Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else find modern concerts a bit depressing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭mgkelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

There has been a certain purity taken out of it. I think years ago there were more diehards going to gigs. I think of those Metallica gigs the OP talked about. It was wall to wall metalheads that were there to see "their" band coming. They were there to "concert" and nothing else.

The mission for the night was to sing your heart out and there was no need for a phone to broadcast to your social media sites. These music fans are still there but are in the minority. Event junkie is over used but it's defintiely a thing.

I was at Liam Gallagher earlier this year and myself and the wife were beside a bunch of all school "Mad 4 it" types. The real deals. No the posers. It was a joy to be with them. LG had their attention and nothing else.

Mid gig during one of the songs these two twats barged past us all and took out their phones, put them in selfie and videoed themselves singing for 2 minutes and then walked on back to the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭BaywatchHQ

I don't enjoy concerts, I just go to them because i watch the footage on YouTube and I like to know that I was in the crowd. Most I have been to sound terrible with the vocals often inaudible.

In regards to phones I have often thought that venues should film concerts on an installed camera and post them online. This may reduce the number of people recording.

People will complain either way, if you stand there on your phone they complain and if you sing loudly enjoying yourself they will complain. I had too much to drink at a recent concert and went overboard with singing the lyrics and I don't think the people next to me were too pleased. Maybe it is only acceptable to sing along if you are near the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭3DataModem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭lumphammer2

When we talk about music …. it is the bandwagon stuff I mean …. plus the venue setup does not help ….. 1000s of people crammed into a filthy arena full of discomfort, crowds and Covid to see a dot on a stage plus muck and sh*t if out in the fields ….. no thank you ….. of course there are great unknown music out there …. it does not get a chance …. the powers that be in Ireland anyway won't support anything other than pop or new country …. it is a shame ….

The whole Oasis thing is depressing for another reason …. Oasis are by no means the worst and are quite good …. but the whole ticketing thing is a total downer here …. would not pay €1000 to see anyone …… it is time this type of thing is made illegal …. flat rate prices for the tickets like your example of the Melts is the way to go ….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Grey123

Something has changed. I think concert going has become very mainstream and not just something done by those into the band.

It’s probably mostly the case for bigger acts. Possibly social media to blame.

I have friends going to see bands now that they wouldn’t be bothered with at their peak. Sure the friends have more money but the tickets are ready expensive if you aren’t that interested.

Concerts have become far more social events. Surly Coldplay are beyond their peak in terms of new song popularity? Yet they are doing 4 nights at Croke Park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,486 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

Yeah there were a lot of late teens / early twenties at Coldplay and decked out in all the merch. I wonder if the internet / playlists has generated an awareness of acts way beyond the original target demographic. There are girls in my office who wanted Oasis tickets who weren't even born when Definitely Maybe came out.

My late mother was quite the raver and used to tag along with me down the decades to gigs. Bowie, Stones, Prince, Tina Turner to name a few. She was a teacher and quite smart at watching the movements of young ones in the crowds. She said most of them were there to try and meet lads rather than watch the act on stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Grey123

Yup. Irish people are event junkies also. We tend to go to concerts or sporting events in higher numbers than other countries.

I had lots of friends go to Bruce Springsteen who were happy to stay drinking in the pub for the first hour as they wouldn’t know any of the stuff anyway.

I think in one way young people living at home has meant they have more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,331 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

The big stadium gigs are sh!t, they always were. Huge queues, rubbish food and drink options and then you watch most of the gig on a big screen and pay €150+. They’re for event junkies not music lovers. There’s no way there’s 320,000 actual Coldplay fans in Ireland. Small venues and festivals are where it’s at.

Fuinnemh Festival this weekend and I can’t wait.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I'm not really a fan of Coldplay, I like some of their songs, but if I didn't have a few gigs on this summer I probably would have gone to see them out of curiosity, I would have looked up their setlists and listen to their songs and know at least 60 percent of the songs they'll play, at a lot of stadium gigs like that, a lot of people don't even bother to do that and it makes for a sh1te atmosphere, more interested in getting pissed and having a nice catch up during the concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,315 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

There was a fair old mosh pit at New Model Army at Opium a few months back, with sweaty shirtless blokes pushing and shoving. I watched from the distance.

Nice gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Capra

I think this thread has proven small dogs are the way to go. It definitely doesn’t help that some of the bands im talking about have gotten considerably older since I first saw them. Metallica uploaded a performance of Battery yesterday. I couldn’t get over how old the crowd looked. No wonder it’s not the same energy as 2003.

I’m looking forward to the Libertines in Cork in a couple of weeks. Tiny venue with a niche band. Will be a different experience and hopefully revitalise my belief in live music as an experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,074 ✭✭✭✭fits

I was always attended lots of gigs and still spend quite a bit on entertainment

next few months I have

Comedy - David O’Doherty

Opera - wexford opera

Classical - family concert in NCH

Theatre/ dance - Dublin theatre festival 2 shows

Musical. Mary poppins

All Together Now

none of them anywhere near approaching oasis in prices. Mary poppins is the steepest by far. And I expect every one of them will be more entertaining than a lot of the overpriced gigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Wooderson

Think theres a flakier fandom out there nowadays. Ive been going to shows for nearly 30 years like a lot of you. Deffo see decrease in passion for live music. Attendees at a show are quite happy to know one or two tunes from an act. There are many exceptions of course but broadly the bigger gigs feel diluted vs the intense hit of the 1990s for example.

Promoter greed has a lot to answer for also. Again, there are exceptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,317 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I tend to agree that you get a better experience at smaller gigs, as more people that are genuinely into it are there.

But gig etiquette in general has gone to the dogs. There's a sizable cohort of people out there that go to gigs and just can not shut up: will actively try to talk over the music.

And it isn't only big events, it happens at smaller ones too - it's a bit of a lottery how a particular crowd will behave. I think there's a sense of entitlement from the money people pay and that manifests itself in obnoxious chattering and the like. And as well, more people are coked up these days - which makes them full of chat, literally and figuratively.

It's not that much of an issue if you're at a gig and getting blasted by the volume of the act - but I find this to be a real blight on quieter gigs these days. I've seen acts recently tell the crowd to pipe down and that's something I never, or rarely, saw in the past.

Obviously phones do rob things of their immediacy. I fully understand people wanting to take a snap or two, but spending the whole thing snapping or videoing away - feels like such a waste.

And I think as well gig going is perhaps more of a mainstream thing these days: certainly for big events, which there seems to be more and more of. I think people have a different attitude at these type of things then your "regular" gig at a smaller venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭dasdog

The world has evolved and along with it has brought its good and bad which has definitely changed the audience demographic. As already alluded to I would add:

• There was a time when you heard about gigs through word of mouth, (pirate) radio or you might just see a poster plastered on a billboard. People didn't know outside the interest circles what was on.
    • Tickets are available with a few mouse clicks. There was a time in the past where someone could get tickets to Glastonbury weeks after the initial release in a shop in Ireland.
    • YouTube/Spotify and the like have opened up a new world of old music to a younger generation.
    • There appears to be far more gigs these days. I'm going to more in a year on average than I did when I was a teenager.
    • There are not as many clubs (that I know of at least) where you might go for a night as opposed to seeing a live band.
    • People have more disposable income so less focussed on looking forward to a particular event and might just go for drinks and a meetup.
    • Cheaper flights so more international visitors although they don't seem to talk nearly half as much as the locals here. Crowds are a lot tamer though.
    • Security is probably a lot tighter - people are more likely to get chucked out for something like stage diving.

It really depends on who you are seeing and the venue. Smaller is definitely better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭swededmonkey

Some of the clubs here (well, what’s left of them) are taking a stand against phones and putting stickers over the flash. I don’t think this is enough, people can still get their selfies and shots from the gig. I’d love to see a harder line taken akin to Fabric and Berlin. Have your phone out?...get the f*** out! I remember security in berghain told me to leave my phone in my pocket and don’t pass out 😊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

this whole moshing thing is bizarre, there was another thread on here recently with people complaining about how people don't like to mosh anymore…, honestly is it a homoerotic thing? I was at the Idles supporting LCD soundsystem in Malahide Castle, imaging that crowd and the lead singer organised a 2 sides running into each other thing, I stepped back, it was just cringe worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Capra

well, you sound lame to be honest. It’s tremendous fun. Men like doing physical things. I get not liking it if you are weedy or afraid of physicality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Stillill42

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Wooderson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,074 ✭✭✭✭fits

maybe he/ she just doesn’t like injuring other people. You seem very inconsiderate of others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,118 ✭✭✭flasher0030

You're obviously female. It's a man thing. There is a sense of satisfaction of flaking the shlte out of each other whilst powerful music is on in the background. I know it sounds barbaric to some, but that is just the way it is. Some people step back cause they are afraid of it. And others look on in jealousy, as they want to be part of it, but haven't quite got the courage for it. Some women enjoy the craic of it too, and get involved.

It's definitely not cringe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,747 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

This pair were busking in our town last week. Brilliant music

https://www.zurito.uk/

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭Choochtown

"There's a sizable cohort of people out there that go to gigs and just can not shut up: will actively try to talk over the music."

Totally agree with this. I wonder if they realise they can actually destroy a night out for some of us?

I've witnessed people raising their voices considerably to spout their banal, tedious drivel and then loudly applaud and "whoop" at the end of a song. I remember a particular artist starting to explain the next song and the dreary arsehole in front of me actually started getting annoyed as he was anxiously waiting for the next song to start so he could continue his conversation!!!

Gig-talkers are the scum of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,977 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭T.V Eye

Are gig talkers mainly a mate or other half who has been dragged to the gig and has no interest, someone who's been slamming pints all day or what. I'd love to know.

Phones are annoying but at least the person is displaying a level of engagement however misguided.

The Smile was the last example of a gig where me and herself had to move because one lad was shouting over the band.

It wasn't a cheap gig... I just don't get it. Go to the pub. Who pays 60 euro to go to the 3arena on a Weekday to talk about what's the best brand of catfood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Had the same experience at The Smile. As soon as the band came on the lads behind us started discussing all the gigs they had lined up for the rest of the year. Had to move to get away from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,118 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Ha ha. I've seen that many times. People chatting, then the song finishes, crowd cheers, and the couple of chatterers roar and holler their admiration for the performance. I'm just there thinking - shure you weren't even listening to the song. And to make it worse, I couldn't hear the bloody song because of their shlte.

But at least I have learned to just move away from talkers and settle somewhere at a venue where it doesn't get on my nerves.

In response to the OPs point, I generally don't find concerts depressing. I have realigned my expectations accordingly. If I am going to the bigger gigs in Marley, Croke Park, Kilmainham etc., I know that a huge amount of people are there for the night out, that the queues are annoying and that the sound may not be great. I go along, and just try to enjoy the evening out and listen to some ,music. For 3Arena, Vicar, Academy, Olympia etc., my expectations of a good gig are higher in the more intimate, smaller setting. And if something like bad sound, talkers, half-arsed band performance happen, then I do get disappointed alright. I know a lot of people are on phones these day. But if you want a good example of crowd engagement, I suggest going to something like of Fontaines, Gilla Band, Murder Capital. Or even the likes of Mary Wallopers, The Scratch etc. All Irish bands too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭Acosta

RE: OP

I'd recommend checking out more new music and heading to gigs in smaller venues like Whelans, Button Factory and Working Mens Club. There's plenty of good gigs on in these places throughout the year. That's if you're in Dublin, or near it, obviously. Unfortunately, for me, go far as gigs go, I'm down in Cork. Not many decent touring bands visit these days and it can be hard to get up to Dublin with work.

However, some gigs, even in small venues, can be torture with twatty event junkies messing with there phones, and basically using the band as background noise to the conversation they're having with their friends.

I haven't been to a big gig in years. Most big gigs, especially in stadiums, are just legacy acts. The music industry has changed and shrunk so much over the years, that pretty much anything new I'm into will never have a hope at getting enough support and backing from the business to make it to playing big venues. It can be a bit sad going to see a great band to play in front of 150 or so people, who probably in some cases would have been playing in front of thousands back in the mid 90s.