Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dee Forbes banging the RTE TV licence drum again 60m uncollected fee *poll not working - pl ignore*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,090 ✭✭✭Floppybits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭AngryLoner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,347 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Lets logicilly step this out.

We are told that the NDA's stop RTE from reporting the exit packages etc.

So you have KB using it as a smokescreen.

If RTE really wanted the sums published they wouldn't have agreed to the NDA's in the first instance. Now theres no one here stating that the reason for getting rid of those senior staff was in order to save money for the public purse (lol) so why were these folks removed? If it were their resignation I do not see how you can pay them off. If they were asked to leave, I also do not see how you can sign NDAs with them.

What is the impact of breaking an NDA - does anyone know?

Is it a fine/jail time/should anyone really care at this point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 163 ✭✭inajock

Near 90,000,000 spent by RTE on voluntery redundancy from 2011to 2019 according to the Daily Mirror 18/04/2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭backwards_man

But that is my point. If he wouldn't resign himself, KB had a mechanism to get him out with far less payment than 200K. Solicitor or no solicitor, RTE had no obligation other than statutory redundancy, legally and morally. 17 yrs x 2 weeks pay plus 1 month's notice payment is around 146K. Why didn't KB go this route? Why the need for 200K payment when he was covered by law in paying 146k? And why was it reported as Coveney "resigned"? They legitimately could say the role was made redundant. KB didnt say that at the PAC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭arctictree

As far as I know statutory redundancy is capped at €600 per week. So that would be 17 x 2 x €600 = €20,400 !!

Even better! Which makes the 200K look absolutely outrageous. Why would KB risk his own reputation on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,347 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Last few posts on this are key. Trying to save the state money in redundancies but not taking the cheapest redundancy option, if that is what they were of course.

To me Coveney and Collins were not made redundant, they were sacked in all but name and given a payoff which they gladly accepted and then sailed off into the sunset like some others. All it shows is that Backhurst and RTE haven't learned any lessons and are still the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭kazamo

I have worked in US multinationals also and have seen some of the contracts which outline the six weeks and the two year cap. Even saw a very old contract which had no cap.

Why would anyone take up voluntary redundancy if all that was offered was the statutory amount ? Let’s be real, you would only accept that if the business was going to the wall anyway.

Re RTE and Coveney’s package, maybe there is a precedent, maybe it’s in the employment contract.

You are approaching this in a rational and logical manner………but these two Dail committees are showing that not much common sense or smart business practice was applied in RTE. The barter account and how it was operated was a good indication that it was a free for all in Montrose.

Credit Notes to offset a payment to a presenter from the sponsor. Paying the presenter’s agent the money instead into a secondary bank account. None of this looks good.

Having worked in different organisations, both large and small, never cease to be surprised by some of the dumb stuff put in employment contracts… so if there was a termination clause in Coveney’s contract with a set amount, is it all that surprising as Dee Forbes and Coveney seemed to be good buddies

Kevin Bakhurst doesn’t strike me as someone daft enough to go out a limb over Coveney and Collins. If you bring them through the HR disciplinary route, they stand a chance of remaining as many more people involved and others who should have known. Entire finance dept could be gone. Need to put a few heads on sticks and given the mess, that was never going to be cheap if KB wanted it done quickly.

I suspect he regrets returning to RTE every single day because this is a mess that’s only getting bigger.

Why would it be voluntary redundancy? It should have been forced redundancy at statutory. The role has gone away. Its perfectly legit. Companies force redundancy on staff who want to stay, all the time.

Not sure about making representations to a TD about termination payments. They have their own sweet heart deal even if they decide not to stand for re election and it applies to their staff as well.

Re your comment about getting a lump sum payment yourself……never be irreplaceable, I have seen employees do very good jobs and were kept, while inept colleagues got the “package”. That is seriously annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭arctictree

Comes back to politics. I believe RTE were told last year by Govt. that there had to be redundancies but none compulsory. So the only way then to get rid of staff is to make it attractive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,310 ✭✭✭seanin4711

got renewal reminder as up since 31/01/24.

how long can i string them along??

While the Head of Strategy may be a redundancy position……The Financial Controller is never a redundant position whether voluntary or forced.

The bigger issue is the lack of control or awareness in finance.

Employers prefer paying a bit more than statutory if they can, as it also reduces a possible future Unfair Dismissal Hearing.

Forcing redundancy on staff can also lead to higher staff turnover from remaining employees.

Coveney left in July. That announcement of voluntary redundancies was KB's plan to cut 400 jobs announced in November to happen 2024 - 2028. There was no voluntary redundancy scheme in place at RTE in July 2023 AFAIK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 boardsuser1000

I have a friend that has been stringing them along since March 2019. Needless to say he isn't in a hurry to pay the license.

I am only talking about Coveney's exit.

The CFO's exit is a different matter. I do believe he needed to be "paid off" to leave, if KB wanted rid of him and he wouldn't resign.

As for the impact on other staff, RTE plans to remove 400 staff in the coming years under voluntary redundancy or natural attrition according to KB's grand plan unveiled in Nov 2023. Retaining staff is not his priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,200 ✭✭✭Glebee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭chrisd2019

I never renew on time myself, (due to originally purchasing at end of a month, first renewal came 11 months later, as they renew on the first of the month), letters arrive every 7-10 days, after about 2 months one arrives with a different coloured header, that appears to indicate prosecution, that is then repeated numerous times.

At least the process gives the postman a good run out!

Has Buckhurst made his statement yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,435 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Bakhurst interviewed on Drivetime earlier.

A very shaky interview. Legal advice is his catchphrase.

One thing is for sure, if this was his own money, Coveney and Collins wouldn't have got a cent.

And how much is this ridiculous legal advice costing the tax payer everytime he seeks it? More waste that he would not pay for unless it was public money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,706 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,435 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

No progress on that cost cutting report.

I wonder did Catherine Martin bother to ask about it during the meeting today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,695 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

RTÉ’s director general has defended his decision to give an exit package to Rory Coveney, saying the national broadcaster could have been ordered to pay double the amount if the former strategy director had taken a wrongful dismissal case.

Kevin Bakhurst said there were “absolutely no grounds” to sack Mr Coveney, who was described as the “driving force” behind the ill-fated musical which lost the organisation €2.2m.

Mr Coveney, the brother of Enterprise Minister Simon Coveney, received a package when he resigned and his role was made redundant in July last year — the same week Mr Bakhurst took the helm.

Mr Bakhurst said RTÉ expects to recoup the cost of the payment to Mr Coveney by July this year, leading to speculation the payment was approximately one year’s salary, or about €200,000.

Recalling the comment yesterday, Mr Bakhurst said that “statutory” was a technical term and that what he actually meant was that Mr Coveney had been given an appropriate fee based on his 16 years at the organisation and compared to what he would receive at the WRC.

Mr Bakhurst also confirmed that former chief financial officer Richard Collins was given a payment to leave the organisation, after independent mediation which included a confidentiality clause.

The director general has come under fresh scrutiny about the payouts and confidentiality agreements. Labour senator Marie Sherlock said there had been a “convenient retrofitting of the truth” and the public were led to believe that Mr Coveney resigned of his own volition.

No matter what people tell you, words and ideas can change this World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,218 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Does not gross misconduct come in to play for Coveney - went and spent millions without authorisation to do so

Bakhurst is really pushing an image of nothing changes in RTE, ever changing story to suit the agenda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭DrZeuss

It actually looks like Bakhurst is going for obfuscation more than transparent. If Coveney and Collins are no longer around then there are no answers to be scrutinized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,218 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Exactly - really need someone in there in charge that has zero ties to anyone, it's all a bit too nepotistic with a former high profile employee brought in to run the place. From the Board who have no idea what's going on to all the higher management team doing whatever they like. Sium looks like someone who'd have a heart attack if you said boo to her -display no managerial prowess at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

If you were in the private sector and lost the company you worked for a couple of million quid you world be sacked on the spot

that’s before the point of not informing the company you spent the couple of million of their money without authorisation

and that point the gardai are called in