Monaghan GAA Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I forgot all about that the Championship starts on Sunday . Luckily it’s on Rte 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79,416 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Yes, a banana skin game. Cavan will treat it as an Ulster Final. Beggan rumoured to be back in camp. If they play him it won't do much for the confidence of the new lad.

well beat in the end , but I don’t see them getting past Tyrone

Going nowhere at the minute. Awful collapse when a bit of calm would have won the game

I was expecting to be somewhat competitive against Kerry , but listening on the radio , It was like a challenge match .

I pity anyone who drove down to it . A LONG drive home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭manofwisdom

Conor McManus what a footballer and long career he had with Monaghan.

https://www.monaghangaa.ie/2025/01/conor-mc-manus-calls-time/

A huge contribution in more ways than just scoring. We might wait a long time to see his likes again in these parts. Enjoy retirement Conor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭FullBack Jam

Amazing player. Big loss to the game now. Got some incredible scores. Especially that one from the sideline against Tyrone. He could do what most other players could only dream of.

Year in division 2 has went well and back up to d’iv1 next year . I don’t think it was ever in doubt but it should refresh the squad

Division 2 final in headquarters next week .

I wasn’t at the Donegal game and followed on the radio , but from what I saw ( the Sunday game ) technically the ref was right . Whoever was taking the line ball was looking and wondering who to pass it to instead of putting it into play . Should have just hail mary-ed it . To a free man even the keeper to have possession . If that’s how the rule works . Live and learn

Yes, ref was right ultimately but it showed up the problems.

New rules new lessons.
    It was an encouraging performance from Monaghan and there are a few miles left in them yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,796 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

go handy now tomorrow lads , down beat louth tonight so its a straight shoot out between us and them in round 3 regardless of tomorrow

we are missing a few so hopefully peter keane rests the remaining key players on the panel we had a great battle a few years ago in clones where conor mccarthy scored a late screamer of a goal to beat us in the championship tomorrow will be the total opposite ,

Clare support not travelling is a sign of lack of confidence. Monaghan love making hard work of teams they should beat, so we'll see. Sun is shining here in Clones!

I see our wonky shooting boots have returned . Only listened on the wireless but the wides sounded desperate . I hope it 's getting it out of the way for later

Quite windy and a swirly one today. But yeh, need to be more accurate. Clare flattered a bit by the late goal, very good second half from Monaghan

we are in complete transition , we are basically hanging on by our fingernails at this level then throw in 5 players missing for the game today ,

personally we i would be happy with our showing today, despite the second half performance , we are without our goalkeeper for the year and darragh bohannon our best midfielder , i am not saying they would have got the better of mcardle but we got destroyed for the first 20 minutes of the second half today in midfield

conor mccarthy is some man ,beggin is a weapon and a half too ,

drew wylies sister is married down here too she will be delighted tonight too 😊

we are poor at the moment , but in fairness that was a good second half , michael mcarvile put in a huge show in midfield , i personally taught it would be much worse ,we were missing 4 or 5 lads today, ye will beat down good and all as they have been all year since the end of the league

Yeh, you can see Clare are going in the right direction. I was nervy about that game as Monaghan can struggle against teams like that and did for a half yesterday,

Once the Wylie bloodstock starts coming through you could have an All Ireland in yiz! 😁

It could go the opposite way giving people with Monaghan blood hurls .

An absolute blood bath 😁

Funny girl.

Facebook

Congratulations to Scotstown , Ulster champions

Nearly blew it. But their big men stood up. Could go all the way now.

Nice enough start , Division 2 champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,468 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Youse will all love this -

Monaghan vs Dublin: NFL Record Since 2017

Summary Stats
    Matches played: 6
    Monaghan Wins: 4
    Dublin Wins: 1
    Draws: 1

MONAGHAN WINS

2024: Monaghan 3-09 vs Dublin 1-14 (Croke Park)

Round: Division 1, Round 1
    Source: GAA.ie (Jan 2024)

Match Note: A last-gasp winner from Ciaran McNulty secured a one-point victory at HQ. Goals from McNulty, Jack McCarron, and Stephen O’Hanlon.

2022: Monaghan 3-13 vs Dublin 1-18 (Clones)

Round: Division 1, Round 7
    Source: Irish Mirror / GAA.ie (March 2022)

Match Note: Known as the relegation final. Jack McCarron’s 2-06 and a late wonder-point kept Monaghan up and sent Dublin down to Division 2.

2019: Monaghan 2-13 vs Dublin 1-13 (Clones)

Round: Division 1, Round 1
    Source: Sky Sports (Jan 2019)

Match Note: Monaghan handed the All-Ireland champions an opening-day defeat at St Tiernach's Park with goals from Stephen O’Hanlon and Shane Carey.

2018: Monaghan 2-12 vs Dublin 0-17 

(Croke Park)Round: Division 1, Round Source: Dublin GAA (March 2018)

Match Note: Fintan Kelly scored a 74th-minute winner to end Dublin’s long-standing unbeaten league run.

DRAWS

2020: Monaghan 1-15 vs Dublin 1-15 (Croke Park)

Round: Division 1, Round 3
    Source: RTÉ Sport (Feb 2020)

Match Note: Monaghan surrendered a nine-point lead in the final ten minutes, with Dublin snatching a draw via a late David Byrne point.

DUBLIN WINS

2017: Monaghan 1-10 vs Dublin 2-15 (Clones)

Round: Division 1, Round 7
    Source: Dublin GAA (April 2017)

Match Note: Dublin’s only league win over Monaghan in the last eight years. Goals from Jack McCaffrey and Bernard Brogan.
    Note on Gaps: The teams did not meet in the league in 2021 (regionalised format) or 2023 (Dublin were in Division 2).

A Valentine’s Day massacre on the cards for the Dubs? I might leave after the Louth match!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.