If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,733 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Had a vision of a synthetic human there for a second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Delighted for Clare, 'twas a close thing in the finish, but the goals had given them a cushion.

It's nice to see the silverware being shared around...

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Best of luck Siamsa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,285 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Thought Shay given was great on tommy tiernan last night. An inspiration to young sports people. Never big headed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,812 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

He came across as a real laid back fella with a great sense of humor.

Though him a bit dull when he does the commentary on soccer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Cushtie

All the best with it. Keep us updated on here and on YouTube. He who dares wins!!

@Siamsa Sessions wouldn't want to be in a rush now would ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭enricoh

I quote that to the missus when she's on about cleaning. She says outside is like a knackers yard, I say anyone out robbing will hit the neighbours polished mansion before ours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,481 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Adrian @IFarmWeFarm7615 on "Raised by a village" RTE 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,397 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

my 6yo son had a birthday party at home today. Had about 23 children.

Oh made home made pizza. I did the chicken and chips.

We have our own bouncy castle along with the play equipment.

Blessed with the weather. Had a lovely day. I find the fun worlds of the world stressful enough as you’d be watching every child. Plus it would cost close to €650 at the current rate.

couple siblings arrived- no hassle parents able to tip away home for a bit of freedom.

It’s 6 years this week since we won parish lotto, moved into our new home and our little boy was born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Base price

For any of ye interested in fishing. Youngest sent me this pic of a skate a few mins ago. Caught off the West coast of Scotland. It's a big fish measured at 170lbs (they measure the width of the fins and length from nose to tail) but not the largest he has caught. He caught one last year that measured 208lbs. For those that are not familiar - skates are protected in Irish and UK waters - the fish was returned to the water and swam away.

Edit to add - youngest is a Marine Scientist working in Scotland.

Leigh and skate.jpg
    Post edited by Base price on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭Anto_Meath

It's some size fish @Base price are they eatable if they weren't protected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,026 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Magnificent - such a shame we so under value the Marine Environment in this country in terms of protections and flawed fishery policies(badly designed like CAP were the interests of industrial operators are prioritized over Artisanal Fishers)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

There's a charter boat off south west Clare that started catching huge six gill sharks regularly while fishing for skate a few years ago and fairlyclose to shore too I believe. Has caught a few over a thousand pounds. Some lugging with a fishing rod.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Castlekeeper

Well it's time to bite the bullet today and go for it, full new time/English time it is, and it's fairly black outside. As if the days weren't long enough, and I'm half wrecked after the spring as it is.

I'd a tough week of it but meal times have adjusted and I'm starting to get to bed on time too. I'd a ta-raa with the milk lorry driver early in the week over it. He normally calls around 9, which is grand, but the clock in the parlour normally isn't changed at all. Didn't my mother pass a comment on it and then I saw it some evening I was abit late, thought she had put it forward, and in a fit of pique, I put it back again. This of course made me late for the lorry but I started giving out to him for coming at 8! anyway, we're all good again.

I remember doing my 3 month placement and didn't the farmer go cold turkey, clocks turned the full hour in one bang. That was some shock to have him banging at the door and I only in bed a few hours. It didn't help that we'd been out racing buggys in the forestry til 4 that night. Time to crack on now.

“We are all capable of believing things which we know to be untrue, and then, when we are finally proved wrong, impudently twisting the facts so as to show that we were right. Intellectually, it is possible to carry on this process for an indefinite time: the only check on it is that sooner or later a false belief bumps up against solid reality.” George Orwell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Fantastic fish,that thing would be like reeling in a car bonnet with an propeller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭emaherx

English time? Did we not just go to Irish time?

If the person you're buying an animal off isn't online and they send away the nbas31 form, can you accept the movement online or has the bit to be posted back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,403 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,818 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Yes they are eatable and were fished nearly to extinction. That is why they are now protected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭pg141

Just for you lads to give you a laugh forgot how things can spiral,

Just rented a yard and went over to clean it, stoped Saturday morning bought a new shovel, forks and brush in the hardware store. Got to the job and started brushing…. 5 mins in the head of the brush fell off - decided only job for it was a nut and bolt through the base (had the drill needed a nut and bolt) back to the hardware store, and while looking for the bolt and nut, found about 140euro's of tools I needed, so of course got them as well, back to the yard and 5 mins had the brush a 100% and took her for a spin. About 30 mins and me dripping in sweat to a look at the work completed. While it looked ok, It didn't look great

Solution Leaf blower… so back into Town after spending about 1000euro on Screwfix website (yeah bought a powerwasher too) and got the leaf blower, new jerry can and oil. Came back to the yard and spent 40 mins and the whole job done and looking well ready for power hosing (has to be be delivered to shop for collection)

…Fecking brush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭DBK1

GMT + 1, which we are in since last weekend, is Irish Standard Time (IST).

You must be very regimental in your eating and sleeping times if it’s taken a week to get used to it! You’d never survive contracting where you’d get fed any hour of the day or a lot of the time not fed at all😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,639 ✭✭✭emaherx

Winter time is GMT, ie Greenwich UK. Current time is IST ie Irish Standard Time or as it's known for it's UK offset BST British Summer Time.

There were also local times again in the UK and Ireland.

Standard time after 1880 in Ireland was 25 minutes and 21 seconds after Greenwich mean time.

But as in UK there were variances in local times in towns in Ireland.

If we visit my sister in law in London it gets darker earlier in the evening time , even though we're on the same time

It'd be brighter in the mornings though.

We're all ruled by the earth turning eastwards and those east of us getting the sun before us. The reverse is true too. Those east of us will have sunset before us.

My meal times are far from regular, most days I eat three times, some days twice, some days four times, depending on work size of meals. This doesn't mean that I don't notice the change of the clock and not have much of an appetite for a feed of spuds at 11.30 old time!

Your not the first on here commenting on this subject to me to get mixed up between the time of day and the body clock. Just because you not eating eat doesn't mean your body doesn't know that it's a mealtime, similar with sleeping and bed time just because the clock says six doesn't mean I wake up an hour earlier than the day before.

Anyway the old time ship has sailed for this year, summertime here we come.

"Winter time is GMT, ie Greenwich UK. Current time is IST ie Irish Standard Time or as it's known for it's UK offset BST British Summer Time."

So it is now, but for the purposes of this story, I was referring back to the foundations of the state when the transition from Dublin Mean Time and the introduction of daylight savings time were passed through in the last years of the British governance in Ireland and we're thus associated.

https://www.rte.ie/centuryireland/index.php/articles/daylight-saving-the-troubled-history-of-irish-time

Post edited by Castlekeeper on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Went to buy a trailer today. Old one was getting a bit shook. The wife was totally against buying it. She is saving up to renovate the kitchen and a new trailer is not in the budget. Anyways arrived back with the new trailer(2nd hand) and herself standing there. She walked around the trailer huffing and puffing. She says "well I suppose it is in a bit better condition than the old one". Then she looked inside. Surprise i bought 6 calves on my journey home. Guess where im sleeping tonight