Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What’s your most controversial opinion? **Read OP** **Mod Note in Post #3372**

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,324 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

"Just saw a bakery business on TV there, they have 24 employees, 23 women. Where is the outrage about that company or similar businesses?"

Is that a serious question? Because bakers don't have power to make decisions that affect the whole country.

• This content has been removed.

I miss wearing face masks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

Anytime I hear someone described as a mad b#stard or savage craic, I know they're gonna be a loud annoying cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Studied at the school of hard knocks is another cnut identifier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

The definition of a hate crime used to be something out of Mississippi Burning - now it’s stating facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,045 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Oddly enough if they're not a full time mad bastard, savage craic or school of hard knocks, the next popular option is harvard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Ireland has a huge amount of racists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Most people wound up about the Kate pics being fake are nosey women. Lads could not give two fcuks about them. Two wans on the radio today nearly giving each other orgasms with speculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I heard a female DJ on 2fm say she thinks Kate had an affair, with absolutely no proof, how dare she say that on a national radio station, the wagon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,165 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I haven't seen a 'before' pic of a trans person (of the high profile ones anyway) and thought they were conventionally good looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,363 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

On the back of yesterdays news. In my opinion the vast majority of people that are overtly nasty or disparaging towards politicians are generally nothing but bitter, begrudging people.

People who have never achieved anything and more often than not it’s because “the stupid lazy government” or “those pricks in the Dail”.

Post edited by ShagNastii on

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 5,324 Mod ✭✭✭✭spacetweek

Varadkar has never said a single thing I disagree with. Not a big fan of him, as if anything I find him a bit too anodyne - but no way does he deserve the hate he seems to get from some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭Cordell

It's very difficult to do or say anything controversial when you don't do or say anything at all. By his inactions he allowed incompetence and mismanagement to fester, under his watch the housing and healthcare crisis became much worse because he didn't do anything about either of them. Under him as a teaoiseach we ended up with migrant tents camps and human feaces in the middle of or capital. He was the head of the government who organised the referendum fiasco. He deserves every bit of hate he gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭gym_imposter

Yes but that's Monaghan, no such thing as a straight Monaghan man

Packie Bonner was a very poor goalkeeper who happened to just save a terrible penalty by Daniel Timofte of Romania

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭randd1

Ah here, he was long term goalie for Celtic when Scottish soccer was still somewhat near top level. Plenty of medals to show for it too. And over 80 appearances for Ireland as well. Poor he was not.

Though I think you may have unwittingly stumbled across a very valid point. I don't think Bonner was poor, but he is fairly poor compared to today. Looking back at games from the time, the goalkeepers more than anyone were shockingly poor compared to their modern counterparts.

Outfield players, yeah you could say they weren't up to standards but they had the skills that would probably have transferred with modern training, but goalkeepers, not so much, so many of them were just big lads that took up goal space and saved the occasional decent shot.

They were just of their time, but good in that time, and Bonner certainly fits that bill. He was never going to be a Ballon D'Or candidate, but he was solid, which was much more than most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

He was at fault for Scillachi's goal against Italy and he was at fault for the Wim Jonk Goal in 94 , 2 massive mistakes in some of our biggest games in our history.

He was slower getting up off the ground than most sixty year Olds

His worst ever performance was during the Euro 92 qualifiers , shocking against Poland , cost us qualification

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

No, just more people competent at their job. If you have some club or small organization that doesn't impact other people, then go for whatever ratio you want. Jobs with serious consequences should go to whoever is good at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,851 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

I was being sarcastic.

Thought I'd point this out as a few posts have reacted as if I was bing serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,551 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

In my defense, it's the internet and it's hard to tell sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭cms88

He actually was a Ballon D'Or candidate in 1989.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It may come as a surprise but people may not know what's going on in your head when posting that.

Since many people non-sarcastically say we should have more women in politics, I don’t know how we’re supposed to tell the difference between them and you.

I see that the usual suspects like videogames, gun ownership and not getting enough love growing up are again to blame for the latest school shooting in Finland. The simple yet somehow controversial truth is that some people are monsters, and they are born this way with no one else to blame. Yes, the 12 years old who did this is a monster and they will never be anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Whilst a fairly awful human being, we could do with a politician like Margaret Thatcher to sort out the mess we’re in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Ive an idea for a game based on my experience lately in MacDonald's.

Players take the role of either the customer or the counter staff

Staff earn points based on the lack of ingredients thet do not have They only get aimited amount of credit to buy ingredients

Customers earn points by you guessed it ordering something on the menu that the store hasn't in stock

Any players? Customers bor staff?

Generally only awful human beings have what it takes to sort out the mess - the bigger the mess the more awful the politician needs to be in order to sort it out. For example the biggest mess world had so far, that is WW2, was sorted by awful human beings doing awful things which resulted in huge numbers of deaths in both the last months of the war and the next 50 years of having half of Europe under russian control. But that was what was required to sort out the mess. Now Europe is facing another growing mess (which will remain unspecified here) and sorting this growing mess will again require awful human beings doing awful things for the greater good.