The Pat Kenny Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,322 ✭✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

It's a long time since I worked for Georia Tech but I'll still be rooting for them. 🤷‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,804 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

That teacher on the Pat Kenny show now, I'm surprised Pat went so easy on her. I've worked for 20 years, 20 full years, I deserve a career break!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Always find it suspect when someone criticise the free school lunches.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

It is a very strange thing to have a problem with.

On the last segment, the guest saying that various people should have been consulted regarding Bishop Casey, does she not realise, the internal workings of the catholic church are a bigger mystery than Jimmy Hoffa? MI5 is more open and transparent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,253 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Does Pat even listen to who he's interviewing half the time?

Fella reporting on his journey into town this morning - he left Rathfarnham at 8.20, got to O'Connell St in 15 minutes, got to Clontarf at 9am, so 40 mins in total

Pat - oh well I'd say if you were trying to get to Rathfarnham to Clontarf in 40 mins it would be a different story....

Also, what on earth is the point of interviewing drivers about the diverted journey they haven't done yet? "Oh I'd say it'll add 15/20 mins minimum" - they have no idea how long it might take! Pure rabble-rousing tabloid stuff 🙄

Fella reporting on his journey into town this morning - he left Rathfarnham at 8.20, got to O'Connell St in 15 minutes, got to Clontarf at 9am, so 40 mins in total

I dont drive, or live in Dublin anymore, but that really annoyed me. For most of my time in Dublin, at 8-9 in the morning I, and what felt like about half a million others, would be trying to get to Sandyford. Who is going to Clontarf at 9am in the morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,253 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

In fairness the diversions are slap bang in the city centre, so most affect drivers trying to cross town or get into the centre.

That's the least annoying aspect of the whole thing for me!

I know, I get what you are saying. I'm just saying how many people are trying to get to Clontarf at 9am in the morning? Surely timing Heuston to Trinity or Grand Canal Dock would have been a better time trial?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,301 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Do you listen to Pat before posting? He said that getting Rathfarnham to Clontarf on a bus would take longer than 40 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,248 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

who is the whining cork fellow , richard something or another ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,096 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Re the 13% vs 9% vat rate, I believe it was changed back to 13% because of the greed of the entire industry. The staffing problems is basically that they set a high minimum wage for 18 year olds plus in the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

All watched over by the, utterly, toothless CCPC. The garages did similar when excise on fuel was cut but, again, nothing could be done about it.

“It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be” - A. Dumbledore

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,571 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

The staffing problem is that they don't want to pay a fair wage if that's the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,571 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Without knowing what the topic was, I'm going to guess it's your man Richard from the old Idaho Cafe? This lad?

https://twitter.com/idahonua?lang=en

in years gone by you could hire college aged staff relatively cheaply, because for most of them that is all they are worth. They are only there to make a bit of money for the summer, doing basic jobs. These days businesses are not going to hire these young people, because you have to pay them too much to fanny about looking at their phones.

We have 2 lads in for the summer, but are paid well above minimum wage as they are hard working and able to do the work.

A few weeks ago they had a HR specialist on and I pointed out that her answer to every single question was "it depends".

This morning, they have another HR specialist on, Pat asks her a question unrelated to what shes on for and her answer is? "It depends".

I'd rather listen to a month of Jess Kelly, than HR types who speak but all that comes out is fluff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,096 ✭✭✭✭zell12

I'd rather listen to a month of Jess Kelly

😯 😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,239 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

They could replace HR people with AI and it would actually be an improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

The thing is that if the answer is "it depends" then the answer is also "yes". She could have made herself and the topic a lot more interesting

Some of the HR people I have dealt with, they could have been replaced with a nodding dog and have been as productive.

Sir Enda of Brady is a big fan of Sir Keir , what a surprise. Two men of the people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭Tork

I missed the piece. Has he moved on from Boris being his neighbour in leafy Oxfordshire?

We've gone from the specialist giving the answer "It depends" to "I'm not sure, I'd have to check".

Would it not be an idea for the interviewer to give the interviewee the questions they are going to ask ahead of the segment?

Example:

Host: Is the motorbike theory test the same as the driver theory test?

Guest: Er, Im not sure, I think so, erm, I assume its similar any way….

Edit: And I would kind of assume if you are going to have a segment on getting a motorbike license, the person you have one would have actually gone and gotten it. The first texter had more relevant wisdom and experience in the matter than the so-called specialist.

Jesus some people have a major fear of data centres.

Conor Faulknan from the RSA "Just be sure you aren't using a charger from somewhere in China"

Tell me Conor, where are 90% of laptops and laptop chargers, mobiles and mobile chargers and chargers for everything else in your home made??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,804 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

The vox pop with the Dub who couldn't collect his partner in "O'Connolly Station".

Should be played anytime over the winter it's dark, wet and miserable to cheer us up.

I was just about to type that!!

I nearly spat out my tea listening.

It's dark wet and miserable today but brought a smile to my face.

Only in Ireland would you have a Minister for Transport who cycles to work and has no interest in air travel.