Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,088 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,967 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Tiresome. You didn't know they broke then national spending rule? They set the rule. No opinion on that?

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Oxo Moran

It's often a case of Stockholm syndrome. People get use to the FF/FG way of governing and can't see any other way making sense. Boom and bust, austerity, give away budgets, ignored crises.

So we're getting yet another budget where spending increases dwarf tax cuts from, tries to stop laughing before posting, RIGHT WING parties (as an aside do people really believe that or is it just that they're so extreme left that it's just a case of even the current parties are not left enough for them)

For any private sector top rate tax payer don't bother following the news on budget day, we already know what will happen 1) you won't really benefit from the increased expenditure as most will go on public sector pay and welfare. The rest will simply make running the country more expensive with absolutely no improvement in services 2) your marginal rate of tax will remain at 52% 3) you will get a modest tax cut but (yet again) it will not be anywhere near as much as a welfare recipient receives in headline rate increases and other increases to benefits

Unfortunately we also know 4) many top rate tax payers will continue to vote FG in the forthcoming election while complaining about the above (I work and socialise with many of these people). News for you - stop complaining about getting what you vote for (again I work and socialise with many of these people).

And before anyone says "I vote FG but not for that" or "but the left/SF" (delete as applicable) I'm afraid you can't get the Selma killing policy without the Bart killing policy. Vote for whomever you want but own what you're voting for. You'll never get right of centre by settling for what you perceive to be "least left"

Starting from 2019 (so pre Covid) We may well be on track for government spending to have increased by 50% by the end of 2025. That is an absolutely frightening statistic

I saw at least one comment above from our resident Green Party supporter (LO f**king L) about budget 2025 being the fruit of "prudently" managing the country's finance. Said person must live in a different country to the rest of us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,157 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

many top rate tax payers will continue to vote FG in the forthcoming election while complaining about the above (I work and socialise with many of these people). News for you - stop complaining about getting what you vote for

I don't think it's unreasonable for someone to vote for FG as their least worst option and still criticise their performance in government, unless and until there's a credible centre-right alternative for them. I'm sure the unspoken corollary of their bellyaching is "but an SF-led government would be ten times worse"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,967 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Crony Coveney is not standing in the GE (which is not happening in November). The FG selection policy for the GE will have to be very impressive to retain all those seats.

Another one of your predictions gone wrong?

The nicknames of TD's 🤔🙄 back to the bad old days of content here

Coveney will be a huge loss to politics in Ireland,

A lot of polls done have results which say people don't want tax cuts and would prefer to spend money on improvements in HSE etc. Have a look and you will find them.

Trying to claim you work and socialise with a group of people is always a sign you don't :-) not sure why you think all top tax rate payer vote for FG? what about all the other parties?

Do you not think top tax rate payer can vote for any other party? bit ridiculous that statement isnt it?

As the budget isn't even close to been announced you predicting what people will or won't get is hilarious because based on previous, the predictions on this thread are alway wrong, apart from the odd pure blind luck one hich I can't think of off the top of my head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,546 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

….ah we ll move on, wouldnt blame him for calling it a day though, tis an awful lifestyle, best of luck to him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭howiya

The likes of Coveney's seat won't be an issue for them. The Joe McHugh seat (although not currently an FG seat but was in last GE) is where they will struggle. And likely there will be plenty of seats in between where people will vote for whoever the FG candidate is.

I don't see them losing that many seats. Don't forget the Dail is increasing in size too, larger constituencies etc.

When you see the online abuse they receive you can see why so many are retiring

Like an adult going around calling people "Crony Coveney"

Im sure the abuse they use on other website which have no restricts is a lot worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,546 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

yea the abuse is completely out of hand now, even dangerous, only tugs are turning up at private residents, we urgently need to do something about this before something serious happens, families should not be living in fear in their homes

The abuse should be called out, we have a couple of people on here who go from one thread to another repeating stupid nicknames they seen online and think it is clever.

Been a TD is a job, the same people who abuse them wouldn't be able to get votes from their own family.

A TD should be able to do their job, go home and that's it. Not get badgered online, at home, doing shopping etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 92,220 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I'm probably one of those people and I really don't see an issue with nicknaming a TD , now abuse in public at their home or at their family is not on but they are to act for the people and if they are not then they can expect blow back with unhappy people over false promises

I wonder who will run instead of Simon for FG in Cork

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,667 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Not the only reason. I can think of several reasons to blow through the 5% increase:

• Population increase of greater than 5% with services unchanged
    • Increased capital spending on public transport to address the climate change agenda
    • Increased capital spending on active travel measures
    • A step-change in public services e.g. increases in free child-care
    • Public service pay increases to address inflation
    • A combination of all of the above

Yeah people should go around calling you names at work because some stranger who has no real idea what you do has decided it.

Do you realise how ridiculous that sounds?

I guess you are an adult as well?

Kids in the play ground would look at you if you tried to explain why you think it is ok to call people names you don't know wouldn't they?

The election will be in November. Jaysus.

It's not a nickname. The Zappone appointment was pure cronyism. His disgraced brother as Director of Strategy in RTE has major questions marks too.

Ah yes so the national spending rule created by FG isn't really a rule then. Got it 🙂

I doubt that anyone calling him "Crony Coveney" is an adult, most likely a child, or an overgrown child.

Valid points but it was a rule they set for themselves. Either change the rule, citing xyz or stick to it. There has to be some credibility to it.

You don't have to change the rule, but in my opinion, they should cite the reasons for why they are not sticking to it. In a year that the exceptions don't apply, then the rules should be followed.

Touched a nerve did I? Try responding directly to me maybe? It's a description and it's true.

The interesting bit is that FFG TDs believe Simon Harris leaked the Coveney crony appointment of Zappone to a new makey uppy role. Simon stabbed him in the back. Leo wasn't even aware of the appointment. Simon Harris derailed his rival and the rest is history. Dirty politics.

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

2nd year in a row. The rule is meaningless now.

Not sure about that. Many people in Cork are not happy that Simon Harris ruined Coveney's career by leaking the crony appointment of Zappone. They thought Coveney would be another Cork Taoiseach one day. Many votes could slide to FF.

I'd say you're a hoot at parties well maybe FG parties

I'm not changing my stance on nicknames for TDs and ye can call me what ye like

Its actually the third year in a row according to Reuters. A rule which was only introduced in 2021 and they'll have broken it three times. Lacks any credibility

https://www.reuters.com/world/europe/ireland-break-spending-rule-again-pre-election-budget-2024-07-09/

A Fine Gael seat is nailed on in Cork South Central.

Who is the biggest leaker in FG, Simon Harris or Leo?

I don't go around calling stranger nicknames to degrade them, not that pathetic

Not sure what that has to do with parties.

What a odd response, do you have that little to talk about at parties you go around telling people the nicknames you seen online of TD's?

Some "hoot" that