezing your ass off in Mounthawk Park on a February night watching guys who work in the local Centra.

But thats a single game in the year - its a bit like LGFA finals getting 50'000 at Croke Park, but only 500 go to the semifinal.

Its the league attendances that really matter. And the fact is (i) there are too many clubs in Dublin area to support really large attendances for any one club and (ii) the stadiums are really crap apart from Tallaght.

Having said that, the debate is probably about what 'success' looks like - if we had 10 league clubs here averaging league attendances between 6-8000 that would be a really big improvement on where we are now (avg about 3,000). But to get there will stadium improvements. Which will cost a lot of money.

And also, thats a completely different debate - even if the league doubles in size (in terms of revenue) there still wont be any LOI players in the national squad. Any more than you'd want English League Two players in the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,678 ✭✭✭✭josip

"One swallow does not a summer make."

Judging the health of the LoI based on the cup final at the Aviva might lead to the wrong conclusion. A final between 2 Dublin clubs like last year will always have a higher attendance which was 43,881.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FAI_Cup

Average LoI attendances would be a better gauge and the numbers don't show any increase in popularity.

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/league-of-ireland-premier-division/besucherzahlen/wettbewerb/IR1/plus/?saison_id=2023

Top 5 attendances 2024

image.png

Top 5 attendances 2023

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

Attendances are rising every year.

I think the top division average attendance is around 3700.

It'll be over 4000 next year with Cork City and Derry's new stand.

Once the new Dalymount and other stadium upgrades are completed, average attendance will be over 5000, which is pretty decent when you compare to other European countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

I would be worried about a manager who wouldn't put on Troy Parrott at all in two games but kind of went like for like with Idah and Ferguson - neither of them offer an ounce of agility or creativity.

Simon Harris is monitoring the situation...

According to this, an avg 5000 would rank us 23rd in Europe for attendances….

We are currently the 28th ranked team in Europe.

Funny enough for those saying 'we are not at this level' - the 27th ranked team is Greece and the 29th ranked team is Finland. So, yes apart from England this is definitely our level, we are just underperforming.

EFS Attendances (european-football-statistics.co.uk)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

The saddest thing was seeing an empty Landsdowne Road before the game even finished. I used to go to a lot of the games before but stopped going about half way through the Kenny Era. I felt I was wasting my money watching that rubbish on offer and I'm afraid it could be a while before I get the gra to want to go back to watching the ROI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,126 ✭✭✭kksaints

Check what the average attendances were like 10 years ago and you'll see a significant increase. Also if you notice in some of the cases especially the three Dublin clubs outside of Rovers the average attendance is very close to the capacity of the ground which suggests that we're losing out on spectators due to capacity constraints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,920 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

We really have hit a low, growing up the team was always so competive , 80s and beyond - a year ago, we had hope for Ferguson , whether its injuries but doesnt seam the superstar some were making out.