Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Irish politics discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,678 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

The NI war had none of that and didn't create a free country

Our decade of violence and conflict/war created a 'partially free' country which largely turned it's back on what was happening in the partitioned part. That was always going to come back and bite.
    And not to drag this on, I am not comparing to '100' years ago, I am comparing the transition to normal democratic politics undertaken by people who killed and injured for their beliefs, who were present in Irish politics right up to the 70's. The differing factions of that conflict/war period openly celebrated and commemorated their actions too. And all of that happened as the victims of their action and their living relatives looked on.
    Exactly as is happening now. As it does everywhere, There is nothing unique about it, is the point made.

And to finish look up what SF have said about sensitivities that any new UI government will need to have. I'd recommend having a look at what our current President has said about 'ethical commemoration' too and apply it to ALL those who took a part in the most recent conflict/war here, not selectively. For instance, will FG in a UI still think it appropriate to pose in front of Michael Collins portraits as the 'governing party' or will they accept that the state needs to be sensitive in such demonstrations and, not to put a tooth in it, 'triumphalism' as a Unionist would see it?

The poster had a cheap dig, intimating that this 'lad' had a hankering for the days of ' boatloads of Libyan munitions' and made an 'observation' based on nothing that actually happened this week. The 'lad' left because SF would not turn far enough right on immigration for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭pureza

I am not interested in your problems with other posters @FrancieBrady

I am saying practically everyone had a link to the civil war and war of independence in the aftermath of the creation of our State

The numbers with direct connections to active involvement in the norths troubles is tiny

Ergo comparing transitions for political wings is a chalk and cheese comparison,mainly done to make the conflict in the North and its participants on the Republican side appear as important as the mass movement of over a 100 years ago

Its a false comparison and head in sand territory when talking about the normalisation of political wings,prompting my question as to when will SF revisit how to make their lauding of heroes thought of by the still alve immedate family as evil,more descrete as its the chief reason FF and FG avoid them

I made my point.
    Want to discuss comparisons and frankly avoid questions implied by your stance, open a new thread.

FF are conflicted on 'involvement' with SF BTW. Anyone, again with open eyes, and aware of how sleeveen FF can be, saw clearly that MM opened a door to them when he thought he had more seats than them and would get first dibs at the office he wanted - Taoiseach. He instead went with the party he told voters he would 'never' coalesce with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Peter Fitzpatrick not running again. He was an independent since leaving FG over the abortion referendum.

You brought the topic up

This is a discussion forum,I challenged your position

You don't like that

A Discussion forum is not your one way street

I actually said that the reason FF would avoid government with SF IF the numbers meant they could was the conflict up north being so recent and victims immediate families being alive

Quite a disengenous attempt to allow only your opinion t

If you want to discuss '100 years ago' stuff, open a new thread.

I actually said that the reason FF would avoid government with SF IF the numbers meant they could was the conflict up north being so recent and victims immediate families being alive

And I said, that is nonsense, it's not the reason, as many in the media and here observed MM opened the door to SF after the last election when he thought there was something in it for him, as FF have been wont to do for …eh…100 years or so. MM and FF have proven they are able to set aside civil war antagonisms and the recent conflict/concern for victims if there was something in it for them. Similarly, FG can't forget what SF have done but have no issues forgetting/setting aside what the DUP have been involved in and are still linked to, if it suits them.

It is not nonsense

Otherwise SF would be treated by FF and FG like any other party

It takes numbers for them to have the luxury to avoid SF

They had the numbers once FG agreed

Without those numbers,a different set up

You just don't get the difference and are clinging to a chalk and cheese comparison to a 100 years ago to justify your point

i'm calling out that nonsense

FG aren't in government with the DUP and theres no prospect of it

They invited them to an Árd Fheis in a neighbourly and cordial way- Big difference between that and choosing who to govern with

Now you brought the topic of comparing a 100 years ago up,not me

I told you why it is a false comparison and you suddenly want to close that down

You do not get to cherry pick rebuttals in a debate

It is not nonsense

IMO it is. By observing what actually happened not by projecting.

You can ignore what actually happened and the fact that FF did what they said they would never do because it offered Martin the post he wanted. His 'principles' were for sale and he sold them, just not to SF.
    Get back to me too when FG act in a 'cordial and friendly' way across the board, not selectively.

BTW it is only a 'false comparison' if you ignore the fact that FF and FG went on commemorating and celebrating the men and women of violence even when survivors and relatives of victims were still alive. Your selectivity exposed again. The British, Unionists and Republicans will all celebrate and commemorate their own, now and in the future. Same as we have done since independence. Your concern for selected victims is hollow tbh.

you are deliberately going on as if I said nothing again

I already explained that nearly everybody in the 20's and before were involved or linked in some way to protaganists in those wars which founded this State

Only a tiny percentage in Ni were linked to the protaganists on the Republican side in that conflict which founded no state

The former created a state the makings of which in war nearly everyone had a hand in, so commemorating killings was easier during immediate relatives lives as that was practically everyone

Theres the chalk

Your one is cheese,tiny percentage involved or linked,much bigger resentment and immediate family numbers involved to upset

No comparison

Your view as expressed here is akin to hard core Republican views which most of FF and FG regard as blinkered and do ya know theres only 2 routes to government for SF there and that is if they get the numbers such that FF and FG have to work with them or they work on helping people accept their comemerations in some way or subtle them out,not an easy task

I already explained that nearly everybody in the 20's and before were involved or linked in some way to protaganists in those wars which founded this State

Only a tiny percentage in Ni were linked to the protaganists on the Republican side in that conflict which founded no state.

The former created a state the makings of which in war nearly everyone had a hand in, so commemorating killings was easier during immediate relatives lives as that was practically everyone

That peculiar dismissal of victims is just your opinion. It isn't written in stone somewhere. Weight of numbers means go ahead and triumphalise and celebrate? Reminds me of pre Parades Commission Unionism tbh.

So can we take it then that in a UI celebration of violent conflict and those who carried it out would continue legitimately, in your view, because victim numbers haven't made a quota or high enough 'percentage'. That is what you seem to be saying.

Why am I not surprised FF and FG have such problems with SF , given the above level of beligerancy and revisionism

Do ya know it makes no odds to me how difficult ye make it for yourselves,but be sure and have an airpipe sticking up while your head is that deep in sand tbh

So no clarification just dogma that your (bizarre) view that all is fair in post conflict/war, if you have the weight of numbers, is the correct and only one.

Head in the sand indeed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,374 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Back to the Councillor who has left SF, is there anything to suggest that he left because SF won't turn far enough right for him?

As he joined the party 50 years ago, and given the type of voter that SF has attracted it recent years, I'd assume he is very left leaning and speculate that he is more likely to be leaving because they have turned too far right for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,865 ✭✭✭✭L1011

He is absolutely and utterly not very left leaning. He expressed very right wing views on social media and there had been calls to kick him out.

SF of 1975 weren't very left leaning either.

He seems to be unhappy with their immigration policy. Whether his view is right or left or whatever it seems to be why he is leaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Any chance that the back and forth about the merits of SF could be kept to the two threads below, which are already dominated by that discourse?

image.png

It's not my view that matters,its FF and FG's and didn't I simply say if your party holds the level of beligerency you show here towards why they will avoid working with SF,they're at nothing unless they get enough seats

I am not the one insisting my view is the only one to hold. I pointed to actual events and the utterances of actual people as the basis of what I believe. Party leaders here, say one thing and do another. Pat Rabitte showed us that a long time ago.

Take the point or leave it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,401 ✭✭✭corkie

Derek Blighe ~

I have decided to run in the next general election in Cork north central.
    I won't allow my county or my country to be destroyed without a fight.

Source

For anyone who supports him from that LEA?

ⓘ "At some point something inside me just clicked and I realized that I didn't have to deal with anyone's bullshit ever again."
    » “mundus sine caesaribus” «

Well your party does have the advantage of never having been in government in this State

Ergo not in a position other than to preach about who did or did not stick rigidly to their parties ideology in various programnes for coalition government,a requirement anathema to both coalition and any negotiation on anything ever

I've explained why your point is nonsense several times,so I think I'll leave it not take it thanks

😁 The Pat Rabitte defence, sure what does it matter what they say, nudge nudge wink wink.

Best to leave it alright, and just disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,838 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Derek Blighe got diddly squat in the local elections. We all know the definition of insanity.

It will be interesting to see if his views are gaining any traction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,049 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

…theyre also advocating for longer working years, i.e. later retirement age, longer working hours, and a significant fall in economic activities over time due to an aging population, so, fair play to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,413 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

He got 899 in locals and 25k in Europeans. The European number sounds high, but it was still less than 4%. He won't be getting elected anytime soon thankfully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,865 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Not his local area. Won't have a chance.

Any attempt by him to arrange a single lunatic per constituency will fall apart as soon as anyone else wants to run there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭dublin49

any area like Dundrum in Tipp,NewtownMount kennedy ,Coolock,Drogheda etc that field a decent anti immigration candidate will have a good chance of getting elected.

The problem for those of us who want to register our disgust at the myriad of issues with the management of immigration in this state is we have no one to vote for.

There is a cosy cartel of all establishment parties and media holding the liberal line with regard to immigration when in my opinion the electorate have changed their minds. I cannot be sure as the curfew on decent reporting is vicelike ,such as RTE covering an opinion poll from an NGO yesterday,seriously.

Opinions on this issue are not chiselled in stone,facts change and opinions change.

Look at Denmark,Germany and Sweden,all changing and tightening their arrangements for immigrants,we need to rapidly mirror their actions or we will see a surge here.

Firstly I would like to see any immigrants coming from the UK offered a flight back or a taxi to Belfast and announce all applicants arriving from UK will be refused Asylum.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

any area like Dundrum in Tipp,NewtownMount kennedy ,Coolock,Drogheda etc that field a decent anti immigration candidate will have a good chance of getting elected.

I live about 200m from a building housing immigrants and it's fine. Our neighbourhood's only concern was the choice of building used and the damage the owner did to it in order to maximise it's housing ability. As for the locals having a problem with the immigrants - I've seen nd heard nothing negative about the people staying there.

As for some politicians making it an election issue, some tried but the electorate here firmly rejected them in the local and European elections. The only anti-immigration politician I saw was Hermann Kelly outside the house I mentioned above being chauffeured around by a suspect for a recent arson attack on another house which was the subject of anti-immigration protests (all based on misinformation might I add).

I live about 200m from a building housing immigrants and it's fine.

Same experience here.
    But it isn't a one size fits all issue. There are areas where the residents don't think it is suitable and it cannot be put down to reactions to mis-information only when you have councillors of the governing parties calling out the decision making and mistruths of their own parties

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,965 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I believe rhat most of the protests are orchestrated by non-locals and based on massive amounts of misinformation and scaremongering.