Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Good news everyone! The Boards.ie Subscription service is live. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Tileman

yea everything has a life cycle. The ploughing is on the way down. Smaller events like tullamore show which target the ag sector is way better. They should learn from the ploughing and not try make it too big and target everyone .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,875 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I wonder what were glanbia paying for the stand

think o heard about €250k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

How in the name of all that is holy could you justify charging that

I should clarify that was their budget so probably included labour costs associated with staff working there and expenses for staying there etc

anyone watch Leo o late late though he looked younger and more relaxed without the weight of the world on his shoulders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,499 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,228 ✭✭✭kk.man

Ireland was referred to as Hibernia when Romans conquered Britain. The Anglo irish treaty of 1922 refers to officially the Articles of Agreement for a Treaty Between Great Britain and Ireland. Eire came into the mix by the FF government using irish postal stamps from the 1930s. Thus the British adopted it. From 1922 to the Dev government we were known as the Free State. The Republic of Ireland came about in 1938 by FG government.

Not sure when British Isles began or ended. British produced maps in the early years of the foundation of the state referred to the British Isles. I think WW2 changed that thinking.

Wtf is wrong with people just heard of a bomb threat call on the minister for justice house. She wasn't home but her oh and kids were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭Packrat

It's bad in fairness. They need to be caught abd severely dealt with.

They've managed to get sympathy for the most inept minister in history as well which is also unhelpful.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

It's part of Putin's war with the West.

German right wing group have been shown to be getting money from the Kremlin and having their whole manifest written out by the Kremlin for the next 18 months.

Don't be surprised if there's someone killed yet.

The louder these groups shout and act means the more pain Putin's regime is feeling. It'll go till Putin is no more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

The bad actions of a small number of thugs does not excuse our inept government of a policy of open borders free for all .80% of Irish citizens oppose this government policy yet our ministers act with authority against the majority wishes .I can not see what connection Putin has with the Irish government policy just more spin bs

Putin recognised how to use emigrants as a weapon against the EU. Remember that boy washed up in Italy. Fleeing Assad's war in Syria backed by Putin. Putin's war in Syria just demolish neighbourhoods and villages. Sound familiar?

Putin's forces in Africa also "encourage" everyone in Africa to move north. The warlords in Libya paid by Putin and he entertains them in Kremlin, boat these across the Mediterranean to Europe.

We are part of EU policy. The Kremlin just recognised how to use the welcoming individual assylum policy as a weapon against the EU.

It doesn't harm to look up and see what's occurring and how all are being used. Refugees, policy makers in Europe, these far right loons paid by Putin (and remember the originators came across from england), all being used.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Would I be shot down if I suggested some of the people protesting against migrants being housed in their area are really protesting against a lack of resources in their area in general?

Similar to the water protests, which weren’t really about water. People didn’t want the Govt pushing more costs on them.

Similar also to the 2 recent referendums? The wording of some archaic document wasn’t going to impact the majority of people but having the Govt and media browbeat us was another push too far.

This isn’t some anti-Govt rant. I’m just saying sometimes the surface protest isn’t about the real underlying issues. But it suits the Govt to simplify and distract from the underlying issues by saying people are racist, they want water/everything for free, and they didn’t understand the wording change.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,063 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Tractor derated itself today again. More mothafuppin adblu shoite codes galore. It's only back from the adblu pump being changed a few weeks ago. Holy jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 950 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Its time to ring Mr AdBlue Delete, and let him work his magic.

It can awful painful stuff when it's not working good.

Do ya have a number? I've heard of a dude in Kilkenny but that's all the info I have!

If ya chase it back, I bet ya any money there's a grain of truth in that. In the sense that a lot of the "green" shite has a lot of funding from Russia, in ways to make the EU become more dependent on Russia for gas. Of course that has backfired since the auld fisticuffs over in Ukraine.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 950 ✭✭✭The Nutty M

Only the Galway man but there are a few advertising on donedeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,347 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Brian Kehoe is his name. His supposed to be one of the best. I can get his number if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭148multi

What you say is true, but people need to be more focused on the issues that need protesting for/against.

Our health system and security services have been slashed since 09, the universal social charge has cost people millions more than water ever will, but not a peep about it.

The political establishment want to bottle feed us their bs, while trying to strip people of their rights and their state protection, NGO,s that are supposed to look out for people are more interested in their funding .

while nobody is accountable and if a civil servant trys to do the right thing they seem to become a target, while the inept get promoted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,228 ✭✭✭Suckler

We get the politicians we deserve, people vote for them. Every corner of the country has its fair share of politicians that should never have come within an ass’s roar of government but we as the electorate are soft on corruption at local levels, soft on basing our voting on policy, until recently too tied to “the party we always voted for”/ civil war voting up to a generation ago I’d hazard a guess. Independents shouldn’t be let near government. They continue to run with the hard and hunt with the hounds when it suits them yet get a significant backing.

The bomb threat I’d hazard a guess was made by an idiot. But that idiot is being fed, and lapping up, right wing propaganda & disinformation. This is the age we live in, Russia as Say my name says, knows the destabilising value of this and is quite adept at pumping it out.

This then desolves discussion on migrants etc. the mob shouting means any dissatisfaction with immigration is easy to label as right wing. Same happens with left wing views. We consume snippets of information - insta reels / YouTube shorts/ tweets etc. These are easy for people to swallow and never enough to understand the bigger picture. Context is key, but that’s the hard bit. It’s may seem a frivolous comment to blame the Russians but the unfortunate truth is that’s a real threat.

Post edited by Suckler on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Here's dear Peter Sutherland laying it all out for you. This reds under the bed deflection is boring. Or maybe Putin already got to him 😱

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-politics-18519395

Whatever of politicians. We've a garda force that took in a shotgun as part of a criminal case was supposed to have it on hold for evidence and it turns up with criminals again.

There's a yerra sure it'll be grand attitude or probably corruption in our force in league with criminals that is very hard weed out.

A positive they did was boot out two Russian members of consolate. That were attending both loyalist and republican secret meetings. At the start of this Putin's invasion. Now they didn't come here to make peace in Ireland on the edge of Europe. The guards knew what they were at and the ministers got them expelled.

Anyways beyond my pay grade. Lost a calf this evening that I left on a cow. Born a few days ago. The fecker was outside this morning sitting down in the rain. Got him up and ran him back in the shed. This afternoon I thought he was flat out dead in the shed. Took him away from the cow and milked her and gave it two litres. Calf was very cold. Put it under the red light but it's died there just now. It mustn't have been sucking the cow properly. I thought it was. But I usually take the calf away at birth. And I got lazy with this one as there's trouble elsewhere too.

Putin must have his shaman onto me cos I reckon I'm cursed this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

DId anyone ever get finance on plant trailers?

Looking for something like a 10 x 6 ish, but cant afford it up front.

I have a beavertail trailer to put against it but it needs tidyingthay I can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭pg141

Are these the same as trucks once you turn them off you cant turn them back on! - will affect re-sale price Just FYI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,632 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Not really. Sure plenty of dealers turning the off in new machines before they leave the yard. Way less hassle

• Anyone know where I can get my hands on Provistop scour powder. Can't seem to find it anywhere locally the last 3 or so weeks.