Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

European Parliament Elections 2024 - Friday, June 7th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭wazzzledazzle

She's no good. She's like McCullagh. Show pony.

Voice would do your head in too. She's for a different thread though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,849 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

I'd say she'll be doing her best to talk more about Gaza than about Russia. I see she got a few endorsements in the last week or so (Susan Sarandon, Norman Finkelstein) for what that's worth.

If she's asked about Russia she'll likely do her usual trick

1. "I have always been critical of the Russian attack on Ukraine"
    2. "….but anyway NATO, Joe Biden, Israel, NATO, NATO"

Somebody should definitely ask her follow up questions and that should be the host of the debate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Fair enough. Though it was okay (it was the South constituency candidates afair). I suppose they have a few key things to do, try to keep order (as said it is difficult if some politicians are not amenable and just want to have a row + cause havok), cut off politicians that waffle and refocus them on answering the questions, maybe drill down further into the answers if we (the viewers) are very lucky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,466 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I heard Ivan Yates saying the other Sinn Fein Dublin candidate, Daithi Doolan was chosen to appear on the debate tonight.

But I've seen on twitter that Lynn Boylan is now the SF rep.

Panic stations in SF ? I suspect Lynn wished she was running solo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭StormForce13

So he's a small "i" Independent! I've learned as lot about him here in the past few hours; none of it positive.

I reckon that I'll give my number 1 to a candidate with a less expensively groomed hairstyle! (And I don't mean Wallace!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,135 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

On McNamara's own website, he lists agriculture / farming and renewable energy as his two main priorities in this election. The far right lads have somehow got it into their heads he is an Irish National Party or GB News type.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,466 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Barry Andrews comparing Sinn Fein with Nigel Farage was quite bizarre.

Do the parties pick their worst politicians to run in the European Elections?

Not sure what to make that debate last night. Certainly compared to the candidates in MNW the level of candidate seemed to be higher. I don't think anyone had a particularly bad night. I must say that Miriam O'Callaghan's questions in particular were annoying me. I don't know if she writes them herself but they were all just "gotcha" type questions. Like "You said X but your party did Y. Does that not make you a hypocrite?"

I dunno maybe it's the format of it. 8 people is a lot. I understand you don't want to just let them reel off slogans but what does anyone ever learn from a 10 second response before they are cut off.

In a world of Youtube could they not have 1 on 1 interviews where a host interviews a single candidate for half an hour and asks lot of follow up questions where they drill into topics. I understand that that wouldn't be for everyone but it would really allow those that are interested to listen to any of the candidates that they are considering and really get a feel for them.

These people are auditioning for a job that requires no debating. It does require thoughtful consideration of ideas and technical topics. We don't learn anything about how they might fare at those from this kind of format.

I said it in a previous post Brussels, she's a show pony. No use whatsoever

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

No candidate has the ability to really put forward a clear view of who they are and what they are about in this format so it's just sound bites and snarky retorts to other candidates.

Anyone whose voting choice is significantly altered by what they see in these Group debates is almost by definition a "low information voter".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,107 ✭✭✭Christy42

Is there a difference between the various far right groups that have popped up? Surely while you know you are in the minority you combine to max your reach and at least make it seem a bit bigger.

I admit I would not be crediting them with the best planning ever. Hoping bookies are wrong about Mullooly but we will see. I have worried about the right riding in Ireland since Brexit. It seemed illogical to assume we were immune to the same motivations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,777 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Some of them want to summarily execute other politicians, others only want to imprison them without trial.

That's about the old difference between a lot of them.

I think most of them are about the egos of the party leaders more than the actual policy differences. Everybody wants to be the Fuhrer.

I suspect in the future there will be a single party that will consolidate that support. It might take another election or two for that to happen.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

We've been saying that for years about the various Trot parties etc.

Not sure they'll ever coalesce under a single banner.

What may happen though is a party with smarter people involved might consolidate the support for those niche groups by finding a spot somewhere between reality and wherever these guys currently reside that gets more people to vote for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Hoping bookies are wrong about Mullooly but we will see.

I wouldn't be worried about Mulooly, I see very little sign of anything 'right wing' about him. Seems more a successor to Marian Harkin as MNW's 'community activist' MEP. Here he is distancing himself from his 'party' on immigration

I wouldn't be surprised if he cut his ties with Independent Ireland soon after being elected if he is…

No I don't think the far-left will ever coalesce either. I think the far-left parties tend to disagree over actual policy differences though. The fact that it's not about wanting to be the leader is evidenced by the fact that the groupings often don't even have leaders. That's the case with all of PBP, Solidarity and I4C.

Far easier for the far-right to coalesece since they often want the same things (typically to bring the country culturally and demographically back to the 1950s). They are currently in their arse-sniffing phase though. A strong leader will eventually emerge from that and draw people toward them (that's often how it goes in other countries anyway)

• Administrators Posts: 55,278 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Have people been receiving much election material for this election? I have to say we've got very little. I'm in Ireland South and only FG, FF, SF and IFP have put anything through our door.

You would be hard pressed to know that there were any other candidates running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,218 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Never seen as little election material dropped in or as little canvassing.

Only the greens and Soc Dems.

I'm Ireland South as well.

I've gotten something from all the main parties plus a few of the Independents/small parties , but not much

Michael McNamara (I'm in Clare so this is his home patch ) , Michael Leahy from IFP and Ciaran O'Riordan are the only ones that I got any kind of stuff through the letterbox.

Nothing from Aontu , Mick Wallace etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Got a fair bit but not great reading. Ming, Walsh, Saoirse, Casey, O'Reilly, Reynolds from memory. Prob got the FF crew too but didn't look at it.

Postwoman was delivering them. She had a new bundle every day. It meant she had to stop at every door which didn't impress her. I don't think An Post should be delivering election leaflets.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

I'm in Dublin and have been plagued with the stuff. FF in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,665 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I've never seen deader elections.
    All of them seem to be treading water ahead of the GE.

Keep the bin lids shut, no excess bird feed in the garden and plant wild garlic. Otherwise you'll never keep the FFers away.

An Post are paid well for the leaflets and it would be a hit to lose that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,291 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Yeah Mullooly can't be called far right whatsoever.

Mc Namara, Peader and Eddie Punch are all generic enough conservatives , only Boylan has played footsie with the far right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭blackwhite

Dublin also, and think we've had a leaflet in the post from nearly all of the Euro candidates at this stage, as well as close to a dozen from LE candidates.

Only two canvasser ring the doorbell so far though - FF around 6.30pm one evening and FG one afternoon - both on weekdays

I have never got as much. A lot though are specific to either local or Euro. Got a total of 8 leaflets in the door yesterday. A fcuking nuisance is what they are at this stage (Kildare)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,977 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

An Post have to also deliver only one candidate's leaflet each day. They can't deliver more than one. Crazy stuff.

That can't be true. I received 3 different Euro candidate's flyers in my letterbox yesterday morning with my post.

Maybe it is a rule more broken than observed.

Maybe having to do every house on a route is much more than normal capacity.

That's the guidelines they are given but some postmen and postwoman ignore it. Massive overhead otherwise. Are you rural?