Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin really safe? *Read OP for mod warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭prunudo

How can you say that with a straight face, anyone who walks through D1 and doesn't experience crime must have their eyes closed. They might not be the victim but there is crime all around you. Walk for an hour within a 500m radius of O'Connell bridge and you'll see it everywhere.

Now, it may be no different to any other major world city, but that doesn't make it right and shouldn't be a reason not to improve policing and have a crack down on .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭Robert Nairac

Edit: Delete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭Greyfox

I can say it because its 100% factually correct, just like grass is green or water is wet. The issue is many people on here don't know how to use common sense. Maybe some people like to live in an imaginary world instead of leaving their bedroom but that's on them. Every big city has some crimes that happens but does that make every big city in the world dangerous? Of course is doesn't.

You've clearly never walked through Dublin 1 yourself during the day if you think it's dangerous. I've walked through D1 hundreds of times and although I sometimes see crime I've never experienced crime directly. Also I know for an absolute fact that many people are walking through D1 right at this very moment and are not experiencing crime themselves.

I 100% agree that we need more guards in D1 and that we need to punish criminals for a change but the fact is walking through D1 keeping yourself to yourself is not dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭lmao10

There's a higher chance of getting hassle there. We can just put it that way. I would need to be paid money to go there at night. Handsomely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Frank Grimes

Did you even look?

https://news.google.com/search?q=canadian%20tourist%20dies&hl=en-IE&gl=IE&ceid=IE%3Aen or is this more of a case of you 'just asking questions'.

Edit: even posting a link is an ordeal on this new platform Boards is on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,273 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

They also brought it up in the Dail today but yes it's being ignored because the attacker is foreign...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,432 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Mod - I am still seeing (and deleting) multiple posts about the Canadian tourist assaulted in Dublin who has since died. This matter is before the courts and there has been a mod warning about this already.

I will close this thread is there are any more posts about this, and forum ban whoever makes a post about it.

A reminder of the site terms of use

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I don't believe that for one second. You can't live in Dublin and work in the city centre with your mindset and be safe. Surely you're assaulted, attacked, raped and stabbed every week? Is this the case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I see the gag you are going for , but Dublin isnt "safe safe" , you will get a bike stolen, there are safer areas, less safe areas, safe times , more dodgy times. I think we can agree that Dublin isnt Tokyo

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭SharkMX

Ive seen and heard plenty. You seem to miss all of the crime and utter scutter heads in the city center yourself. Surely you arent blind.

I walked past this. Wasnt there as it happened though, so i guess you dont count it.

https://www.thejournal.ie/manor-street-attack-6428825-Jul2024/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,875 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

So, Stoneybatter is a no-go area now..…

Not your ornery onager

Agreed. And I've addressed these problems & come up with solutions again and again on this thread.

What happened? What did you see? Was it a domestic incident or a random beating? Did you feel unsafe? Were you afraid for your safety? Are you afraid for your safety in all parts of Dublin when you're there? Was it an incident unique to Dublin, does this type of thing happen anywhere else in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,273 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

yeah the trendy sought after graphic designer flat white vegan restaurant riddled stoneybatter is now no go because of an incident on manor street. damn it i'm a big fan of walsh's pub down that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,233 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Astartes

Certainly isn't Tokyo. They have a train that goes all the way to the airport would you believe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Seem to see more Dubliners outside Dublin now, loud but good humoured usually. Maybe they are refugees from the current capital.

It's not whataboutery, there's nothing unique about domestic violence, it doesn't just happen in Dublin and it doesn't make the city dangerous to the poster.

That's a rediculous post. There's Dubliners in every single corner of the country, always has been. Do you think every person from Ireland that's come to Dublin is a refugee of their parish? Of course not, they want to move there, they like it there, they set up house and have a family in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,035 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

If coastal Dublin is a kip, the rest of the country must be hell on earth, because nowhere else in the country looks anywhere near as affluent/wealthy/attractive as coastal Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

So is it safe to go to Weirs on Grafton st mid Saturday morning? 🤪

If you were out on a night in Dublin in the 1980s it was a safe enough place- I saw very little crime back then at night time except for the usual odd fight at closing time.

The city now when I walk is bursting with nationalities and ethnicities from all over the world which is great to see - but it’s also incredibly more popular and busy at night than it was in the 80s/early 90s.

This can be a good thing as there’s strength in numbers who are mainly out to enjoy themselves and not cause trouble- but I imagine given the greater amount of people in the city at night, there’s bound to be more trouble too.
    I believe Dublin overall is a safe city but taking the precautions you’d normally take at night anywhere is recommended ie- try and stay with a group, don’t act the d1ck with drink on ye, plan your return home that evening - you won’t go far wrong following those 3 rules

You'll be accused of whataboutery by the haters for saying you have to take the same precautions in other cities as you do in Dublin!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Let them - I love “haters” - they’re so thick it’s fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭vival20062

As someone who frequents the city regularly for many years, I find it safe. And I don't understand this "no go area" stuff at all.

They are refugees! Economic and otherwise. Many Dubliners around these days didn't notice them around here before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

Was up in Dublin last weekend for a concert in Malahide castle. First time in many years in the capital. Never took to the place before really but that was down to the sheer volume of people. I'm not a fan of crowds. Was a bit wary after reading certain forums but had/saw no hassle whatsoever. Met many helpful people when needing directions etc. Lot of people on the move what with the concert and the match so public transport was rammed so maybe a certain level of safety in numbers that way.

Certainly didn't feel unsafe at anytime even later in the night around eden quay and O'connell street (despite its reputation).

Most dangerous street in the country!

https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-10118877.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

You’re delusional. Knew a lad who was 23 years old, 6ft tall, he was walking home sober down camden street at 11pm over summer last year and had his headphones in— next thing group of five rough young lads ran behind him, cheap shot by smacking his head with a bike lock which knocked him unconscious after he hit his head off the ground. They then kicked his teeth for good measure and took his wallet and phone. It’s not safe for anyone alone out there after 8pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭Rugbyf565

no one said it was a ‘no-go area’, we’re just saying you have to keep your wits about you, especially when you’re walking around alone. It’s much worse as a woman, I’ve been told many bad stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭Heckler

Thats a horrible thing to happen but its not indicitive of most peoples experiences. Can happen anywhere from the smallest town or village to a capital city. As someone said earlier keep your wits about you, mind your own business, stay with others if you can you'll be ok. If someone/people decide to do you harm for absolutely no reason and without warning theres very little you can do about it. Only way is to try to mitigate against it.

I'm from Cork. Theres certain areas I won't smoke going past because I know its going to attract people approaching me for a cigarette. See some dodgy **** cross the road, duck into a shop. Shouldn't have to but there ya go. I know Cork and how to get home avoiding certain hot spots. I stick a 20 in my back pocket for a taxi after booze and thats me home of a night. Plenty of nights no taxi to be had so just walked with no bother.

Walking anywhere at night with headphones is a bad idea. See it all the time. Usually with a head stuck in a phone too. Yup of course you should be able to without any fear but thats the world today. A basic situational awareness will do you a lot of favours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭REDBULL68

Unfortunately it can happen anywhere, we were in Prague 5 years ago, and over a week 5 out of ten ,got mugged or dipped ,sign of the times but not a new trait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭REDBULL68

Just a follow up ,if anyone has been to Prague, there's police everywhere.