Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you change a wheel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Changed a tyre on my last week, even with a extension bar I had to jump up and down on it just to get every nut loose, over tightened by garage with gun is the problem

Couldn't see many women doing this better just phoning your insurance company break down service and get them to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

wise advice, you sound exactly like my late Dad, all safety bases covered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,049 ✭✭✭blackbox

This unfortunately is a common problem. I always loosen the nuts and torque them properly after a visit to a tyre place.

Obviously they are afraid of a claim of a wheel coming off more than of a complaint for being too tight.

They have the equipment. I don't understand why they can't tighten to manufacturers specification.

back in the day, without the security bolts etc, and with lighter cars, it was very doable for a woman (on account of physical musculature) or less muscular man to change a wheel. Any time I could I would take the opportunity of showing people how to do stuff (if they were physically able of course) rather than doing it for them. As a poster above said re an ungrateful bunch of girls in Kildare Village, people can sometimes get resentful or play helpless if they can’t do something themselves; therefore I like to see people empowered to do things themselves,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭Mo Ghile Mear

This is my story too. I’ve changed my own wheels a few times but was fortunate enough that it didn’t happen too often. Over the years wheels got wider and heavier and I got a bit less agile so now I wouldn’t even attempt it. I’d ring my roadside assistance number and just wait for them. I can’t understand young fit women not knowing how to do it but I agree that the nuts might be too tight if you hadn’t a proper lever and even then you mightn’t budge them. And you need a proper pull-ups and old jkt in the boot to pull on over your clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,619 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Would a woman in her own want to be assisted by strange man nowadays?

Years ago I would stop no problem to change a tyre for someone unable to, however nowadays if I'm travelling alone I won't stop to help a lone female

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭Meeoow

I'm a woman, and I can change a car wheel. I know plenty of men who can't cage a wheel, or even check oil or coolant levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Yes on both counts but I agree re comments on wheel nuts. They can be a hoor to shift with the standard crappy tool supplied with most cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,193 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,899 ✭✭✭✭elperello

If another driver is alone on the side of the road and obviously in a spot of bother it's no harm to stop.

Even if you can't physically help at least you are not leaving them prey to some of the very dodgy people who are out there.

A bit of encouragement and friendly advice can be a help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,875 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

A few posters above saying they changed a tyre at the side of the road - I wonder what size tyre levers they carry? 😀

Agree on always carrying a 12V air compressor. I also carry a tyre plug set, as the tyre might not hold pressure long enough to drive very far.

I have only had to change a wheel once in over 20 years (pothole blowout).

Whereas many drivers might struggle to change a wheel, everyone able-bodied can and should check tyre pressures on a regular basis - but do they… ?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭surrender monkey

I am woman and I can change a wheel I've also stopped to help another woman on the side of the road in torrential rain .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭bop1977

i can change a wheel.

i picked one of these up in Lidl a while ago and keep it in the center console. it has a tyre pressure gauge, seatbelt cutter. window breaker and tyre thread depth measuring stick

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭bigtimecharlie

Yes I can change a wheel, but hope I don't have to do it on my car as I have no spare and use run flat tyres.

Was in a shopping center car park last week, AA attending a 241 car for a tyre change. It was a female driver but I did wonder if she looked for help or just went with AA as part of the new car purchase.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,339 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Yes and yes. I have stopped for men and women to assist them.

My mother, in her 70s couldn't change her wheel and got caught a couple of times, needing assistance. I bought her an electric Jack thing, and a longer bar, she can do it now. I would still like to think someone would stop to help her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,875 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭almostover

Always carry a breaker bar and 19 & 21mm sockets in my car. Along with jump leads. Personally I think it should be illegal to be able to sell a car without a spare wheel, even if just a space saver.

Should also be part of the driving test to be competent in checking the condition of one's car before setting off. Thread depth, washer fluid, oil, coolant etc. Granted the former two don't apply to EVs. Should also have to change a wheel as part of driving test. Safely identifying your car as broken down (warning triangle), safely jacking it up and changing a wheel should be part of the test.

Had had to change punctures on my own car a few times. Finding a safe place to do so is the most important thing. Level ground and out of harms way from oncoming traffic. Changed a wheel for some nice ladies down West Cork a few years ago and had an awful job trying to refuse the €20 they were offering me! It's a nice turn to do for someone if practicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭almostover

Garages tightening wheel nuts with an impact gun drives me nuts. I now go to 1 tyre place only for my tyres, main reason being that they give a sh1t and use a torque wrench to cinch down the wheel nuts to the appropriate spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭mulbot

It's a bit shocking that people here don't routinely check wheel nuts,for being too loose or too tight. Was common to be taught this when I learned to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭deandean

Good question. Probably not, I reckon any man who can't change a wheel etc etc. But this case was a woman on her own, with kids, and a flat tyre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Extendable bar with a 19 and 21 mm reversible socket. But I'm lazy and tend to use the 12v impact driver to loosen the nuts.

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I helped two young ladies in college last week jack up theirs. Their jack was ****. If they weren't using the last two staff spaces I probably would have left them. 😂

I’ve done some major good deeds in life, mostly appreciated, but at least one which was not only completely unappreciated but also got a bucket load of resentment in turn by a person with a mental health issue, not really an excuse though. People sometimes resent assistance given even when it’s very obviously needed, by nature most people do not enjoy being assisted, or having to ask for help. It is a virtue to learn to accept help graciously and not resent it or be envious of the person who has been in a position to give it. We live in a world where give and take are equally important.

No matter if person A has come across as a cantankerous begrudger, it’s important not to lose faith; person B may need that wheel to be changed and be very nice about expressing their gratitude. It’s ok to get annoyed and angry at someone who’s been an ungrateful so&so, but don’t let it drive you into a cynical state about everyone else.

I can’t change a wheel these days, but I would give advice, maybe instruct the person how to do it if there was nobody else around, or Google mobile tyre fitters for them as often when a problem strikes oneself, one is not of a calmly resourceful mind as to know where to turn to.

Post edited by tohaltuwi on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Grassy Knoll

a lot of the jacks, tyre changing tools that come as standard with cars are rubbish. I have a small bottle jack I keep in my VW plus a 2 piece wheel brace (1 bar slots into the other). Both I picked up in Lidl I think but good quality for the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭WildWater

I've changed plenty of wheels and helped out more than a few with wheel changes and battery jumps over the years. Wheel changing is not rocket science, but it can be a complete bi*ch and usually a dirty job. I do still stop to assist, but the first thing I do now, is ask the person if they have breakdown assist. A lot of people don't seem to realise that they probably have this on their insurance policy. If they have, then there is no way I am changing that wheel just to save them some time. I also won't do it unless I have my own wheel brace and jack.

Most left of field problem I've had when I stopped to help someone… I had my jack, wheel brace and gloves. Nice sunny day and perfectly safe spot. Thought this is going to be easy. Nuts loosened, car jacked, no problem. The issue - I couldn't undo the screw fastner that holds in the spare! 🤨 It's only supposed to be hand tight and the thing was like it was welded. Thankfully, I had WD40 but by god did that take effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,570 ✭✭✭TheChizler

Haven't been able to get my wheels off since my last visit to the tyre shop. Had to buy my first ever breaker bar recently, before I always just managed with the lever in the boot or my own socket set.

Replacing wheels on trucks, young fit women can do it. The one on the top video is a female truck driver replacing her own tyre, the bottom one seems to be a call-out female tyre changer for a truck driver. A petite woman too, but seems very fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭BlakeS94

That's the other side of it is the tyre shop monkeys pound the wheel nuts back on with a high torque Milwaukee on the highest setting, if you don't have a really long breaker bar or a high torque gun in the boot you're goosed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,370 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

If I can get the nuts loosened, I can manage. The probem is, you only find you can't loosen them when you need to.

I have a cheapo noisy but slow compressor that will get me to somewhere I can get help with the nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭shane b

Yes I can.

Had to change one on my wifes Citroen C4 grand picasso lately and what an absolute pain in the ass. Took me about 30 minutes.

The spare is under the car, held in by a wire rope through the middle. The wheel brace and jack are in the black box in the centre of the wheel space. Of course i had to empty half the boot,to get at the adjuster for the wire rope in the first place too.

image.png