If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Does anyone know whereabouts on agfood you can see the monthly breakdown of your stocking rate?

I remember seeing it before where it showed month by month how many cattle you had and a livetime stocking rate for the year....

Cant find it now?

"SUBSCRIBE TO BOARDS YOU TIGHT CÙNT".....Plato 400 B.C

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,758 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I've had grass measure in January better in sugar (brix) than what would normally measure in June.

It'd be the finest. It'd be quality over quantity at this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,528 ✭✭✭tanko

Nitrogen & Phosphorous statements maybe. Click on business id, then click on your herd no.

Or did you find that info on ICBF.COM?? Profiles, stock numbers or stock reconciliation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Remember hearing/reading something about it over 10 years ago, think there was a link with it to thrive/quality of the animal too.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Base price

It's something I never thought about tbh but it does make sense. I must go through the suckler cows and see what position theirs are as some of them have a more iffy/semi aggressive temperament than others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I don't think I've ever seen a whorl as low as the one in the pic, I think they all have high one's here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I think it's the breed. Any out of Sympa tended to be very flighty. Any out of Malibu or KJB are a dream to deal with. Charolais & Simmental good too, got rid of Saler & Shorthorn.

Held onto the flightest for too long, a Partenaise as her her offspring were all 5star U grade. Her disruptive traits couldn't be bred out of her heifers either.

We find the Salers very quiete at home often found tbe Simmentals only flaw was poor temperment but sure there heifers were still kept as the older generation didnt give much of a regard for docility when breeding. Two cows i remember both Simmental one put my father in hospital back years ago the other went for me as a child and both of them were kept for another 10 years afterwards no wonder theres still that streak in some of the cows left there now.

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,528 ✭✭✭tanko

The docility of Salers has improved a lot in recent years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,658 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

2 units/day in good growth conditions, I'd say growth is back about 25% at the moment,

We're supposed to have good growth next week and a normal May will use 2 units/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Mf 265

HI,have a problem with john deere 6320,one of da hydraulic leavers inside cab is stuck forward,seems to be oil forcing it, not used to tractor and can't get it back to float,any help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Le shovelle

Would the little slider be pushed out to lock the spool lever open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭Mf 265

No it's open,I was putting in pipe in back and was nt sure which one worked it and I seem to Ave pressure from oil stopping it.other handle working sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,156 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Fully forward on them is float. Middle is neutral.

Out the back there's hydraulic adjusters. I think they had black caps on them. Ya'll see them when ya look out the window. They twist and turn and change hydraulic behaviour. That's as far as my knowledge goes though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

I've a Saler bull for the first time, a neighbour breeds them. I was wary about temperament issues but I went to see them and talked to a few people beforehand. He's the quietest bull we ever had, and all his calves are quiet too. It makes life a bit easier.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,812 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Packrat

I think I asked last year but does anyone do a couple of ridges of spuds for the house?

My 'earlys' went in Easter Sunday (latest ever) and maincrop this evening, also latest ever.

I used Solist for earlies and Sarpo Mira for main crop this year after trying about 5 varieties last season. These were the two that worked best. The Solist are smooth, big, perfect white potatoes like something you'd get in a shop and the Sarpo are red and blight resistant with a tasty yellowish flesh. They keep well too.

Veg next and again I'll be limiting it to what worked well last year - carrots were a disgrace, Peas very good, parsnips ok ish, nobody ate the swedes so feck them. Onion sets did fine until the rain came and then they bolted. Nothing at all from the spring onions.

Anyway, I'm probably talking to the wrong people, - more town people than farmers set a garden these days due to most of us being part time and running around with work and kids after school activities.

It's hard here to get the time too, I was watering vegetables (in a suit) at a quarter to 1 some nights last May with a headlight and every midge eating me, and most of the spuds were never earthed up, but I try to do it with the young lads so they'll know how even if I've to bate them out to help.

Any other madman or woman at it?

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Friend of mine was telling me he was pricing doing a slatted tank and 35N concrete is €170 per meter inc vat now...sounds ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,244 ✭✭✭50HX

Yip & it's only goin one way year on year with the carbon tax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Would love to... haven't much spare time and tbh don't know when to plant. Should start a farm garden thread for tips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Packrat

Spuds Paddy's day onwards. Veg late April to June. Any little corner is big enough, 8ft by 4ft would do fine to start with, - digging is tiring when you've a days work already done. It's very rewarding though. Grow whatever ye eat yerselves in the house if it'll grow in this country. Any proper garden centre (as opposed to the lifestyle/homestore/coffee/ type ones) will be able to suggest two or three basic plants. A bit of old cow dung and off you go.

A half hour once a week for would do a lot. There's great satisfaction in eating something you grew yourself. It's nearly better than having your own beef or lamb.

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭older by the day

I'm only setting my early potatoes this weekend. British queen's. Plenty of time, there was no point putting them into a hole of cold water up to now. I only set a bit of lettuce, cauliflower, cabbage. Carrots I could never grow here in my land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭green daries

For carrots you need to mix several years of rotted farmyard manure into the soil plus turf mould or similar 🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,297 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What's the story with sending a red card animal to the factory, do you get a crap price?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,355 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

small plot here. Usually planted at this stage but not this year. Will get them in over next while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Ask a few different agents is the best option. They can give what they like if not fire warned. Usually the independent smaller factories will be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,297 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Thanks have a pedigree angus heifer we imported but she's a bit of a lunatic, wouldn't inflict her on anyone else, safer to factory her. She's calved about a month, feck all milk too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,758 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

With a red card there's some factories that some won't take them and only some that will. You may enquire first anyway.

Would getting a local abbatoir to process her for yere own freezer be an option? Especially if its pedigree angus the beef would be top notch and especially if youre not going to get the true value of her in the factory

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,355 ✭✭✭✭_Brian