Harry and Meghan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,267 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Again you’re trying to make out that I’m denying her the right to speak out about abuse- I haven’t- in fact I stated very clearly in that post that she had the right to do that, so I’ve no idea why you are even caring to reply.

But if she wants to make a full time career out of complaining, then she has to come to the realisation that she’s going to be judged by the very public she’s dependent on for her income- companies sponsor such personalities as long as they feel that the public will also go for whatever fluff they’re pedalling- it’s clear the public are getting quite fed up with her “problems”, especially when their own problems are far more serious- it’s hard to empathise with a multimillionairess who’s complaining about a few naughty words or pictures from 5 years ago or her inability to win over the British publics sympathy in 2024.

She can of course go off and become a nurse, or a physiotherapist or a librarian if she so wishes, and she’ll avoid public criticism - but if she chooses to lecture the world, and continue to paint herself as a multimillionaire “victim” then she needs to accept that she’s going to invite criticism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,030 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

But if she wants to make a full time career out of complaining

She hasn't.

She was asked a question pertinent to the discussion and she gave a factual answer based on her experience.

For some reason you have taken issue with this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,267 ✭✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I’ve no “issue” at all - I’m just stating the fact that she’s making a career and pounds shillings and pence out of complaining. She could have answered the question differently - it’s well reported over the last year that H&M were trying to move away from their moan-fest image, including employing a not so cheap PR company to help them - seems like Meaghan at least should ask for a discount as it’s not working too well so far 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Karppi

I certainly believe Tom Bowers over H&M's chosen mouthpiece, Omid Scobie. The brass neck on Omid Scobie is one of the seven wonders of the modern world. The fact that Scobie accused Catherine, Princess of Wales, and King Charles of racism, which was never rebutted by H&M, speaks volumes about H&M's moral stance.

Spare gave personal details of numerous people, including the memorable quote about the poor unfortunate woman who first encountered the todger in a biblical way, "I mounted her quickly, after which she spanked my ass and sent me away. One of my many mistakes was letting it happen in a field, just behind a very busy pub. No doubt someone had seen us." Absolutely charming, with wonderful wordsmithing. Keep it to yourself, Harry, find some common decency and act like an adult, not a bragging teenager. Or dragging the poor woman over the coals.

The reality TV series was interspersed with moments of pure Father Ted. "Where's the pap, Harry." "He's behind us, on a scooter, we'll be there in a few minutes". Cut to view down the road with nothing there.

The cognitive distortions in your posts are quite breathtaking.

Harry and Meghan have been found out. Meghan can wink as much as she likes at Harry and Marcus, but too many people know what is going on. A woman who has achieved one thing - snare a prince and leverage off him, his background and his titles. It won't end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

The payment records are from the newspaper. It was the payroll clerk working for the newspaper who was the whistleblower.

The Met were informed, but the Palace have an exemption to being investigated by the Police. Thats why Simon Case undertook to 'investigate'.

Surprise, surprise, the result, Simon Case decided that the staffer was telling the truth and that this person wasn't leaking anything to the press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Be right back

From the moment they left the rf they have been bemoaning their lot. Have they forgotten that Harry has gotten his lot in life due to sheer luck being born to that life and Meghan becoming famous due to her marrying into one of the most famous families?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭valoren

That is conspiracy theory. I guess William will be getting off scott free for murdering Thomas Kingston then since he has an exemption? 🙄

You've read Spare. Harry himself, in referring to Wooten scooping Megxit, says this "likely" stemmed from a palace aide. Note he doesn't say definitely because if, according to you, a palace aide was leaking, then Harry would not duck in asserting that this was indeed a fact. It is facts and feelings. He felt that a palace aide was leaking but the facts beg to differ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭Be right back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭backwards_man

None of your speculation is harmless. You are exactly the sort of person who hides behind 'others' to deflect from your toxic posts. At least own it. When you are called out you retreat under a cover if its not just you. Everyone else does it. Sure. Tell yourself that.

The Queen/King is allowed break the law and is exempt from any prosecution.

Look it up.

If it wasn't a palace aid, then it must have been a member of the royal family who leaked it. Which one do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Good to see, she look well. Taken this week apparently.

Screenshot_20240310_114718_Chrome.jpg

Already I've seen people say it's an old photo because of the green shrub behind and why isn't she out and about? And also why isn't she wearing her rings?

There's no pleasing some folk. Great to see her and the children.

Thats just announcing that they are taking a 6 week break (basically, Meghan's maternity leave).

Valid questions? She looks very healthy in that photo. A lot healthier than she did a week ago in the photo taken with her mother.

May establish 2nd base outside UK > Did establish 2nd base outside UK.

It's been a grand old week. It's like being in a parallel universe reading some of the comments in this thread; this week has been exceptional, IMO. We have reached new as yet uncharted areas of the phantasmagorical. Here be dragons!

Let's see;

In response to a post that said the 19th was partnering with Archewell to sponsor SXSW panel, we had this

That's actually a list of sponsors for the 19th - not SXSW. I refer my learned colleague to this article

Salient sentence;

The 19th is partnering with The Archewell Foundation for a SXSW Center Stage panel 

Archewell paid so that Meghan could be on the panel. That involves a financial arrangement - broadly similar to partnering in the yachting sense of the meaning.

Regarding Catherine, Princess of Wales,

Well, it seems a long range diagnosis using a 600mm lens was undertaken, and the determination was that steroids were in use. Does the NHS and/or the GMC know of this advanced technique? They should be alerted immediately, it could reduce the waiting times. It's got to be cheaper than CT. MRI, PET scans, and doesn't require the use of those pesky gels or suckers that mean your chest has to be shaved (NB not applicable to all patients!)

I think it's great she's looking so well, as are the children who are also so happy. It helps that the photo was taken on a camera, possibly a Leica (hot damn) rather than an Instamatic camera during twilight at a distance of 300m using ISO3200 film.

Ah, the poor chimp has been disinterred a fair bit recently. He was rightly sent off. He crept into the crypt, crapped and now keeps creeping out of the crypt. Any chance we could leave him there - he's a bit ripe. It's coming up five years ago since he was sent away. Admittedly, he hasn't been around as longer as the P&G story.

At SXSW, as we now all know, Meghan has bought her chair on the panel and is espousing her P&G story - again. For those unfamiliar, welcome back from off-grid Patagonia or the ISS, hope all is well. Please catch up here, where Katie Couric asks the paid-for question and elicits the timeworn, 30 year old story again. Brooke Shields who, apart from being around 6 feet tall and familiar with how to use an iron, gives a great reply to Meghan writing letters aged 11 when says, "When I was 11, I was playing a prostitute". Meghan (I think, actually calls her, "Bro"). My point is, Brooke has a really meaningful story to tell, a life event worth hearing.

Just some random thoughts on Mothers' Day. Best wishes to all Mums and, of course, Moms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,152 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I wouldn't normally be into conspiracy theories, but several press agencies believe the photo is indeed a fake (something strange going on in the whole royal world it would appear).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,152 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Goodness knows what's going on behind the scenes. Perhaps Kate is sicker than they are letting on, or has separated from William and is living apart from him.....it's anyone's guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭Ms2011

A very risky thing to do if in fact Kensington Palace have released an altered photo.

I suppose the critical questions would be what was altered & why.

With Easter in 2 weeks and the deadline for when Catherine was supposed to return to work I guess only time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Carol25

There’s something very unusual going on behind the scenes with the Royal family at the moment. Something is way off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭Ms2011

I fear they may have over played their hand with this photo, less is more sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

My conspiracy theory is that they’ve hired a new person or agency to do their PR, and it’s back backfiring on them. Kate & William’s PR is never this sloppy. Can’t imagine why in the past few weeks it’s just caused more issues than not.

As much as I dislike the Royal Family, I do hope Kate is ok and at home laughing at the tweets about her having a BBL or photoshopped images.

I did see some sane alternative reasons such as the images are composites so that the kids are all looking at the camera. Honestly, having an imperfect family photo is much more relatable than some dodgy airbrushing.

It happened to Meghan and Harry before too.

Screenshot_20240311_001423_Chrome.jpg Screenshot_20240311_001439_Chrome.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

It's way beyond a quick touch up by airbrushing, very bizarre all round. Raises far more questions than answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,030 ✭✭✭✭Boggles