Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Dangerous Dogs Owners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,139 ✭✭✭✭walshb

wtf is the story about the atttack being filmed? A young woman being horrifically killed by a savage dog, and someone has a phone recording it?

Absolutely baffling. People are fooking weird. Stupidly weird. “No no, he’s great with the kids, particularly the smaller ones.”😖🤔

It’s like having a loaded gun on the couch and hoping nobody accidentally discharges it when sitting down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭standardg60

No it was on CCTV that was accessed remotely.

It was said she lived with her partner so assume it was them.

Only two nites ago American bulldog/pitbull in an estate beside mine got out and killed another dog that two young children were playing with. Lucky it was just a dog that was killed!!! Killers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,697 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

The government needs to seriously invest in dog wardens. County councils should have at least 3 or 4 dog wardens actually on patrol in towns,villages, parks,estates etc where you'll actually find these dogs. You won't catch people with dogs off leads,no muzzles or dog fouling without being out and about. I seen there's only 50 full time dog wardens in the country and works out at one warden for every 3000 dogs, you'll never get a grasp on this without proper investment and enforcing. I suspect the government will do the usual kick the can down the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭ForestFire

I'm surprised there is even 50 full time dog wardens tbh.

So what do they do all day, how many of these restricted breeds and impounded or fined for not have mussels etc. because if I was to walk around for 8 hrs a day I'm sure I find a few everyday the town I'm in.

Even in the local park 2 days ago with mandatory leads at all times) there was a labrador or golden retriever off the lead, miles away from owner who was whistling and calling with no effect....I presume there's at least a fine for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,617 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Are muzzles compulsory in Ireland now for pitbulls?

I was just at local supermarket and saw a woman walking a pit bull with no muzzle. On a leash, yes but not muzzled. It was a strong looking thing. 4 wee bent legs that appeared to struggle under its weight.

And we know what little kids can be like, messing with a dog, perhaps slapping it?

It could be a very innocent thing a child might do to a Bully to set it off. As already said by many, the dog doesn't know the kid is messing, it's an animal and if provoked enough will defend itself, however it feels the need to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,112 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I guess their feet would hardly touch the ground driving around to every dog there's a complaint about, catching strays and door to door checking licences they'd hardly have the time to patrol any park. 50 for the entire country is a drop in the ocean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,427 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Those dullards couldn't comprehend the concept of logic never mind have any.

Muzzles are compulsory for certain breeds. Pit bull type needs to be muzzled at all times out in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,852 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I thought so for many dangerous breeds compulsory

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,451 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

If a dog has to wear a muzzle in public, they aren't safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,774 ✭✭✭saabsaab

The ones I've seen out in public often have leads but no muzzles.

Yip, as I witnessed tonight.

Laws in Ireland seem to be something that only applies to 'other people'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Just heard on the news that the Gardai have warned about sharing images of the attack. Just what is wrong with people, talk about a bad breed.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭Quitelife

like everything else it’s mostly criminals have these pitbulls for protection or intimidation of others and authorities are slow to go after them in case they’ll be accused of discrimination , complain to GSOC etc …ireland is a criminals and pitbulls paradise ….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,451 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Heartbreaking vigil held by the deceased person's family. They all posed for the cameras holding balloons. Heartbreaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,852 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The down side of social media, some folks just share way too much, Facebook is toxic

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Hank the DJ

We can't control dogshìt in dog parks nevermind controlling these type of dogs, need a much harder approach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭lmao10

A fair few areas in Dublin are like obstacle courses trying to avoid the dog sh*t on the street. That alone should tell everyone that a lot of people just can't be trusted to act appropriately and responsibly with dogs. I've never even been a fan of having dogs in the first place. Every day you see people walking around with their dogs pissing in every direction. It's comical when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,090 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I have plans to become a billionaire so if I die young, make sure to get the priest to tell the media that. 😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

No disrespect. But I genuinely hardly ever see Dog s#@t on a footpath.

I see a lot in grassy areas etc. my Dog goes in the grass verges and actually usually on top of a big weed. If I took my garden sheers with me I could probably pick it up!? Hence I never do and am totally unapologetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭BagofWeed

As I bark through the valley of the shadow of death
    I take a look at my life and realize there's nothin' left
    'Cause I've been bitin' and fightin' so long that
    Even the dog warden thinks that my mind is gone

But I ain't never bit a man that didn't deserve it

Livin' in a pitbull's paradise
    Been spendin' most their lives
    Livin' in a pitbull's paradise

They say I gotta learn, but nobody's here to teach me
    If they can't understand it, how can they reach me?

Tell me why are ye so blind to see
    That the ones who step into my poo and pee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

Do you know anything about dogs? Why they cost so much? Why they take so much time? How much it costs to go the vet?

My dog cost me over e2k to buy. We have vets fees, grooming fees (80e), kennel fees (when we have two difficult days in a row, funeral or wedding), her food costs have doubled in a year, she gets an hours walk in the morning. All sorts of petting and treats. Vaccination and worming. As a result we havent had a holiday in 5 years. Training takes time and effort. I would say she costs us between e1k and e1.7k a year depending on the year. She also acts as my service dog, a snip for the joy she brings us.

So while a bitch is gestating, there is a lot more food, vets fees and associated work. Shure you can get one from the pound for a small donation. If you want to know your animal came from a good home, had proper nutrition, properly housed and bedded, you will pay that money. Dogs dont magically fall out of thin air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭TobyHolmes

children should be taught how to interact with animals- that is a parents responsibility. regardless- that scenario has little to do with what happened tp this poor girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

You are correct, you know nothing about guns or shotguns.

A "solid" shot is a wad of lead used for blowing the bolts and hinges for breeching doors (Military/Police use, restricted). SA no 1 has about 9 ball bearings (should be lead but now changing to steel) and No.6 is used for small game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭TobyHolmes

not neccessarily. some are reactive and since you cant control all factors its a precaution. by the way some humans need a muzzle but they are also out and about without one.