If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

radio nova

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Lord Nelson

There’s actually a station in the US (can’t recall off hand) that plays the Billboard Top 10 on a continuous loop…..

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,190 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i remember years ago in the states, a radio station which played nothing but led zeppelin was launched; it didn't last long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,366 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

So what you're saying is the vast majority of Irish people have shite taste when it comes to music. I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Roxee

No. That’s not what I’m saying. I’m saying that in a market the size of Dublin a station literally cannot afford to have that narrow a remit. Lamentable as it is to some people, it’s reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭its_steve116

Another band I never hear on Nova...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,190 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i don't think i've ever heard them play 'tear down the walls' - though i think i might have heard 'heart and soul'?

I disagree. I've lived in a city the same size as Dublin and it radio stations that were much more specialised; rock, hard rock, indie/alt rock, EDM, hiphop, classic hits, east listening and the usual pop stations.

Too many people in Dublin have shite taste in music 😁

would be interesting to see a historical breakdown of JNLR figures - and how much of nova's success is based on the likely possibility that the general cohort who listen to FM radio is getting older; and how does it compare to how music stations might have been doing 20 years ago, say?

in short, are the figures recording that nova are clambering up the mast of a slowly sinking boat, perhaps?

You can run an EDM station from a treehouse for the price of a box of teabags if you want. But that’s not how FM licencing and station oversight works in Ireland . Have you petitioned Coimisiún na Meán for a new station for the genre of your choice? It might feel more effective than a post on boards.

I admit I have no idea FM licensing and station oversight works in Ireland. Or in NZ. And I have no desire to petition anyone for a new station. I was simply commenting on the difference on the variety of genres in similar sized markets. No need to get defensive.

Post edited by Yeah_Right on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

are the figures recording that nova are clambering up the mast of a slowly sinking boat, perhaps?

Nova can’t do anything about the decline of radio listenership but if the boat is sinking, wouldn’t you rather be at the top of the mast than the bottom?

well, yes, of course, but that's trivial?

I don’t understand. The JNLRs either matter or they don’t.

If they matter, then Nova are doing very well and it’s a good reflection on the music taste of Dubliners. If they don’t matter, then what’s the discussion even about?

Just heard Nova advertise the Dublin Music Survey. Apparently listeners can go to their FB page and fill in a survey about what music they want hear on the station. Haven't checked it out yet but will take a look later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭SimonMaher

Never had to post about this before that's for sure :) I wish it was that simple Roxee but what killed Phantom was that it couldn't survive at the scale it was licenced for. If a station (any station) has a potential audience of let's say 1.5% share then the business model has to be adjusted as does the licence terms. Same as any business, it should be able to scale up or scale down depending on the amount of cash it can earn from its operation.

All that being said, fair play to Nova for what they have achieved. Absolutely tip my cap to them.

Simon

Sure thing - in some other version of reality maybe the FM band might sound very different. But whether anyone likes it doesn’t like it we’re in this reality. That’s what “simple”.

Obscure I know but reality is in theory at least a fixed thing and the Irish radio market is not a simple reality by any means. It's a construct (the lack of any licencing of a commercial radio station since 2009 or even a community station since 2016 is ample evidence of that). Relevant point is that it could be changed with the stroke of a pen tomorrow and inevitably it will be eventually and the reality and the entire industry then changes dramatically. That's a discussion for a different thread though. My apologies Mods, totally my fault for taking this one off thread. Back to Nova and apologies again.

Simon

So long as we're dealing with a finite resource (FM bandwidth) then you have to have rules as to who can broadcast on it and what rules they have to follow.

I understand the point that it's harder for a more niche service to play successfully and profitably by those rules, but what is the alternative? I'm not sure how you would implement a two-tier system in any sort of equitable way.

And that's why all these posts berating Nova for not playing obscure album tracks or long-forgotten 70s bands are so wide of the mark. It's just not going to happen because that isn't what people want to hear, and it was never, ever the intent of Nova to do that, no matter what is claimed here.

who is berating nova for not playing 'obscure album tracks'?

the main complaint is the repetitiveness of the playlists. not that they're not playing 18 minute long prog operas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,058 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

"reptitveness of the playlists" - I just looked at this thread to see if there was any comments on it. As it feels to me it is the same 100 songs replayed in rotation (if that).

It is grand for background music, people almost expect the same tunes, it seems.

But it would be nice if they mix it up a a bit. Even different tunes from the same albums they always play, would be a start. Otherwise I might as well listen to my own music - avoiding adverts and that American wan who constantly tells us how "seriously addictive" Nova is. At least she stopped saying "A to Zee" so there is that.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

It's a bit of mild poetic licence to emphasise the non-stop and incredibly bitter complaining about Nova, which is always accompanied by "why can't they play a bit of <insert some shite that no-one wants to hear>?"

Non-stop, utterly tedious moaning and bitching.

again with the mischaracterisation of the discussion. you're clearly seeing a thread you want to see, not what's actually happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

That voiceover is not done by an American I am pretty sure! In fact, I think it is the voice of Dee Woods!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭its_steve116

I think it's Carol Dooley (from sister station Sunshine 106.8) actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

Carol Dooley, a former PD and presenter of Nova herself, is certainly not American anyway. She may have a very slight American twang from her time working in the States, but that is about it.

I don't think FM frequencies are quite as finite as is regularly made out. The old finite frequencies argument was being trotted out before Lite FM came on air and somehow frequencies became available. As of today, in Dublin alone there are at least 5 frequencies on which decent power could be used and are cleared for use. That's before we even go near DAB which renders the finite capacity argument utterly moot. The reason for the lack of new stations is not down to anything technical. Of course you could implement a two-tier system. You could implement a 10 tier system if you want - no player deserves preferential treatment or protection. Yvonne, Rupert, Kevin and the others are more than capable of looking after themselves and their own interests.

Simon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,058 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

That's gas I always thought it was some American one.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭KildareP

The female voiceover is Annie Davis and she is American

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 7,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sheep Shagger

Yup definitely not Dee, she's does voice overs for CH though I think.

Is the yank based here or abroad using a jingles company like Reelworld or something I wonder.

of course you could implement a two-tier system

no player deserves preferential treatment or protection.

That's exactly what a two-tier system does - it gives preferential treatment to tier 1 and therefore punishes tier 2.

I don't know who Yvonne, Rupert and Kevin are but a completely unregulated free market rarely benefits the little guy.