Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VW ID.3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Mad_Lad

A bit less 51 maybe. Don't have 77 Kwh available.

He keeps trolling me from thread to thread and it's this kind of behaviour that seems to be tolerated on Boards, if I told him where to go I'd be the one getting a telling off or a ban.

it's as if he does a search for my latest posts…….

I wonder will it have some kit removed this time in order to save weight ? although the tour had the panoramic roof, I'm not sure if this is standard any more so it might not matter much.

Wow, I didn't know all that, that's really lousy but hey, I don't even have speakers in the rear doors lol

Are there any other manufacturers who do this ?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,325 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

My sister has a 231 Kona that doesn't have adaptive cruise control, a mid spec 2017 Golf has that. Let's not pretend the ID.3 is some revelation in cost cutting when Toyota don't even ship a second key and are still blaming parts shortages that haven't been a thing since 2022 and Mercedes didn't have electric seats. VW aren't the only ones at it.

While you're at it, let's talk about all the €60-70k 5 series that don't have folding mirrors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭fafy

Blackwater VW having a sale, it claims 12k off a 241 ID3, but on closer inspection, this includes 3.5k seai grant, and the vrt rebate of circa 2.7k, and the end result is, they are 31,195, or €1,300 more expensive than Newmarket VW- mentioned a few posts back, who are offering 241 ID3 for 30,900.

https://nd-mediagallery2-public-production.s3.amazonaws.com/2a9b92d108bcd32e2492b40bd32b14af/blackwater_motors_annual_demo_and_used_car_sale.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,828 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Test drove a 241 Pro this week.

Quite pleasantly surprised at how substantial a product it seemed to be.

Drives well, good passenger space, good driving position.

Didn't have it for long enough to figure out the infotainment correctly but what i saw of it worked well enough.

The problem like other new EVs is sitting into my current Ioniq 28 and it still doing everything well in a driving context.

Would I recommend a 2024 one?????

Depends on the deal.

If it's one of the cheaper 2024 ones on done deal then it's a good deal even if pre reg.

If its 37 to 40 k - not so much even if you are first owner.

At 40 k it feels like it could do with some nicer spec - ie nicer trim on seats, panoramic roof etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,493 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Your warranty is only valid if you maintain the service schedule though. So for the ID cars (and I assume Born and Enyaq) it must be serviced every second year.

Ya, its the same for all EV car warranties, no servicing, as per the schedule, then = potentially car warranty can be voided.

To be honest you'll get far nicer interiors, the Ioniq 28 for example, the ergonomics in the id3 are hard for me to live with others don't mind and others don't care so I'd take the time to actually try use it on the road to see if it's something you can live with.

Voice control is rubbish and slow, I can ask it to turn on the radio, will it do it ? no, it will ask what station you want then it will search for a while and tell you feck off, if it just did what I ask I can then flick through the stations via the steering.

When car play or android auto is on you can't see what radio station is on or the list, a split screen version would be sweet.

My 2 Boys are able to mess with the voice control from the back seat too so I just disabled the hello ID. Yeah they think it's funny messing with the climate control and heated seats, messing the radio but it gets old very quickly.

Would you really spend the so much ? I know it's 73 odd Kwh but is it worth it, will you need it regularly, do you have access to ICE ? it's a lot of money at the end of the day.

Maybe the infotainment in the 2024 is better, I don't know.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,563 ✭✭✭eagerv

We had both an Ioniq 28 and an ID.3 for a while back in late 2020. I always preferred the interior of the ID.3, thought it was airier and more modern

I suppose it had a lot to do with the fact the id3 was more modern, the latest thing ? the Ioniq 28 was far more practical and nicer inside in my opinion. Pity they never made a 60 Kwh with decent charging.

There were a load of buttons, menus and sub menus in the Ioniq28, I suppose if you got used to them they were ok. But the UI on the ID was far simpler (Apart from the unlit temp controls). Also was a pain having to turn on off power, handbrake and don't get me started on all the bings and bongs.. A great car though, but always enjoyed driving the ID.3 more..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭space2ground1

Has anyone any info or links that relate to the new ID3 thats due for release later in the year? I'm getting confused with the new, newer and new newer models. Operation find a 21/22 with a sunroof, reverse camera, low mileage and nice alloys has my head muddled.

So I'm going to take a break by having a look at the new(est) one for the craic. 😊 All the apps are set up and phonecalls made at this stage. Just have to wait for that 21/22 to appear.

I do remember the Ioniq been decent to drive and looked better inside but that was a good few years now.

I drove the Kona and couldn't believe the amount of road noise, it was deafening, I don't know if it's still the same ?

The id3 is good to drive but the mad weight does have an impact, better than the over priced ( in my opinion ) EV6, the steering on it was just awful. Or did they make it that way deliberately so that people would get the GT ? is the GT better to drive ? I don't know, they had one in Carlow the day I took the Earth for a spin. I should have taken it for a spin instead lol.

Now having said all that, I couldn't find any steering settings that might have made it better in the EV6, again, too many menus in cars.

Id3 should have been a lot better, for example when you ask it to turn on the radio, why doesn't just turn on the radio instead of asking for a radio station it can't find most of the time ? not only that but the delay is ridiculous.

The NCAP now is going to start tightening down on screens but will they go far enough or will people see just the Adult and Child protection and think that it's fine just like Dacia may only get 1 star because they don't have useless tech that annoys drivers but their cars are actually offer decent protection in a crash.

https://www.theverge.com/2024/3/5/24091043/euro-ncap-safety-rating-europe-2026-touchscreen-buttons-dials

The standard ID 3 launched in 2020,
    There was a facelift late in 2023, the main external visual item change is the black bit of the bonnet by windscreen is now gone, other changes were relatively minor, there is more details on the face-lifted version here:

https://www.completecar.ie/car-reviews/article/Volkswagen/ID/ID.3_Pro_S_%282023%29/2186/12585/2023-Volkswagen-ID.3-Pro-S-%282023%29-review.html

Then later this year, the new 2 x GTX variants launch,1) GTX & 2) GTX Performance, which will be a few thousand more, than the standard model, and have larger batteries, larger screens.

https://www.completecar.ie/amp/car_news/13120/Volkswagen-ID.3-GTX-is-an-all-electric-GTI.html

I am unaware of any new changes, to the standard ID3 model, which was facelifted late in 2023.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 576 ✭✭✭space2ground1

Thanks a lot. So it’s the GTX that I’m hearing about as a ‘newer’ model. That clears it up.

Got a offer from VW dealer for my 2.5 year old Tour 5 76,000 kms,

Was offered low 20s depending on inspection, so this means come October they will probably offer me 18-20K.

From a non VW dealer God knows what they'd offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,375 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Can't find one on Done Deal for less than 31k. All 2022 models.

I looked at carzone for 2021, that's the year of mine and all of them are the 58 Kwh from 20-27K, most of them are 21-23K

So dealer was probably offering me 58 Kwh trade in.

I'd probably just sell it private at that rate so when the time comes and I decide to let it go I will probably just advertise it here.

Yeah, it was only when I enlarged the search window to include 22 cars, was I able to find your model. They had lower mileage and obviously a year younger, but the price seemed good. Private seems the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Daveq

@space2ground1

Sunroof + Reversing Camera means you're after a Family, Tech or Max spec

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,711 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

The software is rubbish in the ID3, I have no auto dim, no bendy lights, no online manual and cannot shut down the voice crap or that the aircon comes on all the time, garage, Al Hayes in Portumna, don't want to know so will give it back in Oct when the PCP runs out.

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

I never had those problems, software was often poor, but VW Waterford tbf were good to deal with; even if I spent a bit more time there than I would have wished.🙂

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭electricus

I don’t have any of those issues, did you try another dealer?

I brought mine in for a problem this week ( emergency assist errors) and it was fixed fairly quickly.

• Registered Users Posts: 108 ✭✭VWPAT

I have 2011 id3 with software3.2. NO problems at all. Anybody get ota 3.2.1 update?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,691 ✭✭✭✭fits

no problems here either.

I have 2011 id3 with software3.2. NO problems at all. Anybody get ota 3.2.1 update?

I can see one glaring problem. 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭madcabbage

What is the most up-to-date version that should be on them? Currently eyeing up a 241 Pro.

Yeah I hear you, I agree, the software is a bit crap, so much controlled from menus, I won't be getting a car like it again and many cars are like this today but others are better.

I don't have issues like you have, except for crap voice control, my main complaints are the woeful ergonomics.

Be careful what you wish for, too many buttons can be a pain to deal with too.

Lol I'm actually drooling at the mouth looking at this, I'd give anything to have a dash like this again ! It's much more simplistic to have everything at your fingertips.

Knob for the radio, presets for the stations and proper climate controls, after 2.5 years in the id3 that doesn't look half bad at all !

Reminds me of the heater controls on a new Ford Kuga we have in work, easier just to leave in auto, the buttons are so confusing. To turn on the heated front windscreen usually means accidentally turning on rear screen and max defrost first, if your reading eyesight is not 100%. A properly designed screen, imo, is far safer and simpler.

Ah here now, Look how easy it is to access heated steering/seats, fan speed, radio on off, Air direction etc etc.

😀

without looking and searching while driving? I had a ford or opel rental like that on holidays last year and didn’t find it any better than a screen. It didn’t have auto aircon so I was constantly messing with it.

Never had that issue with manual climate….

However, screen addiction is a well known issue lol.

I just press a button on the steering wheel and say "temperature 22" or "driver heated seat on". Never have to take my hands off the wheel or look anywhere except the road ahead.

I have to adjust the auto climate in the id3 way more than any other car because it's constantly blowing in my face or too fast, they have auto low,med,high now for the fan with the new software so I still have to adjust it depending on weather and turn AC off every time I turn on auto, that's a real pain in the ass.

I don't know how to say this, but air vents are manually controlled.

That doesn't provide air to the feet or windscreen a lot of the time where I want the airflow.

Now what they could do is have an option where you want to prioritise airflow, for me it would be feet and Windscreen or both at the same time in Auto mode that is.

the kia ceed is a better way to do it and it even has button, touch sensitive thing whatever for radio, media, nav, Still not perfect but better and it has proper climate controls that wouldn't give eagerv's arse a headache !

This is the Kia Ceed, a lot better, not perfect. But the screen addicts get their screen along with much better cockpit design, in my opinion.

Very nice cockpit actually just love the analogue clocks !

You complained about it blowing in your face (manually controlled air vent can be pointed away from your face) and too fast - granted, that could be an auto setting.

The ‘classic’ ad Smart Climate menu is one button press (Clima) or just ‘hey id defog windows’ or any of the other options in there. The Clima button even lights up at night 😂

I don't want it coming out the front vents in winter most of the time. As I said, a simple fix with option to prioritise airflow direction as is the fix for AC coming on every time auto is enabled, I understand "it's auto" but don't need AC on all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,691 ✭✭✭✭fits

thread is very busy now you’re back mad lad!

lol is that a good thing or bad ?

So when is your PCP up again ? I know you got your 3 earlier was it August ? Thought any more about what you're going to do ? Have you talked to VW yet about trade in or are you going to leave it until PCP is up ?

I used to find the VW screens quite clear to use, if a little slow and clunky at times especially at start up. Preferred it to Hyundai UI, but the Tesla system best of all. Fast, precise and you rarely look for long at the screen while driving. Also the voice activation excellent and you don't even mix up the button for that due to only one button on right of steering wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Tech_Head

Hello, I have gone through this thread already but wanted to ask people who’ve had their ID3s a while now if they are still happy with them or looking to change?

Tempted to go for one of the current pre-ref cars from a local dealer.
    58kw Pro Version for €31k and that includes the supply and fitting of a home charger.

Took it for a spin today and liked it. Went out in the Cupra Born too. Similar driving as expected. Felt the inside of the Born was nicer but it’s now working out at €4.5k more than the ID3.
    Cupra’s sale starts next week and they wouldn’t say what the prices would be - just to wait.