Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Six Points for Speeding and Mobile Phone Use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Damienmac

Really undermines the credibility of the penalty point system when you see this. You could drive around a roundabout the wrong way 12 times before a ban. Yet they want 2 speeding fines to result in the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

I've often pointed those ones out myself in the past.

To my mind, driving the wrong way on a motorway should be an automatic ban. It's certainly deserving of far more than just two penalty points.

As for the roundabout one - failure to turn left means either continuing straight ahead through the central reservation, or turning right, into the face of oncoming traffic. Either of those should surely bring more than just one penalty point.

And with mention of roundabouts - here's one I had myself a few weeks ago. The car in front of me was being driven by an older woman, who seemed a bit unsure of herself even as she approached the roundabout. She entered it okay, with a view to taking the second exit (which happened to be my intended exit too).

However, as she got to the first exit, she noticed there was another car there, with the driver waiting to enter the roundabout too. So, not only did she come to a complete halt to let that other driver in - she also then reversed a bit, to make it easier for them!

Luckily I'd left enough room for her to reverse into without hitting my car. But I've thought about it regularly since then. How does a person's mind work for them to decide that the correct thing to do is reverse on a roundabout?

Now, that woman is unlikely to ever pick up penalty points for speeding, or be involved in a high-speed crash causing serious injury or death. She'd be held up by some as an example of how such drivers are "safer". But really???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭User1998

Why is it more expensive to get insurance here with a foreign license compared to an Irish license? Maybe because foreign license drivers are involved in more incidents? Can’t think of any other reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,969 ✭✭✭User1998

I think it depends on the roundabout. Theres loads of mini roundabouts in Dublin that are just painted onto the road. If theres no one else around its really not dangerous at all to just drive straight over them or turn right over them as if they aren’t there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭extra-ordinary_

lols…sorry to break it to you, but this is not a court of law. A poster asserted that foreign drivers are actually better than native Irish drivers which I would have contention with going from my own personal experience as stated above. Only a day or two ago I notice some high-end car behaving strangely, so I gave it a wide berth and passed it out (on a motorbike) only for me to look back and see two women in Hijabs giggling at their attempts at controlling the vehicle. Anyone used to driving on the right will automatically be a greater risk when having to adapt to the opposite side of the road from what they're used to. Common sense should tell you that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,482 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

How do you know they weren't two Irish women wearing hijabs?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 748 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

Ok I'm getting sick of the less than subtle racism/xenophobia I have seen in a few thread recently. Any future examples of it will result in an 24hr ban with no warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭con___manx1

In England you can send in dash cam footage and get other drivers done for dangerous driving.

That would sort out alot of idiots on the road. I'd take pleasure in sending in the dangerous gobshites I have seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,892 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Do you often come across people driving 12 times round a roundabout the wrong way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Damienmac

No it was a bit of hyperbole to make a point.

I have seen someone drive the wrong way once, and if someone made that mistake 12 times, I think they would be a very bad driver. Much worse than someone who broke the speed limit multiple times.

Speeding is one of the leading causes of road deaths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,303 ✭✭✭kirving

I have, and they're waffle if you're looking to get to the root cause of a problem.

If you read them, you would see the hoops that the RSA jump through to avoid stating how many fatalities were actually linked to "driving above the speed limit".

Despite basing these publications on forensic collision investigation data, where detailed information on vehicle speed is a fundamental fact, they have masked it under the broad descriptor "Exceeding a safe speed", which also includes "driving too fast for the road/conditions" (driver skill level / car / tyres)

Slide 29:‘Exceeding a safe speed’ refers to driving above the speed
    limit and/or at an unsafe speed for the road/conditions

If the RSA are happy to stand behind what is now over €400M of investment in cameras which only check for drivers breaking the limit, and trying to ban drivers who are caught doing 90km/h in an 80 zone twice in three years, don't you think they could at least be able to state how many fatalities were actually caused by driving above the speed limit?

Why is it so hard for them to do? This is utterly basic information, that not even a Freedom of Information request could get them to release.

My conclusion from all of this is that that RSA are desperate to deflect from their own failings here (or they flat out don't have a clue).

Take the following 3 facts:

1. The majority of fatal collisions occur on 80-100km/h roads (page 9 of your link)
    2. There is no information to state that fatalities were actually caused by driving above the speed limit.
    3. The RSA curriculum does not train/test drivers on these roads.

The only logical conclusion is that the RSA know full well that the majority, or at least a very large percentage of exceeding a safe speed deaths were due to driving too fast for the road, not not driving above the speed limit.

The latter is breaking the law, and the former is fundamentally a training issue, which the RSA are responsible for. Rule 2 in the ROTR of "You should always take the prevailing road conditions into account." doesn't meet that responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭dontmindme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,783 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I'd assume they'll come up with some legal issue if civilians process footage, so maybe a new class of "Administrative" Gardai, with limited but specific Road Traffic training and enforcement powers is needed for ANPR and Portal processing. Much reduced entrance requirements, and equivalent to other civil servants pay and conditions (i.e. wouldn't need to be the 30 years service, general pay scales).

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

I think you’re just being unfair tbh I’ve personally seen 6 checkpoints since the start of June in my local area and only today Gardai were driving around scanning with ANPR and I witnessed 5 cars pulled over in less than 30 mins.

They’re doing a lot more than ever i think.

Vast majority of road deaths arise from a collision of one form or other, so there's a fairly strong correlation here.

It is extremely unlikely that civilians will have any decision making role around such incidents. This would be a complete change of Garda strategy with huge legal implications.

Far be it from me to defend the RSA, but I do think you're being a bit harsh. Technically, you do have a point, and yes, there is a difference between those who were exceeding the speed limit and those who weren't. From the discussions I've seen around here, I'm not convinced that those who focus on this technicality have a good faith interest in reducing road deaths. Most of the discussions I see around here are focused on continuing to allow drivers to drive however the hell they like at whatever speed they like, and when the worst happens, they'll go to great lengths to find anyone or anything else to blame other than driver behaviour.

The RSA do have pretty good research on the prevalence of breaking of speed limits.

I'm not here to defend speeding, and I don't think people should be allowed to do as they please, but catching speeders only goes so far in reducing road deaths, and I think €400M pumped into the Gardai's road policing, or better year the testing system would go a much longer way in reducing fatalities.

If speed cameras are part of the solution - I think a network of point-to-point cameras would be a much better option.

If the RSA's approach is going to be one of enforcement only, then they need to prove the link between breaking the limit, and the risk of a collision. This is because peoples lives depend on their work being a success, not because I care about drivers who can't slow down getting points. That really isn't an unreasonable ask.

The danger induced by simply breaking the limit by 10km/h on a bright sunny day, I would think is immeasurable in comparison to say taking a tight bend at only 10km/h below the limit on a ice cold winters night. Should a collision occur in either scenario, the RSA would blame speed.

I spend quite a bit doing formal problem solving, and one of the processes is:

1. Check is the Standard is good. (Standard = process rules, in this case analogous to Speed Limit).
    2. Check do you meet the Standard? (Was the driver speeding or not?)
    3. Is this a Direct Link to the problem?

Do the above for all speed related crashes - and I'd bet my bottom dollar that most fatalities were actually driving below the limit.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 53,862 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

the thing about speeding is it's a simple, easy metric. you can't measure the other factors in a collision as cleanly. so we default to speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Its not that they wouldn't attend. They couldn't as they had a bout of oil leak. The dripping sump is a worse dose than what poor Dee Forbes caught; clap from live audiences.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭Raichų

sorry but it’s been proven and studied to death now that even 10km/h can make the difference between life or death in a collision.

I believe the RSA has done studies to indicate and confirm by now that if you hit a pedestrian at 50km/h they have a much better chance of being ok than 60km/h. The 10km difference could literally mean they are killed stone dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

I couldn't agree more !

The speed of cars outside schools and creches as Children are being dropped off and picked up is unreal, any toddler can run out from behind a car in a split second while the Mother is strapping the other Child in but drivers speeding often with their own Children are completely clueless.

Add to your list the ever increasing amounts of digital entertainment in cars, bigger touch screens in many cars now than you'd find in Homes 30 years ago, it's ridiculous, many of the cars functions now in menus and even digital instrument clusters with information overload and endless menus and customisation.

We really are at the point where they keep throwing technology into cars just for the sake of it with no real benefit to actual driving. They are charging a pretty penny for it too.

I'd be happy with a 1 year driving ban for someone caught on their phones, I've seen countless times people using phones while driving for a long time, in the middle lane of the N7 at 60 Km/h oblivious to their surroundings. N7 and even country roads, I was nearly ran off the road one evening last year after collecting my Sons from their Grandmothers house and this lad speeding down a motorway bridge on his phone oblivious that the road narrowed ahead, only for the fact I usually pull into a farm entrance when I see people drive down this bridge he would have wiped us off the road because 2 cars can't pass at any speed and one normally pulls in.

Worse now is the introduction of driver aids such as adaptive cruse and lane assist where you only have to grab the steering every 15 seconds or so, this technology is making people far worse drivers and dumb than having any impact on safety because little do many people know that adaptive cruise control will not and cannot prevent an accident if the car in front stops too hard, laws of physics apply and no bit of silicone can change this !

rather than introduce more technology that encourages drivers to act so irresponsibility they should be providing proper driver training and awareness to the dangers of mobile phone use and indeed the ever increasing amounts of tech in cars, screens, menus etc, it's all distracting but for phone use I would support a 1 year ban, not points but an all out ban.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 43,891 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Once everything in a car becomes digitised then it will be monetised. You'll pay a subscription to use the equipment. (and this is not a conspiracy theory!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Banzai600

HAMMER ppl on phones, absolutely. UK brought in the cameras that can detect drivers on mobile phones. Why not here ? Im sick to my back teeth of RSA, they never address the issue, i counted in one trip last week over the m50, 19 ppl on mobile phones in a 25 min hop across it - zero enforcement. City centre is easily double that. RSA blame every accident on speeding the way i see it. What about drugs, drink etc ? was there not a post here recently someone posted somewhere about fudged or inaccurate info re RSA stats ?

I ride motorbikes mostly, and do have a small dinky 1 ltr to save the planet too.

I seen a guy miss the wall on m50 by inches last week, in a poxy Tesleeh , on the phone, yet the car has all the tech for connectivity, another woman mount a roundabout in a range rover , on the phone, in her hand , same thing. traffic motorbike cops can see what i see, yet ppl literally dont give a toss, truck drivers, coach drivers with ppl on board etc. ive had cars almost take me out in my lane on the motorbike on the m50, drifting while on the phone.

this morning passed two ppl smoking a joint in traffic this morning, windows down, a joint the size of a poxy flute, neither gave a fvck, and both workers in work vans ? So driving stoned and going to work stoned ? See it regular, you'd be amazed what you see travelling by motorbike through the city or M50 - the bang of weed is constant from cars. More employers need to be testing their employees too , or is that too far?

re penalty points, they are fine as is, make fines higher. and for the record i dont have any, 3 that expired - overtaking a guy on a phone, and the cop does me, for 15k over the limit on an empty road ? boils my p1ss. I get reefed in, your man drives by, phone on his right leg.

ppl talking about schools, the "parents" in our area are wreckless, they hammer in 50 kmh zones, easily doing 80 kmh in residential area to get their precious to school on time while forsaking safety to all around them and others. nuts. then at the weekends with the sports, ignoring pedestrian lights, driving over traffic islands etc… we've an issue in our estate, the avenue is long ish with a bend, and they are flying, women, men, their kids etc drivingIts 15 kmh, some of them doing easily 60/80 wihout a doubt, and then braking for a stop sign to exit the estate. we've a few elderly neighbours who cant walk to quick, and cross outside out hpuse, its only a matter of time. ive called local cops, and reported it to councilors. one of the other neighbours said about knocking on doors, telling ppl to slow down, then going further if they dont heed the warning - i could see him taking the wheels off cars , he's that kinda of a guy.

Speeding fines in Ireland are ridiculous and make no sense, whether doing 10 or 50 km/h over the limit it's the same fine and points.

We need a system where by speeding in town gets 6 points 500 Euro fine and speeding on the motorway 2 points and maybe 40 Euro fine.

This is the system they use in Germany, + they have many fixed speed traps in towns and villages + they have a 40 Km/r limit in these towns and villages. %

The 80 Km/h limit on rural roads is ridiculous, should be 60 km/h Max, though I heard on KFM yesterday where the limit on rural roads will come down from 2025 but not sure if it will be 60. No good without enforcement.

I remember a time a Guard would be hiding behind some building in nearly every town in Ireland !

https://www.carscoops.com/2023/11/audi-will-roll-out-more-subscription-features-in-2024/

Yep more will follow suit but they can shove it up their holes before I pay a cent per month for any of the car functions.

Worse is the fact the cars will have all the tech and we'll still have to pay for it to be there then pay per month to actually use it ? they're having a laugh.

Mary Barra CEO of GM came out recently and said they saw an advantage during covid and the chip shortage where they couldn't produce as many cars saw prices increase making huge profits, then she admits to deliberately cutting production to keep these profits rolling, absolutely disgraceful and one reason I won't ever buy a new car again is because we're being ripped off, Government extortion taxes and Corporate greed. Money is far better in my pocket but the amount of money Irish people are willing to throw away on cars is mind boggling.

Speaking of Motorbikes, just got into them myself, passed IBT last August, Riding Tmax since around April, it's given me plenty of needed practice and I love the experience, doing around 280 Kms on 20 Euro worth of petrol too anyway, the point is being on a motorbike it's really noticeable the smell of weed from cars passing and I noticed it in Carlow Town a couple of times when out with the bike Instructor.

But taking your eyes off the road has got to be much worse than driving with "some" alcohol not that I condone it just trying to make the point that even with some alcohol you got more control over the car, when your eyes are glued to a screen you have no control over the car, at 120 Km/h 10 seconds looking at the screen is a lot of road not seen.

Screen addiction is really serious, 2 weeks ago I was in a garage getting a sambo for lunch and I got into the car and this Woman pulled up to fill the car, got out of the car, face in phone, filled the car while face in phone walked into pay with face in phone, probably walked back to the car with face in phone, it's gone really insane……

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,658 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Yes, IN a collision. You're making the assumption that a collision has already happened, and THEN seeing if speed can influence the outcome. Well, of course it does in that case. If you don't crash, then 10km/h over/under the limit doesn't matter, does it?

The point is, that the RSA's approach only trains and incentivises drivers (via punishment) to drive below the limit, and no less.

How many fatal collisions occurred, where "speeding" was listed as a causation factor, were actually due to a driver driving below the limit, but too fast for the conditions?