Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,140 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

A typo. Well played. We don't all have the advantage of a sub-editor.

His weekly column is printed in the Irish Mail on Sunday, and available online on the evoke.ie website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭hawley

He left Barry Keoghan until the end of the article and then says how important a supportive family was to the people he mentioned. Absolutely braindead point when you consider that Barry lost his mother to drug addiction and was in over a dozen foster homes during his childhood.

Communication was the greatest fatality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,631 ✭✭✭Tork

Many of today's best journalists started out in local newspapers. Those jobs might not be as glamourous as working for a national newspaper but they still have their standards. I don't like the dismissal of his column being OK just because it's for the Mail on Sunday. It's not a paper that'll appeal to everybody but there are proper journalists working for the publication. It will also have readers whose literacy skills have advanced past Ann and Barry. They should not be looked down on just because they're not buying something loftier for their Sunday reading.

Let's not forget that Tubridy has already written four books. This should mean that he's well capable of writing a newspaper column.

image.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭yagan

He's there by his own choice.

It's a career move that works for both his fans and enemies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,927 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

He will be absolutely livid .

That would have been his best column ever, he couldn't have written it better himself. Especially as NKM seemed to have a lot of sway with the Indo over the years.

Shows you just how many bridges he has burned at this stage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,214 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

Tubridy would never get a look in there.

From Rick O'Shea's website - He is a previous presenter of The Book Show and The Poetry Programme, both on RTE Radio 1. He runs The Rick O’Shea Book Club Facebook page and picks Must Read lists with Sinead Moriarty for Easons. He presents the occasional Youtube author interview chat show Shelf Analysis and recommends books year round on his Twitter and Instagram feeds.

He conducts public author interviews year round including in recent years at Listowel Writers Week, Cúirt, Ennis Book Club Festival, International Literature Festival Dublin, Dalkey Book Festival, Bram Stoker Festival, and Dublin Book Festival. He has been literary curator at the UCD Festival since 2020 and was curator for the Waterford Writers Weekend in 2017 and 2018.

Presents awards, judges writing competitions and so on and so forth.

Exactly. O'Shea's been running his book club for years on FB, with thousands of members, and deeply immersed in book culture in Ireland. Anybody into books, including Tubridy, could and would only say fair play to him for expanding that into to an Indo column.

It's getting a bit tedious that posters here are immediately feigning Tubridy's dismay at any and every unrelated event in media or broadcasting. "Oh, he must be livid Patrick Kielty is grand marshal of the parade", "I bet he's furious he hasn't got Graham Norton's weekend gig on Virgin Radio!", "He'll be beside himself at not getting a book club column in the Indo like Rick O'Shea". I'm not really sure what's behind it.

Like it or not, Tubridy currently has plenty of irons in the fire. If there's one thing you'll learn from successful people, it's that they don't waste any energy at all being "livid" at the successes of other people. They concentrate on ploughing their own furrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

May have plenty of irons in the fire, but none are glowing red hot are they?

Looks like the fires going out tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,443 ✭✭✭Morgans

LOL! So the MOS just hand over so many column inches to a rank armature to publish whatever he wants without any oversight because (checks notes) NKM says so?

Almost .......because NKM has paid MOS to do it or has guaranteed access to MOS for any future exclusive regarding his stable-stars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,226 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

His writing quality is on a par with the stuff that passes for writing in the Daily Mail.

There is a demographic that it suits and readers for whom it's not difficult to read or understand.

Maybe the man has no talents. Maybe he did get the work he had in rte just through connections and the fact that rte are happy to give employment to relatives and such and not kill themselves looking for genuine talent. (Yuk hate that word btw).

On a humane level maybe he is missing his family and that does happen to the best of us.

Still refusing to listen to him though🥴

His mother is elderly (though may have many years ahead) she is his legal business partner, and I would imagine he feels he’s missing out on precious time spent with her.

Wait now, let’s add this one into the mix.

So millionaire Tubridy who was being paid between half and 3/4 a million euro a year for more than a decade, is now inexplicably paying an agent to in turn pay both the Irish Mail on Sunday and Virgin Radio (and probably the Wireless Group stations) so that he can work for them all for free (but is also getting sponsorship from Paddy Power) while living in London - but also while owning a house in Dublin.

Oh, and he’s scabbing free laundry detergent from Vogue Williams.

And then there’s also posters here being paid by Kelly to post - not even positive, but just not constantly negative - things about him.

But not only does Kelly have this magic porridge pot of money to spend on Tubridy for no financial gain, he also has a magical ability to bend the will of even the biggest media organisations in the world to do his not-for-profit bidding - all while being just a jumped-up chocolate salesman with a two-bit hack for a client.

Keep up the creative writing classes, lads, that’s all I can say. The plot has to be somewhat believable, but you’ll eventually get there 🤣

No. It is pretty straightforward. NKM sees and has always seen Tubridy as an investment. Hit the motherlode. Now that Tubridy's skills rather than his environment are in question, NKM, as his agent, sweeten the pot for any potential employer by outlining a sponsorship deal that activates when Tubridy is employed, be it Paddy Power - remember the relationship with Declan Lynch, Tony10 and the Late Late - or with the Daily Mail. It gives enough for the diehards (paid or unpaid, you yourself are not a fan, I know) to claim how successful he is and he didn't like RTE much anyway. Ad nauseum. The idea that NKM wouldnt do this for his investment is more surprising. God bless Dee Forbes and her silence.

Back handed boot licking of NKM. It is notable how even those who pretend not to like Ryan Tubridy have no criticism of NKM. The opposite in fact.

For someone who presents themselves as calling balls-and-strikes, the idea that these relationships between agents and TV companies, even by poor little chocolate salesmen, is suprising. I don't believe its altruism on NKM's behalf. NKM is only doing it in the hope to make more money, nothing more nothing less.

Well, of course, Ryan has further stories to tell about the Cadbury salesman and best to be seen to represent.

Of course Kelly is in it for the money. That’s what business is all about. But that’s the bit that you’re missing from your analysis. An investment has to pay back - with interest - in order for it to work. Where is all the money flooding back to NKM if they’re paying for an unsuccessful broadcaster to be on the radio?

Your notions remind me of The Underpants Gnomes in South Park:

1. Collect underpants Pay Virgin Radio/The Mail On Sunday/The Wireless Group to hire Tubridy
    2. ????
    3. Profit

I know this is the internet, and some people are willing to metaphorically die on the most ludicrous of hills, but come on - even you must be kind of cringing reading back on what you’ve written and thinking “jeez, how did I end up here?”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭Brian Scan

If, as we all agree, Tubridy is such a woeful broadcaster, how is NKM going to realize a profit on his supposed investment?

On the contrary, I think the more you protest the more I'm on the right lines.

The strategy has paid for itself already, thousands of time over. Not only for Ryan but for the coverage given on the prime media slots for NKM stablemates. It was very clever from NKM. The idea of the sponsorship would cost NKM little, I would assume. Likewise gaining access to a weekly column. Using already well established rolodex of contacts. Of course we know how good NKM is at hiding what is being actually received by his clients, so looking at his books are unlikely to reveal anything. Maybe you are right, maybe there are other reasons why he has to show loyalty to Ryan.

How will this strategy pay for itself in Tubridy's case? For Noel Kelly to make money, Ryan Tubridy must make money. Most of us who post on this thread agree that Tubridy is crap. Many suggest that he won't last long in his current gig. What gigs is Tubridy likely to get that will be lucrative enough to guarantee a worthwhile agent's fee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭mountain

There is no doubt that he is a wealthy man, what many people feel is that he was excessively paid by RTE, and hearing him on Virgin Radio, merely confirms that

Now, I don't know if NKM will be trying to negotiate a scheme to offset his voluntary pay-cut for solidarity in COVID any more. Or go to the bother of not invoicing through his own company. He isn't worth that level of investment any longer. But he is still worth something. Maybe Gregor can put him his change management model again. At some point in the future, he may have established his audience and be a friendly face to NKM stablemates with any soujorns across the water.

Of course, it might have just been Dee Forbes (and RTE) that believed how much NKM talent was worth.

What has the voluntary pay-cut, which Tubridy evaded, got to do with his future earnings, out of which NKM would get a return on the investment you have referred to?

You say Tubridy is still worth something. What do you think is he worth, and who do you think he is worth it to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,139 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

If that's the case we'll that's his own fault. No one forced him to move to the UK.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Chocolatier

If he had an ounce of cop on, he'd throw in the towel and come home. He must realise he has backed himself into a cul-de-sac. Anyone care to hazard a guess how much the Mail on Sunday is paying him for that column. They are not known in journalistic circles for their generosity.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Chocolatier

He could retrain as a history teacher if he's genuinely interested in that. His alma mater, Blackrock, might even give him a gig.

Making the point that what NKM would do in the past for Ryan may not be the case now. Perhaps he is no longer sure a sure bet with the changeover in rte. I'm sure NKM still works hard for those stable stars who are not getting paid the sums Ryan used to get. What else is the service for?

I've no idea what he is worth. But the suspicions that Ryan, nkm and strangely rte were paying Ryan far in excess of his talents and were benefitting from a culture of unaccountability, nod and a wink, and secret deals at the expense of the taxpayer are being put to the test. Lots felt that the line that he was being paid market value was self serving bullshit. I guess we'll see.

You still haven't said how you think Noel Kelly is going to make a return on the investment you said he has made in Tubridy's current gigs.

How do you think Noel Kelly will make a profit on this investment?

I have but you chose/choose not to read them. That's ok. Hardly a crime

I have - have a read above - but guess this fun tit-for-tat distracts from the predicament Tubs and NKM find themselves in.

Are you of the opinion that NKM has stopped trying for his client?