Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all, we have some important news to share. Please follow the link here to find out more!

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058419143/important-news/p1?new=1

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭fplfan12345

I hope she is not getting an easy time when seen out and about.

I hope the public are giving her plenty and continue to do so til she answers some questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Field east

DF is circa 48 YO. Probably has a working life of 20 years + in her and longer is she wishes. So, what happens when she goes back to work, say as a secretary with some company=/ a doctors surgery or whatever. Would this then be deemed that she should be capable of ‘answering a few questions?

OR will her doctor ‘claim’ that the work she is doing does not need ‘ any thinking, ability to recall, etc, etc capacity. In other words she is still not capable of assisting PAC with it’s enquiries

So DF,, her doctor, solicitors and advisors , will be in a bit of a pickle if she ever wants to take up employment/go back to work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,226 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

What if Forbsey had been required to answer questions from the fraud section of AGS (which she should have been imo)

Could she just claim 'I feel a bit poorly so I can't come in'

We all know this illness is a crock of ***t because if it were a real illness she'd have no problem telling people what it was (to garner a bit of sympathy) - Also, how the hell has she not been spotted out n about in 9 months? She's one of the most despised people in Ireland (up there with John Delaney) and would be snapped wherever she went

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭RunningFlyer

not sure if this has been asked/addressed yet, but with so much dodgy dealings happening in RTE can a criminal fraud case be established? Or, despite how outrageously some of the revelations have been, have no laws actually been broken?

I still can’t comprehend what the implications would be had this all been in a private company.

AGS said they would only investigate if asked to by RTE - It's like waiting for a phone call from Pablo Escobar asking them to check out his warehouses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭DrZeuss

Well considering she can chat with her solicitor I would say yes. Her big sickness is a bad case of being caught out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Scipri0

This tells you all you need to know. If you're not sure in your convictions then you'll scurry, but if you are/were then you'd at least stand and fight your case. Tell me your lying. This being government funded and just an outright refusal to us, her bosses screams disrespect and i'd say the same for the people and media that enabled her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭rdhma

Well she did have a persistent cough, when it came to the licence fee.

Seems to have lost her voice entirely now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭kazamo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I don't see how she can lead any sort of normal life. Anyone who knows her outside immediate family must despise her. That'd do anyone's head in, she'd be far better advised to face the music and at the very least apologise publicly for her poor performance. Maybe she'll move abroad and hide away.

She lives in Glandore so its possible the media scrutiny isnt as intense down there.

Can a member of the public not make a complaint to AGS and force an investigation?

We need more people to refuse to pay for the license. Money talks.

Dee is 55? Id say she isnt too concerned. Another 12 months and memories will start to fade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,615 ✭✭✭fliball123

I think people need to stop paying the license fee and anyone who sees Dee out and about should take a video of her and put it online asking how sick are you? She needs to feel the full weight of the publics anger and forced to stay in her house as if she is well enough to travel outside she is well enough to answer a few questions from her bed via video link she would not even have to travel and any government party putting in a license fee replacement tax in should have the same pressure applied as the water charges - The water charges have showed that if the publics will is strong enough you can stop the gouging from the government... RTE and gov are 2 sets of piggies sitting at the same table having a faux argument there is dirt over on the politicians side and Miss Forbes I reckon will know where some of the bodies are buried which is why she has not been chased in any meaningful way. So don't pay and any license fee substitute that would be put in to RTE should have people on the on the street protesting if the Irish public do this in a high % then RTE will go the way of the dodo and wouldn't it be funny seeing them trying to compete with the private offerings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭yagan

If there's no consequences for hiding payments within rte then there should be no consequences for not paying a license fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,028 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Is it not illegal to supply money to a person or organisation that you believe to be involved in illegal or criminal activity?

Serious question by the way. If you were helping someone launder money, even if you made no gain, you would still be convicted?

Dunno - It stinks though.

I'd guess there's plenty to discover but they'd prefer not look under the rock, because what's under the rock would be the end of RTE as it stands and the govt doesn't want that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭deirdremf

Martin may be out of her depth and somebody with business expertise may be required, but it is not a TD's job to be a business person, any more than it is their job to be a school teacher, a publican or a lawyer. So unless you want the country to change from being a democracy to being an autocracy or perhaps an oligarchy, please accept that people from a variety of walks of life will become TDs and therefore also will become ministers. Some of these people will have an ideological agenda (as our Green TDs), others will just be cute hoors (as so many in FF, FG & Labour).

RTÉ has been out of control for decades, there is nothing recent about it. So many refer to it as Pravda because it has been a government mouthpiece uncritically spreading government (FFFGLab) propaganda for so long. None of this is the current minister's doing, and I agree that she may well be out of her depth here, but the story is not about Martin vs Ní Raghallaigh - it's about how dysfunctional RTÉ actually is. Martin may not be the best person to clean it up, but in fairness . like the HSE - it's a poisoned chalice which has festered for so long. It needs to be radically changed, broken up and re-cast.

And not only re-cast - but we've seen time and again in recent years that hoghups in the public service have a cavalier manner of working, including having dodgy meetings with people on official time and neither taking notes nor producing minutes. And no agenda either. Is such a meeting with Ní Raghallaigh not at the centre of this debacle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭NSAman

But it IS a Ministers job to WORK on her brief and understand what her responsibilities are.

It is also a ministers responsibility to tell the truth! Otherwise I’d prefer an autocracy with people who know what they are doing.

Common sense (which seems in short supply these days) would also dictate that you only take a job if you can also DO IT! I think most people would love a job with a salary of 150K plus a year and no experience and not doing their job. Where do I apply?

The fact that ANYONE listens to a minister or respects them is alien to me. Name one minister in the current government who has achieved anything? Yet they act as if they are saving the planet and are Ireland’s answer to its problems, when in fact they ARE the problem.

Give me results, I give you respect. Give me lies and ego, I’ll give you abuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

No surprise here. Dee is untouchable. She knows it. Her solicitor knows it. The PAC know it. After making out that she's practically on her deathbed, they haven't a leg to stand on when it comes to chasing her. This needed a Garda investigation from the start. It's only in a court where anything gets done in this Banana Republic, and even then it's no slam dunk that any justice will be done.

As it stands, Dee has, I'm sure, her own golden handshake in her arse pocket and a nice pension to see her out for the next 20/30 years. Great little country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,776 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Sunday Morning 9:35am - RTÉ1 - The Repair Shop

originally aired in March. 2018

IMG_2753.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭glenfieldman

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/public-not-told-new-rte-chair-terence-orourke-was-involved-in-kevin-bakhurst-job-interview/a764087574.html

Public not told new RTÉ chair Terence O’Rourke was involved in Kevin Bakhurst job interview

Ah here every week this fraudulent establishment keeps on giving. Jobs for the boys and girls

Never paying that tax again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,603 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,334 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I was amused by the statement that listed all the things she can't do , if she's not in a coma she's lying

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭NSAman

Read this, this morning. talk about a set-up insider? RTE is really a sink hole of depravity! transparency the “minister” states, all the time plotting the removal of one chair to replace with an insider of humongous experience of corruption.

At this stage, it is better to just put RTE out of its misery and come clean. This saga will just roll on with lies, lies and more lies. Something or someone MUST become the whistle blower. Bakhurst is up to his eyes in this also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭kazamo

Terence needs to resign.

If you want to make it a clean slate, then this crap has to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,425 ✭✭✭Trampas

So for all the cost cuts required rte still decided to send a team over to present the rugby from the ground instead of the rte studio. So who signed off on that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,333 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Yea I saw that one earlier and was not one bit surprised.

There's an entire organisation of hangers-on, lobbyists/NGOs, former politicians, relatives, in-laws and "connected" folk who rotate from board to board, post to post.

It's not unique to Ireland of course, but this being a small country it's more obvious than most when this happens.

Of course the notion of "conflict of interest" is alien to this group and their employers, so I wouldn't expect anything to change.

There's no benefit to the current lot of politicians to do so because when their time in their own role ends, they'll be looking to join this group themselves.

Besides, it's taxpayer money. Who cares, right?

... Right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭fuzzy dunlop

How can you be influenced by TV if you don't have a TV? You are talking as if not having a TV only restricts reception of the BBC. And so what if they were mostly in Dublin? . Once TV's became available it was clear that most people would have had access to the BBC. And btw what do you think people were doing before they had televisions? Dancing at the crossroads to the local fiddler perhaps? You are discounting the effects of newspapers, foreign literature which was abundant (even the stuff that was censored) and radio. Radio shows like the archers were as familiar to Irish audiences as to the British! You are literally claiming that the arrival of RTE was the only vector for the population to be influenced by TV. It clearly wasn't. My father who was based in Kilkenny with the Army in the 1950's used to drive to rural pubs on a Saturday with his mates to watch the Busby babes. No RTE required. RTE was set up to counter or attenuate the influence of the BBC. Therefore the only conclusion you can make from this is that the state sought to limit the cultural influence of the BBC. And that is the point. Liberalization happened despite RTE not because if it. By 1975 over a million people (at least) between Dublin and Waterford had access to cable TV or the pipe as it was called. Those that didn't have it used the BBC aerial which almost every house in that region had back then. So any monopoly that RTE may have had was virtually gone after about 13 years. If it existed at all. In 1985 people in Dublin and Waterford with 'the pipe' would have received broadcasts from Channel 4 such as 'My beautiful launderette' which explored LGBQT issues. In 1996 RTE were still agonizing over a 'Gay Kiss' on Fair City that never happened. I will say it again. Had RTE not existed then the forces of liberalization that were absent would easily have been taken up by the BBC other media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭fuzzy dunlop

Well if you can't imagine why you are proving my point then it must be because you have a serious lack of imagination. Because the premise falls under the category of 'bleeding obvious'. It boils down to this. If RTE is such a powerful liberalizing force as you seem to think it is. Then tell me why it took until 1996 to liberalize divorce and 2018 to liberalize abortion? The obvious answer is that when it came to liberalizing the country the facts on the ground show it to have been ineffective. You judge things by results not by self aggrandizement!

Now as for the 'reality' of Ireland being some sort of 'outlier' once again this is a hagiographic version that is at odds with facts on the ground. You are acting as though the whole of Europe was some sort of liberal bastion and Ireland was outside of the gates. It wasn't. Firstly you have to discount 50% of Europe that was under the yoke of communism which only allowed the authoritarian state as a source of social cohesion. This was the state of affairs in Eastern Europe. As for abortion being available in those countries as a personal freedom, the facts were it was a product of the despair and squalor that existed in those authoritarian countries. Likewise you had most of Southern Europe in fascist or pseudo fascist government. Once these ended there was no outburst of 'liberalization' as you are claiming. In the case of Spain it was a return to the business prior to the civil war. A highly factional system where the far right are once again knocking on the door. You also have to exclude Germany whose liberal system was imposed on them after being defeated in world war 2. What is left after this that is worth talking about? Britain and France. The former which I already explained was only de-jure liberal but in reality has a patronage system in place and a state religion. While France is on its Fifth Republic and still tethering on the verge of the Far Right taking over.

There is no shifting goal posts here! You are a hammer that wants to define every problem as a nail. You just want to define liberalism in the context of abortion and divorce. But even if you do this it is also obvious when you look at European countries that have self determination then you can see that it is not as cut and dry as you are claiming. I gave you the examples already with abortion. But divorce has similar bifurcations. There is no uniform standard for divorce and abortion in Europe and the same applies to liberalism.