Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭GetupyeaBowsie

So RTÉ shouldn't report this issue because it doesn't suit your liking or because Spain/Belgium aren't covering this.

Thankfully you're not the editor-in-chief in RTE or any news organisation … This issue(crisis) is probably the most commented thread on boards, most talked on Reddit, covered by Euronews , BBC, The Guardian , The Telegraph etc… . Huge political topic especially since the UK/Ireland rift but sure everyone is overreacting!!

Imagine been so over fussed about the coverage of a crisis rather than the actually issue itself?? It gives me thought some people would rather this crisis be hushed and kept under wrapped…

• Registered Users Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭Quags

The Government have places for them to go where they provide all this plus more but they keep leaving and surely at some stage you would think that they stop all payments and everyone who is coming here will be put into places and fed/watered etc and if you decode to leave then your on your own

• Registered Users Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

It's a forced removal from the state, aka a deportation, in my book.

Do you think they weren't aware there was a two year old Irish citizen there when they raided the house, while the father was out working?

The article suggests similar deportations were happening with some regularity.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2004/nov/28/theobserver

• Registered Users Posts: 33,356 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Was listening to a bit on Morning Ireland today, they were chatting to a refugee who came to Ireland.

He described how he first when to Turkey, then Bulgaria, then Hungary then Switzerland, then France, then the UK, then Ireland.

Didn't hear 100% of the interview, but at no point did the rte interviewer ask him why he passed through so many safe countries? Its this lack of interrogation and tough questions that are feeding the anti immigration brigade.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

What's mad is the government's lack in ability to plan for such situations. It's not like it's just happened overnight, these people haven't just appeared out of thin air. The whole process stinks and no one "in charge" looks like they have a clue in what to do next.

What's mad is our politicians and some posters here having an attitude of there's nothing to see here, move along.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Geert von Instetten

The fact that the EU is content to designate multiple countries as ‘safe’ that the Government have refused to, for example, Nigeria, certainly demonstrates the established level of Government resistance to policies that would reduce asylum. The UK has listed Nigeria as a ‘safe’ country for male asylum seekers for years.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭Augme

The government don't have places for them to go . The number of new arrivals is far stripping accommodation available. Just over 1,800 are still waiting on an offer of accommodation.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

I think you are correct here.

Although there is a balancing act to play because as the number of new IPAs increases over summer, the backlog of unprocessed/unhoused applicants will grow and grow.

Meaning each month that goes by will see more tents on the streets and more discontent amongst the electorate.

The govt could appease the electorate to a point, if they at least announced the locations or a solid plan to accommodate and process the IPAs, ahead of the election.

I think saying nothing whilst the problem builds, and it will build, would result in more dissatisfaction from the electorate vs laying out a strutured plan with timelines.

The plan may annoy the locals that are impacted, but will appease the mass electorate, who are not impacted by the new camps.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭DeadHand

I think there's a lack of understanding among our decision makers and the few heroes still defending their immorality as to how big the world is and how many people are in it.

As to how many would rather be here than where they are and are capable of coming here.

This influx will not stop. It will accelerate expontially. It has the potential to collapse the systems and infrastructure of this State before the social and moral ramifications of reducing the Irish nation on its own island are even considered.

It will not stop until it is stopped.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Denmark is breaking the law.

Also not policies we could consider here, with our economy so dependent on EU policies being lenient on our approach to FDI.

https://migrant-integration.ec.europa.eu/news/denmark-european-court-human-rights-says-three-year-rule-violates-refugees-right-family-life_en

• Registered Users Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Everyone gets this though. Nobody is disputing the existence of a problem in how we actually handle people who land here. But what can be done to actually appease people? You only have to look at this thread to see that it pretty much doesn't matter what happens from day to day — everything is complaint. Nothing short of the sheer perfection of Ireland's handling an elevation of refugees being experienced across Europe is tolerated on here.

Put the asylum seekers in a facility and people will complain about the facility destroying a community, or it's too plushy and not dark and horrid enough, or the existence of a facility only encourages the building of more facilities and the arrival of more asylum seekers. People will complain about Irish people sleeping rough while migrants get a nice facility.

Have the asylum seekers put in other buildings as an overflow to the facility and people will protest and complain that its another rural or working class urban area being destroyed.

Have the asylum seekers put in a building in D4 and people will complain about the expense and complain why the asylum seekers get to live in leafy Southside Dublin close to nice amenities.

Have the asylum seekers on the streets and people will complain about them being a horrible eyesore and making the streets unsafe.

There doesn't really seem to be anywhere you can put them without it being a joke.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Exactly. And last week saw 610 new arrivals.

Thats an annual rate of over 30k if it continued, so we need to be planning for those kind of numbers.

The govt have already said their processing team can only sustain 14k applications annually.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭star61

I wouldn’t think so….Would it ?

What do you think ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭dmakc

Honestly, would you ever give over on Ireland not being able to defend itself from IPA's due to "dependency on the EU" angle, you clearly have no idea on whether this is the case.

Simply put, it's yet another high-level half baked thought plucked from the sky to suit your narrative. Ireland's position in the EU would be just fine regardless of enacting policies that we succeeded in preserving a choice for, have you any evidence to indicate otherwise? Or is it yet another lie from you?

Are we fine with the alternative of wasting billions of the IPA industry? Are our EU blackmailers (as you would infer) jumping at the chance to save us from the UK/Rwanda fallout?

EDIT: The link reads like Denmark are doing the best to protect their ethnic population, believing "no law should be above Danish law", whilst the virtue signalling industry take them to court. For me the bottom line from the article; "This has led to some returning home to be reunited". Fair play Denmark for having some guts.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭Geert von Instetten

• Registered Users Posts: 33,356 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I notice all the pitched tents are the same, so obviously these IPAs are being given a tent by some NGO or government agency?

Perhaps if they weren't handed a tent, but instead told to go to X, where they will be processed and taken by bus to Y, it would save the hassle of the tents being erected in town, the gardai having to clear them all, and tents being binned, and the men being bussed later?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Ill consider it a tax rebate. I've been paying top end rate for half my working life and they're getting housed sing mine and your tax regardless.

Call it hypocritical but I very much don't care tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭Quags

Well then why don't they stop taking them in if they know they cant provide them with places to go. Its madness at this rate

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Northernlily

This is an excellent point. Pure hypocrisy.

Meanwhile we're all breaking our balls bringing empty cans and bottles to reclaim our 15 cent on machines that don't work half the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Northernlily

Tell ya one thing. These canal tent folk brought the good weather with them!

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭GetupyeaBowsie

Unfortunately, commented on the Ireland immigration forum(Now closed) I've travelled deep into this rabbithole supplying multiple links and proper information regarding Denmark's model including other suggestions to some posters that are active on this thread.

Once you stated the facts, the sympathy/classic have a heart comments will begin..
    I've no problem pulling up some of the comments replying to me if that's allowed but it's there -

The end game debate looks like this -
    "Sure IPA's aren't harming you or anyone else, even if they working off the books even better "
    "Do we just let these people die or ship them off to their deaths"
    "We deserve people arriving here because of our tax heaven economy "

I've stop wasting my time trying to put a middleline point/argument to these posters, no reasoning or middle ground with some folk here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

A misplaced idea that individuals are personally generous if they approve of their country accepting any amount of people is largely to blame.

It's like the country's immigration policies were drawn up by a group of well meaning transition year students.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,965 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

because not taking them in isn't an option with the current rules, and if someone has no documentation you can't deport them, surely everyone knows this by now?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Others also say:

Immigration centre next door to me, didn't see/hear anything so they're fine by me to open more.

Ah sure I don't hear any other countries complaining so why are we.

Took a walk through the Grand Canal area, saw a couple of hidden tents.. sure there's no problem there..

• Registered Users Posts: 344 ✭✭sekiro

If an Irish citizen wanted to rent a place then they are actually in competition with the government who want to pay the rent on behalf of a non-irish citizen.

The government is actually pricing taxpayers out of the rental market using taxpayer money.

That's completely mind-blowing when you actually sit down and think about it.

Work hard. Pay tax. Government uses your tax money to compete against you for housing and services.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,552 ✭✭✭baldbear

Goofle, Páirc Mhuire residents association in Newbridge, Co Kildare. Maybe attend one of their meetings and ask where do you sign up to take in some IPAs.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,008 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,375 ✭✭✭suvigirl

The government have been doing this for years. And buying houses in competition with private buyers.

government outsourced social housing to private developers years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,651 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Wasn't this done in the UK also, local Govt. buying up properties to house migrants thus creating Ghetto's and completely crowding out the remaining local population?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/with-that-sort-of-money-nobody-will-be-able-to-afford-to-rent-a-house-kildare-residents-fear-asylum-seeker-housing-plan-will-limit-rent-supply/a1554974606.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Well, the issue is being used as a bit of an election season drama in the British media — including being gleefully jumped on by the likes of GB News to soothe the feelings of damaged pride that certain sections of the Brexiteer class have felt about Paddy being seen to get one over his betters in London re Brexit (Jacob Rees Mogg appeared to have what could be described as an intellectual orgasm over the revenge porn of Dublin having not rolled over for the Brexiteers and getting the karma we deserved for our insolence — "this is glorious" to use his terms).

I tend to watch more right-leaning stuff in the news and on YouTube etc and from videos there, from the likes of GB News and Daily Mail etc, you'd think that Dublin was currently overwhelmed by endless seas of tents and that people are up in arms. In reality, life is going on around Dublin fairly as normal as the authorities figure out how to tackle an issue which is problematic but not causing the levels of disruption and sheer horror being made out in some reports.